TheraPulse
TheraPulse is a small ambient documentation tool for mental health clinicians, producing progress notes and summaries in about a minute in SOAP, DAP and BIRP formats, alongside session summaries, client progress tracking and session insights. It accepts three input paths: live session recording, dictation after the session for clinicians who prefer not to record, or upload of an existing audio file. Multi voice detection tags and separates speakers, which TheraPulse markets for couples, family and group therapy.
Its Data Usage Policy states that audio recordings are never stored, that uploaded files are cleared from memory immediately after transcription, and that business associate agreements bind its cloud, storage and large language model providers; it claims compliance with HIPAA and with Ontario's PHIPA, and a signed business associate agreement is available by request form. Pricing is published and metered by session volume, from $29 a month for 30 sessions to $149 for 150, with a free start.
TheraPulse also publishes guidance for clinicians on raising recording with clients, which affirms that recording is optional and consent based while coaching clinicians on how to frame the request. It reports more than 1,200 therapists using the product.
Capability Axes
An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read
Transcription and note generation are the entire product. TheraPulse records or takes a dictated summary of a session, transcribes it with speaker separation, and drafts the note, summary and session insights; a research lookup tool sits alongside. There is no record system, billing arm or services layer underneath. Remove the models and nothing is left to sell.
TheraPulse describes a draft and review workflow with a useful alternative path: a clinician who prefers not to record can dictate their own reflections after the session and have the system structure them into a note, so the clinical content originates with the clinician. Against that, the site markets the product as capturing "every detail and nuance to ensure comprehensive session records".
The sentence makes the system the reason nothing is left out, an absolute claim that it does not omit, and a clinician who believes it will not look for what the note missed. Reviewing a draft shows what the model wrote, not what it left out. No acceptance rate, edit burden figure or confidence threshold is published, and nothing describes what happens after a note is wrong.
TheraPulse describes what its system does and names nothing behind it: transcription with multi voice detection that tags and separates speakers, note generation in SOAP, DAP and BIRP formats, and summaries and insights drawn from session content.
No model, provider, version or evaluation is published, and its only statement about model work is that it continuously refines its models to improve speech recognition and understanding, with user feedback, which describes an intention rather than a method. Its published claims are about speed and time saved, not correctness.
The chain is described only in categories. Its Data Usage Policy says business associate agreements are in place with all its business associates, including cloud computing, data storage and large language model providers, which are bound to PHIPA and HIPAA standards, and that protected health information is not disclosed to other third parties without the customer's consent. No model, provider, host or subprocessor is named and no list is published.
What the chain receives is bounded on one side: audio is never stored and is cleared from memory after transcription. What it does with transcripts and notes, and whether any provider retains them, is not stated.
Scale of use and time saved are what it reports: more than 1,200 therapists, notes in about 60 seconds, and up to two hours saved a day. The user count is not evidence of benefit, and the time figures carry no method, denominator or reference. No study, controlled evaluation or accuracy benchmark is cited on its product, pricing or policy pages, and no customer is named.
Its Data Usage Policy is the service document, and it answers retention clearly: no audio recording is stored, uploaded files are held in memory and cleared immediately after transcription, and protected health information is kept only as long as needed for the purpose it was collected, then securely disposed of. Immediate deletion of psychotherapy audio removes an entire category of exposure rather than managing it.
No retention period is stated for the transcripts and notes, which are what persist and carry the clinical substance. There is no published position on whether session content is used to train or refine models, though the site says TheraPulse continuously refines its models to improve speech recognition, without saying what those refinements learn from.
The statement that session data is anonymized carries no method or pipeline position either; a therapy note describes a specific person's circumstances and is identifying in ways field removal does not address.
By its own statement, TheraPulse handles protected health information as a business associate, and it publishes a page for requesting a signed Business Associate Agreement through a form; the agreement's terms are not published, so whether it binds subcontractors and what it covers cannot be read before signing up. The product is self serve and starts free without that request, so nothing in signup puts the agreement in place before the first recorded session.
Behind the claim sits a substantive service document: the Data Usage Policy states TheraPulse's role, what it collects from clinicians, that audio is never stored, that business associate agreements bind its cloud, storage and model providers, and that clients may request access to and correction of their information. It claims compliance with Ontario's PHIPA alongside HIPAA. The site's separate privacy policy covers the website rather than the service.
What TheraPulse publishes on security is controls and a claim, with nothing independent behind either. Stated: AES 256-bit encryption across its databases and in transmission, access controls limiting who can reach protected health information, staff privacy and security training, protection against physical access to its servers, and immediate deletion of audio after transcription.
No SOC 2 report of either type, no HITRUST certification, no ISO 27001, no trust center and no penetration testing on any stated cadence is published, so no outside party has examined how TheraPulse operates. Its own marketing compares the encryption to what banks use, which describes a cipher rather than an audit.
The buyer here is usually a solo therapist or small practice who will not run a vendor security review, while the therapist remains the covered entity and carries the duty to satisfy themselves about a business associate.
TheraPulse makes no medical device claim and states no position on device status. It markets documentation, and some outputs lean clinical: session summaries, client progress tracking and what it calls psychological insights drawn from session content, described as aiding decision making and treatment planning. Each is produced from a session the clinician conducted or dictated and is reviewed before it enters the record, so the basis is one the clinician witnessed.
The rules that govern the product are payer documentation requirements; state licensure; recording consent law, which varies by state and attaches to the recording rather than the note, and which TheraPulse addresses by stating recording is optional and consent based, supporting a dictation path for clients who decline, and publishing guidance for raising the conversation; and 42 CFR Part 2 for substance use disorder records, on which no position is stated.
Nothing is published on how TheraPulse's models are governed or tested: no responsible AI statement, evaluation method, fairness assessment or subgroup result. The gap matters because recognition quality is what the product is sold on. It markets multi voice detection that tags and separates speakers for couples, family and group therapy, and says it continuously refines its models to improve speech recognition, with no accuracy figure by speaker, accent, dialect or session type.
Consent is the one adjacent area TheraPulse addresses: it states that recording is optional and done only with the client's consent, and it supports a non recording dictation path, while its guidance coaches clinicians to frame the request around client benefits, which is adoption advice rather than governance.
The service offers ways to challenge an output without standing behind it. Sessions can be played back with the note linked to the transcript, so a clinician can check a line against what was said, and annotations can be added. Its Data Usage Policy gives a correction route: a customer who believes the information held is inaccurate or incomplete can ask in writing and TheraPulse says it will review and correct promptly.
That route runs to the practice as the health information custodian, not to the client whose session was recorded, who would have to go through their clinician. Nothing stands behind the note itself: no accuracy or error figure, no published limitations, and no warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment. Nothing describes how the system treats disclosed risk content, which is where an omission carries the heaviest consequences in a psychotherapy note.
Compatibility rather than integration, and TheraPulse says both things about it. Its FAQ says the product is compatible with most browser based EHR and telehealth platforms, while a feature page says it is designed to integrate with major electronic health record systems for seamless incorporation of notes.
No record system is named, no write back mechanism or structured field population is described, and no browser extension or API is published, so in practice the note is produced alongside the record system and moved there by the clinician.
A hosted service used from a browser is the single deployment option. Where it runs is not stated: no host, no region and no storage location for transcripts and notes, only that servers are protected against unauthorized physical access and that data is encrypted in transit and in its databases with AES 256.
Audio is never stored, which shrinks the persistent surface, so the exposure concentrates in the processing window, and nothing establishes where transcription and note generation happen or which provider performs them. Residency is not academic here: TheraPulse claims compliance with Ontario's PHIPA alongside HIPAA, and a Canadian custodian is expected to know where personal health information sits.
Multi voice detection widens the exposure, since it is marketed for couples, family and group therapy and a single recording carries the disclosures of several people, most of whom are not the subject of the note.
Tiers are published with figures, along with a free start that needs no credit card. Pricing is metered by session volume rather than by seat: $29 a month for 30 sessions, $49 for 50, $99 for 100 and $149 for 150 with priority support and training. Annual plans are offered at discounted rates on request, which is the one figure not published. Volume pricing suits a part time or building caseload, and the unit of charge, a completed session, is the same unit the clinician bills.
Coverage is stated clearly: behavioral health across therapists, psychologists, counselors, clinical social workers, psychiatrists, marriage counselors and group therapists, with speech pathology also named, in SOAP, DAP and BIRP formats. Multi voice detection extends it to couples, family and group sessions, a harder documentation problem than individual therapy. TheraPulse states that more than 1,200 therapists use it. Nothing published validates the coverage by setting: no study, named deployment or outcome is tied to any clinician type or session format, including the group work the product is marketed for.
Alternatives to TheraPulse
Vendors in the same categories as TheraPulse whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
Documentation and practice platform for behavioral health from SmartScribe Corp.
PMHScribe is an AI scribe built for psychiatric and behavioral health clinicians by Allison Sikorsky, a psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner and practice owner, and sold under its…
Nudge AI is a clinical documentation and coding platform with its depth in behavioral health, serving psychiatrists, clinical psychologists, psychiatric mental health nurse practitioners…
Clinically AI, which began as and still sells Clinical Notes AI, is an AI platform for behavioral health organizations, from private practices to Certified Community Behavioral Health…
AI clinical documentation for mental health professionals, working alongside the practice's own record system.
Supanote is an ambient documentation tool built for mental health clinicians, launched in 2024 and operated by Ionian Ventures Pvt Ltd.
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Compared With
Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.
Pricing
Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.
| Entry Price | Pricing Basis | BAA Tier | Implementation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
$29/month (30 sessions)
$29 baseline
|
Published tiers metered by monthly session volume: $29/30, $49/50, $99/100, $149/150 sessions. Free start, no credit card. Annual discounts on request. | HIPAA compliance stated. BAA terms not published, and the product is self serve. | None published. Self serve, working alongside browser based record and telehealth platforms rather than requiring integration. | Vendor Published |
TheraPulse publishes its pricing, metered by session volume rather than by seat, and lets a clinician start free with no credit card: $29 a month for 30 sessions, $49 for 50, $99 for 100, and $149 for 150 with priority support and training. Annual plans are offered at discounted rates on request, and those rates are the one figure not published. The unit of charge, a completed session, matches the unit a clinician bills, so cost tracks caseload. Ask what happens when a month runs past the session cap.