CureMD
CureMD sells a specialty EHR, practice management and billing platform to physician practices and now presents it as an agentic intelligence platform, with AI across documentation, phones and coding. Founded in 1997 and based in New York, it says more than 40,000 providers in all 50 states use its software, across more than 30 specialties from primary care and pediatrics to oncology, where its Oncentric brand serves community cancer practices. The EHR is ONC certified, and CureMD also runs a medical billing service.
The AI Medical Scribe, which CureMD calls an AI resident, listens to the visit and within seconds produces a specialty note in the CureMD chart, suggests ICD-10 and CPT codes with the reasoning behind them, drafts lab, imaging and prescription orders, and proposes a follow up appointment. Notes and orders wait for the clinician to review, edit and sign. CureMD says the scribe runs on its own medical language model trained on 27 years of encounter data and reaches up to 98 percent accuracy.
The AI Contact Center answers patient calls around the clock in 14 languages for scheduling, intake, insurance checks, payments, triage and refills. On both products' pages, CureMD says the AI completes routine refills itself and passes only the cases needing clinical review to staff. CureMD names a SOC 2 Type II report and signs business associate agreements with customers. Prices are quoted through a request form.
Capability Axes
An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read
AI is a layer across an EHR, practice management and billing business that stood on its own for decades. The scribe, contact center and coding tools are where CureMD's models do the work: turning a visit into a coded note with draft orders, answering patient calls, and suggesting codes with their justification. Each depends on a language model, and CureMD now markets the whole platform as agentic, where AI acts rather than assists.
The products most practices buy, specialty charting templates, scheduling, eligibility checks, claims, the patient portal and the billing service, run without those models. Remove the AI and CureMD is still a complete EHR and revenue cycle vendor, which places the models as a feature of the platform rather than its core.
Two promises on the scribe's own product page leave no room for error. The scribe is said to reconcile historical patient data to ensure complete, gap free documentation, and to recognize and transcribe all accents and dialects, ensuring accurate transcription regardless of speech variations. Review before signing can catch a wrong line in a draft, but it cannot show a clinician what the draft left out, and a practice told its notes are complete has little reason to look.
The review workflow itself is clear. The scribe drafts the note and the orders, and the clinician reviews, edits and approves both before anything is final; prescriptions and other orders are queued for sign off, and codes come as suggestions with their justification. Refills work differently. Patients confirm their medication details, the AI completes routine refills itself and surfaces only the cases it judges to need clinical review, with no rule stated for which refills qualify, who sets it or how a wrong refill is caught. The contact center adds a promise of accurate conversations every time.
The approach is named: a proprietary medical large language model trained on 27 years of CureMD encounter data and clinical ontologies, which reads the patient's history, prior visits and condition trajectory as well as the conversation to structure the note, assign codes, prepare orders and propose follow up. CureMD contrasts this with transcription tools that only convert speech to text.
No model version, size, base model, release history or update practice is given, and the speech recognition layer behind the scribe and the voice agent is not identified. Model changes reach a practice unannounced.
The language model is described as CureMD's own, trained in house on its encounter data, which would keep the model layer short if nothing else sits beside it. The privacy policy adds that CureMD uses third party AI tools in its business under data processing agreements and vendor risk management, without naming them or saying whether any of them touch patient data in the scribe or contact center.
No speech recognition, telephony or cloud provider is named and no subprocessor list is offered, leaving a practice unable to see which outside parties hear or store its patients' visits and calls.
Performance figures come without a method, sample or comparison. The scribe page claims 98 percent accuracy across notes and coding, notes generated in under 15 seconds, and patients reporting 81 percent higher satisfaction when providers can focus on them rather than their screens, with no study, denominator or reference standard behind any of them.
Recognition sits on the wider business rather than the AI: CureMD cites Best in KLAS and KLAS top performing RCM vendor standings, Black Book and Surescripts, and quotes practices such as Young Minds Psychiatry on its EHR and billing. No named practice reports measured results from the AI scribe or the contact center.
Customer encounters are the scribe's training base. CureMD says its medical language model was trained on 27 years of encounter data and clinical ontologies, which implies patient records from its EHR customers were used to build it, and nothing says how that data was de identified or whether current encounters keep feeding the model.
The privacy policy commits that website and marketing data is not used to train CureMD's models and that any third party AI tools run under data processing agreements, but it is scoped away from patient data. No retention period for visit recordings or transcripts is stated, and safety engineering is described only as explainable logic and configurable guardrails.
Business associate agreements are referenced, and the only privacy document a buyer can read covers the website. CureMD's privacy policy says any protected health information it processes for customers is governed by customer agreements, its license and services agreement and business associate agreements, and that patients should look to their provider's notice of privacy practices.
The policy itself is detailed but scoped to website facing services and marketing, and it says those services are not meant to collect health information. The agreement that governs the scribe and contact center is not available to read, so its tier, its terms and whether it binds subcontractors such as speech or model providers cannot be checked.
SOC 2 Type II appears as a badge, without a report date, scope or way to request the report, and no trust center sits behind it. End to end encryption, SOC 2 controls, audit trails and role based access are described for the contact center, and encryption in transit and at rest with full audit logs for the scribe.
The privacy policy sets out breach notification under state laws, including New York's SHIELD Act and California's 45 day rule, and an incident response program. Whether the SOC 2 examination covers the AI scribe and contact center is not stated.
No regulatory position is stated for any of CureMD's AI tools, and two of them make clinical decisions. On the scribe and contact center pages alike, patients confirm their medication details and the AI completes refills instantly, sending only the cases it judges to need clinical review to a clinician. By that description the refills it completes go ahead without clinical review, and no protocol for the sorting is named. The contact center is also sold for clinical triage, with a customer describing it escalating urgent cases, and it follows each practice's own procedures without saying what those must contain.
The scribe's drafting stays on safer ground. It drafts prescriptions, orders and follow up from the clinician's own visit and the patient's history, and every draft waits for a signature, so the clinician can check each one against what was said. CureMD's EHR is ONC certified, a credential for the record system that does not speak to the AI's refill or triage decisions.
Responsible AI appears as a promise of explainable logic and configurable guardrails, with nothing on how the models are tested. No evaluation method, accuracy by specialty or language, or review process for the medical language model is described.
Language reach is a large part of the pitch. The scribe is said to recognize and transcribe all accents and dialects accurately, and the contact center voice agent supports 14 languages, from Spanish and Hindi to Korean and Turkish, and adapts to accents. With no results by language, accent or specialty, a practice serving patients who speak languages other than English cannot tell how well either product understands them, and a misunderstood caller rarely leaves a complaint.
Every note, order and code waits for the clinician's sign off, codes carry an embedded justification, and every AI action is logged so it can be audited. The contact center keeps recordings with intent and confidence scores for review.
Nothing stands behind the output itself: no warranty on note or coding accuracy, no remediation commitment for a denied claim traced to an AI code, and no stated route for a patient affected by an automated refill. The license and services agreement that would allocate that risk is not available to read.
CureMD is itself a record system, so the scribe and contact center write straight into its own chart and schedule; that native connection is the product rather than interoperability. The scribe syncs both ways with the chart, reconciling the patient's history into the note, and the contact center syncs intake and chart preparation.
Exchange beyond CureMD rests on two things: the EHR's ONC certification, an outside check that the record system meets federal standards for exchanging patient data, and Surescripts for electronic prescribing, the network the ordering and refill features depend on. More than 40,000 providers run the certified platform. No other record system is named for the AI tools, and nothing suggests the scribe or contact center is sold to practices that keep a different EHR.
The platform is cloud hosted with a mobile EHR, and no hosting provider, data location or tenancy model is committed. The privacy policy says website information may be stored and processed in the United States and other jurisdictions where CureMD or its service providers operate, a statement scoped to website data rather than patient records.
Where encounter audio, transcripts and the medical language model run, and whether any processing of patient data happens outside the United States, is not stated for the AI tools. The contact center plugs into a practice's own telephony system, so call audio also passes through the practice's carrier before it reaches CureMD.
No price is listed for the EHR, the AI scribe or the contact center; a pricing request form and demo requests are the only routes. How CureMD sells is visible: one integrated platform for clinical, financial and administrative work, sold to solo practices up to multi specialty enterprises, with the AI tools offered inside it and billing available as a managed service.
Whether the AI scribe and contact center are included with the EHR subscription or charged per provider, per encounter or per call is not stated, and nothing indicates whether practices on other EHRs can buy the AI tools alone.
Outpatient specialty practices are the setting, and the platform names more than 30 specialties with prebuilt content: primary care, internal medicine, family practice, pediatrics, behavioral health and neurology, surgical specialties and oncology, with condition templates, procedure documentation and order sets for each. The scribe is described as specialty specific across the same range, with custom visit templates and order set configuration.
Scale and customers cover the platform broadly, with more than 40,000 providers in all 50 states, Oncentric for community oncology and quoted practices in psychiatry and surgical oncology. Which specialties are using the AI scribe or the contact center in production is not stated.
Alternatives to CureMD
Vendors in the same categories as CureMD whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
Augmedix sells ambient medical documentation to health systems, hospitals and clinics, with AI drafting the note and trained medical documentation specialists adding as much human support…
Onpoint Healthcare Partners sells the Iris Medical Agent AI platform, which pairs AI agents with a human review workforce to take over charting, coding and follow up work for medical groups…
Ambient scribe for home health clinicians, built around the OASIS assessment and the routine visit note, with much of the work happening before and during the visit rather than after it.
Solventum Fluency Align is the ambient documentation product of Solventum, formerly 3M Health Care, and it approaches the category from an unusual direction.
Apricot, based in Oklahoma City, builds AI documentation for home health and post acute care.
iScribeHealth is a Nashville company founded in 2015 as a mobile documentation platform that combined speech to text dictation with human virtual scribe and transcription services, and that…
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Pricing
Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.
| Entry Price | Pricing Basis | BAA Tier | Implementation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Contact the vendor
|
Quoted platform subscription; billing also sold as a managed service | Business associate agreements govern customer PHI; tier and terms not published | Not stated | Vendor Published |
No price is listed for the CureMD EHR, the AI Medical Scribe, the AI Contact Center or AI coding; a pricing request form and demo requests are the routes. CureMD sells one integrated platform to solo practices through multi specialty enterprises, with billing also offered as a managed service. Whether the AI tools are included in the EHR subscription or priced separately is not stated.