RCM & Prior Auth AI
S

Sift Healthcare

Sift Healthcare helps hospitals and health systems identify reimbursement risk before billing and prioritize recovery after a denial. Its RevProtect platform combines clinical information with claims and remittance history to learn how individual payers respond to documentation, coding and utilization patterns. Sift is based in Milwaukee and operates as Sift Medical Data.

The platform predicts adverse payment outcomes such as denials, diagnosis related group downgrades and later payment takebacks. It turns risk scores into recommendations for documentation, utilization review, coding and patient financial services teams. Similar case comparisons, evidence differences and role specific playbooks help explain the recommended action. Staff can receive results in Sift's interface or within existing workflows.

Recovery tools rank denied accounts by likely return and help teams focus their effort. A May 2026 case describes $13 million recovered over five months from an unnamed health system's $43 million aged denial portfolio. A separate Hartford HealthCare collaboration focuses on developing and validating earlier interventions. These are distinct from proof that every prevention recommendation improves outcomes. RevProtect can be purchased through an engagement linked to measured financial improvements, with the rate and detailed terms negotiated. Its public website privacy policy expressly excludes data processed inside the product.

AI Health Index verifiedOctober 15, 2026
Compare Sift Healthcare with other vendors
Founded
—
Headquarters
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Categories
rcm-and-prior-auth
Indexed Products
RevProtect, Payments Intelligence, Reimbursement risk prediction, Denial prevention recommendations, Revenue recovery prioritization
Buyer Segments
Hospitals, Health systems, Revenue cycle teams, Clinical documentation and utilization review teams
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

RevProtect's central function is predicting how a payer will respond to a claim and turning that prediction into an operational action. Models connect clinical documentation with claims and remittance history, identify cases at risk and estimate the recovery potential of denied accounts. Similar case comparisons and payment outcome feedback support the recommendations.

Reporting, data normalization and worklists are useful supporting functions, but they do not replace the learned assessment of payer behavior. The current offer therefore depends on AI for its principal value, with prevention and recovery built around model outputs rather than a conventional dashboard alone.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

Recommendations are directed to specific teams, with utilization review staff able to escalate a case to a physician advisor. The architecture includes confidence thresholds and escalation rules, and presents actions with a rationale rather than only a risk score. These are concrete elements of oversight. The actual threshold values, circumstances requiring a stop and procedures for rejecting or reversing an action are not specified.

Prevention pages also acknowledge that denials and downgrades still occur, so reduced risk is not presented as universal error free output. The available workflow supports supervised intervention without describing every control needed for unattended execution.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The approach combines reimbursement prediction, comparisons with similar paid and denied cases, nearest neighbor analysis and role based playbooks. Inputs include clinical documentation, 837 claims and 835 remittances, with later outcomes used to refine payer specific patterns. This identifies meaningful analytical methods and the kinds of information they use. Model families, parameter versions, training cohort boundaries and update schedules are not supplied.

Plain language recommendations are described without a named language model or a clear account of how generated text is checked against the analytical result. The architecture is more explicit than the underlying model implementation.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

Sift explains the analytical layers behind RevProtect, including similarity modeling, nearest neighbor comparisons and playbooks derived from reimbursement patterns. It does not enumerate the organizations that host or process those models, or identify a supplier for any language generation component. The website policy names marketing tools, but explicitly excludes product data, so those names are not a product subprocessor list.

Training and retention terms for outside model services are also unspecified. The account provides an architecture, while leaving the processing chain for clinical inputs and generated recommendations unresolved at the level of named parties.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

A May 2026 account describes RevProtect scoring 4,245 aged denied accounts with $43 million in open balances. After five months, the health system recovered $13 million, with 98% of overturned dollars attributed to the highest scoring half of accounts. The method and cohort are more specific than a generic savings claim, but the customer is unnamed and the account lacks an independent comparison.

A separate Hartford HealthCare partnership is named and dated, with validation framed as planned work. Earlier patient collection experiments concern a different product application and do not establish performance for current denial prevention recommendations.

DD on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipNothing published on how protected information moves through the system.
Vendor Published

RevProtect continually incorporates payment outcomes and successful interventions into its predictive process. This explains how its performance can adapt as payer behavior changes, but not how patient information is retained, deidentified or reused across customers. The current website policy excludes product processing, and its retention provisions concern contact and marketing data.

Numerical retention limits for clinical inputs, derived features, recommendations and backups are not stated for RevProtect. Neither are model training permissions or deletion procedures for those materials. Confidence controls around a recommendation address decision quality, while the PHI lifecycle remains an independent and unresolved part of the public product description.

Regulatory and Compliance
DD on HIPAA and BAA PostureNo statement of status and no privacy document that reaches the product. Both halves are absent at this grade: a service level privacy document on its own lifts a vendor to the band above even where no status is stated. A website privacy notice, including one that says it does not cover customer data, does not reach the product, so a vendor whose only document is that notice and who states no status grades here.
Vendor Published

The April 2026 privacy policy explicitly applies only to the public website and excludes data processed within Sift's products. It therefore does not establish the terms for clinical records, claims or remittances used by RevProtect. Current product pages do not supply business associate agreement availability, public agreement terms or a service specific account of PHI obligations.

An older Rev/Track announcement describes a HIPAA compliant database, but that statement concerns an earlier named product. It does not settle the current offer's contractual posture. Product processing and subcontractor responsibilities remain separate from the website's marketing and analytics practices.

DD on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are asserted with nothing independent behind them, or nothing is published. Read the note before concluding anything: this is the grade most often corrected on a second pass, because assurance material frequently sits on a parent domain or inside an old announcement rather than on the product pages.
Vendor Published

The current RevProtect material does not identify a SOC 2 report, ISO certificate, HITRUST assessment or another independent security artifact. Its website privacy policy concerns marketing visitors and does not describe the product's security assessment boundary. Historical HIPAA language for Rev/Track is a compliance assertion for an earlier offer, not evidence of a current outside security audit. No public trust center or assessment scope accompanies the current product pages.

This leaves the status of independent assurance unresolved; it does not establish that security controls are absent. The relevant scope would include clinical data ingestion, prediction processing and delivery into customer workflows.

DD on FDA and Regulatory StatusThe positioning is unclear or unsupported: clinical claims with no regulatory position stated, or language implying a status the databases do not carry. An open enforcement action that names the product also grades here, whatever the positioning: an FDA warning letter with no close out letter posted, or a consent decree in force. The note says which of the two applies, and the grade returns to the positioning bands when FDA closes the action.
Vendor Published

RevProtect is primarily positioned around reimbursement, documentation and payer behavior, but its recommendation scope includes tests, laboratory work and assessments needed to establish medical necessity. That language reaches beyond identifying a missing billing field and can influence clinical work. No current FDA status or explicit regulatory explanation is attached to that scope.

Escalation to a physician advisor and role specific guidance provide review context, but they do not by themselves resolve the intended use boundary. The public description leaves unclear whether the product only identifies absent existing evidence or also recommends new diagnostic work for an individual patient.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

The validation layer tracks adverse payment outcomes, appeal results, documentation interventions and changes in payer behavior. Feedback informs later scoring, and confidence rules are intended to constrain recommendations. This is a described monitoring process, rather than a claim that models remain static after deployment. However, model release approval, rollback criteria and independent governance assessment are not specified.

There are also no subgroup fairness methods or results for patient demographics, provider populations or payer related disparities. Monitoring financial success can reveal operational drift without establishing that a recommendation is clinically appropriate or equitable for every affected population.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Recommendations include supporting rationale, and performance reporting connects interventions with eventual payment outcomes. These features let staff inspect a result and revisit an unsuccessful approach. An optional performance linked engagement ties commercial success to reduced adverse payment outcomes, but its public terms do not define a guaranteed result, a fee at risk or a remedy for an incorrect recommendation.

It is therefore unclear what financial obligation would arise when an output is wrong. Claims about recovered dollars describe observed cases rather than a warranty. Traceability and commercial alignment are present without a specified correction right or indemnity for the affected customer.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

RevProtect aggregates clinical information with 837 claim and 835 remittance data. Results can appear in Sift's own interface, through an API or in existing EHR and third party worklists. That establishes the intended data flow and workflow integration pattern. The current offer does not name a verified EHR connector with a documented production read and write path.

References to Epic in general integration guidance and older patient payment listings do not establish the scope of a current RevProtect connection. Supported transactions, reconciliation behavior and responsibility for integration failures remain unspecified at the product level.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

Customers can use Sift's interface, embed recommendations in existing tools or deploy through a strategic partner. These choices describe how users receive the intelligence, rather than where the underlying processing runs. The public product account does not identify a hosting provider, processing region, tenant isolation method or a customer hosted alternative. The website privacy policy cannot fill those gaps because it expressly excludes product data.

A browser accessible interface implies a hosted service, but does not establish residency for clinical records, model features or backups. Partner delivery also leaves the division of operational responsibility unclear.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

RevProtect is available through an engagement tied to measured reductions in denials and other adverse payment outcomes. This makes the intended commercial relationship more specific than a generic sales demonstration: the engagement is designed around financial results rather than activity, licenses or usage. However, no fee percentage, outcome calculation formula, minimum charge or example invoice is given.

The amount attributable to the product, baseline period and handling of changing payer behavior remain contract matters. Illustrative revenue protection opportunities describe potential benefit, not the customer's bill. Implementation and integration charges are also unspecified.

CC on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is claimed broadly without specifics, or stated clearly with nothing validating it yet.
Vendor Published

The current focus is hospitals and health systems, with recommendations tailored to clinical documentation improvement, utilization review, coding and patient financial services. Risk is analyzed by payer, diagnosis related group, service line and time period. The product examples include inpatient documentation and level of care decisions, while an operational account addresses outpatient rehabilitation and oncology authorization patterns.

Hartford HealthCare is a named collaboration, but the announcement describes validation to be undertaken. The detailed recovery case leaves the health system unnamed. These sources establish a broad intended hospital workflow without comparable validation across specialties or care settings.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Sift Healthcare

Vendors in the same categories as Sift Healthcare whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Autonomize AI, founded in Austin in 2022, sells the Autonomize Intelligence Platform for healthcare operations, with health plans as its main buyer and provider organizations and life…

basys.ai develops AI software for prior authorization, utilization management, clinical auditing, and payment integrity.

Codoxo helps health plans, pharmacy benefit managers and government agencies find payment errors, investigate fraud and review complex claims.

InsideDesk sells DSOs and multi location dental groups a revenue cycle platform their central billing teams run.

Mandolin automates the administrative work required to start and sustain specialty drug treatment.

Toothy AI automates dental insurance verification and runs insurance billing with a team of revenue cycle specialists.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Custom performance linked engagement
Optional engagement tied to measured reductions in denials and adverse payment outcomes; fee formula and rates are not stated. Current RevProtect BAA availability and terms are not stated. Website privacy policy excludes product data. Implementation, integration fees and minimum commitments are not stated. Vendor Published

Financial opportunity estimates and case recovery amounts are benefits, not prices. The public offer does not establish that all fees are contingent on outcomes.