RCM & Prior Auth AI
T

Toothy AI

Toothy AI automates dental insurance verification and runs insurance billing with a team of revenue cycle specialists. It pulls each day's appointments from the practice management system, checks primary and secondary coverage through clearinghouse EDI and payer portals using the practice's own credentials, and writes a full benefits table back to the record, including frequencies, waiting periods and missing tooth clauses, in the practice's own note format.

Specialists handle exceptions and the billing side: claims with radiographs and narratives attached, rejections, posting, appeals and receivables follow up. Practices track the work in verification and billing dashboards and a daily email report.

Open Dental, Dentrix and Eaglesoft connect through a small computer Toothy ships to the clinic, and Dentrix Ascend connects by API. Verification is priced per dentist or in monthly bundles, with figures quoted after a demo. Toothy was founded in 2024 in San Francisco and went through Y Combinator's Winter 2025 batch.

AI Health Index verifiedOctober 12, 2026
Compare Toothy AI with other vendors
Founded
2024
Headquarters
San Francisco, California
Website
toothy.ai
Categories
rcm-and-prior-auth
Indexed Products
Insurance Verification, Insurance Billing, Dashboards and Reports
Buyer Segments
Dental practices
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Vendor Published

Verification runs on its own. Toothy pulls the day's appointments from the practice management system, checks primary and secondary coverage against clearinghouse EDI and payer portals using the practice's own NPI and credentials, and writes a filled out benefits table back to the record, with no list for the office to upload. Where portals fall short, the founders' Y Combinator profile says the follow up calls to payers are placed with voice AI.

Billing is described as specialist work: claims with attachments, rejections, posting, appeals and receivables follow up. The February 2025 launch post had pitched agents for those steps too, including denial correction, appeal letters and depositing insurance checks.

CC on Autonomy and Oversight ModelAutonomy is claimed and oversight is asserted without a mechanism. Human in the loop appears as a phrase rather than a described control.
Vendor Published

Verification is automated and exceptions go to Toothy's specialists; the practice reviews flagged items each week and can mark any verification urgent for same day handling. The dashboard shows each verification's status, including those waiting on more information, with an audit trail of when it was completed.

What makes a verification an exception is not stated, nor what happens when a breakdown already written to the record proves wrong. On billing, the practice uploads checks, virtual card payments and EOBs, and Toothy's team posts them.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

Toothy's site describes the workflow, not the models. Verification syncs appointments from the practice system, collects eligibility and benefits through clearinghouse EDI and payer portals, normalizes them into one format and writes them back to whichever fields the practice uses, matching its existing note style and breakdown form.

The founders' Y Combinator profile adds that the company builds on large language models and voice AI. Which models, how outputs are checked and how the system changes over time are not published.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

Toothy's data path runs from the practice system to clearinghouse EDI, payer portals and payer phone lines, then back into the record, and its founders say large language models and voice AI do the work along the way. The model, voice and hosting providers on that path are not named.

The benefits calls carry patient names, member IDs and dates of birth.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

Reported results run from 80 to more than 240 hours saved a month depending on practice size and collection ratios of 97 percent or higher, along with 94 aged claims cleared and $119,172 taken off receivables at one practice and a collection ratio raised from 50.8 to 97.2 percent at another. The February 2025 launch post claimed early customers cut back office staff by 50 to 75 percent within weeks and gained 5 to 10 percent in revenue.

None of these figures comes with a named practice, a baseline or a period.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

Data handling is described as HIPAA first workflows with access controls, audit trails, structured documentation and clear handoffs, with protected health information handled under strict compliance standards.

It publishes no privacy policy, so how long verification data, call audio and transcripts are kept, and whether practice data trains any model, cannot be read.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

HIPAA first is how Toothy describes its workflows, and its founders' launch post called the agents HIPAA compliant.

The site carries no legal pages: no privacy policy, terms or business associate agreement, and no statement of business associate status. Toothy reads patient schedules, insurance details and clinical attachments for claims, so it handles protected health information for every practice it serves.

DD on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are asserted with nothing independent behind them, or nothing is published. Read the note before concluding anything: this is the grade most often corrected on a second pass, because assurance material frequently sits on a parent domain or inside an old announcement rather than on the product pages.
Vendor Published

Security is described as access controls and audit trails. No outside audit or certification is named.

The access involved is considerable. For on premises systems Toothy ships a small computer to the clinic and runs it through remote software, sometimes with the practice's IT team arranging server access, and it works in payer portals with the practice's own NPI and credentials.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

Insurance verification and dental billing are administrative work, and Toothy makes no medical device claim. Its billing team does handle clinical material, attaching radiographs, perio charts, photos and narratives that the practice supplies to its claims.

No terms of service or other statement of responsibility is published, so how responsibility for what a claim or a benefits breakdown says is split between Toothy and the practice is not set out.

DD on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureNothing published on how model behavior is governed or tested. Multilingual operation with no subgroup performance sits here when the vendor markets recognition quality as a strength, because a caller the system failed to understand leaves no complaint and no record.
Vendor Published

Verification works by reading clearinghouse responses and payer portals and by calling payers, and its errors reach the chair: a missed frequency limit, waiting period or missing tooth clause produces a wrong estimate for the patient, and mistakes concentrated on particular payers or plan types would land on the same patients again and again.

How verification accuracy is tested or monitored is not published.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Every verification carries an audit trail with its completion time, the dashboards filter by patient, carrier and plan status, and rejections are typically corrected within 24 hours. A practice can see what was written and when.

What Toothy owes when a breakdown or a posting is wrong is not published, and with no terms of service on the site, the contract that would allocate that risk is private.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Toothy writes into Open Dental, Dentrix, Eaglesoft and Dentrix Ascend, and into whichever fields a practice uses: appointment, patient, plan and chart notes, pop up alerts and calendar colors, in the practice's own note format and breakdown form. Benefits land as a full table of coinsurance, deductibles, maximums and fee schedules, with frequency limits, procedure history and waiting periods.

Toothy calls these approved integrations; the program behind them is not named.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

Setup depends on the practice system. Open Dental, Dentrix and Eaglesoft practices receive a small computer that Toothy manages remotely, and Dentrix Ascend connects through its API; most practices are running within two weeks. Results reach the practice through its own records, two dashboards and a daily email report.

Where Toothy's own systems run and where patient data rests are not stated.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Verification comes in two plans: unlimited verifications priced per dentist, or a monthly bundle with overage. Both include the structured breakdown, benefits calls when needed, the verifications dashboard, a daily report and a dedicated account specialist. Billing and collections are quoted separately.

No figure appears for any of it. Exact pricing depends on providers, appointment volume and payer mix and is confirmed in a demo.

CC on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is claimed broadly without specifics, or stated clearly with nothing validating it yet.
Vendor Published

Practices on Open Dental, Dentrix, Eaglesoft and Dentrix Ascend are the market. The service verifies the whole schedule, primary and secondary coverage included, handles same day urgent requests, and pairs verification with specialist billing for claims, posting, appeals and receivables. Hours saved, it says, depend on provider count, payer mix and insurance volume.

The practices behind its results are not named, so the size and specialty mix it serves today cannot be read from the site.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Quoted after a demo
Verification per dentist with unlimited verifications, or a monthly verification bundle with overage. Billing and collections quoted separately. No figures published. Toothy describes HIPAA first workflows and publishes no business associate agreement. Not stated. On premises practices receive a small computer Toothy installs and manages; most practices are running within two weeks. Vendor Published

Exact pricing depends on providers, appointment volume and payer mix. Plans include a dedicated account specialist, human support, service levels, dashboards and daily reports.