Ambient Scribes
C

Commure

Commure sells ambient clinical documentation that feeds autonomous coding, clinical documentation integrity and claims automation, as part of a General Catalyst backed group built from Athelas, Augmedix and Memora Health. Commure Ambient AI comes in three service levels: Ambient AI on its own, Ambient Assist with specialist review of the AI draft, and Ambient Live with real time human documentation support, a ladder that carries forward the Augmedix Go, Assist and Live suite. The self serve Commure Scribe is sold separately to smaller practices with published pricing. The wider platform covers revenue cycle management, patient engagement, call center agents, dictation and the Strongline staff safety system.

Commure lists more than 130 health systems and says its software integrates with 60+ EHRs. Commure Ambient AI holds Epic Toolbox designation for Ambient Voice, a January 2025 Vizient contract gives member health systems negotiated access to the Augmedix suite, and in September 2026 the product gained a CE mark as Class I medical device software and UK MHRA registration. Commure's legal terms, including its Business Associate Agreement and General Terms of Agreement, are published on commure.com, with the platform Terms of Use on the athelas.com legal index.

AI Health Index verifiedOctober 9, 2026
Compare Commure with other vendors
Founded
2017
Headquarters
Mountain View, California
Website
www.commure.com
Categories
ambient-scribes, autonomous-medical-coding, rcm-and-prior-auth
Indexed Products
Commure Ambient (Augmedix Go, Assist, Live), Commure Pro, Commure Agents, Athelas Air EHR, Athelas RCM
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

Commure Ambient AI drafts the clinical note from the recorded encounter, and the same product line generates CPT and ICD-10 codes, modifiers, charge headers and quality measures from it. The product page lists an AI Assistant, real time Ambient CareCues for documentation and coding, and autonomous CPT and ICD-10 coding on the Ambient+ tier, and Commure presents the documentation output as the first step of its revenue cycle workflow.

Two service tiers add people on top of the model. Ambient Assist adds documentation specialists who review the AI draft, and Ambient Live adds real time human documentation support for higher acuity work. Around the ambient line Commure sells dictation, call center agents, revenue cycle management, the Engage patient engagement product, Athelas Home and the Strongline staff safety system, and the self serve Commure Scribe is sold separately to smaller practices.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

Human involvement is built into the product tiers. The Augmedix suite was sold as Go, which is AI only, Assist, which adds specialist review of the AI draft, and Live, which provides synchronous human documentation. Commure now offers the same ladder as Ambient AI, Ambient Assist and Ambient Live, describing Assist as asynchronous specialist support and Live as real time support at the point of care. Its September 2026 regulatory announcement states that clinicians review and sign off on every note before it enters the record.

Coding runs with less stated oversight. The Ambient+ tier advertises autonomous CPT and ICD-10 coding that eliminates manual coding steps, built by specialty to reach 95%+ alignment with gold standard coders. The self serve Commure Scribe says users review and approve suggested codes before submission, and the Terms of Use make users responsible for verifying AI generated content before relying on it. For the enterprise coding engine, the point at which a coder or clinician sees a code before the claim goes out, and what the engine does when it is uncertain, are not described.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

The ambient technology is described as language models that transcribe and code. Commure Scribe's pages say more: a proprietary large language model that evaluates the entire transcript in context, a transcription model Commure calls 99.4% accurate, and models that improve with each use. For health systems Commure claims 95%+ alignment with gold standard coders and high accuracy across more than 100 languages. None of those figures comes with a method or test set, and no model card, version history or update policy is published.

Product lineage complicates the picture. The ambient capability has reached customers as Commure Ambient AI, Commure Scribe and the Augmedix Go, Assist and Live tiers, across a group assembled through five acquisitions in three years. In June 2026 Commure said it could apply Anthropic's Mythos class models across its platform, without naming the products that use them. Which engine produces a given customer's note, and whether it is the engine the KLAS score and pilot results were earned on, is not stated.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

Hosting is named and the model layer is not tied to a product. The trust center lists Amazon Web Services and Azure as infrastructure. In June 2026 Commure said it had done the security, compliance and architecture work to deploy Anthropic's Mythos class models within its own environment and could apply them across the platform, without saying which products use them. Commure Scribe's pages describe a proprietary large language model, and the Scribe FAQ says Commure never shares data with third parties and owns the entire data pipeline.

The first link in the chain is also open. The ambient capability has been sold as Commure Ambient AI, Commure Scribe and the Augmedix tiers, and nothing published says which engine produces the note a given customer receives. No subprocessor list is published, and no model version is tied to a product.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Third Party Estimated

Customer perception surveys and two head to head pilots that Commure reports make up the published evidence. A 2025 KLAS First Look report scored Commure Ambient AI at 93.3, with every respondent saying they would buy it again, based on interviews with a selected sample of customers; a First Look measures what customers report rather than a controlled outcome. Vizient awarded Augmedix a contract for the suite in January 2025.

North East Medical Services ran a ten week pilot against another large Epic integrated scribe, announced in February 2025, and Commure reports 5.2 minutes saved per encounter against 3.6, note quality rated 4.5 out of 5 against 3.8, and a 30 percent improvement in documentation efficiency. At Willis Knighton Health, a pilot across eight specialties found more than 80 percent of participating clinicians preferred Commure to the competing vendor, 95 percent would recommend it and 88 percent reported less time in the chart. Neither publication gives the number of clinicians or encounters, or how the figures were collected.

The product page adds up to two hours of documentation time saved per day depending on specialty, a 10 percent increase in wRVUs per clinician and a 25 percent average reduction in denials, with no method or denominator. No peer reviewed study of the product is published. Commure's own pricing analysis notes that the only published randomized controlled trial of ambient scribing tools found modest effects that varied by tool.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

Ownership and deidentification are set out in Commure's contracts. Under the General Terms of Agreement the customer owns its Customer Data, a term defined to exclude PHI, and Commure makes stored Customer Data available on written request after termination. The same terms let Commure create deidentified data, own it outright, use and disclose it for any purpose the law does not prohibit, and aggregate it with other customers' deidentified data to produce insights. PHI itself falls under the Business Associate Agreement, which permits deidentification only through a tokenization vendor and requires return or destruction at termination.

Commure Scribe adds product level statements: Commure never shares data with third parties, owns the entire data pipeline, and runs proprietary language models that improve with each use.

Whether PHI, or the deidentified data derived from it, trains those models is not stated, and the trust center's AI Training Data and Bias document is open only to approved reviewers. No retention period for audio or transcripts is published, and Commure publishes nothing on guardrails, hallucination mitigation or how a safety event is handled.

Regulatory and Compliance
AA on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated, the agreement is available to read before contracting, the tier it applies at is clear, and the agreement discloses that it binds subcontractors who handle protected health information. Which parties those subcontractors are is graded on Model Supply Chain Disclosure and is not counted again here. Where any of the four cannot be verified from published material, the grade is the band below.
Vendor Published

The standard Business Associate Agreement is published on commure.com, effective for all service agreements entered after June 24, 2025 that involve protected health information, and is incorporated into the underlying agreement. Commure reports a use or disclosure the agreement does not permit without unreasonable delay and no more than 30 days after discovery, signs a written agreement with any subcontractor that handles PHI on its behalf, and at termination returns or destroys the PHI at the covered entity's expense and keeps no copies.

The agreement also lets Commure use PHI for its own management and administration, provide data aggregation services for the customer's health care operations, and deidentify PHI under the HIPAA standard through a vendor that applies tokenization, with Commure barred from holding the tokens that could reidentify it.

On its trust center Commure says it designs its privacy and security practices to support HIPAA and aligns its program with the NIST Cybersecurity Framework and HITRUST, and it offers a HIPAA report to approved reviewers. No HITRUST certification is claimed.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

Regular SOC 2 Type II examinations are part of Commure's security program, according to its trust center at trust.commure.com, and approved reviewers can request the SOC 2 report, a HIPAA report and a penetration test report there. The compliance list also names Cyber Essentials, ISO/IEC 27001, ISO/IEC 42001:2023, NIST CSF and TX-RAMP, with no certificate, scope or status shown on the public page.

Control areas are listed by title, among them access log management, endpoint detection and response, mobile device management, event and audit log management and application penetration testing, and Commure carries cyber insurance. The report period, the entities and products in scope, and whether the examination covers the ambient products are visible only to approved reviewers.

BB on FDA and Regulatory StatusThe pathway is stated and in progress, or a clearance is named without the vintage and scope a buyer needs to match it to the product on offer.
Vendor Published

Class I medical device software status under EU MDR 2017/745, with a CE mark, and registration with the UK MHRA under the Medical Devices Regulations 2002 were announced for Commure Ambient AI on September 3, 2026, both self certified for UK and EU deployment. Commure classifies the product under MDR Rule 11 and says its technical file includes a clinical evaluation, hazard analysis under ISO 14971 and usability testing under IEC 62366-1. No FDA clearance is claimed for the US market.

The Terms of Use, effective November 18, 2025, state that the services do not substitute for professional medical judgment and are not designed or appropriate to address serious, emergent or life threatening conditions, and that AI features assist rather than replace professional judgment.

Coding sits closest to that line. The Ambient+ tier generates CPT and ICD-10 codes autonomously, while the same terms make users responsible for verifying AI generated content before relying on it, so the product page and the contract describe different levels of human involvement in the coding step.

BB on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA governance framework with named process behind it, such as certification to an artificial intelligence management standard, or material written for a customer own review committee to evaluate the product with. A framework covering the vendor whole portfolio counts when its scope reaches this product; what it cannot supply is the product specific evaluation the band above asks for. Published results within the one group where the performance of this product is most at risk also sit here: evaluation on the question this axis asks, short of the comparison across groups the band above requires. A medical device clearance or certification, and the quality system behind it, does not reach this band on its own; it is graded under regulatory status. A regulator reviewed plan governing how the model may change does reach it.
Vendor Published

Language performance is the one area where Commure has published comparative results. In the North East Medical Services pilot announced in February 2025, Commure reported what it calls documentation edit rates of 95 percent for Spanish and 93 percent for Chinese language encounters, against 82 and 78 percent for the competing product, without defining the measure or the number of encounters.

The rest of the governance material is listed by title. The trust center lists AI Governance and AI Training Data and Bias documents for approved reviewers, and ISO/IEC 42001:2023, the AI management system standard, appears in its compliance list with no certificate or status shown publicly. The Terms of Use state that AI outputs may be incomplete, inaccurate or biased.

Commure markets high accuracy across more than 100 languages for health systems and 60+ for Commure Scribe, and publishes results for the two languages above only. No fairness method, results by accent or patient group, or analysis of autonomous coding errors by payer or population is public.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Commure's Terms of Use, effective November 18, 2025, include a section on AI features: outputs may be incomplete, inaccurate or biased, the features assist rather than replace professional judgment, users must verify AI generated content before relying on it, and Commure disclaims liability for actions taken in reliance on those outputs. The services are provided as is. In states that do not allow the exclusion of incidental or consequential damages, liability is limited to the lesser of $5,000 or twelve months of fees. Users indemnify Commure, claims must be brought within one year, and disputes go to confidential binding arbitration in Santa Clara County under JAMS rules and Delaware law, with a class action waiver and a 30 day opt out at opt_out@commure.com.

The General Terms of Agreement that govern health system statements of work cap liability at twelve months of fees, disclaim any warranty of accuracy, and state that Commure does not promise results such as first pass rate, denial rate or collections. They also commit Commure to defend the customer against successful claims arising from Commure's negligence or willful misconduct and against intellectual property claims, subject to that cap. Neither document attaches a remedy to an incorrect note or code, and no route is described for a patient affected by one.

The published accuracy figures, 99.4% transcription accuracy for Commure Scribe and 95%+ alignment with gold standard coders, carry no method or denominator. When Commure announced Mythos class models in June 2026 it told customers they keep the same deployment, workflows and integrations; the terms say nothing about notice when the model behind a product changes.

Integration and Deployment
AA on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed bidirectional integrations with major record systems, verifiable in marketplace listings or integration documentation, with evidence the connection runs in production.
Vendor Published

Epic is Commure's most documented integration. Commure Ambient AI holds Epic Toolbox designation for Ambient Voice, announced April 30, 2025: notes captured in the Haiku mobile app flow into Hyperdrive for the clinician's final review and editing. North East Medical Services runs the product fully integrated with Epic, and the product page describes syncing patient data and documentation directly with the EHR.

Beyond Epic, Augmedix Go was documented across more than 50 EHRs including Oracle Health and MEDITECH, and Commure now describes its ambient and revenue cycle software as integrated with 60+ EHRs. The self serve Commure Scribe lists connectors for athenahealth, AdvancedMD, Cerbo, eClinicalWorks, Elation, Kipu, MEDITECH, Practice Fusion, SimplePractice, Tebra and WebPT, with direct EHR sync on the Enterprise plan.

Which elements reach each system as discrete data, such as codes, orders and charges, rather than as note text is not set out system by system.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

Amazon Web Services and Azure appear under infrastructure on Commure's trust center, along with container orchestration, and Commure is listed as an AWS Partner. A region is committed only for the UK, where Commure Ambient AI is available with UK data residency, aligned with UK GDPR and designed for NHS procurement.

For US customers no country or region is named, and no dedicated tenancy, private network or on premises option is published. The product includes an offline mode so clinicians can document without a connection.

Commercial
BB on Commercial TransparencyA price or a pricing basis is published without full tiers, so a buyer can size the cost before making contact.
Vendor Published

Commure sells the ambient line two ways, and only the self serve one carries a price. Commure Scribe's pricing page offers ScribeCore free for seven days with no card required, ScribePro at $708 a year billed annually, shown against a list price of $1,068, and ScribeEnterprise on a custom quote with templates built for the practice and notes synced to the EHR; the page description gives plans from $59 a month. Automated ICD-10 and CPT coding comes with every plan, and cancellations, including annual subscriptions, are not refunded.

The health system offer has no published rate. Commure Ambient AI, the Assist and Live service tiers and the revenue cycle services sold beside them are quoted, and Vizient member health systems reach them through a negotiated contract. Commure also publishes a pricing analysis of ambient scribe products that names competitors' per user rates.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Inpatient, ambulatory, procedural and high acuity workflows all fall within Commure Ambient AI's stated range, and the product page names 25 specialties, among them cardiology, emergency medicine, oncology, hospitalist care, critical care, wound care, nephrology and electrophysiology. Commure says its models, prompts and formats adapt to each specialty. The AI only tier is aimed at ambulatory and lower acuity settings, with the staffed tiers covering more complex work, and Augmedix markets a dedicated emergency medicine app and AI tuned for oncology.

Named deployments back part of that range: North East Medical Services, where the pilot measured Spanish and Chinese language encounters, an eight specialty pilot at Willis Knighton Health, and a co development partnership with HCA Healthcare covering emergency departments and hospitalist operations. Commure lists more than 130 health systems and 3,000 sites of care.

The enterprise product claims more than 100 languages and the self serve Commure Scribe 60+, with Scribe also covering behavioral health, psychiatry and dentistry. In September 2026 Commure Ambient AI gained a CE mark and UK registration, and Commure describes it as used in more than 50 countries. Accuracy by specialty is not published.

Tracked Since Listing

Product updates

Material product, regulatory, evidence and commercial changes at Commure, each verified against a live source and tagged to the capability axis it bears on. Funding rounds and awards are not product changes and are not logged.

Aug 25, 2026Product / capability

Commure released version 2026.3.1 of its Pro iOS app. The headline addition is a widget that starts or resumes an AI Scribe session straight from the iOS Home Screen or Lock Screen, removing the app open and navigate steps before recording begins. The release also promotes AI Studio into the main tab bar for users with AI Scribe enabled, and opens the Scribe panel automatically when a new note is created.

Bears on: AI CentralitySource
Our read on this update →Tracked since Aug 2026
Alternatives

Alternatives to Commure

Vendors in the same categories as Commure whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Suki pairs ambient documentation with a voice command layer over the EHR.

Aura AI Scribe is the flagship product of Insight Health AI, Inc., an Austin company founded by practicing physicians which raised an $11 million Series A in April 2026.

CarePilot sells AI documentation, coding and order drafting to independent and community practices that run athenahealth.

Tali AI is a Canadian built ambient scribe that has grown into a broader clinical workflow platform, adding dictation, medical search, a forms library that auto populates Canadian…

Marvix AI is a Boston-based clinical documentation platform built for specialty care rather than the short general outpatient visit most scribes assume, targeting long consults, complex…

Matic, Inc., formerly branded Scribematic, positions itself as an AI native clinical intelligence platform rather than a scribe, with the ambient documentation product Scribematic as its…

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Head to head

Vendors the index assesses as direct competitors to Commure for the same buyer.

Adjacent comparisons

Products a buyer researches alongside Commure that do a different job: a different category, a different layer of the stack, or a specialist scope. These pages exist to settle whether the comparison is real before it settles which one to pick.

Public Record

Announced Deployments

Publicly announced health system deployments and partnerships. This is a record of announcements, not an assessment of deployment success or scale.

Vizient (group purchasing network)
January 2025
Negotiated access to the ambient documentation suite for member health systems
Vendor Published
Tenet Healthcare
—
Ambient AI platform deployed across Tenet's entire employed physician network
Ob Hospitalist Group (OBHG)
—
Autonomous medical coding across OBHG hospital programs
Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Commure Scribe: free seven day trial, then ScribePro at $708 per year (plans from $59 a month)
$59 baseline
Commure Scribe publishes self serve tiers billed per user, annually or monthly, with ScribeEnterprise quoted. The Augmedix Go, Assist and Live health system tiers and revenue cycle services are sold on enterprise contracts. — — Vendor Published

Commure Scribe lists its plans publicly, with a seven day free trial that needs no card and no refunds on annual plans. The health system service levels carry no published rate, and Vizient members reach them through a negotiated contract.