Ambient Scribes
O

Oracle Health Clinical AI Agent

Oracle Health Clinical AI Agent is the ambient documentation and assistant layer built into the Oracle Health electronic health record, the platform Oracle acquired with Cerner, and it is now marketed as part of Oracle Health AI Agents. It listens to the visit and drafts the note. Since February 2026 in the United States it also drafts orders from the conversation, covering laboratory tests, imaging and diagnostic studies, new and refilled prescriptions and follow up appointments, completed from the patient's order history, the physician's favorites and the organization's ordering preferences for the clinician to review and approve. An August 2026 release added professional fee coding suggestions within the orders workflow, dictation into any text field, and chart review that summarizes history, labs and medications.

Oracle says note generation has saved physicians more than 400,000 hours across US health organizations in nearly two years. Billings Clinic and Beacon Health System are named customers. The agent is the anchor AI feature of the voice first Oracle Health EHR launched for US ambulatory providers in August 2025, and it is sold inside the Oracle Health relationship rather than separately.

Oracle's product page states that its AI features describe product direction, may change and may not be incorporated into any contract. Company leadership has also described the system proposing medications and laboratory tests based on what a payer covers, and surfacing next best actions derived from payer contracts.

AI Health Index verifiedOctober 10, 2026
Compare Oracle Health Clinical AI Agent with other vendors
Founded
1977
Headquarters
Austin, Texas, United States
Categories
ambient-scribes
Indexed Products
Clinical AI Agent, Automated Order Creation, Professional fee coding, Dictation, Chart review, Oracle Health EHR
Buyer Segments
Large IDN, Academic Medical Center, Community Health System
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
CC on AI CentralityArtificial intelligence is a feature layer on a product whose value stands without it. A learned component is a model whose parameters are estimated from data: machine learning, or a statistical model fitted to population data, including one then updated on the patient measurements. A fixed formula, a rule set, or a feedback controller that adjusts a dosing factor from the patient own readings is not one, however patient specific its output and whatever the vendor calls the adjustment.
Vendor Published

The agent is generative throughout, drafting notes, orders and charge codes, transcribing dictation and summarizing charts, but it is a layer of the Oracle Health record rather than a product bought on its own. Organizations choose Oracle Health for the record system and its installed base, and the agent comes with it. Oracle now presents the agents as part of a voice first EHR with AI embedded in the workflow, which would change that picture if the AI becomes the reason the platform is chosen.

CC on Autonomy and Oversight ModelAutonomy is claimed and oversight is asserted without a mechanism. Human in the loop appears as a phrase rather than a described control.
Vendor Published

The reach is wide and the oversight is described in a phrase. Since February 2026 the agent drafts prescriptions, laboratory tests, imaging studies and follow up appointments from ambient listening, completing them from prior orders, the patient's history, the physician's favorites and organizational preferences, and since August 2026 it suggests professional fee charge codes. Oracle describes physicians reviewing and approving the orders and confirming the codes before submission, and clinicians reviewing, editing and signing all documentation.

That review step is the whole of the published oversight structure. There is no confidence signal on a drafted order or code, no order level accuracy rate, nothing on what the agent does when the conversation is ambiguous, and nothing on what happens after a drafted order turns out to be wrong. A wrong prescription is a clinical event, so the review gate carries the entire safety case.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

Oracle describes the agents as working together as a system with semantic reasoning, sharing context in near real time on a unified architecture, and its product page says the outputs are interpretable and explainable so users can see the basis for a recommendation. No model card, named model, version or accuracy figure for notes, orders or codes is published.

The product page closes with a disclaimer that the AI features describe general product direction, may evolve and are subject to change, and may not be incorporated into any contract, so the published description of how the system works is not something a customer can hold Oracle to.

DD on Model Supply Chain DisclosureNothing establishes who else sits between a patient record and an answer.
Vendor Published

Nothing published identifies the parties behind this agent. No model or model provider, no hosting arrangement specific to the product and no subprocessor list is named. Oracle runs its own cloud and record platform, so the chain may be short, but that is inferred from corporate structure rather than disclosed.

External models are in use elsewhere on the platform. Oracle announced in September 2025 that conversational features in the Oracle Health Patient Portal are built on OpenAI frontier models, so a wholly first party pipeline for the ambient agent cannot be assumed. Leadership has also described software arriving in 2027 that would let customers use ambient listening to populate clinical trial data for pharmaceutical companies and researchers, which would move encounter derived content to parties outside the treating institution. Who would receive it, and under what terms, is not stated.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

The published figure is time saved. Oracle reports that note generation has saved physicians more than 400,000 hours across US health organizations in nearly two years since launch, up from more than 200,000 hours in February 2026, and it publishes a case study on Beacon Health System's use of the agents and a quote from Billings Clinic.

These are customer reported aggregates without a clinician denominator, comparison group or method, and no peer reviewed study or accuracy evaluation of notes, orders or codes is published.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

No product specific statement covers retention of encounter audio or transcripts, de identification, or whether customer content trains models. That gap carries more weight because a secondary use of encounter data has been announced: company leadership has described software arriving in 2027 that would let health systems take part in clinical trials using ambient listening to populate trial data, presented as a revenue source for community and rural hospitals.

What is not stated is the architecture behind it: whether the capture that feeds trial data is the same capture that produces the note, what a patient is told and who obtains consent, and whether a health system can adopt documentation without the research pathway. The output now includes orders and charge codes, which are derived clinical data with their own retention and reuse questions.

Nothing published describes safety engineering on the model: no guardrails, no hallucination controls and no process for handling a safety event.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

No business associate agreement position scoped to this agent is published. Oracle supplies record systems to US health systems at national scale and those relationships run under contract, but nothing public lets a prospective customer see what the terms cover for the agent before contracting.

The scope question has grown with the product. The agent now drafts laboratory, imaging, prescription and follow up orders and suggests charge codes, so protected health information captured from a recorded conversation flows on toward pharmacies, laboratories, payers and billing through the same vendor's software. Nothing published says whether the agreement a health system holds covers order transmission, coding and billing derived from ambient capture, or which framework would govern encounter data used for the clinical trial pathway leadership has described.

CC on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are described with an outside check behind them, such as independent penetration testing on a stated cadence, but no attestation against a recognized framework. A certification that tests the software security features rather than the vendor operations, such as federal health IT certification, is an outside check of this kind.
Vendor Published

No attestation scoped to this agent is published. Oracle runs a large cloud compliance program spanning certifications, government authorizations and regional frameworks, and that program describes how the cloud is operated rather than how this agent handles encounter audio, drafts orders or suggests codes.

The assurance is first party, since the compliance program belongs to the same company, which makes it easy to read as covering the agent. Nothing published says which report names the agent, whether ambient capture and the order and coding paths sit inside an assessed boundary, or what period a relevant report covers.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No clearance is claimed for the agent. The next generation ambulatory EHR was released pending health IT certification, which concerns the record system rather than any device review of the AI.

The agent's functions now run well past documentation: drafting prescriptions, laboratory tests, imaging and follow up orders since February 2026, suggesting professional fee charge codes since August 2026, and summarizing charts. Oracle describes each as drafted for the clinician to review and approve, and nothing published sets out why these functions sit outside device regulation.

One described feature puts commercial weight on a clinical recommendation. Company leadership has described the system proposing the right billing code, laboratory test and medication based on what the payer covers, and surfacing care gaps and next best actions from payer contracts. Coverage is a legitimate clinical consideration, but nothing published says what a recommendation is ranked on or whether the clinician sees the alternatives that were not surfaced.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Oracle's product page says the agents give interpretable, explainable outputs so users understand the basis for a recommendation. No fairness statement, subgroup analysis or accuracy by accent, dialect or speaker is published for what is now a voice first product.

The page's closing disclaimer, that AI assistance may evolve, is subject to change and may not be incorporated into any contract, allocates risk rather than describing how the system behaves.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Review before signing is the control on offer: physicians review and approve drafted orders and suggested charge codes before submission, and review, edit and sign all documentation.

Nothing stands behind the output, and the product page goes further than silence. Its disclaimer says the content outlines general product direction, is for information only, may not be incorporated into any contract, should not be relied on in purchasing decisions, and that the nature and extent of AI assistance may change. The vendor's own description of the agent is therefore not something a customer can hold it to. No accuracy figure, published limitation, guarantee, remediation commitment or indemnity covers notes, orders or codes, and a wrong prescription is a clinical event rather than a text correction.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

The agent is native to Oracle Health and works inside the clinician's workflow there. It writes drafted notes and structured orders back into the record, places charge code suggestions within the orders workflow, takes dictation into any text field, and summarizes history, labs and medications from across the chart.

It is not available on any other record system, so it competes only inside the Oracle Health installed base. For an Oracle site the integration is as close as it gets; for anyone else it is not an option.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

The agent is delivered as a cloud service within Oracle's own health stack, with mobile capture apps for both major phone platforms, and its released functions are available to US customers. No residency detail specific to the agent is published: nothing says which region hosts it for a given deployment, whether ambient audio is processed in that region or centrally, or whether the order and coding paths differ.

That matters because Oracle Health serves health systems with their own residency commitments and government adjacent customers, and Oracle runs regional and government cloud regions a customer could reasonably assume apply. The parent's regional footprint says nothing about this agent. Elsewhere on the platform, the patient portal's conversational features run on OpenAI models, so external model services are part of the stack.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

The agent has no published price and no standalone list price. Oracle sells it within the Oracle Health record system relationship, so its cost sits inside an enterprise EHR contract and cannot be separated or compared with per clinician scribe pricing from outside. Oracle's product page adds that the pricing of the features it describes may change at Oracle's sole discretion.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Each released function is available in the United States only: note generation, order creation since February 2026, and coding, dictation and chart review since August 2026, with professional fee coding aimed at ambulatory workflows. Oracle's page describes clinical support across inpatient, outpatient and emergency settings and a nursing agent for capturing charting details by voice, while several administrative agents are marked as planned rather than shipped.

No specialty list and no language coverage is published, so fit for a given specialty mix cannot be checked from public material.

Tracked Since Listing

Product updates

Material product, regulatory, evidence and commercial changes at Oracle Health Clinical AI Agent, each verified against a live source and tagged to the capability axis it bears on. Funding rounds and awards are not product changes and are not logged.

Sep 14, 2026Product / capability

Oracle made its Clinical AI Agent available to inpatient nurses in the US. Nurses get voice driven chart navigation, acute nursing summaries and voice enabled discrete charting inside the Oracle Health Foundation EHR.

Bears on: Setting and Specialty CoverageSource
Aug 19, 2026Product / capabilityPartially verified

Oracle Health expanded its Clinical AI Agent with new capabilities for automated professional fee coding, AI-powered chart review, and clinician-controlled dictation. The update allows the AI to surface relevant clinical context across EHRs, summarize patient information, and transcribe speech in real time directly into any text field.

Bears on: AI CentralitySource
Our read on these updates →Tracked since Aug 2026
Alternatives

Alternatives to Oracle Health Clinical AI Agent

Vendors in the same categories as Oracle Health Clinical AI Agent whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Ambient scribe built for home health field clinicians and structured entirely around the OASIS, the federally mandated assessment instrument that drives both quality reporting and episode…

Apricot, based in Oklahoma City, builds AI documentation for home health and post acute care.

Knowtex is a 2022 San Francisco company founded by two Stanford AI scientists who spent a year working as medical scribes alongside physicians while building the product.

NextGen Ambient Assist is the native ambient documentation capability inside NextGen Healthcare's ambulatory EHR, aimed at the independent and specialty practice market NextGen serves.

Onpoint Healthcare Partners sells the Iris Medical Agent AI platform, which pairs AI agents with a human review workforce to take over charting, coding and follow up work for medical groups…

Playback Health sells a treatment adoption platform to health systems, specialty groups and digital health companies.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published. Sold within the Oracle Health EHR relationship
Bundled into an enterprise electronic health record contract rather than licensed per provider. No standalone list price exists. Not published for this agent Not published. Deployment is a function of the wider Oracle Health implementation rather than a separate scribe rollout. Vendor Published

No standalone price is published. The agent is sold as part of the Oracle Health record system relationship, so its cost sits inside an enterprise EHR contract and cannot be priced separately from outside. Oracle's product page states that the pricing of the AI features it describes may change at Oracle's discretion.