Clinical Inbox & Messaging AI
A

Affineon Health

Affineon Health sells an AI agent for the clinical inbox of ambulatory practices, working inside the electronic health record in two workflows. Labs Core closes normal results, and abnormal results inside parameters the practice sets, and notifies the patient; routes CC'd results to staff; and for results that need the provider, summarizes and trends the labs, calculates ASCVD and CKD risk, and drafts a note to the patient for the provider to review and send. Rx Renewals checks each renewal request against a configurable protocol, shows which guidelines are met, and sends the request to staff or to a provider. Each practice sets the thresholds for what closes automatically.

athenahealth is the one record system named, and the product is listed on the athenahealth Marketplace. Affineon Embed is a white label program that places the inbox agent inside other companies' products, EHR vendors and AI scribes among them; Commure, indexed separately, has joined it, so inbox capability sold under another brand may be Affineon underneath. Pricing is published per provider per month, from $75 to $100 for one module and $145 to $175 for both, with 250 or more providers quoted as enterprise. The company was co-founded with AI Fund, Andrew Ng's venture studio, is led by CEO Evan Grossman, and has announced a $5 million funding round.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 30, 2026
Compare Affineon Health with other vendors
Founded
—
Headquarters
Denver, Colorado
Categories
clinical-inbox
Indexed Products
Affineon Labs Core, Affineon Rx Renewals, Affineon Embed (white label AI inbox)
Buyer Segments
Ambulatory physician practices, Primary care and internal medicine groups, athenahealth practices, EHR vendors and AI scribe companies (white label)
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
CC on AI CentralityArtificial intelligence is a feature layer on a product whose value stands without it. A learned component is a model whose parameters are estimated from data: machine learning, or a statistical model fitted to population data, including one then updated on the patient measurements. A fixed formula, a rule set, or a feedback controller that adjusts a dosing factor from the patient own readings is not one, however patient specific its output and whatever the vendor calls the adjustment.
Vendor Published

Affineon sells an AI inbox, and its two modules do their headline work by protocol. Labs Core sorts results by settings each practice configures: selected normal results, and abnormal results inside parameters the provider sets as clinically insignificant, are closed out of the inbox and the patient is notified; CC'd results are routed to staff; result sets are held until complete; and ASCVD and CKD risk are calculated from ACC/AHA and ISN guidance.

Rx Renewals runs each request through a configurable protocol of guidelines (a visit within a set number of days, a lab panel within a set window, a controlled substance agreement on file) and routes it to staff when the criteria are met or to a provider when they are not. Those are functions rules can perform, and no learned method is described behind them.

The learned component the company does describe is language work: Labs Core 'speed-reads the entire patient chart' to summarize and trend labs, and for results that need the provider it drafts a proposed note to the patient, which the provider reviews and sends. The AI is a feature layer on a product whose inbox reduction rests largely on configured protocols.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

The routing rule is published for both modules. Labs Core closes selected normal results, and abnormal results inside parameters the practice sets, without a provider seeing them, and notifies the patient; results that need the provider's attention are summarized and trended, with a drafted note to the patient that the provider reviews and sends.

Rx Renewals marks each guideline met or not met, sends requests that meet the protocol to staff and those that do not to a provider, and some practices route every scheduled medication to a provider by default. The thresholds are set by the practice ('All settings are configurable at the practice level so doctors stay in control'), and the Embed page sells the agent as triaging the provider inbox '24 hours a day, 365 days a year', which is the scope this oversight has to cover.

What is missing is what happens after the gate is wrong: nothing describes an audit or sampling of results closed without review, a result type that can never close automatically (critical values, a new abnormal trend), how a provider reopens an item the agent closed, or how often a result closed as insignificant later proved significant. That is the category's decisive failure, a routine looking result that was not routine, and on the closed side no clinician sees it. The line that every renewal request 'receives consistent, intelligent, and clinically grounded review' describes uniform handling, not a claim that every output is right.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

The company describes the product as agentic AI built on 'Affineon's proprietary technology', says 'Our AI' processes normal results and drafts patient notes, and says the agent 'speed-reads the entire patient chart'. No model or model family is named, nothing says whether the language capability is built in house or licensed, no training data is characterized, and no versioning or release practice is published, so nothing marks when the system changed.

The protocol side is described more fully than the model: the Rx Renewals page shows the guideline types, the difference between an evaluator guideline that decides pass or fail and a display only one, and the markers a user sees.

DD on Model Supply Chain DisclosureNothing establishes who else sits between a patient record and an answer.
Vendor Published

The company names no party that sits between a patient record and an answer. The product reads lab results, chart data and renewal requests from the practice's record system (athenahealth is the one named) and writes back into its inbox, but no model provider, hosting provider or subprocessor is named, and no subprocessor list is published.

The only privacy policy (effective 14 December 2023) says the company may share information with 'third-party service providers who assist us' without naming any, and it addresses information visitors and account holders provide rather than patient data. The product's chart summaries and drafted patient notes come from its AI, yet nothing says who receives the chart.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

The headline claim sets the bar: the home page says Affineon reduces inbox volume by 50 to 60 percent and saves providers and their care teams 3 to 5 hours per week, and its summary figures on the same page say 30 to 80 percent and 5 hours a week. The evidence behind it is vendor published.

The September 2025 case study names Annapolis Internal Medicine and Dr. Titus Abraham and reports that monthly inbox volume dropped 53 percent after adoption, with about 3,664 lab results handled automatically and 3,500 renewals expedited each month; it gives no baseline period, no measurement method and no provider count. Further case studies are listed for Dr. Painter and Dr. Kahney, and testimonials on the product pages report '45 minutes a day reviewing labs' saved (Dr.

Schroeder) and a 40 to 45 percent cut in laboratory administrative workload (a customer administrator). No peer reviewed study or outside evaluation is published, and nothing measures what matters most for a product like this: how often a result closed as normal or insignificant should have reached the provider, and how often drafted patient notes are sent unedited.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

What is published is a general assurance: 'We're serious about security. Affineon is SOC2 and HIPAA compliant.' The only privacy policy (effective 14 December 2023) says it covers 'our website, products, and services', but its content addresses names, email addresses, phone numbers, IP addresses and cookies, marketing email, and an identity resolution service (Retention.com) that links website visits to other personal information; it says nothing about lab results, patient messages or chart data.

Nothing states how long lab results, chart data or drafted notes are retained, whether customer or patient data trains the AI, or whether anything is de-identified. Safety engineering, meaning guardrails on drafted patient notes, hallucination mitigation and how a safety event is handled, is not published either.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

The site states 'Affineon is SOC2 and HIPAA compliant' beside a HIPAA Compliant badge. That is a compliance claim, not a statement of business associate status, and no business associate agreement, its terms or the tier it applies at is published.

The only privacy policy (effective 14 December 2023) names products and services in its opening sentence but addresses contact details, cookies, marketing email and website analytics, and contains nothing on protected health information, for a product that reads lab results and chart data and notifies patients.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

An AICPA SOC badge on the site, beside the statement 'Affineon is SOC2 and HIPAA compliant', names a recognized audit of how the company operates security and presents it as the company's own rather than a host's. The report type (Type 1 or Type 2), its date and its scope are not stated, no trust center or report request route is published, and no other certification is named. SOC 2 produces an attestation report, so 'compliant' is loose wording for it.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No clearance is claimed, and the company states no regulatory position. The Labs Core page says the product 'can automatically triage the provider's inbox, handling normal and clinically insignificant lab results while notifying patients and closing them out of the inbox', and 'Our AI automatically processes selected normal lab results and instantly notifies the patient with the good news.'

What sits behind that sort is the practice's own configuration: providers select which normal results close automatically and 'customize parameters' for which abnormal results count as clinically insignificant, and 'Protocols and patient messages are customizable for every practice.' Results outside those settings go to the provider with a summary, trends and a drafted patient note the provider reviews and sends.

Rx Renewals checks each request against guidelines the practice configures, shows each guideline as met or not met, and sends the request to staff or to a provider. The tension is on the closed side: a result closed as normal or insignificant, and the message the patient receives about it, is never seen by a clinician.

DD on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureNothing published on how model behavior is governed or tested. Multilingual operation with no subgroup performance sits here when the vendor markets recognition quality as a strength, because a caller the system failed to understand leaves no complaint and no record.
Vendor Published

How the AI's behavior is governed or tested is not published. The site, the Annapolis Internal Medicine case study and the privacy policy carry no responsible AI policy, no evaluation of how accurately results are classified as normal or insignificant, and no results by patient group, lab type or practice.

The company values ('Do the right thing') are general statements about the business, not about the model, and the ACC/AHA and ISN guidance cited for the risk calculations describes the formula used, not how the AI is tested. For a product that closes results without review, nothing published says how classification accuracy is measured, across which lab types and patient groups, or who reviews it.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Mechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, and nothing stands behind the output. For renewals, each protocol shows every guideline as met or not met at the top of the action note, so the basis for sending a request to staff is visible, and requests that fail go to a provider. For lab results that reach the provider, the drafted patient note is a proposal the provider reviews before sending.

Nothing covers the results the product closes on its own: no accuracy or error rate is published for normal and insignificant classification, no warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment attaches to the output, and no route is described for a patient whose result was closed when it should not have been. The home page offer ('Try Affineon risk-free. Satisfaction guaranteed.') publishes no terms, remedy or test and concerns the purchase rather than the output.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Affineon works inside the practice's record system inbox rather than as a separate application, and athenahealth is the one system named: the home page shows the athenahealth logo under 'Integrated with', each product page cites a 4.8 rating on the athenahealth Marketplace, and the company announced joining athenahealth's Marketplace Program.

By its own description the product reads results, chart data and renewal requests and writes back, closing items out of the inbox and placing protocol results in the action note. No other record system is named, and the marketplace listing is cited by the vendor rather than quoted. The Embed program offers the agent to EHR vendors, AI scribes and other health technology companies to sell under their own brands (Commure has joined), which may be the route to other systems. Whether it runs on any other record system today is not stated.

DD on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyNothing published about where the system runs or where the data rests.
Vendor Published

Nothing is published about where the system runs or where the data rests. The company says the product works inside the EHR inbox with no new application or login, which describes where users see it, not where lab results, chart data and drafted notes are processed or stored. No hosting provider, region, tenancy model or on premise option is stated on the site or in the privacy policy.

Commercial
BB on Commercial TransparencyA price or a pricing basis is published without full tiers, so a buyer can size the cost before making contact.
Vendor Published

Affineon publishes a full per provider per month price ladder on its home and product pages: Labs Core or Rx Renewals at $100 (1 to 7 providers), $95 (8 to 19), $80 (20 to 99) and $75 (100 to 249), the bundle of both at $175, $165, $155 and $145 across the same bands, and 250 or more providers quoted as enterprise. The unit of charge is the provider per month, and the Labs Core page puts the cost at 'around $4 per day'.

There is no route to start without a sales conversation: every call to action is a demo request or 'Contact Sales', and the 'Try Affineon risk-free. Satisfaction guaranteed.' offer publishes no trial length, terms or refund mechanics. Tiers, figures and a unit are published; a self serve start is not. The Embed page offers white label partners the agent for 'less than $3 per day', with no unit or terms.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Scoped to ambulatory practice and to two workflows rather than to the whole inbox. Published pricing bands run from a single provider to 250 and above, so the commercial model addresses solo practice through enterprise, and the named customer evidence is primary care and internal medicine. Affineon states it has processed more than 2,000 distinct laboratory types, a substantive breadth claim within its scope. No inpatient, emergency or specialty specific coverage is described, and inbox items outside labs and renewals, including general patient portal messages and staff messages, are not claimed.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Affineon Health

Vendors in the same categories as Affineon Health whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Droxi Digital Health sells AI agents for the administrative side of primary care, working inside the electronic health record rather than as a separate application.

OhMD brings patient calls, text messages, web chat, and staff responses into a shared conversation history.

This record covers message drafting in Epic's In Basket: a generative AI feature that drafts potential replies to patients' medical advice messages for a clinician to use, edit or discard.

Elaborate sells inbox infrastructure to health systems and physician groups, built around what patients receive when results are released to them directly under the 21st Century Cures Act.

Healthcare contact center platform (CareDesk) with a nurse triage module and newer AI voice agents.

MarianaAI, based in San Jose, California, describes itself as a research lab building healthcare AI models, delivered through CARE, which stands for Comprehensive Automation and Revenue Enhancement.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Head to head

Vendors the index assesses as direct competitors to Affineon Health for the same buyer.

Adjacent comparisons

Products a buyer researches alongside Affineon Health that do a different job: a different category, a different layer of the stack, or a specialist scope. These pages exist to settle whether the comparison is real before it settles which one to pick.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
From $75 per provider per month
$75 baseline
Per provider per month, tiered by provider count, sold per module or as a bundle. Labs Core or Rx Renewals individually: $100 (1 to 7 providers), $95 (8 to 19), $80 (20 to 99), $75 (100 to 249). Bundle of both: $175, $165, $155, $145 across the same bands. 250 or more providers quoted as enterprise. Not published. The site states HIPAA compliance; business associate status, the agreement and its terms are not stated. Not published. The company says the product needs no new application and no workflow change; no onboarding, implementation or training fee is stated. Vendor Published

The full per provider per month ladder is published on the home and product pages for 1 to 249 providers, per module and bundled; 250 or more providers are quoted as enterprise. There is no self serve start: every route is a demo request or sales contact. The 'Try Affineon risk-free. Satisfaction guaranteed.' offer publishes no trial length, terms or refund mechanics.

The Labs Core page puts the cost at 'around $4 per day', and the Embed page offers white label partners the agent for 'less than $3 per day' with no unit or terms. Ask whether any fee varies with the number of items processed, and for the offer's guarantee in writing.