Ambient Scribes
M

MedicalScribe.app

Medical Scribe, sold at medicalscribe.app by Leveled Platforms, Inc., is an AI scribe that records a patient visit or a clinician's dictation and turns it into a note ready for the record. Clinicians record on the web, an iPhone or Android phone, a Mac or an Apple Watch, start the recording on the watch during a visit and review the note later on another device. Pre built templates cover SOAP notes, progress reports and specialty formats, and any note style can be customized.

The product leans on its speech recognition: Medical Scribe says its speech to text models are trained on medical terminology, from drug names and doses to anatomy and procedures, and that they work in 57 languages. Specialty pages cover acupuncture and traditional Chinese medicine, cardiology, direct primary care, family medicine, physical therapy and psychology, and veterinarians use it as well. A Chrome extension keeps the scribe open beside a browser based EHR so the clinician can copy the finished note across.

The company says more than 5,000 clinicians use it. Individual pricing is $42 per user per month billed yearly at $499, with monthly billing, a free trial and enterprise volume pricing for teams and hospitals. Medical Scribe signs business associate agreements, encrypts data and runs regular penetration testing, and lists SOC 2 Type II as in progress.

AI Health Index verifiedOctober 18, 2026
Compare MedicalScribe.app with other vendors
Founded
—
Headquarters
—
Categories
ambient-scribes
Indexed Products
Medical Scribe (web, iPhone, Android and Apple Watch apps), Medical Scribe for Chrome, Specialty note templates, Medical speech to text in 57 languages
Buyer Segments
Individual clinicians and small practices, Primary care, direct primary care and family medicine, Physical therapists, psychologists, cardiologists and acupuncturists, Hospitals and clinics on enterprise volume pricing
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

Note writing is the whole business. Medical Scribe records a visit or a dictation, transcribes it with speech models it says are trained on medical terminology, and summarizes it into a structured note in the clinician's chosen template, from a SOAP note to a physical therapy progress report or a traditional Chinese medicine treatment record.

The apps for web, phone, Mac and Apple Watch and the Chrome side panel exist to capture audio and deliver the note. With the models removed there would be nothing to sell, and the company competes directly with other AI scribes, setting itself against Commure, Freed, Heidi, PatientNotes and Twofold.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

Every note is reviewed and edited by the clinician before it is copied into the record, on a phone, a computer or the Chrome side panel beside the EHR. Nothing is written to a chart by the product itself, so the clinician controls what enters the record.

The review step gets no help from the product: nothing links a line of the note to the audio it came from, and nothing flags passages transcribed with low confidence, which matters for a tool promising the same accuracy in 57 languages. Medical Scribe offers a client consent form so clinicians can record with the patient's agreement.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

The approach is described in general terms: speech to text models the company says are designed and trained for medical terminology, followed by AI summarization into the chosen template. Examples of what the models handle, drug names with doses, diagnoses and anatomical terms, are shown on the home page.

No model family, provider, version, training data or update practice is identified, and it is not clear whether the speech models are built in house or adapted from another provider. Clinicians cannot tell when the models behind their notes change.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

The architecture is described as the company's own speech to text models followed by AI summarization, and no model provider, speech service or cloud host is named. Whether the summarization runs on an outside language model is not stated, and Leveled Platforms, Inc., the company behind the product, is the only party named anywhere in the chain.

No subprocessor list exists, and the business associate agreements the company signs are not posted. A clinician therefore cannot see which companies receive patient recordings, or on what retention and training terms, before using the product.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

One named clinician and a user count are the evidence. Dr. Sadaf Islam of Innovatel Telepsychiatry calls the app a game changer, and the company says it is loved by more than 5,000 clinicians, with no figure for time saved, note accuracy or how often notes are edited.

The accuracy language is strong, industry leading accuracy for medical terms and unmatched precision for drug names and procedures, and no word error rate, test set or comparison backs it. A clinician has the free trial to judge transcription quality on their own visits.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

Assurances are general: end to end encryption, HIPAA compliance and unmatched privacy and security standards. Nothing states how long recordings, transcripts or notes are kept, whether clinicians can delete them, whether they are used to train the speech models the company describes as its own, or how data is de identified.

Recordings can start on an Apple Watch and sync to phones and computers, so patient audio moves across several devices and accounts, and nothing explains what is stored where. Safety engineering is not addressed beyond the clinician's review of each note.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

HIPAA compliance is claimed throughout, and business associate agreements are listed among Medical Scribe's compliance measures. Nothing describes the agreement's terms, which plans include it, or whether it binds the speech and model providers behind the product.

The privacy policy covers only website visits, logging, advertising cookies and text message consent, and says nothing about recordings, transcripts or notes. Encryption and HIPAA safeguards are described in marketing terms. A clinic has a stated willingness to sign an agreement and no written document behind it that reaches patient data in the service.

DD on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are asserted with nothing independent behind them, or nothing is published. Read the note before concluding anything: this is the grade most often corrected on a second pass, because assurance material frequently sits on a parent domain or inside an old announcement rather than on the product pages.
Vendor Published

No attestation is held yet: SOC 2 Type II is listed as in progress, without a target date or auditor. The company says it runs regular security assessments and penetration testing, without naming who performs them or how often.

End to end encryption and HIPAA safeguards are described in marketing terms, and a clinic has no trust center or document to request. Until the SOC 2 examination is complete, a clinic has only the company's description of its controls.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

Documentation is the whole pitch, and no regulatory position is stated. Medical Scribe describes itself as an AI assistant that saves clinicians hours by transcribing patient interactions and dictations into notes ready for the record, which is the nearest thing to a statement of purpose.

It transcribes and summarizes what the clinician and patient said, producing notes the clinician reviews and copies into the record. Nothing markets it as diagnosing, recommending treatment or advising patients, and the templates format the clinician's own visit. The documentation positioning matches the product, with no intended purpose statement to set that limit in writing.

DD on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureNothing published on how model behavior is governed or tested. Multilingual operation with no subgroup performance sits here when the vendor markets recognition quality as a strength, because a caller the system failed to understand leaves no complaint and no record.
Vendor Published

Nothing describes how the speech models or note generation are tested or governed, while recognition quality across languages is a headline claim: Medical Scribe says its models support 57 languages with the same medical terminology accuracy as English. No results by language, accent or specialty back that parity claim.

A clinician seeing patients in Spanish, Portuguese or any of the other supported languages cannot tell how often the transcript or note goes wrong, and a mistranscribed drug name or dose in a second language is the kind of error a busy reviewer misses.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Review before copying is the mechanism: the clinician reads and edits every note before it reaches the record. Nothing else stands behind the output.

Transcription and summarization carry no error rate or warranty, and the accuracy claims, industry leading for medical terms and the same across 57 languages, come with no remedy if they fall short. The terms of service set the limits on liability. A clinician who finds the notes unreliable can stop at the end of the trial or billing period, and every signed note remains the clinician's own responsibility.

Integration and Deployment
DD on EHR and Interoperability DepthNo integration evidence. A connector described as available on request grades here until one exists.
Vendor Published

No record system integration exists. The Chrome extension keeps Medical Scribe open beside a browser based EHR, and the clinician uses Copy to move the finished note into the chart by hand; desktop EHRs and phone users copy and paste the same way.

What Medical Scribe calls EHR integration is that side panel rather than any connection to a named EHR, and nothing is read from the chart or written to it automatically. For individual clinicians this keeps setup instant; for clinics it means no data flows between the scribe and the record.

DD on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyNothing published about where the system runs or where the data rests.
Vendor Published

Nothing says where Medical Scribe runs or where recordings and notes are stored. It is a hosted service reached through web, iPhone, Android, Mac and Apple Watch apps, with no cloud provider, region, tenancy model or on premises option named. A recording can begin on a watch and finish on a phone or computer, so patient audio passes between several devices before it reaches the service.

Support for 57 languages suggests users outside the United States, and no statement addresses whether their data, or US clinicians' data, stays in a particular country, or where transcription happens.

Commercial
AA on Commercial TransparencyPublished tiers with figures, a stated unit of charge, and a route to start without a sales conversation.
Vendor Published

Pricing is listed and the product can be started alone. The individual plan is $42 per user per month billed yearly at $499, with monthly billing available at a higher rate, unlimited patient visits and a standard free trial; a 30 percent discount code for new clinicians runs on the site.

Teams, hospitals and clinics get volume pricing on request. Nothing is listed for setup or implementation, and the free trial and individual plan can be bought from the website without speaking to anyone.

CC on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is claimed broadly without specifics, or stated clearly with nothing validating it yet.
Vendor Published

Coverage is broad and named by specialty: acupuncture and traditional Chinese medicine, cardiology, direct primary care, family medicine, physical therapy and psychology, plus veterinary records, with templates for each and a claim of use in hospitals and clinics on enterprise terms.

The one named user practices telepsychiatry, and no clinic, hospital or specialty group is named as a customer. The breadth rests on templates and specialty pitches, and the support for 57 languages widens the claim further without a deployment that shows it working in a given setting or language.

Alternatives

Alternatives to MedicalScribe.app

Vendors in the same categories as MedicalScribe.app whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Noterro, from Noterro Inc. in Canada, is practice management software for allied health practitioners, built for massage therapy, chiropractic, physiotherapy, osteopathy, mental health and…

AI care team suite for clinics and hospitals, from a company at a San Francisco office address that has operated since at least 2021 and earlier ran a physical therapy app built on computer…

EzyScribe is an ambient AI medical scribe from Pennhealth Informatics LLC of Trevose, Pennsylvania, a clinical documentation and business process outsourcing company working since 2017.

MedWriter is an AI medical scribe from S7Labs, LLC, doing business as Medwriter, built for outpatient clinicians and strongest in psychiatry, primary care, neurology and pain medicine.

PatientNotes is an AI scribe for solo clinicians and small practices, co founded in 2023 by a dentist, Dr.

Wavo Health describes itself as an AI clinical workspace rather than a scribe alone, turning conversations into notes, visit preparation, patient context, coding cues and follow up content…

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
$42 per user per month (billed $499 a year)
$42 baseline
Per user subscription, unlimited visits Business associate agreements offered; plan scope not stated None stated; free trial Vendor Published

The individual plan is $42 per user per month billed yearly at $499, saving $100 against monthly billing, with unlimited patient visits and a standard free trial. Enterprise volume pricing is available for teams, hospitals and clinics on request.