Simbie AI
Simbie AI sells voice agents to medical practices. They answer and place patient calls around the clock and carry the work into the chart.
Each agent takes one job. One registers new patients. Another books visits, fills late cancellations and queues prescription refill requests in the EHR after checking the patient, the medication and any prior authorization. The pre visit intake agent asks patients about their symptoms, rates them as emergent, urgent or non urgent, and points them to emergency care, urgent care, telehealth or a specialist visit, writing its assessment into the chart. After a visit, an education agent goes back over what the clinician discussed and answers patients' questions from the diagnosis, treatment plan and medications in the record. A prior authorization agent submits requests and tracks approvals.
In the background, an EMR Agent runs pre visit tasks and reminders and completes medication reconciliation. Staff can watch every action and take over at any point.
Simbie works with Epic, Cerner, athenahealth and eClinicalWorks as well as specialty systems such as ModMed EMA, Nextech, gGastro and Legend, and its agents also call pharmacies and other providers. Natalia Khosla, a physician, is cofounder and chief executive of the New York company, with cofounder Rachel O'Driscoll as president. Its named customers are gastroenterology and internal medicine practices, including GI Partners of Illinois, which uses the agents as its front door. Pricing follows usage, with no rates listed. Simbie displays a SOC 2 Type 2 badge and claims 60 percent savings on administrative staff costs and no missed calls.
Capability Axes
An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read
The agents are the product. Simbie's voice agents hold patient calls in both directions, registering patients, scheduling, filling cancellations, collecting the history of the present illness before a visit, queuing refills and calling after visits to reinforce education, and the EMR Agent works inside the chart on pre visit tasks and medication reconciliation.
Everything around them, the integrations with record systems, pharmacies and payers, the monitoring view and the ability to take over a call, exists to put those agents to work and keep them in check. Without the speech and language models there is no product, and Simbie prices on how much the agents are used rather than on seats or software.
Perfect accuracy is the promise. Simbie says its platform records every interaction in the EMR with perfect accuracy and that this eliminates manual errors. That covers what the agents leave out of a chart as well as what they put in, and a practice that believes it has no reason to check the entries.
Staff can monitor the agents and take over a call or task at any point, but no review step stands between a call summary, a refill request or a medication reconciliation and the record. The intake agent acts furthest on its own. It rates a patient's symptoms as emergent, urgent or non urgent and routes the patient to emergency care, urgent care or a later visit, with no threshold at which a nurse takes the call and no one checking the patients it sends to a routine appointment. Answers the education agent gives patients after a visit have no stated limits either, so there is no line at which a clinical question goes to a person.
Nothing identifies what produces the agents' speech, answers, triage ratings or chart entries. Simbie describes its agents by task and calls them clinically trained, lifelike and specialty specific, without naming a speech recognition engine, language model, voice provider or version. The triage agent is said to apply advanced algorithms to rate urgency, with no word on whether that means a rule set, a trained model or both.
How the agent decides what a chart note means when it answers a patient, or how it reconciles a medication list, is not explained, and there are no release notes or change history. Nothing would tell a practice that the model answering its patients had been swapped.
No party in the chain is named. Simbie does not identify the speech recognition, language model, voice or telephony providers that hear patient calls and read chart data, or the cloud host that stores them, and there is no subprocessor list. The privacy policy names only categories of service provider, from data hosting to analytics and research, each limited to work done for Simbie, and none is tied to patient calls.
The same policy reserves de identified data for any purpose, which suggests data leaves the identified record for other uses without saying who receives it. With no business associate agreement described either, nothing tells a practice which outside companies sit between its patients and the agent's answers.
Named customers and patient reviews stand behind the product, with no measured outcome. Dr. Marwaha, an internist, says the practice never misses a call; patients of Naperville Internist and Digestive Health Services rate their calls highly; and GI Partners of Illinois runs the agents as an automated front door.
The company's own figures, 60 percent savings on administrative staff costs, hundreds of simultaneous calls and zero missed calls, come with no method, sample or period. The clinical claims carry no numbers at all: triage described as accurate and consistent, and education credited with better adherence and fewer readmissions. How often the intake agent rates urgency correctly, how accurate medication reconciliation is, and how patients fare after the education calls all go unmeasured, and those are the outcomes the clinical agents would need to show.
De identified data is reserved for use without restriction and for any purpose, including improving Simbie's services, under its privacy policy, a grant that covers training on what the agents collect once identifiers are removed. Personal information is kept only as long as needed and then securely disposed of, with no period stated.
Nothing addresses call recordings, transcripts or chart data the EMR Agent reads, how de identification is done, or whether outside model providers may retain anything. Safety engineering is described only as monitoring and manual takeover, with no account of how a wrong education answer or medication reconciliation error is caught.
Simbie calls itself secure and HIPAA compliant and says all data is stored securely, and goes no further. No business associate position, agreement or tier is described, and nothing says which subcontractors handle patient calls and chart data.
The privacy policy covers the website and Simbie's services in general terms and reserves the right to use de identified data without restriction. For a product that takes symptom histories, reads charts, completes medication reconciliation and calls patients about their diagnoses, the lack of a stated business associate position leaves a practice relying on whatever it negotiates.
SOC 2 Type 2 is the one named attestation, carried as a badge with no report date, auditor, scope or route to request the report. No trust center or security overview stands behind it, and the only security statement in words is that Simbie is secure, HIPAA compliant and stores data securely.
No penetration testing, HITRUST or ISO 27001 certification is mentioned. Whether the SOC 2 examination covers the EMR Agent, the triage agent and the education agent, which reach furthest into patient records, is not stated. A SOC 2 Type 2 report is renewed every year, so its date and scope are the first things a practice will need before relying on it.
Simbie sells its pre visit intake agent as a triage agent. A patient describes symptoms, the agent asks follow up questions from what Simbie calls standardized, evidence based protocols, rates the case as emergent, urgent or non urgent, and sends the patient toward emergency care, urgent care, a telehealth appointment or a specialist. No protocol is named, and no nurse or clinician is described deciding where a patient goes, including the patients the agent rates as non urgent.
No regulatory position covers any of this. Simbie's terms carry a no medical advice clause aimed at its website content, and the company says its platform ensures full regulatory compliance without naming a regime.
The education agent adds a second, narrower exposure. Simbie frames it as reiterating the education discussed in the visit, which keeps it close to the clinician's own instructions, but the agent also answers patients' questions about concerns after an appointment, composing plain language answers from the chart with no rule for passing a clinical question to staff.
Governance rests on who built the agents and who can watch them. Simbie stresses that clinicians designed the product and that staff can oversee it, with no evaluation method, accuracy results or review process for model changes behind either point. The triage agent is said to follow standardized, evidence based protocols, none of them named.
The education agent is pitched at patients with limited literacy, visual impairment or language barriers, and the agents speak several languages. Those are the callers a voice agent is most likely to misunderstand, or to leave confused. No results by language, age or literacy exist for any of the agents, so a practice cannot tell whether urgency ratings and answers hold up for those patients as well as for others.
Staff can monitor every action the agents take and step in at any point, and call content lands in the chart where it can be read later. Those are the mechanisms for catching an error.
No error rate, warranty or remediation commitment covers what the agents write into the chart or tell patients, despite the claim of perfect accuracy. Pricing on utilization means a practice pays for what the agents do whether or not it was right, and the terms and conditions, rather than any product promise, set what Simbie owes when an agent gets something wrong.
Integrations reach the record systems Simbie's customers run: eClinicalWorks, athenahealth, ModMed EMA, Nextech, gGastro, Legend, DrChrono, Elation, Epic, Cerner and PointClickCare. Beyond the EHR they take in Ambula for surgery centers, PerfectServe for clinical communication, Availity for payer transactions, Labcorp for results, Zocdoc for bookings, CVS pharmacy, UnitedHealthcare and Cohere Health. The agents read chart notes to answer questions and write call content, triage assessments, refill requests and medication reconciliation back into the chart.
GI Partners of Illinois runs the agents in production, though which record system it uses is not stated. No marketplace listing, interface type or depth for each system is given, so a practice cannot tell from the list alone whether a given integration writes to the chart or only reads the schedule.
Where Simbie runs, and where call recordings, transcripts and chart data rest, goes unstated beyond an assurance that all data is stored securely. No cloud provider, region, tenancy model or on premises option is named.
The agents read from and write to customer EHRs and outside services, so patient data moves between several systems on every call, and none of those paths is described. Whether any processing by speech or language model providers happens outside the United States is not stated either, which matters for a product that hears symptom histories and medication lists.
Pricing is based on utilization, so a practice pays for what the agents actually do, and that is as far as the published terms go. No rate per call, minute or task, no minimum and no platform fee is listed, and buying starts with a demo; a savings calculator estimates the return without stating the price.
The unit of charge tells a practice how the bill will move with volume. What it will cost for a given call load, and whether outbound campaigns, the EMR Agent and education calls are priced differently from inbound calls, has to come from Simbie directly.
Outpatient specialty practices are the setting, with scheduling tailored to each specialty's visit types and durations. Named customers sit in gastroenterology (GI Partners of Illinois, Digestive Health Services) and internal medicine (Naperville Internist, Dr. Marwaha), and Simbie exhibits to dermatology practices, with Legend, a dermatology EHR, and gGastro, a gastroenterology EHR, among its integrations.
Integrations also reach Epic, Cerner and PointClickCare, which point toward hospital and post acute buyers, though no deployment in those settings is named. The clinical features, post visit education and medication reconciliation, are described without saying which specialties or patient groups they have been used with.
Alternatives to Simbie AI
Vendors in the same categories as Simbie AI whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
CareCloud stratusAI is the AI phone product of CareCloud, a New Jersey healthcare IT company that sells EHR, practice management and revenue cycle software and services to medical practices…
Clarus provides patient communication software for medical practices, health systems, and home health organizations.
Healthcare contact center platform (CareDesk) with a nurse triage module and newer AI voice agents.
Attune, based in Chicago, launched publicly in January 2026 under chief executive Matt Coughlin and sells an agentic engagement platform for healthcare: Agentic Voice, a conversational…
Patient access platform for health systems built around symptom triage and care navigation.
Attuned Intelligence, based in Orlando, sells a voice AI agent that answers the main phone lines of community health centers, federally qualified health centers and hospitals around the…
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Pricing
Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.
| Entry Price | Pricing Basis | BAA Tier | Implementation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Contact the vendor
|
Utilization based | No business associate agreement or tier stated | Not stated | Vendor Published |
Simbie prices on utilization, so a practice pays for what the agents do. No rate per call, minute or task, minimum or platform fee is listed, and buying starts with a demo; a savings calculator estimates return without stating the price. Whether outbound calls, the EMR Agent and education calls are priced differently from inbound calls is not stated.