Patient Voice Agents
H

Hippocratic AI

Patient-facing generative AI agents for non-diagnostic clinical and administrative calls, sold to health systems, payers and life sciences companies: post-discharge follow up, chronic care check ins, screening and vaccination outreach, intake, scheduling, medication adherence, adverse event intake and clinical trial enrollment and retention, by voice and text in multiple languages. The company lists more than 1,000 agents, and since August 2026 sells orchestrators that coordinate several agents toward an outcome, alongside an AI Call Supervisor that scores every call and a builder for customer-designed agents.

The agents run on Polaris 5.0, a constellation of a 700-billion-parameter primary model and more than 30 support models that check medications, labs, escalation and scheduling during the call. The agents do not diagnose or prescribe and do not handle hospice, mental health disorders or children under two; they hand calls to a human nurse when a situation needs one. The company tests agents with thousands of US licensed clinicians before release, reports more than 200 million patient interactions, holds HITRUST e1 certification, and names deployments at WellSpan, OhioHealth, Cincinnati Children's, Universal Health Services and University Hospitals.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 29, 2026
Compare Hippocratic AI with other vendors
Founded
2023
Headquarters
Palo Alto, California
Categories
patient-facing-voice-agents
Indexed Products
Polaris healthcare AI agents, Orchestrators, AI Call Supervisor, AI Certified Agent Builder, Nurse Co-Pilot
Buyer Segments
Large IDN, Health Plan, Pharma and Life Sciences, Academic Medical Center
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

The AI is the product. Every line the company sells is a language model agent or a layer that runs on them: patient-facing voice agents for providers, payers and life sciences (the company lists more than 1,000), orchestrators that coordinate teams of agents toward an outcome, an AI Call Supervisor that scores every call, and a builder that drafts and tests new agents. They run on Polaris 5.0, described as a 700-billion-parameter primary conversation model surrounded by more than 30 specialized support models that check medications, labs, escalation and scheduling in real time.

Remove the models and nothing remains to buy: there is no scheduling system, record or content library underneath. What a buyer purchases is the conversation itself.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

The limits are published and the escalation rule is not. The agents do not diagnose, prescribe, handle hospice, mental health disorders or children under two, and hand the call to a human nurse mid-call when a situation needs one, passing the context along; the safety page lists the situations tested (suicidal ideation, domestic abuse, chronically ill patients downplaying symptoms), and the company reports more than 31,000 patients escalated to nursing care and escalation accuracy across eight categories. Every agent passes simulated calls, clinician evaluation and a mandatory clinical review gate before it goes live.

The missing part is the threshold. The eight categories and the criteria are not listed; the company says a separate set of models decides whether a concerning reading is an emergency or a nonurgent signal for standard channels; over 95 percent of calls run on autopilot, with 0.5 to 1 percent sampled for safety afterward.

AA on Model and Technology TransparencyWhat is under the hood is named: proprietary or adapted foundation models identified, training data characterized, and versioning and update practice published so a buyer knows when the system changed.
Vendor Published

The model is identified, versioned in public and characterized by its training and test data. Polaris is the company's own constellation, released in numbered versions with what changed: 3.0 (March 2025) as 22 models and 4.2 trillion parameters, 5.0 (April 2026) as a 700-billion-parameter primary model with more than 30 support models and over 5 trillion parameters in all. Release notes give per-version accuracy on clinical advice, scheduling, speech recognition subtasks and languages, and the company describes its training data as production patient calls and clinician-scored test calls. The constellation post explains the design: narrow support models with verifiable jobs, and two-level verifiers (a real-time judge and a slower offline model) on every tool call.

Not stated: whether the primary model started from an outside base model, and how a customer is told when a new version reaches its agents.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

A structurally short chain at the model layer, with the host named and the rest unlisted. The company builds and versions its own models, and a 2024 patent covers the constellation design. The May 2026 press item names DigitalOcean's cloud as the platform the calls run on, and NVIDIA is an investor and collaborator on speech and inference. The constellation post credits the company's own speech work with a 50 percent reduction in recognition errors over off-the-shelf enterprise speech recognition, without saying whether an outside speech service remains in the path.

No subprocessor list is published, and whether the primary model began from an outside base model is not stated.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Vendor Published

Published research is company-led and answers narrower questions than the headline outcomes. The peer reviewed work covers three studies: a retrospective WellSpan study (JMIR 2025, company and WellSpan authors) of 1,878 patients in September 2024, where fecal test opt in was 18.2 percent among Spanish speakers and 7.1 percent among English speakers; a retrospective study of 4,415 calls (JMIR Formative Research 2026) finding multicall memory lengthened calls without changing satisfaction; and a qualitative usability study with Roche and Genentech on education for macular degeneration injections (JAMA Ophthalmology 2026). The safety framework is a preprint (medRxiv 2025).

The headline outcomes are the company's own and come without method: a 30 percent reduction in readmissions, a 360 percent increase in chronic care team capacity, 12 times average ROI, 275 percent more survey returns. "Zero incidents of harm since inception" is stated without a definition of harm or how incidents are detected.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

Safety engineering is described in detail; how patient data is kept and used is not. The company publishes the parts that catch a wrong answer: support models that check medications, labs and escalation during the call, an online judge before a patient is told something and an offline model that re-reads calls, a call supervisor that scores every call, and clinician testing before an agent goes live.

Data handling is the weak side. The only privacy policy published covers the website and mobile apps, and says information is kept as long as required and that de-identified data may be used. The company says Polaris 3.0 was built from over 1.85 million real patient calls and Polaris 5.0 on more than 180 million patient interactions, so customer calls feed model development; multicall memory keeps patient details between calls; and marketing plays deidentified excerpts of real patient calls. No retention period, de-identification method or opt-out is published.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

HIPAA compliance is claimed, and the document that would support it covers the website. The FAQ says the company is HIPAA compliant and holds HITRUST and SOC 2 certifications with consent-aware handling of patient data, and marketing call excerpts are de-identified in compliance with HIPAA. No business associate status, agreement or tier is stated, and the privacy policy applies to the website and mobile apps, not to the patient calls the agents make. The trust portal at trust.hippocraticai.com may cover the business associate question.

The agents take in protected health information on every call.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

Recognized certifications are named; the reports behind them are not on the main site. The company announced HITRUST e1 certification for its full agentic platform in July 2025 (press release on its press page), and its FAQ and trust badges name HIPAA, HITRUST and SOC 2. A trust portal exists at trust.hippocraticai.com and may hold the reports, though whether they can be retrieved without a request is not stated. The SOC 2 type, period and scope are not given on the main site. HITRUST e1 is the entry tier, covering a core set of controls rather than the fuller r2 assessment.

BB on FDA and Regulatory StatusThe pathway is stated and in progress, or a clearance is named without the vintage and scope a buyer needs to match it to the product on offer.
Vendor Published

A scope statement is published, and one step inside it is triage. The company states throughout that its agents do not diagnose or prescribe, do not handle hospice, mental health disorders or children under two, and focus on outreach, intake, care navigation and support, escalating clinical judgment to licensed humans. That is a statement of intended purpose disclaiming diagnosis and treatment. For pharmaceutical clients, agents capture adverse events for pharmacovigilance and avoid off-label discussion.

The company's May 2026 constellation post says that when a patient reports a concerning value, separate models "triage severity", deciding between immediate escalation and a nonurgent route through standard channels, and over 95 percent of calls run without a person on the line. No regulatory position addresses that step, and no reasoning is published for why the product sits outside device regulation.

BB on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA governance framework with named process behind it, such as certification to an artificial intelligence management standard, or material written for a customer own review committee to evaluate the product with. A framework covering the vendor whole portfolio counts when its scope reaches this product; what it cannot supply is the product specific evaluation the band above asks for. Published results within the one group where the performance of this product is most at risk also sit here: evaluation on the question this axis asks, short of the comparison across groups the band above requires. A medical device clearance or certification, and the quality system behind it, does not reach this band on its own; it is graded under regulatory status. A regulator reviewed plan governing how the model may change does reach it.
Vendor Published

A governance process with a method is published, with results in the group most at risk. The RWE-LLM framework (a medRxiv preprint, 2025, company authors) describes clinician output testing: 6,234 US licensed clinicians scored 307,038 test calls against harm categories, with nurse review and physician adjudication feeding fixes between model versions. For callers who do not speak English, the Polaris 3.0 release reports 99.83 percent accuracy in Spanish and 99.09 percent across nine other languages against 99.38 percent overall, and a peer-reviewed WellSpan study (JMIR 2025) found Spanish-speaking patients engaged more than English-speaking ones (fecal test opt-in 18.2 versus 7.1 percent, 1,878 patients).

The nine languages are pooled, and no results are published by age, hearing, accent, cognitive status or health literacy, the groups where a phone agent is most likely to mishear or be misunderstood. The testing is run and reported by the company.

BB on AI Liability and RecourseA published falsifiable commitment, or a real correction route the affected person can exercise against the vendor. A published error rate with its method and denominator grades here. A statutory right that runs to the covered entity rather than to the vendor does not reach this band on its own: every other route here asks something of the vendor, and being located in a particular jurisdiction is not conduct.
Vendor Published

An error rate with its method and denominator is published, and the liability the company says it takes is not written down in public. The RWE-LLM preprint reports, across 307,038 clinician test calls, correct medical advice rising from about 80 percent before Polaris to 96.79, 98.75 and 99.38 percent over three versions, advice with potential minor harm falling from 1.32 to 0.13 and 0.07 percent, and severe harm at 0.00 percent in the latest; the company now cites a 99.9 percent clinical safety score. Those are simulated calls scored by clinicians the company hired, not an independent audit of live calls.

The home page says "Liable: Our contracts take responsibility" and the agent builder page says "Your ideas. Our guarantee."; neither states what is covered, the remedy or its limits, so both are recorded rather than graded. No route is published for a patient given a wrong answer.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Named record systems, with direction and production evidence left to the buyer. The home page reports more than 50 EMR integrations including Epic, and the Polaris 3.0 release says the agents have been integrated with Epic, Cerner and Salesforce and can integrate with athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, NextGen, Modernizing Medicine, Allscripts and Meditech. Named health systems run the agents (WellSpan, OhioHealth, Universal Health Services, University Hospitals), and the agents also navigate the phone menus of pharmacies, labs and other providers.

What is read from and written to each system is not described, no marketplace listing or integration documentation is cited, and no customer is tied to a named connection.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

A single hosted service, with the host named and the location not committed. The agents run on the company's platform, and a May 2026 press item describes the platform holding its safety score across 10 million patient calls on DigitalOcean's cloud. No region, data location, tenant separation or customer-hosted option is published, although the company deploys with partners in the UAE, Japan, Israel and the UK. Multi-call memory stores patient details between calls on the platform.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price is on the company's pages now, and how it sells is discoverable. The $9 per agent hour rate the company announced in 2024 does not appear on the current site, which instead offers a meeting that scopes a first use case, integrations and an ROI model for the buyer's population.

Buyers are named by type (providers, payers, pharma and medtech), deployments start with one use case and expand, and the constellation post notes that running a frontier model 30 times per conversation would cost over $100 per hour, which frames the cost argument without giving a rate.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Coverage is named precisely, with published results behind part of it. The company lists agents for providers, payers and life sciences across 17 specialty filters and use cases from post-discharge calls and screening outreach to adverse event intake and trial retention, and it names what it will not do: hospice, mental health disorders and children under two. Named deployments include WellSpan, OhioHealth, Cincinnati Children's, Universal Health Services, University Hospitals, Medical Mutual, Sheba Medical Center and Burjeel Holdings.

Published results cover colorectal screening outreach, chronic care calls and patient education in ophthalmology; each agent passes clinician testing before launch, but those results are not published by setting.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Hippocratic AI

Vendors in the same categories as Hippocratic AI whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Voice AI care management for health plans and at risk providers.

ActiumHealth is the healthcare patient communication product of Syllable, which acquired it in March 2024 and runs it as a division.

Conversational AI agent platform for health systems and payers, covering the call center, website, text messaging and mobile apps.

Physician supervised virtual care company delivering asynchronous care through chat and voice messaging.

Conversational AI for healthcare practice operations, indexed here for the EliseAI for Healthcare line: agents across voice, text, email and web chat that answer patients around the clock…

AI voice agents for patient access and revenue cycle calls.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Head to head

Vendors the index assesses as direct competitors to Hippocratic AI for the same buyer.

Adjacent comparisons

Products a buyer researches alongside Hippocratic AI that do a different job: a different category, a different layer of the stack, or a specialist scope. These pages exist to settle whether the comparison is real before it settles which one to pick.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published
Not published on the current site; meeting to scope use case, integrations and ROI Not published; HIPAA compliance claimed, privacy policy covers the website and apps only Not published. Deployment is scoped per use case with integrations. Vendor Published

The $9 per agent hour rate the company announced in 2024 does not appear on the current site. The pages read route every buyer to a meeting that scopes a first use case, integrations and an ROI model. Ask whether pricing is per agent hour, per completed call, per covered patient or per outcome, what integrations and custom agents cost, and whether any fee depends on the outcome figures the company reports.