Behavioral Health AI
M

Mentalyc

AI clinical documentation for mental health professionals, working alongside the practice's own record system. Notes are generated from sessions recorded live in person or alongside any video platform, from uploaded audio, or from dictation or typed summaries, so recording is optional. Output covers therapy formats including SOAP, DAP, BIRP, PIRP, GIRP, PIE and SIRP, more than 100 custom templates, intake notes with risk assessment and mental status exam, supervision and group therapy notes, EMDR, play and psychiatry formats, SMART treatment plans, a progress tracker, recommended CPT codes, and Alliance Genie, which tracks the therapeutic alliance across sessions.

A Chrome extension fills finished notes into SimplePractice, TherapyNotes, TheraNest, Jane, Osmind, Tebra, Kareo and other web based record systems. Mentalyc publishes its Business Associate Agreement, states SOC 2 Type II and compliance with HIPAA, PHIPA and PIPEDA, deletes session audio within three days, anonymizes transcripts, and states that session data is never used to train AI models. Pricing is published: solo plans from $19.99 a month for 40 notes to $119.99 for 330, and a Team plan per seat with unlimited notes, after a 14 day free trial.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 20, 2026
Compare Mentalyc with other vendors
Founded
2021
Headquarters
New York, New York, United States
Categories
behavioral-health, ambient-scribes
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

The documentation model is the product. Mentalyc sells AI written therapy notes, and its other features, the treatment planner, progress tracker, Alliance Genie therapeutic alliance insights and recommended CPT codes, are generated from the same session content by the same models. It works alongside the practice's own record system rather than replacing it, so nothing of substance remains without the models.

DD on Autonomy and Oversight ModelNo oversight structure is published. An absolute claim that the system does not err grades here too, because a buyer who believes it will not build the review step that would catch a failure.
Vendor Published

Mentalyc describes a draft and sign structure. Its FAQ says every note is a draft until the clinician signs it; notes, treatment plans and recommended CPT codes pass through the clinician before export; and clinicians who do not record can work from a dictated or typed summary. On the Team plan a practice can review members' notes, including unsaved ones.

Against that, Mentalyc markets AI-flagged risk detection and safety planning in every note "so nothing critical gets missed, even in a busy session". The sentence makes the system the reason nothing is missed: an absolute claim that it does not err, on the content where an error matters most. Signing off does not answer it. Reviewing a draft shows the clinician what the model wrote, not what it left out, and an omitted risk disclosure is exactly the error the sentence promises away. No edit rate, acceptance figure or miss rate for risk content is published, and nothing describes how errors are reported or corrected.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

The technology description stays general: transcripts and notes are generated by machine learning algorithms, large language models and statistical models, with no human scribe, and notes can follow a clinician's own templates. No model, provider, version or description of training data is published, and nothing describes how a model change is tested or announced.

Mentalyc does name what affects note accuracy, audio quality, session length and whether the note format matches the therapy modality, without figures for any of them. Its claim of up to 90 percent less documentation time carries no method.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

Mentalyc names its host, AWS, and does not name the provider of the large language models that its FAQ says generate transcripts and notes. The privacy policy lists categories of service provider, including hosting, email, marketing, payments and customer support, without naming them, and no sub-processor list is published.

The terms that govern data once it arrives are stated more fully than the list of parties: session data is never used to train AI models, transcripts are anonymized before processing, audio is deleted within three days, and the business associate agreement binds subcontractors to protections at least as strict as its own. Whether the model provider receives anonymized transcripts only, and what it retains, is not stated.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

The evidence on offer is scale of use and testimonials: more than 30,000 clinicians, a 4.8 rating on G2, and therapists' quotes on time saved. Adoption at that scale is not evidence of benefit. Mentalyc's claim of up to 90 percent less documentation time, and its statement that most therapists export notes without substantive edits, carry no method, denominator or reference standard. Its product, pricing and security pages cite no study, controlled evaluation or accuracy assessment.

AA on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipRetention windows, training use and de identification are all stated specifically enough to be contradicted. Safety engineering, meaning guardrails, hallucination mitigation and how a safety event is handled, does not gate this grade: no vendor in this index publishes it, so every note on this axis states that gap rather than leaving it implied.
Vendor Published

Retention, training use and deidentification are stated specifically enough to be tested, with one inconsistency the company leaves unresolved. Its security page FAQ says session audio is kept for up to three days in case a note needs regenerating and is then deleted automatically; the same page elsewhere says recordings are deleted immediately after the note is generated.

Transcripts are anonymized before processing, with a partial option that keeps first names for family sessions, and Mentalyc treats anonymized transcripts as outside the medical record. Session data is never used to train AI models, the clinician can delete any session data at any time, and account data is kept while the account is active.

The privacy policy lets Mentalyc use aggregated anonymized data to improve the service, and its about page names an anonymized research data set on effective interventions as part of its founding aim. Notes are designed to leave out sensitive disclosures outside the treatment focus. Nothing is published on safety engineering: no guardrails, hallucination checks, or handling of a note containing something that was never said.

Regulatory and Compliance
AA on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated, the agreement is available to read before contracting, the tier it applies at is clear, and the agreement discloses that it binds subcontractors who handle protected health information. Which parties those subcontractors are is graded on Model Supply Chain Disclosure and is not counted again here. Where any of the four cannot be verified from published material, the grade is the band below.
Vendor Published

An AI scribe processing protected health information is a business associate, Mentalyc states, and it signs a Business Associate Agreement with every account. The agreement is published in full on its site and accepted by checkbox at registration, so it applies on every plan, and a signed copy can be generated from account settings.

It requires agents and subcontractors with access to protected health information to agree in writing to restrictions and conditions at least as protective, and to return or destroy data at termination, including data they hold. Mentalyc's aggregate liability under the agreement is capped at $10,000.

For Canadian practitioners Mentalyc states compliance with PHIPA, PIPEDA, PIPA and PHIA and supplies PHIPA-aligned consent material; it also states compliance with Australia's Privacy Principles and New Zealand's Privacy Act.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

SOC 2 Type II compliance and certification are claimed, and Mentalyc presents the attestation as its own. The report period, the auditor and the services in scope go unstated, and the security page links no trust portal or downloadable report, so neither the report nor its period can be checked from the site. Other stated controls are encryption in transit and at rest and hosting on AWS; certifications held by AWS belong to the host, not to Mentalyc.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No medical device claim is made, and neither Mentalyc's terms of use (March 2026) nor its product pages state a position on device status or say whether the output may be relied on for clinical decisions. Several outputs are clinical judgments generated by software rather than transcribed: risk assessments and mental status exams populated from the session, AI-flagged risk detection and safety planning in every note, marketed as ensuring nothing critical gets missed, SMART treatment plans built from session content, and recommended CPT codes.

The exposure lies in generated risk assessments and mental status exams entering the record beside the clinician's own documentation, and Mentalyc does not say whether each risk flag cites the session passage it rests on. Everything reaches the record only after the clinician edits and signs. The rules that govern the product are payer documentation requirements, HIPAA and the Canadian privacy statutes, state licensure, consent law and 42 CFR Part 2.

Mentalyc writes notes to document medical necessity for payer audit, supplies a client consent template, and publishes Part 2 guidance that places patient consent on the provider and states it issues no Part 2 certificate.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Notes are described as accurate, ethical and compliant, and the approach as ethics committee approved, with no name for the committee and no word on what it reviewed. No bias evaluation, method or subgroup result is published. The groups where performance is plausibly at risk follow from the product's own inputs and from the accuracy factors Mentalyc itself names (audio quality, session length and modality): accent, dialect and language in transcription, child and play therapy sessions, and couples, family and group sessions where several speakers must be told apart. Risk detection is the output where a gap between groups would matter most.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Review before commit is the mechanism: Mentalyc's FAQ says every note is a draft until the clinician signs it, and notes are edited and saved before export to another system. Nothing stands behind the output: no accuracy or error figure, no published limitations, and no warranty or remediation commitment for a wrong note.

The business associate agreement caps Mentalyc's aggregate liability at $10,000, and its terms of use disclaim any warranty of accuracy and make stopping use the sole remedy for dissatisfaction. Two design choices bear on risk content, where an error matters most in psychotherapy notes that payers and courts may read.

Mentalyc markets AI-flagged risk detection and safety planning in every note "so nothing critical gets missed", and states that sensitive disclosures outside the treatment focus are not captured. No accuracy figure stands behind the risk flags, and nothing describes how the system decides what falls outside the treatment focus.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Mentalyc works alongside the practice's record system rather than replacing it. Its Chrome extension fills a finished note into the client's chart in one click, and Mentalyc names the systems it works with: SimplePractice, TherapyNotes, TheraNest, Jane, Osmind, Tebra and Kareo, plus other web based record systems. That is one directional writing through the browser, with no EHR login or API connection, so nothing is read back from the record.

Sessions can be captured alongside any video platform, including Zoom, Google Meet, Doxy.me and SimplePractice telehealth. Mentalyc names no electronic prescribing, laboratory, health information exchange or FHIR connection.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

The service is hosted on AWS, with US based data residency stated and encryption in transit and at rest. Sessions can be recorded live in person or alongside any video platform, uploaded, dictated or typed, so clinicians who do not record can still use it, and session audio is deleted within three days.

For Quebec, the privacy policy states that transfers outside the province use standard contractual clauses or data processing agreements; for New Zealand, it states that standard contractual clauses are not currently relied on. Tenant isolation and the AWS region are not stated.

Commercial
AA on Commercial TransparencyPublished tiers with figures, a stated unit of charge, and a route to start without a sales conversation.
Vendor Published

Tiers are published with figures, alongside a 14 day free trial with no credit card. Solo plans are priced by monthly note volume: Mini $19.99 a month for 40 notes and transcripts, Basic $39.99 for 100, Pro $69.99 for 160 and Super $119.99 for 330, with annual billing saving $60 to $240 a year. Higher tiers add features such as supervision notes, group therapy notes, EMDR, play and psychiatry formats, custom templates and computed CPT codes.

The Team plan is advertised as unlimited notes with team management, at a list price of $119.99 per seat a month shown at $59.99 per seat for new teams. That is enough to size the cost against a caseload without contacting anyone.

CC on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is claimed broadly without specifics, or stated clearly with nothing validating it yet.
Vendor Published

Coverage is stated clearly: mental health documentation for therapists, counselors, social workers and psychologists, covering individual, child, couple, family and group sessions, EMDR, play therapy and psychiatry formats, and supervision notes, with plans for solo clinicians and group practices. Mentalyc states that it serves more than 30,000 clinicians.

Nothing published validates the coverage by setting: no study, named deployment or outcome is tied to any session type or practice size. Its published Part 2 guidance places consent for substance use disorder records on the provider.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Mentalyc

Vendors in the same categories as Mentalyc whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Supanote is an ambient documentation tool built for mental health clinicians, launched in 2024 and operated by Ionian Ventures Pvt Ltd.

AI assistant and electronic health record for mental health therapists, from HelloJoy, Inc., which trades as Blueprint.

AI-native electronic health record for mental health practice.

Clinically AI, which began as and still sells Clinical Notes AI, is an AI platform for behavioral health organizations, from private practices to Certified Community Behavioral Health…

Documentation and practice platform for behavioral health from SmartScribe Corp.

Nextvisit AI is a New York company founded by a practicing psychiatrist and a health IT engineer, building clinical documentation and, increasingly, a whole practice platform exclusively…

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
From $19.99/month (40 notes)
Published tiered subscription by monthly note volume for solo clinicians (Mini $19.99/40, Basic $39.99/100, Pro $69.99/160, Super $119.99/330); Team plan per seat, $119.99 list, $59.99 for new teams. 14 day free trial. — — Vendor Published

Mentalyc publishes its pricing in full, with a 14 day free trial that needs no credit card. Solo plans are priced by monthly note volume: Mini at $19.99 a month for 40 notes and transcripts, Basic at $39.99 for 100, Pro at $69.99 for 160 and Super at $119.99 for 330. Annual billing saves $60 to $240 a year depending on tier.

Features rise with the tier: Pro adds EMDR, play and psychiatry formats, more than 100 custom templates and computed CPT codes; Super adds group therapy notes and priority onboarding. The Team plan is advertised as unlimited notes with team management, review of members' notes, the treatment planner and supervision notes, at a list price of $119.99 per seat a month, shown at $59.99 per seat for new teams. A solo clinician can find the cost at their caseload by counting notes per month; a practice by counting seats.