Health System AI Platforms
P

Proximie

Proximie sells an operating room connectivity and intelligence platform. The Surgical Suite lets remote experts, trainees and device representatives join live procedures with video, audio and annotation, and builds a recorded case library for training, coaching and review. The Intelligence Suite uses proprietary computer vision to detect surgical events, de identifying patients and staff at capture, and predictive models to forecast finish times and flag overruns, feeding control center dashboards, a Daily Huddle view, automated notifications, op note capture and a two way EHR connection over HL7 and FHIR. Device companies use the platform and an SDK to support product adoption and to train their own algorithms.

The company reports more than 500 facilities in 50 countries, and the Surgical Suite is available in about 20 percent of NHS hospitals. In September 2026 it began a year long evaluation with AWS, Deloitte and eight NHS hospitals covering 104 operating rooms, endoscopy suites and catheterization labs, and it works with NVIDIA on Project Rheo. Proximie publishes its business associate and data processing agreements and lets customers choose a data region on AWS (US, EU, Singapore or Australia). Surgeon Nadine Hachach-Haram founded it in 2016; Proximie Limited is registered in the UK, with affiliates in the United States and Lebanon.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 29, 2026
Compare Proximie with other vendors
Founded
2016
Headquarters
Boston, Massachusetts
Categories
health-system-ai-platforms, workforce-and-training
Indexed Products
Surgical Suite, Intelligence Suite
Buyer Segments
Large IDN, Academic Medical Center, Medical Device Manufacturer
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Vendor Published

Operating room intelligence on the platform runs on models: proprietary computer vision detects surgical events in the room and removes manual timestamp entry, and predictive models benchmark historical performance to forecast finish times, flag overruns and inform scheduling, with AI generated insights and recommended actions in the Daily Huddle view.

The Surgical Suite, the company's founding product, is telepresence and content. A remote expert, trainee or device representative joins a live procedure with video, audio and annotation, and recordings build a case library for training and review; that part of the platform sells on its own.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

People make the operating decisions. A remote expert advises the surgeon in the room, and the Intelligence Suite feeds dashboards, daily huddles and notifications to perioperative teams and control centers, who decide on schedules, staffing and turnover. The system acts on its own in two places: it sends automated notifications along the care pathway and writes captured data back to the EHR without manual entry.

Whether staff can correct a detected event before it reaches the EHR is not stated.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

The Intelligence Suite detects surgical events with proprietary computer vision on low resolution, frame based capture, and forecasts finish times with proprietary models that benchmark historical performance; edge machine learning runs on older devices. AWS supplies the cloud and AI infrastructure for the NHS evaluation, and Proximie works with NVIDIA on Project Rheo.

No model family, training data, accuracy figure or version practice is identified.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

The computer vision and prediction models are Proximie's own, and the company owns and operates its stack on AWS, which also supplies cloud and AI infrastructure for the NHS evaluation. The privacy notice names AWS as host with region choices and the affiliates that receive data (Proximie Limited in the United Kingdom, Proximie SAL in Lebanon, Proximie Inc in the United States), and the data processing agreement gives ten days' notice of new subprocessors with a right to object.

Data also flows outward: de identified or anonymized data trains Proximie's algorithms, device companies receive structured procedure data to train their own, and Proximie works with NVIDIA on Project Rheo. Retention terms for those outward flows are not published.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Vendor Published

Researchers have used the platform as the recording environment for more than 25 published clinical journal studies, and the company reports more than 500 facilities in 50 countries, 80,000 video views and more than 100 terabytes of video. Early Intelligence Suite deployments point to one additional surgical case per day, a figure tied to robotic surgery lists at Guy's and St Thomas', and a blog post describes a scheduling gap worth 19 percent of OR time. A year long NHS evaluation that began in September 2026 applies one framework across 104 operating rooms and procedure suites at eight hospitals, covering more than 20,000 procedures a year.

The throughput figures carry no baseline or period, and the NHS evaluation has no results yet.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

Computer vision de identifies patient and staff data at the source, and in the NHS deployments data is de identified and anonymized before Proximie's models turn it into insight. The published business associate agreement (section 4.4) lets Proximie de identify protected health information under 45 CFR 164.514 and use it for any purpose, including training its algorithms, and the data processing agreement (clause 11.4) uses anonymized customer data to develop its algorithms. Device companies can draw structured data from real procedures through the Deploy AI use case.

Retention follows internal policy, contracts and customer instructions, with no period stated.

Regulatory and Compliance
AA on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated, the agreement is available to read before contracting, the tier it applies at is clear, and the agreement discloses that it binds subcontractors who handle protected health information. Which parties those subcontractors are is graded on Model Supply Chain Disclosure and is not counted again here. Where any of the four cannot be verified from published material, the grade is the band below.
Vendor Published

Proximie publishes its business associate agreement in full. It acts as business associate, or subcontractor business associate, to any customer that is a covered entity or business associate whenever it may access protected health information, and it must sign a subcontractor business associate agreement with any subcontractor or agent that handles that information. The agreement is governed by New York law, and a data processing agreement is published for GDPR customers.

Under section 4.4, de identified data falls outside the agreement and may be used for any purpose, including training Proximie's algorithms.

DD on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are asserted with nothing independent behind them, or nothing is published. Read the note before concluding anything: this is the grade most often corrected on a second pass, because assurance material frequently sits on a parent domain or inside an old announcement rather than on the product pages.
Vendor Published

The platform is presented as complying with global standards such as HIPAA, GDPR and ISO, and a Security Addendum describing Proximie's security measures is available on request under a nondisclosure agreement. Proximie owns and operates its technology stack on AWS, with region selection at setup and single tenant systems available through its SDK.

No SOC 2 report, ISO 27001 certificate or NHS Data Security and Protection Toolkit status is named.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

Telepresence, recording and operational analytics make up the platform, and none of its products is positioned as a medical device or carries a statement of intended purpose. Event detection and finish time forecasts inform scheduling, staffing and turnover rather than diagnosis or treatment, and the Surgical Suite connects people rather than interpreting the procedure. Data supplied through the Deploy AI use case helps device makers build products that follow their own regulatory paths.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Computer vision models in the Intelligence Suite are described as highly accurate, and data is obscured at the point of capture. The NHS evaluation that began in September 2026 applies a common framework across eight hospital sites, spanning operating rooms, endoscopy suites and catheterization labs, to measure operational effect at scale.

How event detection and duration prediction perform across sites, specialties, case mix and equipment is not reported.

DD on AI Liability and RecourseNothing published on what happens when the system is wrong.
Vendor Published

Detected events, finish time forecasts, overrun flags, notifications and op note capture flow to teams and the EHR without manual entry, so the outputs reach schedulers and the record directly. The business associate and data processing agreements govern how data is handled, and surgical teams are measured on workflow and duration through the same analytics.

No accuracy figure, error rate, warranty or remediation commitment covers those outputs.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

A live, two way data loop connects the Intelligence Suite to the hospital's EHR, with HL7 and FHIR support; it works with any EHR vendor and captures op notes automatically, giving perioperative teams a minute by minute view of cases in progress. The platform also connects to operating room setups and medical devices, and an EHR case study reports one additional case per OR per day.

No EHR vendor or live integration site is named.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

Customers pick a hosting region on AWS at setup: US East in Ohio, Europe in Frankfurt, or Asia Pacific in Singapore or Sydney. Session video, audio, images, chats and telestrations stay in that region, while a Global Data Region in Frankfurt and Paris holds pseudonymized session titles, times and user identity for security and redundancy. Personal information may also go to the corporate group in the United Kingdom, Lebanon and the United States, and subprocessors may process data in any country under standard contractual clauses. Proximie owns and operates its stack and offers single tenant systems through its SDK.

Isolation between hospital customers on the standard offering is not described.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Hospitals and device companies buy through separate demo routes, with a dedicated route for Olympus. Capture hardware comes as Px Kit cameras and Vuzix smart glasses with a published warranty, an SDK serves device companies building their own products, and the platform is also offered through an AWS partnership.

No rate, unit or charging basis is published.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

The platform covers operating rooms and procedure rooms, and the NHS evaluation extends the Intelligence Suite to endoscopy suites and catheterization labs. The company reports more than 500 facilities in 50 countries and more than 40 device company customers, and the Surgical Suite is available in about 20 percent of NHS hospitals. Because it captures the room rather than one procedure type, specialty coverage follows the hospital.

Training is a use case of its own, with remote observation, a recorded case library and asynchronous assessment for surgical teams and device representatives; its results are testimonials rather than measured learning outcomes.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Proximie

Vendors in the same categories as Proximie whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Caresyntax built a surgical data platform for hospitals and a real world evidence service for medical device companies.

AlethianAI sells an end-to-end agentic platform to clinics, management services organizations and hospitals, pitched on reducing clinical support staff costs by over 50 percent.

Innovaccer, founded in 2014 and headquartered in San Francisco, sells what it calls an agentic cloud for healthcare: the Gravity platform, which unifies record system, claims, pharmacy…

Andor Health, based in Orlando, Florida, sells ThinkAndor, a virtual care platform it now describes as agentic AI infrastructure, together with clinical services from its Psynergy Health affiliate.

Agentic AI platform for health systems.

Health Catalyst sells health systems the data layer beneath their improvement work, plus the people to run it.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Head to head

Vendors the index assesses as direct competitors to Proximie for the same buyer.

Adjacent comparisons

Products a buyer researches alongside Proximie that do a different job: a different category, a different layer of the stack, or a specialist scope. These pages exist to settle whether the comparison is real before it settles which one to pick.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published
Not published; hospitals and device companies buy through separate demo routes. Business associate agreement published on the site; binds subcontractors Not published. Capture hardware (Px Kit cameras, Vuzix smart glasses) is part of deployment. Vendor Published

Hospitals and device company partners have separate demo routes, capture hardware comes as Px Kit cameras and Vuzix smart glasses, and the platform is also offered through an AWS partnership. No rate, unit or charging basis is published.