Elaborate
Elaborate sells inbox infrastructure to health systems and physician groups, built around what patients receive when results are released to them directly under the 21st Century Cures Act. It was founded in 2021 in New York by Nicole Bocskocsky, previously at Oscar and Parsley Health, and raised a $10 million seed round in January 2023 led by Tusk Venture Partners.
The platform has four modules: protocol-based result summaries sent to the patient at direct release, with results ordered for the clinician by clinical significance; classification tagging and summaries of inbound patient messages, prioritized by clinical urgency; refill handling that checks each medication request against protocol and routes or completes it, with chart context alongside; and analytics on inbox performance. Elaborate describes its engine as deterministic: protocols drawn from guidelines such as UpToDate, reviewed by an in-house clinical team, customized to each practice, and not built on large language models.
Named customers include Austin Regional Clinic, Community Health Network (more than 900 clinicians) and Cedars-Sinai (a pilot through the Cedars-Sinai Accelerator), with dated figures published for Austin Regional Clinic and Cedars-Sinai. Elaborate is listed in the Epic Showroom and the athenahealth Marketplace, publishes an ROI calculator, and links a trust center from its footer. No price is published.
Capability Axes
An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read
Elaborate describes a deterministic protocol engine as the heart of the product. The technology page calls it 'a proprietary clinical engine that follows clear logic' and 'non-probabilistic', built from guidelines such as UpToDate, reviewed by an in-house clinical team and customized to each practice's thresholds; the August 2024 Cedars-Sinai release says the system uses 53 clinical factors from the chart and, unlike solutions built on large language models, is protocol based.
Result summaries at release, refill protocols and chart context are that engine. The learned component described on the site sits beside it: classification tagging and summaries of free text patient messages, and, in the August 2024 Austin Regional Clinic release, 'artificial intelligence (AI) technologies to dynamically adapt the product to better reflect practitioners' intentions'. The AI is a feature layer on a product whose value stands on its rules.
The Rx page says the refill feature flags when a relevant diagnosis or recent assessment might be absent, and that 'This safety net helps ensure nothing gets missed.' That is a completeness claim with the product as its subject and no figure conceding misses in the sentence, and a review step cannot show a reader what was never flagged. The oversight structure around it is otherwise well described.
Patients receive a pre-vetted summary at direct release and 'Clinicians still review results', closing those that need no action; patient messages are flagged and prioritized by clinical urgency for the clinician; for each medication request the engine 'checks protocol requirements and appropriately actions or routes'; protocols are built with an in-house clinical team, tuned to each practice's decision thresholds, and tested by the customer's doctors during implementation and after; and a feedback loop tracks acceptance rates and overrides.
Even setting that claim aside, nothing says which refills the engine completes without a clinician or what happens when a summary or routing decision proves wrong. The technology page's 'No black boxes and no hallucinations', by contrast, is backed by a described mechanism (deterministic protocols a clinician can test and trace).
The approach is named. The technology page describes a proprietary, non-probabilistic protocol engine whose protocols are compiled from UpToDate and other guidelines, national standards, case reviews and customer interactions, reviewed by an in-house clinical team, and customized to each practice's language and thresholds; the August 2024 Cedars-Sinai release says it draws on 53 clinical factors from the chart and is not built on large language models.
A buyer knows what kind of system produces a result summary or a refill routing. What is not published is the version and update discipline: protocols are refined continuously through a feedback loop, with no release notes, protocol versions or notice to customers when logic changes, and nothing identifies what performs the classification and summaries of patient messages or the AI adaptation described in the Austin Regional Clinic release.
The chain is structurally short at the model layer: Elaborate describes an in-house build, a proprietary clinical engine developed by its own clinical team, and its August 2024 Cedars-Sinai release says it does not rely on large language models, so no outside model provider is described as receiving chart data. The rest of the chain is not enumerated.
The terms of use (updated 28 September 2022) say Elaborate may share protected health information with 'certain third-parties in order to provide the Services'; the privacy policy (updated 22 September 2025) lists service provider categories (hosting, information technology, customer support, email, analytics) without naming them, names Stripe for payments, and says providers may operate outside the United States. A subprocessor list could be in the trust center.
Named deployments with dated figures and some method. The August 2024 Austin Regional Clinic release, quoting ARC's chief medical officer, reports a 19 percent decrease in patient medical advice requests within weeks of onboarding, an 89 percent no-edit rate on messages, 'up to 36% less time in the inbasket', and 97 percent of patients saying the note helped them understand their results.
The August 2024 Cedars-Sinai release describes a pilot through the Cedars-Sinai Accelerator and reports a 94 percent no-edit rate for practitioners live more than three months, 74 percent of clinicians below baseline inbox time by month two, and 84 percent reporting less after-hours inbox time. Community Health Network expanded from a 50 clinician pilot (April 2025) to more than 900 clinicians (February 2026), and the home page cites 30 percent less after-hours time there.
No denominators (practitioners, messages, patients surveyed) or baseline periods accompany the figures, the home page presents Cedars-Sinai's 94 percent no-edit rate as '94% Clinical Alignment', and no peer reviewed study or outside evaluation is published. One named clinical advisor is ARC's chief medical officer, whose release carries the 36 percent figure.
Retention is stated specifically and a grant over patient data is published beside it. The technology page says 'Minimal necessary data is retained for 90 days; fully purged on termination per BAA.' The patient-facing terms of use (updated 28 September 2022) say 'we may de-identify and aggregate your PHI in compliance with HIPAA, our agreement with your healthcare provider, and this Agreement', and the privacy policy (updated 22 September 2025) says de-identified data may be used to improve the Service and promote the business and shared with third parties, though that policy excludes information processed on behalf of enterprise customers.
Nothing states whether customer data trains or tunes any component; the technology page's feedback loop tracks message acceptance, overrides and patient outcomes to refine protocols. However precisely it is worded, a grant to use patient data for the company's own purposes is still a grant. Safety engineering is described in part, deterministic protocols a customer can test. How a safety event is handled is not on the open site, though the trust center may cover it.
Elaborate states and supports its business associate status but does not publish the agreement. The patient-facing terms of use (updated 28 September 2022) say the use and disclosure of protected health information 'are governed by HIPAA and our agreement(s) with your healthcare provider(s), including applicable business associate agreement(s)', and the technology page says retained data is 'fully purged on termination per BAA'. The home page shows a HIPAA logo.
The privacy policy (updated 22 September 2025) expressly excludes information processed on behalf of enterprise customers, so the terms and the retention line are the documents that reach patient data. No agreement text, tier or subcontractor clause is published.
The home page displays SOC 2 and HIPAA logos and links a trust center (trust.elaborate.com, hosted on Vanta) from the footer as 'Trust Report'. The trust center may give the report type, date, scope and any other framework; the rest of the site shows a SOC 2 claim with none of them.
No clearance is claimed and no regulatory position is stated. The patient-facing terms of use say the Company does not provide medical advice and its content is for informational purposes, which is a responsibility clause rather than a regulatory analysis.
Beside it, the product reaches patients directly: at direct release Elaborate 'provides a pre-vetted summary for each clinical scenario', and the Austin Regional Clinic release describes 'contextualized, action-oriented medical summaries' that give patients 'medically-vetted answers to their questions within mere minutes', tailored by diagnoses and prior labs in the organization's own wording.
The results page says the engine 'distinguishes between clinically insignificant and significant results' to order the clinician's work and that 'Clinicians still review results'; patient messages are flagged and prioritized by clinical urgency for the clinician; and for medication requests the engine 'checks protocol requirements and appropriately actions or routes'. The tension is that the patient reads a clinical summary before any clinician has, and that some refills may complete on protocol alone.
A named process governs how the system's logic is built and changed. The technology page sets it out: protocols start from evidence-based guidelines such as UpToDate, an in-house clinical team adds specialist review and chart analysis, protocols are codified and customized to each practice's thresholds, and a feedback loop tracks message acceptance rates, overrides and patient outcomes to refine them.
Customers can test the system 'during implementation and anytime after', a named clinical advisory board is published, and the Community Health Network release says the approach is designed to support a health system's own clinical governance.
No results by patient group are published: nothing shows whether summaries read as clearly, or protocols perform as well, across languages, reading levels, ages or conditions, for a product whose summaries go to patients across more than thirty ambulatory specialties.
Mechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, and nothing stands behind it. The technology page says every component 'can be traced to a primary source', that the logic is deterministic, and that customers can test it; clinicians still review results, and the no-edit rates in the customer releases show they edit messages before sending.
The published terms of use (updated 28 September 2022) provide the Services 'as is', state that the Company makes no warranty that results 'will be accurate or reliable', cap liability, and run indemnity from the user to the Company. The no-edit rates (89 percent at Austin Regional Clinic, 94 percent at Cedars-Sinai) measure acceptance, not error, and carry no denominator. No route is described for a patient whose result summary was wrong.
Two major record systems are named, with production evidence and public marketplace listings. The home page links Elaborate's Epic Showroom listing and its athenahealth Marketplace listing. The Austin Regional Clinic and Cedars-Sinai releases (August 2024) describe Elaborate's Epic integration reading chart data to tailor result summaries that reach patients at release, and surfacing chart details inside the clinician's inbox, which is reading and writing in production; Community Health Network runs it across more than 900 clinicians (February 2026).
The technology page says Epic clients go live in about 12 weeks and athenahealth clients in a few weeks, across multi-site, multi-instance deployments. Which of the four modules run on each record system and version is not broken out.
A single hosted option with location implied rather than committed. Elaborate describes an enterprise solution built into the customer's record system, live across 'regional, multi-instance deployments', with minimal necessary data retained for 90 days. The privacy policy (updated 22 September 2025) says the company is headquartered in the United States and may use service providers that operate in other countries. No hosting provider, region, tenancy model or on premise option is named, and the trust center is the likeliest place for those details.
Every commercial route is a demo, and no price is published. The shape of the sale is public: four modules (patient messages, results, Rx, analytics) sold to health systems and physician groups, distributed through the Epic Showroom and the athenahealth Marketplace, with Epic go lives in about 12 weeks.
The ROI calculator projects, by health system size, a breakeven of 5.5 to 7.5 months and a return of 3:1 to 6.1:1 over 24 months, which implies a cost it does not state; the figures are fixed per size band rather than calculated from a price.
Coverage is named with validation behind part of it. The product is scoped to ambulatory care, with protocols said to span 'more than 30 ambulatory specialties'; the specialties are not listed. Named deployments cover a multispecialty group (Austin Regional Clinic, 34 locations), a community health system (Community Health Network, more than 900 clinicians) and an academic medical center pilot (Cedars-Sinai), and the home page also shows Millennium, VivaEve and WSFM logos; the Austin Regional Clinic and Cedars-Sinai releases carry dated figures. What a buyer cannot check is which of the thirty specialties have protocols in production and which have results behind them. Not claimed: inpatient, emergency or discharge inboxes.
Alternatives to Elaborate
Vendors in the same categories as Elaborate whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
This record covers message drafting in Epic's In Basket: a generative AI feature that drafts potential replies to patients' medical advice messages for a clinician to use, edit or discard.
Affineon Health sells an AI agent for the clinical inbox of ambulatory practices, working inside the electronic health record in two workflows.
Droxi Digital Health sells AI agents for the administrative side of primary care, working inside the electronic health record rather than as a separate application.
OhMD brings patient calls, text messages, web chat, and staff responses into a shared conversation history.
Healthcare contact center platform (CareDesk) with a nurse triage module and newer AI voice agents.
Physician-built AI that classifies, prioritizes and routes everything a practice receives from patients and referrers, and now leads with turning referrals into scheduled care.
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Compared With
Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.
Head to head
Vendors the index assesses as direct competitors to Elaborate for the same buyer.
Adjacent comparisons
Products a buyer researches alongside Elaborate that do a different job: a different category, a different layer of the stack, or a specialist scope. These pages exist to settle whether the comparison is real before it settles which one to pick.
Pricing
Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.
| Entry Price | Pricing Basis | BAA Tier | Implementation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Not published
|
Not disclosed. No price, tier or unit is published for the platform or any of its four modules (patient messages, results, Rx, analytics). Every commercial route is a booked demo. | Not published. The terms of use say protected health information is governed by business associate agreements with healthcare providers, and the technology page refers to purging data under the BAA; the agreement's terms and any cost are not published. | Not published. Epic clients go live in about 12 weeks with a dedicated implementation lead and athenahealth clients in a few weeks; no implementation, protocol configuration or training fee is stated. | Vendor Published |
Elaborate publishes an ROI calculator that projects, by health system size, a breakeven of 5.5 to 7.5 months and a return of 3:1 to 6.1:1 over 24 months. Those figures are fixed per size band and imply a cost the page does not state, so the calculator models the benefit side only.
Ask for the unit of charge (per provider, per module, per message or per result), whether analytics is sold separately, and whether any fee depends on follow-up visits or other billable activity the product generates.