Clinical Trials AI
P

Paradigm Health

Clinical trial platform that embeds patient identification, eSource and data capture inside provider organizations so trials can run in routine care, paired with its own recruitment coordinators and eligibility specialists. Matching combines structured-data prefilters with large language models that reason over full clinical notes, showing reviewers the documents behind each candidate. In December 2025 the company bought Flatiron Health's clinical research business, adding its oncology research network and eSource tools and a partnership to integrate with Flatiron's OncoEMR; Ochsner Health is among its health system customers.

It sells feasibility, protocol optimization, study conduct and late-phase evidence services to sponsors and contract research organizations, has a Research Collaboration Agreement with the FDA, and offers sponsors the technology to take part in FDA's Real-Time Clinical Trials pilot. The network includes sites in Japan and Israel.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 29, 2026
Compare Paradigm Health with other vendors
Founded
2021
Headquarters
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Categories
clinical-trials-ai, clinical-decision-support
Indexed Products
Patient Identification and Enrollment, Study Conduct (eSource and casebook), Feasibility and Site Selection, Protocol Optimization, Real-Time Clinical Trials offering, Spire
Buyer Segments
Pharma / Life Sciences, Health System, Medical Group
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Vendor Published

Language models do the eligibility reasoning in the core matching module, inside a business that sells people, a network and data capture as well. The company describes structured-data prefilters followed by large language models reasoning over full clinical notes, and reports in an ASCO Quality abstract that this cut screening volumes by 31 to 87 percent in three of four oncology trials against a rules-based approach.

Around it the company sells recruitment coordinators and eligibility specialists who work patients through enrollment, a research network enlarged by the December 2025 purchase of Flatiron Health's clinical research business, EHR-integrated eSource and data capture, feasibility and protocol services, and a sponsor offering for FDA's Real-Time Clinical Trials pilot. Those carry value without the models.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

A person confirms every candidate; what catches a missed patient is not described. The AI continuously monitors eligibility and prioritizes candidates with rationale and supporting clinical context; the company's eligibility specialists and site teams review, confirm eligibility and follow up, re-screening as records change; final eligibility and consent rest with the research team. Nothing the models do reaches a patient without that review.

What is missing is the other side of the error: nothing states how eligible patients the models never surface are found, whether screens are sampled or back-tested against manual review, or what happens after a miss.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The approach is described; the models are not named for the current product. The company describes structured-data prefilters, where hard criteria are applied, followed by large language models reasoning over full clinical notes, pathology and imaging reports, with the documents behind each inclusion or exclusion shown to reviewers. In 2024 it published work with OpenAI evaluating GPT-4 for trial screening, which it found far better than a custom medical language model. Which models run in production now, whether they are fine-tuned, and how versions are managed and customers notified are not published.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

The host is named; the production model layer is not. All environments run in AWS US-East-1. The company's 2024 case study with OpenAI evaluated GPT-4 for screening, but no page says which model provider serves the product today, and no sub-processor list is published. The data path is long: provider record, the company's platform, sponsors and contract research organizations, and in the Real-Time Clinical Trials pilot the FDA.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Vendor Published

Named deployments with figures for the matching, and a peer reviewed study of the data capture platform the company acquired. Ochsner Health (47 hospitals, more than 370 care centers) reports a 41 percent increase in screening capacity, 3.6 times more patients actively followed and about 75 percent fewer patients needing manual review; an ASCO Quality abstract reports 31 to 87 percent lower screening volumes in three of four oncology trials against rules-based matching; unnamed sponsors report twice the planned enrollment rate and a 43 percent median enrollment lift across six trials.

None has a published method beyond the abstract. Ghanim and colleagues (npj Health Systems, 2026; Flatiron Health with Johnson and Johnson, before Paradigm bought the business) ran a prospective study at four community oncology sites: 82 patients in 11 months, 0.59 percent missing data, 91 percent of 4,568 data points eligible for automated EHR-to-EDC transfer, and fewer than 2 percent queried. That study tests eSource and data capture with rule-based patient identification, not the language model matching.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

The security program is described; what happens to patient data at each hop is not. The platform reads provider records inside participating organizations, passes candidates and study data to sponsors, and in FDA's Real-Time Clinical Trials pilot sends pre-defined safety, efficacy and data quality signals to the Agency during a study. Source-linked case report forms let monitors check a value against the originating record.

The June 2026 privacy notice excludes trial participants and research, and nothing published covers where de-identification happens, what the FDA and sponsors receive and in what form, retention at each hop, whether patient data is used to develop or tune models, or what happens at study close. Nothing is published on safety engineering for the language models.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here. A vendor whose product does not process protected health information grades here too when it says so plainly and explains the scope, with a service privacy document behind it: stating a position a buyer can rely on is the posture this axis grades, and the band above is closed to it because there is no agreement to publish.
Vendor Published

Business associate status is stated with an outside check behind it; no agreement is published. The security and privacy program overview says the company operates as a business associate, holds a third-party HIPAA security compliance attestation with no exceptions noted, has annual third-party compliance audits, and runs a data privacy program under a named data protection officer. The website privacy notice (June 2026) excludes trial participants.

Two questions remain separate from business associate status: screening records before anyone consents needs an IRB approval with an authorization or waiver, held by the site or the company, and sending trial signals to the FDA in near real time must be covered by participants' consent.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

Recognized attestations are named on the company's own security page; the reports are not published. The security and privacy program overview says the company holds a third-party SOC 2 Type 2 attestation against the security, confidentiality and availability criteria with an unqualified opinion and no exceptions noted, a third-party HIPAA security compliance attestation, annual third-party audits, and a program built on NIST SP 800-53 revision 5 under a named chief information security officer. The period and scope of the SOC 2 report, and whether the component deployed inside providers' environments is covered, are not stated, and there is no downloadable report or trust portal.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No device claim is made, and the product is scoped as trial software. Trial matching identifies research candidates rather than informing diagnosis or treatment, so human subjects rules govern it: IRB oversight, informed consent and Good Clinical Practice, with electronic records rules for the eSource and data capture products.

The company has a Research Collaboration Agreement with the FDA, says it helped shape the Real-Time Clinical Trials initiative, and offers sponsors the technology to join that pilot, in which pre-defined trial signals reach the Agency during a study. That is a role in an FDA program about trial data, not a regulatory status for the product.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Equitable access is the stated mission and part of the design; no evaluation of the matching model across groups is published. Extending trials into community oncology practices addresses who gets offered a trial, and the npj Health Systems study of the eSource platform (2026) reports that 30.5 percent of its 82 participants identified as Black or Hispanic, meeting its diversity target early.

The company's writing on trial matching says a solution must show the documents behind each inclusion or exclusion. What is missing is measurement of the AI: whether candidates the models surface differ by race, age, sex or record completeness from those found by manual screening, when a model trained on how records are written decides who is seen.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Each candidate comes with its evidence and passes a person; nothing stands behind the output. The AI surfaces candidates with a rationale and the clinical documents behind it for site teams and the company's eligibility specialists to confirm, and final eligibility and consent stay with the research team.

The published figures are screening efficiency (31 to 87 percent fewer charts screened in three oncology trials; about 75 percent fewer patients needing manual review at Ochsner Health), not an error rate: no count of eligible patients the models missed is published. No warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment is published.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Record integration is running at named sites through standards; no named EHR integration is documented. The platform deploys inside participating provider organizations and reads structured and unstructured record data, with pipelines that normalize data through FHIR, HL7 and data warehouse integrations. The npj Health Systems study (2026) shows an EHR-to-electronic-data-capture connector in production at four community oncology sites, moving structured data in a median 1.7 days.

The Flatiron partnership commits to integrating the company's tools natively into Flatiron's OncoEMR, stated as future work. No EHR vendor listing or integration documentation shows a named, two-way connection.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

Residency is committed for the platform; the in-provider component and the international network are open. The security and privacy program overview says all production and lower environments are hosted in Amazon Web Services' US-East-1 region inside a virtual private cloud, under AWS's shared responsibility model.

The platform also runs inside participating providers' record environments, and the company describes network sites in Japan and Israel; what the embedded component sends outbound, and how non-US participant data is handled and transferred, are not stated. The website privacy notice relies on standard contractual clauses for EEA transfers.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

The two sided structure can be worked out, though no price is published. Sponsors and contract research organizations pay for patient identification, feasibility, study conduct and the FDA pilot offering across the company's research-ready network, while provider organizations receive the platform and recruitment support. Money flows from the sponsor side to a platform the provider hosts. The terms on the provider side, meaning what it pays and receives, what data obligations attach and how trials are chosen for its patients, are not published.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Coverage is named and validated for part of it. Oncology is the center: a research network of community oncology practices, health systems and academic cancer centers, enlarged by the Flatiron clinical research business, plus Ochsner Health across many specialties; the platform supports phase 1 to 4 and post-approval studies, with sites in Japan and Israel. Named results cover Ochsner and oncology trials; the peer reviewed study covers eSource in four community oncology practices.

Tracked Since Listing

What Changed

Material product, regulatory, evidence and commercial changes at Paradigm Health, each verified against a live source and tagged to the capability axis it bears on. Funding rounds and awards are not product changes and are not logged.

Aug 13, 2026Clinical evidencePartially verified

Ochsner Health reported outcomes from deploying Paradigm Health's LLM-based clinical trial recruitment platform across its 47 hospitals and 370 health centers. The AI-powered system connects to the EHR to continuously evaluate patient records against eligibility criteria, leading to a 41% increase in screening capacity, a 3.6-fold increase in patients identified for future trial eligibility, and a 75% reduction in manual review effort by clinical research coordinators.

Bears on: Clinical and Operational EvidenceSource
Our read on this change →Tracked since Aug 2026
Alternatives

Alternatives to Paradigm Health

Vendors in the same categories as Paradigm Health whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Washington, DC company whose AI and data platform serves the medical side of life sciences: medical affairs, scientific communications and pharmacovigilance.

CluePoints provides clinical trial data quality and oversight software for pharmaceutical sponsors and contract research organizations.

Campbell, California company selling a clinical data platform and AI modules to pharmaceutical and biotechnology sponsors and contract research organizations.

Truveta is owned by 30 US health systems that contribute de-identified health records every day to a shared research dataset.

San Francisco company whose Digital Twin Generators, disease specific machine learning models trained on historical patient level data, forecast how each clinical trial participant would…

Palo Alto company whose clinical trial platform runs electronic outcome assessment, electronic consent, televisit and participant apps for decentralized, hybrid and site based studies, now…

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Contact the vendor
Undisclosed. Two sided model spanning biopharma sponsors and CROs on one side and provider organizations on the other, plus a separately offered trial design service. Not disclosed. Required in practice given deep EHR integration, with IRB and informed consent obligations layered on top for the research context. Not disclosed. Deployment requires EHR integration at each participating provider organization plus embedded screening workflow setup. Vendor Published

The commercial structure matters more here than the absent price because the money flows from the sponsor side. Sponsors and CROs pay for access to a research ready provider network, while provider organizations gain trial access and recruitment support, and the company reports relationships with 75 percent of the top 20 largest biopharma sponsors.

A provider should establish what it pays versus receives, what data obligations attach, and how trial selection decisions are made, since the party funding the platform is not the party hosting the patients.