Medsender
Medsender is a New York based company whose product reads the documents and phone calls arriving at a medical practice and files what it finds into the electronic health record. It began as a HIPAA compliant digital fax service and added AI later; the pricing page dates the AI to 2021. Fax transport, document handling and storage sit underneath, and the automation is sold on top as separate products.
Fax and document automation reads each inbound fax, titles, categorizes and tags it and uploads it to the correct patient chart, creating a chart where none exists. Referral management classifies and routes inbound referrals into a dedicated workflow and reports status to the referring provider. Call automation answers patient calls around the clock, schedules appointments, handles routine questions and records, transcribes and summarizes each call. Patient recapture contacts lapsed patients by text and email. A fax interface for developers exposes the same processing to other health technology companies.
The company says more than 1,000 independent practices use it, and quotes dermatology, plastic surgery and ENT groups including Anne Arundel Plastic Surgery and Dermatology and Piedmont Plastic Surgery and Dermatology. It lists integrations with AdvancedMD, athenaOne, Elation, ModMed EMA and Tebra among others, hosts on Google Cloud, signs business associate agreements and announced a completed SOC 2 Type II examination in July 2025. It raised a $5 million Series A led by Ballast Point Ventures in January 2025.
The home page says every fax lands on the correct chart with no data errors; no accuracy figure with a method, model provider or training position is published, and the terms of service cap the company's liability at $100.
Capability Axes
An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read
The automation is what the company sells and what its products are named after, on top of a fax service that works without it. The home page describes AI that reads every inbound fax and document, titles, categorizes and tags it and files it to the patient's chart; classifies and routes referrals into a dedicated workflow; answers and schedules patient calls with recordings, transcripts and summaries; and reaches lapsed patients by text and email. The pricing page says the AI has been running since 2021, extracting details, organizing information and routing it. Document classification, extraction and a conversational telephone agent are model driven.
The business began as a HIPAA compliant digital fax service, and fax transport, document handling, electronic signature and storage are ordinary software that would still work with no model; the free trial is exactly that, basic fax without the AI. No model is named or characterized.
The home page promises an output no review can guarantee. It says the AI reads every incoming fax and document and that every fax is uploaded to the correct patient chart in the record, with no manual entry and no data errors, and that with referral management nothing falls through the cracks. A promise that every document lands on the right chart without error is a claim the output is right; a practice that believes it has no reason to check what was filed, and a fax attached to the wrong patient's chart is a privacy breach and a clinical risk that surfaces only when someone happens to notice.
The structure underneath is thin but not absent. The call agent routes some calls to staff, as the home page demonstration shows for a new patient intake, and every call is recorded and transcribed. No confidence threshold, exception queue or review step is published for document filing, and nothing says what the call agent does when a caller describes an emergency or acute distress, or whether it identifies itself as automated. The same page says 100 percent of calls are answered, around the clock, with no escalation criterion published.
The approach is described in functional terms and nothing in it is identified. The home and pricing pages describe AI, running since 2021, that reads each inbound fax and document, titles, categorizes and tags it, extracts key details and routes them, uploads the document to the matching patient chart or creates a chart where none exists, and a call agent that schedules, answers routine questions and produces recordings, transcripts and summaries. The company's fax interface for developers is marketed on custom trained models.
No model, model family or provider is named, nothing says what the models are trained on, no accuracy figure with a method is published, and nothing describes how model changes are tested or announced.
Apart from the host, no party in the processing chain is named. The company's published HIPAA policies and security features page name Google Cloud as the infrastructure, and Vanta as the platform behind its compliance dashboard. The privacy policy says third parties such as maintenance, database management and web analytics providers may access personal information only to perform tasks for the company. No speech recognition, language model or document extraction provider is named, and no subprocessor list is published.
The developer fax interface is sold on custom trained models, and a call handled by the agent typically crosses telephony, transcription and a language model before reaching the chart, so which parties see a patient's fax or voice is the open question.
Named customers and specific figures, none with a method. The home page quotes Anne Arundel Plastic Surgery and Dermatology (110 locations, 325 providers), whose director of operations support reports one region's referral conversion rising from 20 to 62 percent; Piedmont Plastic Surgery and Dermatology, whose chief operating officer reports all referrals processed the same day and half scheduled within minutes; Optima Dermatology; and practice managers at Pinon Hills ENT and Crescent Beach Care. It also states more than 1,000 independent practices as customers and headline results of two to three times more referrals scheduled, 80 percent less manual work and 85 percent faster referral processing.
None carries a period, baseline or denominator, and no independent or peer reviewed evaluation appears. This is an administrative product, so the relevant evidence is operational. No misfiling rate is published.
Security assurances are published and the questions artificial intelligence raises are not answered. The privacy policy, effective March 2026, covers the site and services, says HIPAA obligations prevail where they conflict with it, limits service providers such as maintenance, database management and analytics firms to acting on the company's behalf, and says a de identified copy of records may be kept after an account is deleted. The company's published HIPAA policies say services are hosted on Google Cloud and that production systems are included in third party audits, and the company has described encryption in transit and at rest.
Nothing states whether customer documents or recorded patient calls are used to train or improve the models, although the developer fax interface is sold on custom trained models; how long faxes, extracted data, call recordings and transcripts are kept; or whether a model trained on one practice's documents stays with that practice. Nor is it said what the de identified copy kept after deletion contains.
Published HIPAA policies back the company's business associate commitment, and the agreement itself is not available to read. The company's published HIPAA policies state that it signs business associate agreements with its customers, setting out each party's obligations and liability in a breach, that services are hosted on Google Cloud, and that production systems are included in third party audits. The privacy policy, effective March 2026, covers the site and services and says HIPAA obligations prevail where they conflict with it. The home page carries a HIPAA badge.
The tier at which the agreement applies is not stated, including whether it covers the free fax trial, and nothing shows whether it binds subcontractors. The site's terms of service contain no business associate clause and cap the company's liability at $100, so the agreement is what a practice relies on.
A named attestation presented as the company's own, with no report a buyer can open. The company announced in July 2025 that it had completed a SOC 2 Type II examination by an AICPA certified third party, following an earlier Type I, and the home page carries the SOC 2 Type II badge. Its security features page names Google Cloud as the infrastructure and links a compliance dashboard run on Vanta, and the published HIPAA policies say production systems are included in third party audits.
The auditor, audit period and scope are not stated, and the report is not published or open to read without asking. No penetration testing or vulnerability disclosure statement is published, and no HITRUST certification is claimed.
No device pathway applies and none is claimed. The product moves administrative documents and handles patient communication, and does not make or support a diagnostic or treatment decision, so the absence of a clearance is correct rather than a gap.
The regulators that do matter are health privacy enforcement under HIPAA and, for the telephone agent, telephone consumer protection rules, which have been enforced against healthcare callers. Nothing published addresses consent for automated calling, or what a patient is told about speaking to an artificial agent.
Nothing published on model evaluation, error rates, subgroup performance, or how a mistake is detected and corrected once a document has already been filed to a chart.
The exposure is concrete rather than theoretical. Speech recognition accuracy varies with accent, dialect, first language, age and emotional state, and a practice telephone line reaches exactly that spread of callers. Document extraction carries its own version of the same problem, since handwriting, poor fax quality and non standard forms are unevenly distributed across referring practices, and a referral that extracts badly is a patient who waits longer. No performance by caller group or by document source is published.
Calls leave a record that can be checked, and nothing stands behind the output. Every call the agent handles is recorded, transcribed and summarized, so a practice can check what was said and scheduled, and faxes remain as documents in the chart. For document filing no review step, confidence flag or correction route is published, against a home page promise of no data errors.
The terms of service, which govern the platform, provide the service as is, disclaim any warranty of accuracy or error free operation and any promise that defects will be corrected, and cap the company's total liability at $100. The published HIPAA policies say the business associate agreement sets out liability in a breach, which covers disclosure rather than a wrong extraction or a fax filed to the wrong chart. No accuracy figure with a method, service level on processing or remediation commitment is published.
Named record systems with automatic writing into the chart, and nothing independent to verify the connections. The home page links integration pages for AdvancedMD, athenaOne, Elation, ModMed EMA and Tebra and says further integrations are supported; the company has also named eClinicalWorks, NextGen, Practice Fusion and Ezderm. Each fax is uploaded to the matching patient chart, with a new chart created where none exists, referral status is reported back, and call summaries update the chart. A fax interface for developers exposes the same processing to other health technology companies.
The connections rest on the company's own description, and the depth sits with ambulatory specialty record systems. No marketplace listing or interface standard is shown, nor whether writing runs through the record vendor's interface or screen automation; the individual integration pages may add detail.
Cloud only, on a named provider, with residency stated and the rest left open. The company's published HIPAA policies and security features page name Google Cloud as the hosting infrastructure, and the company has stated that its servers are in the United States; the security features page cites 99.9 percent uptime. That answers the location question for a domestic buyer.
There is no on premise or private cloud option, no region selection, no tenancy description and no published retention schedule for faxes, extracted data, call recordings or transcripts. Retention matters here because inbound faxes and recorded patient calls accumulate continuously and raw audio identifies a caller whatever is said.
What drives the cost is published; the price itself is not. The pricing page sells three products with standalone pricing: AI Fax Automation, whose starting price includes up to 3,000 fax pages a month; AI Referral Automation, whose starting price includes 3,000 pages and 200 referrals; and AI Call Automation. Pricing varies with monthly volumes of faxes, calls or referrals and with contract length, monthly or annual, bundles of two products are discounted, and implementation, training and support are included in most cases, with larger or custom integrations costed separately. A free trial covers basic fax without the AI. Every product resolves to a demonstration request for a quote.
What no page states is the starting price itself, the overage rate, the call pricing unit, or how monthly and annual terms differ.
Independent specialty practices, with validation behind dermatology and plastic surgery in particular. The home page says more than 1,000 independent practices use the product, from single locations to groups of more than 250, and quotes Anne Arundel Plastic Surgery and Dermatology, Piedmont Plastic Surgery and Dermatology, Optima Dermatology, Pinon Hills ENT and Crescent Beach Care. Functional coverage spans the front office and health information work: fax and document intake, referral management, patient recapture and call handling, with the call agent reaching patients directly.
A second buyer exists through the developer fax interface, where health technology companies build the processing into their own products. No hospital or health system deployment is named, and the United States is the only market evidenced.
Alternatives to Medsender
Vendors in the same categories as Medsender whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
Medication access and financial navigation platform that identifies financially at risk patients, matches them against a large network of financial assistance and manufacturer programs, and…
Verifiable sells provider credentialing and network monitoring to health and dental plans and provider organizations.
Element5 automates the administrative back office of post acute care.
Emitrr is a patient communication platform for independent practices that puts texting, phones, faxing, online forms, reviews and scheduling in one system, with AI agents that take calls…
Luminai automates administrative work in large health systems end to end.
Dexit is 314e Corporation's HIPAA cloud fax and intelligent document processing product for hospitals, RCM companies and physician practices.
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Pricing
Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.
| Entry Price | Pricing Basis | BAA Tier | Implementation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
No pricing published; quote by demo
|
Standalone monthly or annual pricing per product (fax, referral, call), varying with monthly volume of faxes, referrals or calls; starting prices include set volumes (3,000 fax pages; 3,000 pages and 200 referrals). No rates published. | The company's published HIPAA policies say it signs business associate agreements with its customers; the agreement and the tier it applies at are not published on the pages read. | Included in most cases; larger implementations or custom integrations are costed separately, per the pricing page. | Vendor Published |
No price is published on the vendor's pricing page. Three products are priced separately: AI Fax Automation, whose starting price includes up to 3,000 fax pages a month; AI Referral Automation, including 3,000 pages and 200 referrals; and AI Call Automation. Pricing varies with monthly volume of faxes, calls or referrals and with monthly or annual terms, bundles are discounted, and implementation, training and support are included in most cases. A free trial covers basic fax without the AI.
What a buyer cannot establish before contact is the starting price of each product, the rate beyond the included volumes, how calls are counted and the term difference.
Ask for the starting price, the overage rate, and the call unit before comparing with alternatives.