ActiumHealth
ActiumHealth is the healthcare patient communication product of Syllable, which acquired it in March 2024 and runs it as a division. It began in 2017 as SymphonyRM, a predictive outreach company, and now sells conversational AI agents that answer every inbound call 24/7/365 and run outbound campaigns by text and voice. Inbound agents book appointments directly in the record system, process refill requests, answer billing questions and escalate complex calls to staff with context; outbound agents mine the record for care gaps, open referrals and canceled appointments, schedule screenings and wellness visits, and target high risk patients. ActiumHealth Insights monitors the agents' own calls and flags problematic interactions. The company cites 70 percent of routine inbound calls automated end to end, 91 percent intent accuracy and five languages, and names MemorialCare, Virtua Health, Nebraska Medicine and Houston Methodist as customers. The parent's trust portal lists HITRUST, SOC 2 Type 2 and a named subprocessor list including its language model and speech providers.
What a buyer should weigh: the home page promises zero data hallucinations while publishing an intent accuracy that shows requests are misunderstood; no escalation rule for urgent or distressed callers is published for an always answered line; the agents are said to understand dialects better than a human with no per language result; and the parent is repositioning as a general voice platform, which bears on the healthcare line's future.
Capability Axes
An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read
Generative models conduct the communication and further models supervise it. Agents handle inbound and outbound patient contact across voice, text, short message and email, and a separate quality monitoring layer built on large language models reads the resulting calls. At the stated volume, 50 million calls and 100 million messages automated, no version of this product works without models doing the talking.
The earlier incarnation of the company was also model led, using record data to predict which patients most needed outreach, so both the product it was and the product it now is sit on models rather than on workflow.
High autonomy with a monitoring layer behind it and a non fabrication promise in front. The agents answer every inbound call in under a second, 24/7/365, and complete work directly in the record system (booking appointments, processing refill requests, answering billing questions), escalating complex calls to staff with the conversation context attached so the patient does not repeat themselves. Outbound agents text first and then call patients with care gaps or open referrals. ActiumHealth Insights analyses the agents' calls and flags problematic interactions for intervention, which is monitoring for drift after the fact.
The home page promises "zero data hallucinations". That is a claim about what the agent adds, and the mechanism that makes it checkable is partly published: scheduling and refill actions run against the record system's own data, and every call is monitored afterward. No review sits between the agent's answer and the patient, and the inbound page's 91 percent intent accuracy shows requests are misunderstood at a measurable rate. The missing part of the oversight structure is the escalation rule for a patient in distress on an always answered line: what triggers a handoff, who is reachable after hours, and what the caller hears while waiting.
The suppliers and the architecture are named, and performance barely is. The parent company's trust portal publishes a subprocessor list naming the cloud platforms, two large language model vendors and a speech synthesis vendor behind the product, with an AI transparency statement, and the platform exposes separate gateway services for language models, speech recognition and speech synthesis, which makes the design model agnostic by construction. The inbound page adds one performance figure, 91 percent intent accuracy.
What is missing is which model serves which function, versions and change practice, and a method and sample behind the accuracy figure. Naming suppliers tells a buyer where a call goes; it does not say how well the agent understands it, and a model agnostic design means the model behind a given call can change.
The parties are named, and the terms that govern data once it reaches them are not. The parent company's trust portal publishes a named subprocessor list covering two cloud infrastructure vendors, two large language model vendors and a speech synthesis vendor, alongside an AI transparency statement, and the platform exposes separate gateway services for language models, speech recognition and speech synthesis, so the model layer is substitutable by design and the list describes real parties.
The retention and training terms that govern a patient conversation once it reaches each of those providers are not shown, nor is retention of call audio as distinct from transcripts and structured data. The portal itself may hold those terms.
Named customers and vendor case study figures, with no method. The home page quotes MemorialCare, Virtua Health and Nebraska Medicine and cites Houston Methodist at $18 million of staffing capacity and 239 FTEs freed; case study titles report a health system deflecting 68 percent of refill calls with a 95 percent automated renewal success rate, an academic center automating 2.7 million calls a year across six hospitals, 268 FTEs saved across 250 locations, and Virtua generating more than $25 million from predictive outreach across 11 service lines. Headline rates are 70 percent of routine inbound calls automated end to end, 40 percent lower call abandonment and 91 percent intent accuracy.
The company is the claimed source, and no baseline, denominator, period or method accompanies the figures on the home, outbound or inbound pages. Automation and containment rates are not correctness: a call resolved wrongly counts the same as one resolved well, and no error or complaint rate is published. No peer reviewed or independent evaluation appears.
Categorical handling commitments are published through the parent's trust portal, and retention of call audio is not. The portal carries data security, access monitoring, audit logging, backups, certificates of destruction, disk encryption, a data protection impact assessment position, breach notification and a data subject request route, and the subprocessor list shows whose infrastructure and models a patient conversation passes through. These portal contents date from August 2026.
No retention period is published for call audio as distinct from transcripts and structured data, nothing says whether conversations train the agents or the models behind them, and nothing says whether a caller is told they are speaking to software, which matters more on an inbound line where a patient ringing their own provider did not choose a machine. No safety engineering is published either, beyond after the fact monitoring: how a harmful answer is prevented in the moment.
Business associate status is supported by a substantive trust portal, and the agreement is not published. The inbound page's FAQ says ActiumHealth is HIPAA compliant, and the parent company's trust portal carries an explicit health privacy rule item alongside HITRUST and SOC 2 Type 2, a documented data subject request process, a data protection impact assessment position and a breach notification statement. That is status supported by documentation built for business associate due diligence.
The business associate agreement and its terms are not public before contracting, and whether it binds the model and speech providers on the subprocessor list is not stated. Which company signs the agreement is not stated either, and it matters here: the product was acquired by Syllable in March 2024 and runs as a division under a brand that predates the acquisition.
Recognized certifications are named, the reports sit behind an access request, and the site describes them two ways. The inbound page's FAQ says ActiumHealth is HIPAA compliant, HITRUST certified and SOC 2 audited; the home page says the platform is built to SOC 2, HITRUST and HIPAA standards, which is a weaker statement than certified or audited. The parent company's trust portal lists HITRUST, SOC 2 Type 2, a penetration test report, a Cloud Security Alliance self assessment and a cyber insurance statement, with control statements across product, data, application, access, endpoint and network security, available to a counterparty on request through the portal.
The reports are released on request rather than retrievable directly, and the HITRUST assessment type (i1 or r2) and the SOC 2 period are not named. The portal listing is as of August 2026.
No regulatory position is stated for an AI agent that talks to patients. Scheduling, refill intake, billing questions and outreach for screenings and open referrals are administrative and population health functions, and nothing on the home, outbound or inbound pages markets diagnosis or treatment. The inbound page, though, says the agents understand complex clinical requests and route or resolve what a patient describes in their own words, and an agent deciding whether what a caller describes is routine or urgent sits close to triage when no person witnessed the call. No position on device status is stated, and nothing says what the agent may and may not tell a patient about symptoms or medications.
Two other bodies of law apply and are better documented: telephone consumer protection rules for automated outbound calls and texts, which turn on the consent a patient gave to automated contact, and HIPAA for everything the agents hear.
A governance process with named practice behind it, and nothing on the dimension the company markets. ActiumHealth Insights is a monitoring layer that analyses the agents' own calls and flags problematic interactions for intervention, which the company frames around behavior changing when sites launch, features ship or agent configuration changes: monitoring for drift, as a named process. The parent's trust portal carries an AI transparency statement and a position on the EU AI Act. Because every call is read, a caller the agent failed to understand does leave a record.
The inbound page says the agents understand nuance, dialects and complex clinical requests "oftentimes better than a human", and the home page cites five languages and care in the patient's language of choice. The company publishes no per language, per dialect or per age result, so nothing supports the parity assertion.
Mechanisms exist to find and challenge a bad call after it happens, and nothing stands behind the output. ActiumHealth Insights, the company's monitoring layer, analyses the calls the agents handle and flags problematic interactions for intervention, which is an audit trail across every conversation; escalations hand the call to staff with the conversation context attached. The inbound page publishes an intent accuracy of 91 percent, which on its own terms means roughly one request in eleven is misunderstood, with no method, sample or definition behind it.
The main site publishes no warranty, indemnity, accuracy commitment or remediation obligation, and the company's trust portal may say more. The exposure is direct: a patient calling their own provider acts on what the agent says, about an appointment, a refill or where to take a symptom, and no person reviews that answer before the patient hears it.
The agents act inside the record system, and one system's depth is demonstrated. The home and inbound pages say agents book appointments directly in the EHR, navigating provider rules, process refill requests there and handle billing questions, and outbound agents mine the record for care gaps, open referrals and canceled appointments, then write the booking back to the schedule. Escalations carry the conversation context to staff so the patient does not repeat themselves, which requires the agent to hold state the receiving system can use. The product is listed on the Microsoft Marketplace, and the parent publishes integrations for telephony, messaging and a customer relationship platform.
The record systems supported are not named on the home, outbound or inbound pages, though an earlier published integration with the dominant vendor exists; no standard is named, and write back beyond scheduling and refill requests is not described.
A hosted service with the infrastructure described and residency left open. The parent's trust portal describes named cloud subprocessors, a virtual private cloud, traffic filtering, network penetration testing, backups, certificates of destruction and a third party risk management process, and publishes a European data protection position with a designated EU representative; the product is also listed on the Microsoft Marketplace. Those details date from the portal as it stood in August 2026.
No regions are named, no tenancy model is described, and with cloud platforms and model providers on two continents in the subprocessor list, where a given patient conversation is processed is not answerable from the home, outbound or inbound pages.
No healthcare price is published, and the routes in are. ActiumHealth offers an interactive demo, a recorded demo library, an ROI calculator and a listing on the Microsoft Marketplace, and its parent, Syllable, has published a pricing page and self service sign up for its general voice platform. The healthcare product is sold to health systems, practice groups and contact centers, with value framed in staff capacity and appointment revenue; how enterprise healthcare pricing relates to the parent's self service rates is not stated.
Ownership and continuity sit beside price here. The product was acquired by Syllable in March 2024 and runs as a division under a brand that predates the purchase, and the parent now positions itself as a general agentic voice platform across home services, mortgage, retail and automotive. Nothing public names the contracting entity or the term, or says what happens to the healthcare product line if the parent's focus keeps moving.
The product handles patient access by voice: its inbound agents book appointments directly in the record system, process refill requests and answer billing questions, and its outbound agents work open referrals and canceled appointments.
Broad across organization type and channel, with named customers behind part of it. Solutions are sold to health systems, health system operations, patient access centers, healthcare contact centers and practice groups, across inbound and outbound voice, text, chat and email, and workflows cover scheduling, refills, surveys, call routing, referrals, appointment management, revenue cycle and care coordination. The outbound product's population health function closes care gaps by scheduling screenings such as mammograms and colonoscopies and annual wellness visits, and targets high risk patients, which is where the value based care tie sits. The home page names MemorialCare, Virtua Health, Nebraska Medicine and Houston Methodist, with five languages supported.
The population health and care gap work is evidenced by one named program (Virtua), and the rest of the named results concern inbound access; geography is the United States.
Alternatives to ActiumHealth
Vendors in the same categories as ActiumHealth whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
Physician supervised virtual care company delivering asynchronous care through chat and voice messaging.
AI voice agents for patient access and revenue cycle calls.
Hello Patient (Patient Engagement Technologies, Inc.) sells AI agents, led by an assistant called Mia, that handle patient conversations by voice, text and web chat, inbound and outbound…
Talkie.ai sells AI front desk agents to independent medical practices and physician groups.
Voice AI care management for health plans and at risk providers.
Conversational AI agent platform for health systems and payers, covering the call center, website, text messaging and mobile apps.
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Compared With
Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.
Head to head
Vendors the index assesses as direct competitors to ActiumHealth for the same buyer.
Adjacent comparisons
Products a buyer researches alongside ActiumHealth that do a different job: a different category, a different layer of the stack, or a specialist scope. These pages exist to settle whether the comparison is real before it settles which one to pick.
Pricing
Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.
| Entry Price | Pricing Basis | BAA Tier | Implementation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Not published
|
Not published for the healthcare product. Routes in are an interactive demo, recorded demos, an ROI calculator and a Microsoft Marketplace listing; the parent, Syllable, has published self service pricing for its general voice platform, and how that relates to enterprise healthcare terms is not stated. | HIPAA compliance stated; the parent's trust portal carries a health privacy rule item. No business associate agreement is published. | Not published. | Vendor Published |
No healthcare price or unit of charge is published on the ActiumHealth site. The product was acquired by Syllable in March 2024 and runs as a division under a brand that predates the purchase, while the parent repositions as a general agentic voice platform. Ask for the pricing unit (per call, per minute, per agent or per location), how marketplace and enterprise terms relate, the contracting entity, and continuity commitments for the healthcare line.