Ambient Scribes
S

Sunoh.ai

Sunoh.ai is the ambient AI scribe from healow, an eClinicalWorks company, and the documentation option built into the eClinicalWorks record system. It listens to the visit and produces a transcript, a dialogue flow and a draft note sorted into Progress Note sections, and it captures labs, imaging, procedures, medication orders and follow up details from the conversation as draft orders. The clinician reviews and edits the draft before importing it.

Sunoh runs on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web. It sits natively inside eClinicalWorks, names integrations with athenahealth, Cerner, Epic, ModMed, Practice Fusion and Tebra, and reaches other browser based record systems through EHR Sync, a free Chrome extension. Specialty pages cover family and internal medicine, pediatrics, cardiology, dermatology, orthopedics, behavioral health with DAP notes, urgent care, ambulatory surgery centers, vision clinics and dental practices, where it produces periodontal charting and treatment plans. It documents encounters held in English, several dialects of Spanish, Portuguese, Cantonese, Mandarin, Vietnamese and other languages.

The price is published: $149 per user per month, marked as a limited time rate, with a sign up that carries no contract commitment and with implementation services and a business associate agreement included. Sunoh says more than 100,000 providers use it, and it runs on Microsoft Azure within the eClinicalWorks cloud.

AI Health Index verifiedOctober 10, 2026
Compare Sunoh.ai with other vendors
Founded
2023
Headquarters
Westborough, Massachusetts, United States
Website
sunoh.ai/
Categories
ambient-scribes
Indexed Products
Sunoh.ai AI medical scribe, EHR Sync Chrome extension
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

The note is the model's output. Ambient speech recognition and summarization turn the conversation into a transcript, a dialogue flow, a draft note sorted into Progress Note sections and draft orders, and every output comes from those models. Sunoh is sold as its own product at its own per user price rather than folded into a record system contract; what it takes from eClinicalWorks is distribution.

CC on Autonomy and Oversight ModelAutonomy is claimed and oversight is asserted without a mechanism. Human in the loop appears as a phrase rather than a described control.
Vendor Published

Everything Sunoh produces stays a draft until the clinician acts on it. The provider reviews the summarized content, edits it and imports it into the Progress Note, merging preset defaults with one click, and through EHR Sync reviews, edits and approves notes before they reach another record system.

The draft goes past the note. Sunoh captures labs, imaging, procedures, medication orders and follow up details from the conversation and pre fills them as orders, so a proposed clinical action is placed in front of the clinician already formed. Nothing published describes what the clinician confirms for an order specifically, how an uncertain capture is flagged, or how accurate order capture is.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

The engine is described as ambient listening, voice recognition, natural language processing and machine learning, and Sunoh says the documentation it produces is highly accurate.

The model, its provider and any accuracy figure are not published.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

Microsoft Azure is the one party named. Sunoh's pricing page says it runs on Azure, and eClinicalWorks states that its ancillary products run on the eClinicalWorks cloud in Azure data centers across several US regions. Above hosting nothing is named: no speech recognition engine, language model or model provider, and no subprocessor list. Nothing says whether a model service inside or outside Azure generates the note.

Ownership shapes where data can go. Sunoh is built inside the eClinicalWorks group, and healow's terms allow client data to be used in de identified form for data benchmarking, sharing, warehousing and similar analysis services.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

Evidence is customer testimony. Sunoh.ai publishes more than 30 customer stories from practices and health centers such as Family Health Centers, Hendry Regional Medical Center, Indiana University Health Center and MedFlorida Medical Centers. Their quotes report up to two hours saved a day, notes closed the same day rather than within three days, and one practice cutting documentation time by 50 percent or more.

No peer reviewed study, controlled comparison, independent evaluation or accuracy benchmark is published, and the figures carry no stated method.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

Sunoh states that it uses industry standard encryption and security protocols and includes a business associate agreement with every plan, and healow's privacy policy says protected health information it processes for providers is governed by the customer agreements. healow's terms allow client data to be used in de identified form for benchmarking, sharing, warehousing and similar analysis.

How long encounter audio and transcripts are kept, and whether they train models, is not published.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here. A vendor whose product does not process protected health information grades here too when it says so plainly and explains the scope, with a service privacy document behind it: stating a position a buyer can rely on is the posture this axis grades, and the band above is closed to it because there is no agreement to publish.
Vendor Published

A business associate agreement is listed as included in the plan on Sunoh's pricing page, so it comes with the standard purchase rather than on request. healow's privacy policy has a section on healow acting as a business associate, under which protected health information is processed according to the service agreements and business associate agreements providers sign, and healow's terms say those customer documents prevail where they conflict with healow's standard terms. The parent company reports a completed third party HIPAA compliance audit.

The agreement itself is not published, so its terms, including how it treats audio and transcripts, cannot be read before sign up.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

The certifications sit with the parent company. Sunoh is a healow product, and healow is an eClinicalWorks company. eClinicalWorks states that its ancillary products run on the eClinicalWorks cloud in Microsoft Azure data centers across several US regions, and lists HITRUST, ISO 27001, PCI DSS, CSA STAR Level 1 and Level 2, TX-RAMP and a completed third party HIPAA compliance audit.

Whether those certifications cover Sunoh's ambient capture and note generation, as distinct from the record system, is not stated. Azure's own attestations cover the hosting layer rather than the vendor's controls.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

Sunoh.ai drafts notes and orders for a clinician to edit and import, and healow's terms exclude healthcare services from what it provides; the product holds no FDA clearance.

Two features go past narrative documentation. Sunoh pre fills orders for labs, imaging, procedures and medications from the conversation, which puts a proposed clinical action in front of the clinician already formed. It also documents encounters held in Spanish, Portuguese, Cantonese, Mandarin, Vietnamese and other languages, a translation step that a clinician who does not speak the patient's language cannot check. Neither feature carries a published statement of intended use.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Multilingual documentation is one of Sunoh's main selling points. It markets encounters documented in English, several dialects of Spanish, Portuguese, Cantonese, Mandarin, Vietnamese and other languages, and healow has spoken publicly about multilingual scribes letting patients speak in their preferred language. Errors in speech recognition and translation can compound, and the patients most exposed are the ones the feature is marketed to serve.

Accuracy by language, accent or dialect is not published.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Review before import is the mechanism for catching an error: the clinician edits the draft and approves what reaches the record, in eClinicalWorks or through EHR Sync. healow's terms, updated 1 June 2026, carry a disclaimer and a limitation of liability, send disputes to arbitration with a class action waiver, and give way to the customer's own service agreement and business associate agreement where those conflict. The contract and support path often runs through eClinicalWorks, since many practices reach Sunoh inside that record system.

No accuracy figure, error rate or warranty accompanies the output.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Sunoh is native to eClinicalWorks: it runs inside the desktop record, eClinicalTouch on iPad and eClinicalMobile, imports structured content straight into the Progress Note and pre fills orders. Beyond its home system, Sunoh.ai names integrations with athenahealth, Cerner, Epic, ModMed, Practice Fusion and Tebra, without published detail on what each reads or writes.

Other browser based record systems are reached through EHR Sync, a free Chrome extension configured once per EHR, which reads patient data, drafts notes and sends them into the record after the clinician reviews and approves them. How the extension authenticates, what it can access and how its writes appear in the host system's audit log are not described.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

Hosting is named; the region is not. Sunoh's pricing page says it runs on Microsoft Azure, and eClinicalWorks states that its cloud uses Azure data centers in several US regions, with each client database replicated to a failover site in another region. That describes the parent's cloud rather than a residency commitment for Sunoh, and nothing says where inference runs.

Clinicians use Sunoh on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web, natively inside eClinicalWorks, or through the EHR Sync extension in other browser based records, so what a deployment looks like depends on which record system a practice runs.

Commercial
AA on Commercial TransparencyPublished tiers with figures, a stated unit of charge, and a route to start without a sales conversation.
Vendor Published

The price is on the site. Sunoh.ai lists $149 per user per month, marked as a limited time rate, with a sign up that carries no contract commitment and with implementation services, the voice recognition system and a business associate agreement included. EHR Sync carries no extra charge, so the cost can be sized and the product started without a sales conversation, though the page does not say what the rate becomes when the offer ends.

AA on Setting and Specialty CoverageWhere the product is validated to operate is named and supported, settings and specialties both, whether the coverage is broad or deliberately narrow.
Vendor Published

Specialty reach is listed page by page. Sunoh.ai publishes pages for family and internal medicine, pediatrics, cardiology, dermatology, orthopedics, urgent care, ambulatory surgery centers, behavioral health with DAP notes, vision clinics, and dental practices, where it produces periodontal charting and treatment plans. Dental and optometry documentation follow different structures from physician notes, which widens the fit for a multispecialty or dental group.

Encounters can be documented in English, several dialects of Spanish, Portuguese, Cantonese, Mandarin, Vietnamese and other languages, and pediatric visits with several speakers, including a parent or an interpreter, are captured. Performance by language is not published.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Sunoh.ai

Vendors in the same categories as Sunoh.ai whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

S10.AI sells a multi-product clinical automation suite around CRUSH, its ambient scribe, alongside BRAVO, a front-office agent handling phone triage, scheduling, refills and insurance…

athenaAmbient is the ambient scribe athenahealth builds into its own athenaOne record system.

Comprehend Health, also sold as Comprehend PT, is an AI scribe built for physical therapy.

OneChart is an ambient AI scribe from a small Canadian seed stage team in Hamilton, Ontario.

ScribeRyte AI is the ambient documentation product of ScribeEMR, a human medical scribe services company, and it sells as three AI tiers that are genuinely different products.

Wavo Health describes itself as an AI clinical workspace rather than a scribe alone, turning conversations into notes, visit preparation, patient context, coding cues and follow up content…

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
$149 per user per month, a limited time rate
$149 baseline
Per user per month, self serve sign up without a contract commitment A business associate agreement is listed as included in the plan Implementation services are listed as included in the plan, and sign up carries no contract commitment. Vendor Published

Sunoh's pricing page lists $149 per user per month as a limited time rate, with a sign up that carries no contract commitment and a free trial offered from the page. Implementation services, the voice recognition system and a business associate agreement are listed as included, and the EHR Sync extension has no extra cost. The rate after the offer ends is not stated.