Clinical Decision Support
V

VUNO

VUNO, a Seoul medical AI company founded in 2014, leads with DeepCARS, which predicts in-hospital cardiac arrest within 24 hours for patients on general wards from four routinely charted vital signs: blood pressure, heart rate, respiratory rate and temperature. It returns a 0 to 100 risk score for ward staff and rapid response teams to act on, and the company describes it as Korea's first AI medical device for this purpose. DeepCARS is approved by Korea's Ministry of Food and Drug Safety, carries a CE mark and holds FDA Breakthrough Device designation; no US clearance for it appears in the FDA 510(k) database. Its evidence includes a multicenter validation of 173,368 patients published in Resuscitation, reporting an area under the curve of 0.905 on external validation, and a prospective multicenter study in Critical Care, and the company reported in June 2026 a study in secondary hospitals finding 21 percent fewer cardiac arrests. The company has reported deployment across more than 48,000 beds in South Korea, where since 2022 hospitals can charge patients for it as a non-covered service under the early access medical technology route.

VUNO also sells imaging AI, which places it among imaging vendors: VUNO Med-Chest X-ray, cleared by the FDA for triage (K241439, November 2024), and VUNO Med-Fundus AI. It holds a second US clearance for VUNO Med-DeepBrain, brain MRI quantification (K231398, October 2023), and sells in the United States through a subsidiary, VUNO MED Inc.

Its privacy policy states that it processes patient data on behalf of hospitals, with retention periods by product, named processors including AWS, no overseas transfer, and use of pseudonymized data for AI development. It holds ISO/IEC 27001 and ISO/IEC 27701 certification through 2028.

Two things a buyer should weigh. Accuracy for DeepCARS is published as discrimination rather than alert and miss rates at an operating threshold. And the published privacy and residency terms describe the Korean service; the US subsidiary's HIPAA posture is not stated.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 27, 2026
Compare VUNO with other vendors
Founded
2014
Headquarters
Seoul, South Korea
Website
www.vuno.co
Categories
clinical-decision-support, remote-monitoring, radiology-and-imaging-ai
Indexed Products
VUNO Med-DeepCARS (in-hospital cardiac arrest prediction), VUNO Med-Chest X-ray (K241439, triage), VUNO Med-Fundus AI, VUNO Care-HATIV
Buyer Segments
Tertiary and general hospitals, Hospital general wards and rapid response teams, Radiology departments, Ophthalmology clinics and health screening centers
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

The deep learning model is the product. DeepCARS converts four routinely charted vital signs into a 0 to 100 risk of cardiac arrest in the general ward within 24 hours, and there is no hardware, monitoring device or services layer sold alongside it. The company describes it as Korea's first AI medical device for this purpose, and as a biosignal product in a home market where medical AI had been largely image based.

The company also sells imaging AI, VUNO Med-Chest X-ray and VUNO Med-Fundus AI, where the model is likewise the product.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

Produces a risk score for a rapid response team to act on, so a person decides whether and how to intervene. The score runs from 0 to 100 for the risk of cardiac arrest in the general ward within 24 hours, and the company positions the tool as enabling timely intervention rather than triggering automated escalation; nursing staff, not the algorithm, mobilize the response.

The oversight question specific to early warning systems is the threshold. A score that fires too often produces alarm fatigue and gets ignored, while one tuned too conservatively misses patients. No recommended threshold or guidance on setting one is published, which is the missing part.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Peer Reviewed Publication

Inputs and outputs are stated precisely, four named vital signs producing a 0 to 100 score over a 24 hour horizon, and the approach is named as deep learning on vital sign sequences. Discrimination is published separately for internal and external validation, 0.860 and 0.905 in a multicenter study of 173,368 patients, and reporting the external figure on its own shows the model was tested outside its development setting.

Architecture detail, training data composition and version history are not published, and no calibration is reported, which matters for an early warning system because the score drives a threshold and the threshold drives alerts.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

A structurally short chain with its processors named. The models are the company's own, with DeepCARS approved in Korea, so no outside model provider sits between the record and the score. The privacy policy names the processors it entrusts personal information to, including AWS for cloud infrastructure, Google for analytics, Naver Cloud for messaging and CSRcube for clinical trial data capture, and states retention periods by product and that nothing is transferred overseas.

What keeps this from A is which party handles which product's data, and the terms on development use: the policy says pseudonymized information is used for AI software development without saying whether it comes from data processed for hospitals.

AA on Clinical and Operational EvidencePeer reviewed or independently evaluated performance, prospective and multi site where the claim requires it, with the method available to read. The grade describes the strength of the evidence, not its direction: a rigorous study that found no benefit grades by its design, and the note leads with what it found.
Peer Reviewed Publication

Peer reviewed, multicenter and prospective. The multicenter validation of 173,368 patients, published in Resuscitation in 2021 and cited on the DeepCARS page, reports an area under the curve of 0.860 internally and 0.905 externally. A prospective multicenter validation published in Critical Care in 2023, with Seoul National University Hospital, Seoul National University Bundang, Inha and Dong-A University Hospital, tested prediction of cardiac arrest or unplanned ICU transfer and reported better performance than conventional early warning scores. Further papers appear in the Journal of the American Heart Association and Critical Care Medicine.

Prospective evidence is uncommon for deterioration prediction tools, most of which rest on retrospective cohorts. All published evidence comes from Korean cohorts, so performance elsewhere is untested.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

Retention is stated product by product, and the use of data for AI development is stated. The privacy policy (effective 23 March 2026) says the company processes patient information on behalf of healthcare institutions for its AI medical device services, including name, sex, date of birth, patient identification number and clinical information, and gives retention periods: DeepCARS data until the service ends, and Chest X-ray and Fundus AI images for five years from storage. It states that pseudonymized information is processed for clinical trials, AI software development and related research, and that personal information is not transferred overseas.

What keeps this from A is the source of the development data. The policy does not say whether information processed for a hospital is pseudonymized and used to develop the company's models, or whether a hospital can decline that use. Safety engineering, meaning guardrails and how a safety event is handled, is not published. The policy covers the Korean service; the US subsidiary's handling is not described there.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here. A vendor whose product does not process protected health information grades here too when it says so plainly and explains the scope, with a service privacy document behind it: stating a position a buyer can rely on is the posture this axis grades, and the band above is closed to it because there is no agreement to publish.
Vendor Published

An equivalent regime, documented to depth for the Korean service. The privacy policy (effective 23 March 2026) states that the company processes patient information on behalf of healthcare institutions, the processor role under Korean law that corresponds to a business associate, and backs it with product level retention periods, named processors, a statement that personal information is not transferred overseas, and ISO/IEC 27701 privacy certification.

No HIPAA position is published. The company holds two US clearances and sells through a US subsidiary, VUNO MED Inc., and whether it signs business associate agreements, which entity signs, and whether US patient data is processed outside the United States are not stated.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

Two recognized certifications are named with version, scope and validity. The company's site states ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and ISO/IEC 27701:2019, both valid from 24 November 2025 to 23 November 2028, for the provision of medical services including the development and supply of solutions and SaaS, and the privacy policy repeats them.

No trust center or retrievable certificate is published, and no penetration testing or vulnerability disclosure statement.

BB on FDA and Regulatory StatusThe pathway is stated and in progress, or a clearance is named without the vintage and scope a buyer needs to match it to the product on offer.
Regulatory Filing

Status is split across the product line and by market. DeepCARS, the lead product, is approved by Korea's Ministry of Food and Drug Safety and carries a CE mark, and in the United States holds FDA Breakthrough Device designation; no 510(k) for it appears in the FDA database. A designation is a commitment to a review pathway, not an authorization, so a US hospital cannot deploy it clinically on that basis.

The imaging line has US clearances: VUNO Med-DeepBrain, brain MRI quantification, as K231398 (October 2023), and VUNO Med-Chest X-ray Triage as K241439 (November 2024), both filed by Vuno, Inc. A clearance for one product does not extend to another.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Peer Reviewed Publication

Multicenter validation across several independent Korean hospitals addresses site level generalization, and the prospective study tests the model in live conditions rather than on curated retrospective data. What is absent is any subgroup analysis by age, sex or comorbidity, and the concern is concrete for this product class: vital sign based deterioration models are known to perform differently across those groups.

The entire published evidence base is drawn from one national population, which leaves performance in more heterogeneous populations, including the United States, undocumented.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

The score is advisory and a person acts on it: DeepCARS gives a rapid response team or ward staff a risk score, and they decide whether to assess or escalate. That review before action is the mechanism that lets a wrong score be caught.

What is published about accuracy is discrimination, not an error rate. The DeepCARS page cites an area under the curve of 0.860 on internal validation and 0.905 on external validation in a multicenter study of 173,368 patients (Resuscitation, 2021), and an average of 15.8 hours between the first alert and the arrest. An area under the curve ranks patients against each other; it does not say how often an alert is false or an arrest is missed at the threshold a hospital uses, and alert rate is what decides whether nurses keep responding. No sensitivity, specificity or alerts per patient day at an operating point, no calibration and no warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment is published.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

Integration is implied by the product and not documented. DeepCARS takes four routinely charted vital signs, which live in the hospital record, and returns scores into ward workflows, and the company frames the reliance on routine vital signs as an adoption advantage because no new instrumentation or documentation is required.

No record system, interface standard, connector or API is named, and integration with Korean hospital record systems does not carry over automatically to Epic or Oracle Health environments.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

Hosted, with residency stated for the Korean service. The company's ISO/IEC 27001 certificate scope covers the development and supply of solutions and SaaS, its privacy policy names AWS as cloud infrastructure among its processors, and the policy states that personal information is not transferred overseas.

What is left open is isolation and the path for other markets. Whether hospitals can run the products on premise, how customers are separated in the hosted service, and where data from US or European customers is processed are not published.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price is published, and how DeepCARS is paid for in Korea is. The company's history page records that in 2022 DeepCARS became the first AI medical device to enter Korea's non-reimbursed market, and the first designated under the country's early access medical technology route: hospitals can charge patients for it as a non-covered service while its formal evaluation continues. That tells a Korean hospital how the cost is recovered, not what the vendor charges. The company has been listed on KOSDAQ since 2021, which brings financial disclosure and some visibility into vendor stability.

Nothing is published on per bed, per hospital or subscription cost. In the United States, DeepCARS holds Breakthrough Device designation, which is not an authorization, so US terms are an open question.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Peer Reviewed Publication

Narrow for the lead product, and validated in it. DeepCARS covers admitted inpatients on general wards, predicting cardiac arrest within 24 hours, where rapid response teams are meant to intervene; it does not extend to intensive care, emergency triage or outpatient monitoring. Retrospective and prospective multicenter studies in Korean hospitals validate that setting; performance outside Korea and by hospital type is not published.

VUNO appears among imaging AI vendors for a second line it sells to radiology and eye care buyers: VUNO Med-Chest X-ray, cleared in the United States for triage, and VUNO Med-Fundus AI. It also holds a US clearance for VUNO Med-DeepBrain, brain MRI quantification.

Tracked Since Listing

Product updates

Material product, regulatory, evidence and commercial changes at VUNO, each verified against a live source and tagged to the capability axis it bears on. Funding rounds and awards are not product changes and are not logged.

Jul 24, 2026Clinical evidence

Researchers from VUNO published a peer-reviewed study in the American Journal of Neuroradiology validating a machine learning algorithm that uses automated brain MRI volumetry to differentiate frontotemporal dementia from Alzheimer's disease. The model, trained on 758 subjects and externally validated on 89 subjects, achieved 91.4 percent accuracy internally and significantly reduced interpretation time for experienced radiologists.

Bears on: Clinical and Operational EvidenceSource
Our read on this update →Tracked since Jul 2026
Alternatives

Alternatives to VUNO

Vendors in the same categories as VUNO whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

RhythmX AI sells a precision care platform for primary care.

Digital cognitive assessment platform that scores drawing, speech and stylus behavior with machine learning models.

XUND builds medical assessment and clinical search software for insurers, healthcare providers, digital health platforms, and medical information publishers.

Digital cognitive assessment and care planning platform.

Genomate Health ranks targeted cancer therapies for a patient from the full set of alterations in their tumor's sequencing report.

Glass Health is a clinical intelligence platform whose reasoning engine is the product.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Contact the vendor
Not published. No per bed, per hospital or subscription rates. Not published for US customers. The Korean privacy policy states the company processes patient data on behalf of healthcare institutions, with no overseas transfer. Not published. The company frames reliance on four routinely collected vital signs as reducing adoption cost, since no new instrumentation or documentation is required; record system integration work still applies. Vendor Published

No pricing is published. The company records that DeepCARS entered Korea's non-reimbursed market in 2022 under the early access medical technology route, so Korean hospitals can charge patients for it as a non-covered service; that tells a hospital how the cost is recovered but not what the vendor charges. The company has been listed on KOSDAQ since 2021, which gives a buyer some visibility into vendor stability but nothing on cost.

For a US buyer the first question is availability: DeepCARS holds FDA Breakthrough Device designation, which is not an authorization, while VUNO Med-Chest X-ray and VUNO Med-DeepBrain hold US clearances. Ask for the unit of charge for each product and market.