Ambient Scribes
S

System C CareFlow Ambient AI

CareFlow Ambient AI is the ambient voice technology System C builds into its CareFlow electronic patient record. CareFlow is deployed in 25 NHS trusts, by System C's count, and competes with Alcidion's Miya Precision and Nervecentre for NHS record contracts. The module listens to the conversation between clinician and patient, drafts clinic letters on the trust's own templates, writes structured data and outcome codes back into CareFlow, and sends letters on through MESH, patient portals or print. An emergency care version completes triage and clerking forms, drafts discharge summaries with safety netting advice, and fills Emergency Care Data Set fields for the clinician to verify. Transcription is in English only.

The product is registered with the MHRA as a Class I medical device, with UK MDR technical documentation and a DCB0129 clinical safety case backed by post market surveillance. Every output is reviewed and signed off before it reaches the record. It runs on Microsoft Azure with data stored and processed in the UK, and on the government's G-Cloud framework it is charged per appointment. Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust signed first, in April 2026, with outpatient go live planned for summer 2026.

System C, founded in 1983 with its registered office in Oxford, holds ISO 27001 and ISO 27018 certification. It publishes no accuracy figures, model provider or price per appointment for the module.

AI Health Index verifiedOctober 11, 2026
Compare System C CareFlow Ambient AI with other vendors
Founded
—
Headquarters
Oxford, United Kingdom
Categories
ambient-scribes
Indexed Products
CareFlow Ambient AI Outpatients, CareFlow Ambient AI Emergency Care, CareFlow EPR
Buyer Segments
NHS acute trusts running CareFlow EPR, Outpatient services, Emergency departments
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

The module exists to do one learned task: turn a spoken consultation into documentation. It transcribes the conversation, drafts letters on the trust's templates, extracts structured clinical data and outcome codes, and in emergency care fills triage, clerking and discharge content. Without speech recognition and language generation there is nothing left of the product. The surrounding CareFlow EPR is conventional record software, and the AI lives in this module.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

Nothing the module produces reaches the record unreviewed. System C states that every AI output is reviewed and signed off by the clinician before it commits, that the AI makes no autonomous decisions, and that in emergency care the Emergency Care Data Set fields are verified by the clinician before submission. Within those limits the module does a lot: it drafts letters and discharge summaries, assigns outcome codes, and can start follow up workflows, orders and pathways inside CareFlow once approved.

How the draft shows its sources, such as linking a sentence to the moment in the conversation it came from, is not described.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

The module transcribes in real time, launches in patient context with no separate login, drafts letters on existing trust templates including letters on hold while results are awaited, writes structured clinical data and outcome codes back into CareFlow, and enriches drafts with the patient's history and recent results. Each clinician can keep a personal dictionary of words and phrases to improve the speech to text, and the emergency version builds structured assessment content at the bedside.

The speech recognition and language models behind it are not named, and no version, training data or update practice is given.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

Microsoft Azure hosts the module, and System C says it writes directly into CareFlow with no middleware and no parallel data stores, under one clinical safety case. System C has also named Microsoft as its partner for a separate social care AI product.

Which company provides the speech recognition and the language model, whether any processing passes to an outside AI service, and whether a subprocessor list exists are not published, and hosting on Azure does not say which models run there.

DD on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNo named deployment and no performance claim a reader can check. A figure published with no source sits here rather than higher.
Vendor Published

Benefits so far are stated as expectations, because the module is new. System C and Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust list reduced clinician time and cognitive load, faster clinic letters, less administration, better coding accuracy and fewer missed or delayed outcomes as what they expect from the outpatient go live planned for summer 2026.

No time saving, letter turnaround, coding accuracy or clinician satisfaction figure from Buckinghamshire or any other site has been published, and no evaluation of the transcription or drafting quality is available.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

The design keeps data in one place. System C says the module writes directly into CareFlow with no parallel data stores and no middleware, under a single clinical safety case, and it confirms patient identity through the national demographics service before documenting. Audio recordings, transcripts and generated documents follow the trust's record retention policies rather than a separate schedule, and if the connection drops, audio is held in the browser cache encrypted with AES-GCM until it can be sent. The module also draws on the patient's history and recent test results to enrich what it drafts, so the model sees record data as well as the conversation.

How long audio is held before deletion in practice, and whether recordings or notes are used to train or tune the models, are not stated.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

NHS trusts are the customers, so UK data protection law and NHS information governance apply rather than HIPAA. Patients are identified through the NHS Personal Demographics Service, and the output is written straight into the trust's CareFlow record. The data processing terms that cover recorded consultations are not on the product pages, so they sit in each trust's CareFlow contract.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

System C holds ISO 27001 certification for information security and ISO 27018 for protecting personal data in the cloud, alongside ISO 9001 and ISO 20000-1, each shown on its company page with its certification body. Its G-Cloud listing for the AI module names NQA as the ISO 27001 certifying body, with a certificate dated October 2024, and gives a Cyber Essentials Plus certificate number.

There is no trust center, and no certificate scope or audit report is posted, so whether the ambient module and its speech processing sit inside the certified scope is not shown.

BB on FDA and Regulatory StatusThe pathway is stated and in progress, or a clearance is named without the vintage and scope a buyer needs to match it to the product on offer.
Vendor Published

CareFlow Ambient AI is registered with the MHRA as a Class I medical device, according to System C, with technical documentation prepared under UK medical device regulations, and it carries a DCB0129 clinical safety case with structured post market surveillance. The registration covers the UK, which is where the product is sold; no position elsewhere is stated.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Governance runs through the device and clinical safety process: a DCB0129 safety case with a Clinical Safety Officer overseeing development and deployment, structured post market surveillance, and System C's stated principles of building AI only for real problems, ethical by design and human first. Its service documentation describes systematic measurement of accuracy, completeness and clinical appropriateness, with testing across clinical contexts.

No results from that testing are published, including by accent, specialty or patient group. Speech recognition errors fall unevenly on speakers with strong accents and on interpreted consultations, which are common in NHS clinics, and how the module performs for them is not reported.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Review before commit is the safeguard. Every draft, code and form waits for the clinician to sign it off before it reaches the record, and the module leaves a contemporaneous record of the interaction that strengthens the audit trail if a document is later questioned.

Nothing stands behind the output itself. No accuracy, error or correction rate is published for transcription, letter drafting or coding, and no warranty or remedy for AI output appears in public material, so responsibility for each document sits with the clinician who approves it. The coded outcomes that drive activity income carry the same arrangement.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Because the module is part of a record system, what counts is how its output moves beyond CareFlow. Letters and discharge summaries go out through MESH, the NHS messaging service, or through patient portals and print, with tracking and an audit trail; patients are matched against the NHS Personal Demographics Service; and the company cites support for GS1 and Transfer of Care standards. Inside CareFlow it writes structured data rather than free text, which feeds the trust's reporting. It does not work with other record systems.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

CareFlow Ambient AI runs inside CareFlow EPR on Microsoft Azure infrastructure, and System C states that data is stored and processed in the United Kingdom, with CareFlow typically deployed in Azure's UK regions. Its G-Cloud listing guarantees 99.5 percent availability and a four hour resolution target for a system down or clinical risk incident.

Where the speech and language processing itself runs, whether inside the trust's CareFlow environment or in a separate AI service, and how one trust's data is isolated from another's are not stated.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Trusts buy CareFlow Ambient AI as an addition to CareFlow EPR, through a demo and a quote. On the UK government's G-Cloud 15 framework, where System C lists the module as CareFlow AI, monthly usage is charged per appointment, with overage volumes agreed in the contract. The rate per appointment, the size of the contracted volumes and any implementation cost are not public.

Because the module only runs inside CareFlow, the larger commitment is the record system itself, which System C sells on long contracts.

CC on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is claimed broadly without specifics, or stated clearly with nothing validating it yet.
Vendor Published

Two settings are covered: outpatient clinics and the emergency department, each with its own documentation and coding outputs. The outpatient version handles letters, outcome forms and referral to treatment fields; the emergency version handles triage, clerking, discharge summaries and Emergency Care Data Set fields. System C describes the design as extensible to other hospital workflows, and has said maternity AI is in development.

Transcription is in English only, which matters in NHS clinics where interpreted consultations are routine. Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust is the only named customer so far, part of an unnamed group of early adopters, and specialties within outpatients are not listed.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published; charged per appointment, quoted with CareFlow EPR
Per appointment. System C's G-Cloud 15 listing for CareFlow AI charges monthly usage on a price per appointment model with contracted overage volumes; the rate is not published. Sold as a module of CareFlow EPR in outpatient and emergency care versions. Not applicable as framed. The module is sold to NHS trusts under UK data protection law, with data stored and processed in the UK; no data processing terms are published for it. Not published. Vendor Published

No price appears on the product page, the factsheet pages or the Buckinghamshire announcement. The G-Cloud 15 listing names the unit of charge, price per appointment with contracted overage volumes, and its linked pricing document gives no figures. The module only runs inside CareFlow EPR, so it is bought by trusts that already use or are adopting that record system.