Ambient Scribes
M

Meelio

Meelio is an AI documentation and practice platform for functional, integrative, concierge, direct primary care and precision medicine practices, run by Meelio AI Ltd in the United Kingdom. Its founders are chief executive Kieran Goodacre, chief technology officer Dominik Bauer and James Marin, an integrative registered dietitian whose Newport Beach practice runs on the product.

Before a visit it summarizes the chart, flagged labs, intake forms, supplements and the last visit. During the visit it captures conditions and symptoms, and afterwards it drafts consultation notes, care plans, meal plans, lab action lists and patient handouts in the practice's own protocols, preferred labs and supplement brands. An open source Skills Library publishes the clinician written procedures it can follow for lab reviews, and a clinic level agent that answers practice wide questions is in research preview.

Meelio syncs with Cerbo, Practice Better and Charm Health, reading history, labs and schedules and writing notes and care plans back to the chart. It runs on Google Cloud in the United States, lists Google Vertex AI and Deepgram among its subprocessors, and costs $79 per seat a month, or $790 a year, after a 14 day free trial.

AI Health Index verifiedOctober 11, 2026
Compare Meelio with other vendors
Founded
—
Headquarters
United Kingdom
Website
meelio.ai/
Categories
ambient-scribes
Indexed Products
AI clinical documentation, Pre-consult prep, Practice Intelligence, Clinic agent
Buyer Segments
Independent Practice, Specialty Practice
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

Every Meelio function runs on its models: the pre visit chart summary, live extraction of conditions and symptoms, the drafted notes, care plans and meal plans, and the agents that answer questions about a patient or the whole practice.

Practice Intelligence, which encodes a clinic's protocols, reference ranges and clinical voice, is configuration for those models rather than a separate product.

CC on Autonomy and Oversight ModelAutonomy is claimed and oversight is asserted without a mechanism. Human in the loop appears as a phrase rather than a described control.
Vendor Published

Meelio drafts notes and care plans for the clinician and syncs them to the record, and the clinic level agent is described as writing back only on the user's command once that feature ships.

The Cerbo page describes the note writeback two ways, as one click and as automatic attachment to the encounter, so whether a clinician must approve each note before it reaches the chart is unclear. How the system flags uncertain content is not described.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

Google Vertex AI is named in the privacy policy as the service behind clinical notes and summaries, and Deepgram, a speech recognition company, also appears among the subprocessors.

On top of the model, the product layers a practice's own protocols, preferred labs, reference ranges and supplement brands, and the Skills Library adds published review procedures for specific lab reports. Which model Meelio runs inside Vertex AI, and how it versions or updates the system, is not stated.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

The privacy policy lists the subprocessors: Google Cloud Platform, Google Identity Platform, Google Cloud Storage, Google Vertex AI for clinical notes and summaries, Google Calendar, Deepgram, PostHog for analytics and SendGrid for email.

The parties that receive visit audio and drafting requests are therefore named. The retention and training terms that apply once data reaches Google or Deepgram are not stated.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

More than 50,000 patients under management, 2,500 consultations a month and 10,000 agent interactions are the figures Meelio reports, along with a two minute note turnaround.

Four case studies attach results to named clinicians. Patrick Mullen, MD, of Precision Health, a concierge longevity practice in Sarasota, Florida, says the note reaches Cerbo about two minutes after each visit; Dr. Craig Tanio of Rezilir Health in Hollywood, Florida, describes walking in already prepared by the chart brief; Dr. Seth Osgood of GrassRoots Functional Medicine in West Lebanon, New Hampshire, reports two hours saved each clinic day; and Koosje Janssen, an orthomolecular therapist in the Netherlands who works in Practice Better, reports three hours a day.

The practice the site spotlights, 2,000 patients run with a fraction of the usual administrative staff, belongs to one of Meelio's founders, and none of the figures comes with a baseline or method.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

Customer content is used only to provide the service under the terms, and the privacy policy keeps clinical notes and transcriptions for seven years from creation. When an account ends, content is deleted after an export period of typically 30 days.

The policy gives no retention period for audio and does not say whether data is de identified or used to train models. Guardrails against fabricated content are not described.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here. A vendor whose product does not process protected health information grades here too when it says so plainly and explains the scope, with a service privacy document behind it: stating a position a buyer can rely on is the posture this axis grades, and the band above is closed to it because there is no agreement to publish.
Vendor Published

Meelio's privacy policy says it is prepared to enter into business associate agreements with covered entities, and the homepage presents the product as BAA compliant. The privacy policy reaches the service, with a named subprocessor list and retention periods.

The agreement itself is not published, and the terms treat HIPAA as the practitioner's obligation without a business associate section.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

The homepage presents Meelio as SOC 2 compliant, alongside badges for HIPAA, GDPR, PIPEDA, Australia's privacy principles, NHS Approved and New Zealand privacy compliance, and describes an encrypted architecture.

No SOC 2 report type, auditor or period is given and there is no trust center. Nothing explains what the NHS Approved badge refers to.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

Documentation is only part of the output. The product also flags labs, analyzes results against functional ranges and produces care plans, meal plans and supplement guidance built on a practice's protocols, and its terms call AI features assistive tools that support professional practice.

No regulatory position is stated for the lab analysis or care plan outputs, which go further toward clinical recommendation than a note does.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Lab reviews in Meelio can run on published procedures. Its Skills Library holds clinician written review methods for GI-MAP, DUTCH hormone, thyroid panel and organic acids reports, among others; each sets the order in which the AI reads a report and which findings it flags first, is open source on GitHub with its author's name and credentials attached, and runs from a patient chat once installed.

That makes the review method itself inspectable. No result shows how faithfully the model follows a skill, or the Bredesen ReCODE, Shoemaker CIRS and Wahls protocols a practice can encode, and no accuracy figure or evaluation across patient groups is available.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

AI features are presented in the terms as assistive tools, and Meelio does not guarantee the accuracy, completeness or reliability of AI generated content. A clinician can edit drafts before syncing them, which is the main route for catching an error.

Liability is capped at the greater of fees paid in the prior 12 months or £100, and the practitioner indemnifies Meelio.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Meelio reads patient profiles, history, labs, supplements and schedules from Cerbo through an API connection set up with the practice's Cerbo login, and writes notes to the matching encounter along with care plans. Practice Better and Charm Health have similar integration pages, and the terms also list Epic among supported integrations.

The pages do not list the fields read or written, and they describe sync timing inconsistently, before each consultation in one place and in real time in another.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

Primary infrastructure runs on Google Cloud in the United States, and most subprocessors are listed as United States based, with product analytics in Europe. Enterprise customers can negotiate custom terms and hosting, including self hosting.

Transfers to subprocessors rely on standard contractual clauses, and tenant isolation is not described.

Commercial
AA on Commercial TransparencyPublished tiers with figures, a stated unit of charge, and a route to start without a sales conversation.
Vendor Published

The Clinician plan is listed at $79 per seat a month, or $790 a year when billed annually, with unlimited usage, EHR sync and a patient level agent. Every plan starts with a 14 day free trial with no credit card.

The Practice and Enterprise plans, which add a practice level agent, team controls, a patient app, SSO and custom hosting, are quoted.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

The product is built for functional, integrative, concierge, direct primary care and precision medicine practices, with pages for functional and naturopathic doctors, integrative psychiatrists and GPs, dietitians and nutritionists. It works with named protocols, labs such as DUTCH and Quest, and supplement brands such as Thorne and Designs for Health.

The named practices span concierge longevity care, brain health and complex chronic illness, gut health and autoimmune conditions, and orthomolecular therapy, in Florida, New Hampshire and the Netherlands. Supported languages are not stated.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
$79 per seat per month
$79 baseline
Per seat: the Clinician plan is $79 a month or $790 a year, with unlimited usage. Practice and Enterprise plans are quoted. Business associate agreements offered to covered entities; the agreement is not published and no plan level is stated. None stated. The Practice plan includes guided onboarding with practice data import. Vendor Published

Every plan starts with a 14 day free trial with no credit card. Enterprise adds SSO, a service availability SLA and custom terms and hosting, including self hosting.