RCM & Prior Auth AI
C

Clicks Health

Clicks Health automates insurance and administrative work inside the software healthcare teams already use. Its agents read records, navigate payer portals, make payer calls and return completed work to the appropriate queue. Customers give an agent its own account and choose its permissions, workflow and review points, with API connections also supported.

Prior authorization and denial appeals are the most developed examples. For New Jersey injury claims, the agent assembles an Attending Provider Treatment Plan from the chart, orders and locked clinical note. It returns missing or conflicting information to staff and leaves review and signature to the provider. For a denial, it retrieves the supporting record and drafts an appeal package that a person submits. Other workflows include referral intake, coverage checks, payment posting, refunds and disability forms.

Princeton Brain, Spine & Orthopedics is a named customer. One orthopedic case reports 50% more appeals won across 160 appeals in two months, combining increased appeal volume with automation. Clicks configures agents around selected workflows, offering pilots before commitment and targeting implementation within five weeks. Pricing is custom. The San Francisco company currently focuses on healthcare, following an earlier recruiting automation offer; results from that earlier business do not describe the current healthcare agents.

AI Health Index verifiedOctober 15, 2026
Compare Clicks Health with other vendors
Founded
2025
Headquarters
San Francisco, California, United States
Categories
rcm-and-prior-auth, healthcare-admin-automation
Indexed Products
Clicks healthcare agents, APTP form automation, PIP denial appeal automation
Buyer Segments
Revenue cycle companies, Orthopedic practices, Rural hospitals, Healthcare operations teams
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

Clicks runs administrative agents inside a healthcare team's existing software. The agent reads clinical records and payer correspondence, interprets what a request needs, fills forms and prepares supporting packages. Computer use lets it navigate screens through its own authorized account, with APIs used where available. For New Jersey injury claims it infers selected treatment form fields and drafts denial appeal rationales from the existing record.

These functions go beyond copying fixed fields between applications. Customers define the workflow and permissions, while the agent performs the reading, interpretation and execution that make up the service sold to revenue cycle teams.

AA on Autonomy and Oversight ModelWhat the system may do and what it may not do are both published, with escalation thresholds, override paths and the conditions that route a case to a person.
Vendor Published

The APTP agent waits for a locked encounter note and returns cases with missing fields or disagreements between orders and notes. If the note is not locked in time, the item goes back to the coordinator. The provider reviews and signs the prepared form; the agent does not decide medical necessity. Appeal packages likewise return to staff for review and submission. Customers choose the agent's account permissions, workflow and escalation rules.

Diagnosis codes come from existing clinician documentation, while six other form elements may be inferred. These controls distinguish reading a chart, preparing a draft and authorizing a final action.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

Computer use gives the agent access to the same screens, keyboard actions and applications used by staff. A separate authorized account determines what it can reach, while APIs offer another route into supported systems. The agent reads scanned letters and comments, interprets payer requirements and assembles forms or appeal text. Some APTP values are inferred; diagnosis codes and most other fields are copied from existing records, with fixed rules governing dates and duration. No model provider, base model or version policy is identified. The disclosed method explains the execution layer more fully than the language and reasoning models underneath.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

AI model providers are acknowledged as outside processors, subject to a contractual prohibition on training with customer data. Other supplier categories cover hosting, analytics, payment processing and support. The service uses hosted agents that interact with customer accounts in EHRs and payer portals, and processing is assigned to US or EU regions according to the customer. No supplier is named at the model layer, and the public trust center does not enumerate a subprocessor list.

Provider identity, downstream retention and the handling of model requests across borders therefore remain unspecified. Customer account permissions control access to source systems separately from those supplier terms.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

An orthopedic group in New Jersey reports 50% more appeals won over two months and 160 appeals. Staff work fell from 25 to 40 minutes per appeal to about five, with labor cost dropping from roughly $20 to $5. The result combines more appeals attempted with changes to package preparation, rather than isolating the effect of draft quality. A separate APTP workflow reports 24% fewer administrative denials and removal of work previously occupying three staff members. Princeton Brain, Spine & Orthopedics is named as a customer, but the outcome stories do not identify their group or calendar dates. These remain vendor case results.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

Customer inputs, outputs and uploaded documents are excluded from model training, fine tuning and improvement under a contractual commitment. The privacy terms also prohibit outside model suppliers from training on customer data. Processing follows the customer's region, and access is controlled through permissions and recorded actions. At contract end, data remains available for export for a reasonable period before deletion under the retention policy.

A fixed retention timetable, deidentification rules and an AI safety incident procedure are not specified. Operational safeguards include drafts, source records and exception handoffs, particularly when an authorization package contains missing or conflicting information.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

HIPAA compliance is stated for the healthcare agents and is repeated in the service terms and public trust center. The service terms cover software used inside customer systems, with encryption, action trails and isolated processing environments. The privacy policy describes outside AI processing and limits provider training use, although its introduction is framed around website visitors.

Neither a business associate agreement nor a clear statement of business associate status is accessible. The HIPAA claim therefore does not establish the contractual scope for an organization's clinical records, insurer correspondence or documents passed through an agent's account.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

Clicks names SOC 2 Type II as its own security assurance and describes annual audits and independent penetration tests. The public Vanta trust center shows controls for database authentication, encryption key access, asset disposal, vulnerability monitoring, disaster recovery and retention procedures. Its resource list contains an engagement letter rather than the SOC report itself. The security page adds encryption in transit and at rest, SAML sign on and IP allowlisting. Audit period, auditor and report scope remain unavailable. The 99.9% uptime service level concerns operational availability and does not establish the correctness of an agent's output.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

The healthcare offer is administrative. Agents prepare authorization and appeal paperwork, retrieve existing diagnosis codes, record payer responses and move work between clinical and billing systems. Medical necessity and care decisions remain with qualified clinicians. For APTP forms, the provider retains attestation and signature, and the system does not add a new diagnosis code. Payer calls are part of the workflow, while direct patient contact stays with the customer's team. There is no device clearance claim for these agents. Their role is to execute insurance and office processes around an existing clinical decision.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Customer defined permissions, review points and escalation rules govern agent actions. An action trail preserves the evidence used and the decisions taken across record systems and payer portals. In the APTP workflow, missing information and conflicting orders produce a handoff, while the signed clinical decision remains with the provider. These controls establish accountability for work in progress.

Model testing across patient groups, specialties or payer populations is not described, and the security trust center's control checks concern information protection rather than evaluation of model behavior. The outcome examples measure administrative effort and appeals won, without subgroup comparisons.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

A person can review an appeal draft against the supporting record before submitting it, and action logs preserve what the agent did. The service terms cap aggregate liability at fees paid during the preceding twelve months and exclude indirect damages. Customer indemnification applies to misuse or breach of the terms. A prior authorization guide offers a guarantee of the agreed outcome, but gives no public measurement, payment remedy or correction obligation.

That promise is separate from the 99.9% uptime target. The practical correction path is therefore staff review and exception handling, without an explicit remedy tied to an incorrect generated form or appeal.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Supported systems named by Clicks include Epic, Oracle Health, athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, ModMed, NextGen and MEDITECH. Agents can use APIs or operate through an authorized user account in the application itself. The authorization workflow reads records and orders, works through payer portals, then returns submission status and confirmation details to the EHR. Appeal packages are uploaded and assigned to the case owner.

The eClinicalWorks demonstration explicitly uses fictional patients in a test environment. No marketplace listing or named production implementation links a specific record system to those bidirectional workflows. Screen access is part of the offer, not necessarily a native connector.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

Customer data is hosted and processed in the customer's region, with US processing for American customers and EU processing for European customers. The privacy terms also allow cross border transfers with contractual safeguards. Service terms describe isolated processing environments, but do not specify how one customer's tenant is separated from another or identify the cloud host.

Access combines a dedicated agent account in customer software with SAML sign on, role permissions and IP restrictions. Automated backups and redundancy support the hosted service. An onsite installation option is not part of the described delivery model.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Engagement begins with a selected workflow, process mapping and an agreed outcome. Clicks then builds a custom agent around the customer's existing tools, with a stated implementation target of five weeks or less. Pilots use actual processes and data before the customer commits. This is a configured automation engagement rather than a self serve subscription with a standard feature bundle. The current healthcare offer supplies no price, unit of charge or fee schedule. The $20 to $5 comparison in the appeal story measures staff labor per appeal; it is not the amount Clicks charges for its agent.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

RCM companies, orthopedic practices, rural hospitals and other healthcare operators are the intended customers. The most specific operating examples concern New Jersey Personal Injury Protection requests for imaging, durable medical equipment and injections. Agents prepare APTP forms and appeals using accident records, treatment orders and progress notes.

Princeton Brain, Spine & Orthopedics is a named customer, supporting the orthopedic setting, while coverage extends commercially to referrals, eligibility, payment posting, refunds and disability forms. Outcome results for rural hospitals and other specialties are not broken out. Patients remain in contact with staff; the agent's calling workflow is directed to payers.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Clicks Health

Vendors in the same categories as Clicks Health whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Agentic AI for health plan claims operations, sold to payers as software or as a fully managed clinical review service.

Anterior sells clinical AI to health plans and to the organizations that run clinical review for them.

Autonomize AI, founded in Austin in 2022, sells the Autonomize Intelligence Platform for healthcare operations, with health plans as its main buyer and provider organizations and life…

Prior authorization, appeals and grievances platform for health plans and pharmacy benefit managers, across medical and pharmacy benefits.

Ember AI is an AI revenue integrity platform for specialty physician practices, surgery centers and health systems, sold on preventing denials upstream and recovering them downstream.

AKASA, formerly Alpha Health, sells generative AI for the provider side of the revenue cycle to hospitals and health systems.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Custom pricing
Custom agent engagements scoped to selected healthcare workflows, with a pilot before commitment. HIPAA compliance is claimed; BAA availability and scope are not stated. Process mapping, configuration and rollout are included in the engagement scope; separate fees are not stated. Vendor Published

The appeal case's $20 and $5 figures measure staff labor, not subscription prices. The healthcare offer has no public rate card.