Clinical Inbox & Messaging AI
O

OhMD

OhMD brings patient calls, text messages, web chat and staff responses into one conversation history. Medical practices and health systems use it to handle appointment requests, refill intake and follow up without moving each exchange into a separate queue. Answer supplies the voice and text AI, Communicate holds the shared inbox, Reach handles outreach, and Conduct coordinates work across communication and operational systems.

Smart Triage identifies the patient's intent and urgency, then routes the request using the practice's own rules. Staff can see the conversation when they take over, and clinical decisions stay with the care team. Patients can use a practice's existing phone number, with secure links for sensitive content instead of a separate patient app. OhMD also connects patient communication to the medical record, including an embedded athenaOne workflow. Founded in 2014, the company is based in Burlington, Vermont.

AI Health Index verifiedOctober 14, 2026
Compare OhMD with other vendors
Founded
2014
Headquarters
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Website
www.ohmd.com
Categories
clinical-inbox, patient-facing-voice-agents
Indexed Products
Communicate, Answer, Reach, Conduct, Smart Triage
Buyer Segments
Medical practices, Health systems, Federally qualified health centers, Health plans
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Vendor Published

Answer handles patient conversations through voice and text AI, while Smart Triage identifies intent and urgency before a request reaches staff. Those functions depend on language processing. The broader communication platform also supplies texting, video calls, forms and a shared inbox that staff can use directly.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

Routine requests can proceed automatically, while clinically significant messages go to staff. Practices set their own escalation criteria and can adjust routing rules. Staff see the earlier conversation when taking over. The precise urgency thresholds and the handling of a missed escalation are not specified.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

The triage workflow combines conversational AI with rule based assignment. Its developer offering also allows customers to connect their own language model. OhMD does not identify the models behind its standard AI service or describe their training data, versions and update schedule.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

Amazon Web Services hosts the infrastructure, and OhMD has a business associate agreement with Amazon. The privacy policy also allows subcontractors handling patient information under equivalent agreements. The parties providing speech recognition and language generation for the standard service are not named.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

Dermatology Associates of Western Connecticut added the Nia AI assistant in fall 2025 after using OhMD texting since late 2023. OhMD reports a 67 percent reduction in resolution time for refill and medication advice cases within 60 days, including a 50 percent reduction for refill requests and 75 percent for medication advice calls. The case study supplies no case counts or measurement protocol.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

The business associate agreement limits use of patient information to contracted services and specified administrative purposes. It permits de identification, after which the resulting data falls outside that agreement, and requires return or destruction of patient information at termination unless infeasible. Model training use, routine retention periods and the response to an unsafe AI answer are not specified.

Regulatory and Compliance
AA on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated, the agreement is available to read before contracting, the tier it applies at is clear, and the agreement discloses that it binds subcontractors who handle protected health information. Which parties those subcontractors are is graded on Model Supply Chain Disclosure and is not counted again here. Where any of the four cannot be verified from published material, the grade is the band below.
Vendor Published

OhMD identifies itself as a business associate and makes its agreement available before purchase. The standard agreement accompanies all plans, with custom terms offered for Enterprise. Section 2.9 requires subcontractors handling patient information to accept substantially the same restrictions. The agreement also sets breach reporting duties and a process for returning or destroying information when the relationship ends.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

The Vanta trust center lists SOC 2 Type I and a corresponding report that requires an access request. It also exposes control categories for infrastructure, product security, recovery and data handling. The audit's date and detailed scope sit behind that request; the public listing does not identify a Type II report.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

Smart Triage sorts patient requests and highlights urgency for staff attention. OhMD explicitly leaves clinical decisions with the care team and describes the service as support for an existing nurse triage line. It makes no FDA clearance claim for this communication workflow.

DD on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureNothing published on how model behavior is governed or tested. Multilingual operation with no subgroup performance sits here when the vendor markets recognition quality as a strength, because a caller the system failed to understand leaves no complaint and no record.
Vendor Published

Patient engagement guidance from OhMD encourages providers to monitor bias across patient populations and disclose AI use to patients. That guidance does not describe how OhMD itself evaluates its voice or triage models. Product specific subgroup results and an accountable model governance process are not supplied.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Staff can inspect the full conversation before taking over a request, and administrators can audit message history. The service terms disclaim accuracy guarantees and place clinical responsibility with providers. They invite reports of inaccuracies, but attach no output correction deadline or remedy to a mistaken AI response.

Integration and Deployment
AA on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed bidirectional integrations with major record systems, verifiable in marketplace listings or integration documentation, with evidence the connection runs in production.
Vendor Published

The athenahealth connection imports patient demographics from athenaOne and lets staff send conversation records back to the chart. OhMD also embeds communication inside athenaOne. Ascentist Healthcare is a named user of the integration. Other named connections include Veradigm and AdvancedMD, with patient synchronization and chat writeback described for both.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

The service runs on Amazon Web Services EC2 infrastructure on the East Coast of the United States. Patient information is encrypted in storage, and OhMD says it is not stored on staff members' personal devices. Customer isolation and the locations used by any external AI processing are not explained.

Commercial
BB on Commercial TransparencyA price or a pricing basis is published without full tiers, so a buyer can size the cost before making contact.
Vendor Published

Core starts at $300 per month, while AI and Automation starts at $500 per month. Calling usage is charged separately. Enterprise uses a custom quote with volume discounts, identity management and tailored onboarding. The pricing page directs buyers to sales and leaves calling rates and implementation charges unspecified.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Medical practices, health systems, federally qualified health centers and payers are named buyers. Specialty workflows cover areas including cardiology, dermatology, pediatrics and behavioral health. Dermatology Associates of Western Connecticut provides a concrete example of AI intake for medication and refill requests. Comparable results are not supplied across the full range of advertised settings.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Core from $300 per month; AI and Automation from $500 per month
$300 baseline
Monthly subscription with separately billed calling usage; Enterprise pricing is negotiated. Standard BAA included with all agreements; custom BAA available with Enterprise. Not specified; Enterprise includes custom onboarding. Vendor Published

The starting subscriptions do not state an included calling allowance. Enterprise minimums apply, and developer APIs and Conduct are sold through a separate conversation.