Workforce & Training
T

Theator

Theator turns the video from laparoscopic and robotic cameras already in the operating room into structured surgical data. A small video unit connects to the existing camera tower, removes identifying content at capture and sends the video to Theator's cloud, where a proprietary vision language model trained on more than 600,000 curated procedures across 9 specialties and 180+ procedure types identifies steps, instruments, anatomy, safety milestones, complications and complexity. Surgery-to-Text, the lead product, writes a structured operative report with CPT and ICD detail in under 30 seconds and delivers it into Epic or Oracle Health for the surgeon to review, edit and sign.

The same data feeds surgeon to system quality dashboards and benchmarking, safety milestone tracking such as the critical view of safety, billing integrity checks, operating room time analysis, an annotated teaching library for residents and research datasets. Theator names Mayo Clinic, Cleveland Clinic, McGill University Health Centre, UHealth Miami and Assuta Medical Centers among its deployments, and in June 2026 Oracle Health announced a collaboration that runs Surgery-to-Text on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure for its US customers. Tamir Wolf, a physician, is cofounder and chief executive, and the company has offices in Palo Alto and Tel Aviv.

AI Health Index verifiedOctober 12, 2026
Compare Theator with other vendors
Founded
—
Headquarters
Palo Alto, California
Website
theator.io
Categories
workforce-and-training, ambient-scribes
Indexed Products
Surgery-to-Text, Surgical Intelligence Platform, Quality and safety analytics, Annotated surgical video library, Research datasets
Buyer Segments
Health systems and academic medical centers, Surgeons and surgical departments, Quality and patient safety leaders, Revenue cycle and clinical documentation teams, Surgical residency programs
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

Everything Theator sells is produced by its models from raw surgical video. A proprietary vision language model reads the camera feed and identifies steps, instruments, anatomical landmarks, safety milestones, events and case complexity, and that structured record becomes the operative report, the quality dashboards, the billing detail, the teaching library and the research datasets.

Capture is automatic, with no annotation or dictation by the surgical team, so the video unit in the room has nothing to offer on its own without the analysis behind it.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

Surgery-to-Text drafts the operative report and the surgeon reviews, edits and finalizes it inside Epic or Oracle Health before it becomes the record, and clinical documentation specialists and coders then work from the signed report. A Miami pilot reported a median of 6 edits per case. Quality, safety and benchmarking outputs go to dashboards for surgeons, department chairs and quality officers, who decide what to act on.

Nothing explains how a surgeon or department disputes an automatically tagged event or complication before it reaches the benchmarks.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The engine is a proprietary vision language model trained on more than 600,000 curated procedures across 9 specialties and 180+ procedure types. It reads the whole case rather than single frames, identifying steps, instruments, anatomy, safety milestones, best practices, events, complexity and idle time, and patient context from the EHR arrives over HL7 and FHIR to complete each report. Published papers describe earlier models in detail, such as step recognition at 88.8 percent accuracy in inguinal hernia repair.

Model versions and the schedule on which the model changes are not published.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

The model is Theator's own, a proprietary vision language model trained on its curated library of more than 600,000 procedures and covered by more than 30 patents. The cloud layer is AWS, with Oracle Cloud Infrastructure for Oracle Health customers, and the trust center carries a subprocessor list and a data processing agreement.

Whether an outside language model writes any part of the report text is not stated.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Peer Reviewed Publication

Peer reviewed studies written with hospital surgeons carry the evidence. A Mayo Clinic study in the Journal of the American College of Surgeons (2025) compared AI operative reports with surgeon written ones in 158 robotic prostatectomies, using expert review of the video as ground truth, and found overall accuracy of 87.3 percent against 72.8 percent. In Annals of Surgery (2024), a quality initiative in two general surgery departments used the platform to monitor the critical view of safety in 279 cholecystectomies, and monthly adoption rose from 33 percent to 76 percent. Other papers report 88.8 percent step recognition in inguinal hernia repair and warm ischemia times within seconds of ground truth in 61 partial nephrectomies.

The two headline studies ran at one and two sites, with Theator staff among the authors.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

Identifying content is removed at capture, before video leaves the hospital. The video unit strips patient and staff identifiers and metadata, removes frames recorded outside the body at 99.3 percent accuracy and applies k anonymity of at least 3, a method Theator developed with former Mayo Clinic chief information officer Cris Ross and published in JAMA Surgery in 2023. De identified video then travels over a VPN to a HITRUST certified cloud, and Theator says every new procedure deepens the model.

Retention periods sit in a media data retention policy in the trust center rather than on the public site.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here. A vendor whose product does not process protected health information grades here too when it says so plainly and explains the scope, with a service privacy document behind it: stating a position a buyer can rely on is the posture this axis grades, and the band above is closed to it because there is no agreement to publish.
Vendor Published

Business associate agreements are signed with every partner, Theator says, and its deployment page describes how protected information moves through the product: removed at capture before transmission, encrypted end to end, and held behind role based access with audit logging. Its trust center lists HIPAA among its compliance items alongside a data processing agreement, and the security package it offers hospitals includes a BAA template and data flow diagrams.

The agreement itself is not posted on the public site.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

A SafeBase trust center lists SOC 2 Type 2, HITRUST, ISO/IEC 27001 and ISO 27799:2016, and the AWS partnership page names the HITRUST certification as r2. Documents in the trust center include a SOC 2 report, a penetration test report, a network diagram and a security whitepaper, and the controls it covers include application and network penetration testing, audit logging, incident response, business continuity and disaster recovery, alongside annual third party audits with continuous compliance monitoring.

The reports and certificates are released through an access request.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

Surgery-to-Text and the quality, teaching and research tools are sold as documentation and analytics software, with no device claim. The terms of service describe content management and a visual operative report that surgeons use to review prior surgeries for educational purposes, and they rule out real time feedback during surgery and use for treatment decisions.

That description fits an earlier review tool better than Surgery-to-Text, which now writes the operative record and its billing detail into the EHR.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Model output is measured against expert video review in peer reviewed studies, and Theator reports results from the SAGES critical view of safety challenge, a benchmark run across several institutions. Its quality dashboards compare technique, timing and outcomes across surgeons and sites, with the same model applied to every case so that comparisons rest on one method.

Results are not broken out by procedure difficulty, patient anatomy or video quality.

BB on AI Liability and RecourseA published falsifiable commitment, or a real correction route the affected person can exercise against the vendor. A published error rate with its method and denominator grades here. A statutory right that runs to the covered entity rather than to the vendor does not reach this band on its own: every other route here asks something of the vendor, and being located in a particular jurisdiction is not conduct.
Peer Reviewed Publication

Report errors are measured in a Mayo Clinic study that Theator cites on its own site. In Khanna et al., Journal of the American College of Surgeons (2025), 20 of 158 AI reports for robotic prostatectomy (12.7 percent) carried a clinically significant discrepancy against expert review of the video, and 46 (29.1 percent) carried at least one discrepancy of any kind, against 43 and 84 of the surgeon written reports. Every report is reviewed and signed by the surgeon before it enters the record.

The terms disclaim any warranty on reports and content, so no remedy attaches to report accuracy.

Integration and Deployment
AA on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed bidirectional integrations with major record systems, verifiable in marketplace listings or integration documentation, with evidence the connection runs in production.
Vendor Published

Reports land directly in the patient record in Epic and Oracle Health, with no separate portal or login. Patient context flows in over HL7 and FHIR and structured reports and data flow back out, and Epic's Showroom lists two Theator Connection Hub products, Theator EHR Connector and Theator Surgery to Text Launch. Oracle announced the Oracle Health collaboration in June 2026, with reports delivered into Oracle Health EHR for care teams, quality reviewers and billing staff, and UHealth Miami's Epic integrated pilot cut time to the final operative note by about 70 percent.

No hospital is named yet as running the Oracle Health connection.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

A small video unit connects to the existing laparoscopic or robotic tower through DVI, SDI or HDMI, and de identified video travels over a VPN, with TLS 1.2 or later, to a HITRUST certified cloud where analysis, storage and delivery are fully managed. AWS is Theator's main technology partner, and for Oracle Health customers Surgery-to-Text runs on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure. Reports return into the EHR, while the quality, teaching and research tools run in a separate web app.

The countries or regions where video is stored are not stated.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

The platform is sold as an all inclusive subscription, with no separate charges for storage, hardware or updates and deployment measured in weeks. Its buyer pages for surgeons, executives and revenue cycle leaders model the return: a documentation ROI calculator, at least $186 per case in documentation value from deployment data, and tiered estimates running from a 10 OR community hospital to a 60 OR academic center.

No subscription price or unit of charge is published.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Coverage follows the camera: laparoscopic and robotic procedures on any manufacturer's system, with 180+ procedure types across general surgery, colorectal, bariatric, urology, gynecology, thoracic, ophthalmology, ENT and gastroenterology. Named deployments include Mayo Clinic, Cleveland Clinic, McGill University Health Centre, UHealth Miami and Assuta Medical Centers in Israel, and the case studies come from academic centers and an eight hospital system.

Published studies cover robotic prostatectomy and partial nephrectomy in urology, cholecystectomy, inguinal hernia repair and gynecology, with no results yet for thoracic, ophthalmic or ENT cases.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Theator

Vendors in the same categories as Theator whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Virtual reality and screen-based clinical simulation for nursing, medical, physician assistant and allied health education and for health system onboarding, quality and risk programs.

SimConverse provides virtual patients and assessment tools for healthcare communication education.

Predictive hiring and workforce analytics for employers with large frontline workforces, including health systems and senior living.

C-SATS (Crowd Sourced Assessment of Technical Skills) is a surgical video assessment platform owned by Johnson and Johnson MedTech.

AI hiring marketplace and interview agent for permanent healthcare roles.

Leader operations platform for frontline healthcare managers.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Head to head

Vendors the index assesses as direct competitors to Theator for the same buyer.

Adjacent comparisons

Products a buyer researches alongside Theator that do a different job: a different category, a different layer of the stack, or a specialist scope. These pages exist to settle whether the comparison is real before it settles which one to pick.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published
All inclusive subscription covering storage, hardware and updates. The subscription price is not published either. Theator signs a business associate agreement with every partner; a BAA template is part of the security package it shares with hospitals. Deployment takes weeks, with a small video unit per room and dedicated integration engineering, and storage, hardware and updates carry no separate charge. Vendor Published

Theator's buyer pages model returns by system size, from a 10 OR community hospital to a 60 OR academic center, and cite at least $186 per case in documentation value from its deployment data. No subscription price is published.