Healthcare Administrative Automation
T

Tennr

AI platform for inbound healthcare document and referral operations. RaeLM, the company's proprietary vision language model, reads unstructured inbound material including faxes, scanned forms, and handwritten documents, extracts the clinical and administrative data, and evaluates it against payer criteria to flag likely denials before submission. The vendor reports RaeLM was trained on more than 100 million anonymized healthcare documents, 2.3 billion data fields, and 8,000 sets of payer criteria, and that the platform processes more than 10 million documents a month for over 150 healthcare organizations.

Tennr Network gives referring providers, receiving providers, and patients shared referral status visibility. Voice AI for referral phone workflows was added in 2026. Raised $162 million total, including a $101 million Series C led by IVP in June 2025 at a $605 million valuation.

AI Health Index verifiedJuly 27, 2026
Compare Tennr with other vendors
Founded
Headquarters
New York, New York
Website
www.tennr.com
Categories
healthcare-admin-automation, rcm-and-prior-auth
Indexed Products
RaeLM, Tennr Network
Buyer Segments
Medical Group, Community Health System, Home Care / Post-Acute
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

RaeLM, a purpose built vision language model, is the product. The company's explicit thesis is that general purpose LLMs are not fit for reading scanned faxes, handwritten forms, and checkboxes against payer criteria, and that a specialized model trained on proprietary healthcare documents is required.

CC on Autonomy and Oversight ModelAutonomy is claimed and oversight is asserted without a mechanism. Human in the loop appears as a phrase rather than a described control.
Vendor Published

No escalation criteria, confidence thresholds or human review gates were located in the company's own published material.

The gap matters because autonomy is marketed. The platform is described as completing document workflows end to end and evaluating extracted data against payer criteria to flag likely denials before submission, and an autopilot capability is part of the positioning. What is missing is the boundary: at what confidence a document is processed without review, who sets that threshold, what happens to a document the model cannot read, and whether a human sees anything that was handled automatically.

The decisive number for this category is the share of documents completed without human touch, and it is not published. That figure is the honest expression of how much autonomy is actually running, and a vendor selling automation of inbound operations is better placed than anyone to report it.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them.
Vendor Published

The model is named and its training corpus is quantified: a reported 100 million anonymized healthcare documents, 2.3 billion data fields, and 8,000 sets of payer criteria, with the architecture described as vision language plus an orchestration engine. Held back from A because no model card, benchmark methodology, or evaluation results were published to support the accuracy claims.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming only the hosting provider sits at the top of this band rather than in A.
Vendor Published

This vendor publishes something most in this index do not: an explicit statement that de identified data is used for research and development of new products, to refine its algorithms and machine learning applications, and to improve the service.

Read alongside its claim that the model was trained on more than a hundred million anonymised healthcare documents, that discloses where a substantial part of the training corpus comes from, and stating it plainly rather than leaving a reader to infer it is why this sits above the middle of the scale.

What is not stated is which de identification standard applies, since the privacy policy paraphrases the concept rather than naming either the enumerated identifier method or a statistical determination, and the two produce different residual risk. The modality makes that harder than usual and it is the question to press.

The product reads scanned faxes, photographed forms and handwritten documents, so identifiers sit in handwriting, letterheads, fax transmission headers, signatures and stamps rather than in labelled fields, which means de identification here is an image and text extraction problem before it is a policy one, and a redaction process validated on structured records says nothing about performance on a smudged fax header. Ask whether the method has been validated for scanned and handwritten source documents specifically, what the residual identifier rate is, and whether a customer can decline to contribute.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Vendor Published

Operational scale is specific and consistently reported across sources: more than 10 million documents processed monthly across over 150 healthcare organizations, with a reported 320,000 referring partners on the network. Held back from A because the decisive metric for this category, the share of documents completed without human touch, is not published, and the cited industry error rate of roughly 8 percent on eligibility checks is a vendor framing rather than an independent benchmark.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule or the safety engineering behind them.
Vendor Published

Tennr publishes something most vendors in this index do not: an explicit statement that de identified data is used for research and development of new products, to refine its algorithms and machine learning applications, and to improve the service. Read alongside the company's claim that its model was trained on more than 100 million anonymised healthcare documents, that discloses where a substantial part of the training corpus comes from. Stating it plainly is creditable and is why this sits at B rather than C.

What is not stated is which de identification standard is applied. The privacy policy paraphrases the concept rather than naming either the safe harbour method or expert determination, and the distinction matters because they produce different residual risk.

The modality makes it harder than usual and this is the question to press. The product reads scanned faxes, photographed forms and handwritten documents. Identifiers in that material sit in handwriting, letterheads, fax transmission headers, signatures and stamps rather than in labelled fields, so de identification is an image and text extraction problem before it is a policy one. Ask whether the method has been validated for scanned and handwritten source documents specifically, and whether a customer can opt out of contributing.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here.
Vendor Published

The company states that it processes health data pursuant to agreements with its health care provider customers and that it applies privacy and security standards to all health data it collects, naming the categories it handles: patient intake forms, referral forms, insurance forms and related documentation. That is a clearer statement of role and scope than most records here carry.

Held at B rather than A because no business associate agreement terms are published, so a buyer can see the posture but not the instrument.

One scope question follows from the network product. Referral status visibility is offered to referring providers, receiving providers and patients, which means information moves between organisations that are separate covered entities and are not party to each other's agreements with the vendor. Establish what each participant can see about a referral originating elsewhere, and under whose authority that disclosure is made.

CC on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are described with an outside check behind them, such as independent penetration testing on a stated cadence, but no attestation against a recognised framework.
Vendor Published

No SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO 27001 attestation was located across two differently phrased searches, and no trust centre was found.

The company does describe controls: encryption in transit and at rest to industry standard, a combination of technical, administrative and physical safeguards, and internal access control policies. Those are stated commitments rather than audited ones, and the policy language is candid that no transmission is ever fully secure.

One phrase belongs on the compliance language watchlist. The company states it uses compliant products and services for health data storage and processing, which describes the posture of its infrastructure suppliers rather than an attestation of its own. That is the cloud inheritance pattern this index tracks: a vendor can run on compliant infrastructure and still have no independent examination of how it configures and operates it.

For a company processing a reported 10 million documents a month for over 150 organisations, its own attestation and scope should be an early request.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalised for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No FDA pathway applies and none is claimed. Reading inbound documents, extracting data and checking it against payer criteria is administrative work with no diagnostic or treatment decision surface.

Graded C because regimes do reach the functions sold and no position is published on any of them. Prior authorisation work sits under the CMS interoperability and prior authorisation requirements and the state laws now conditioning AI involvement in coverage decisions. The voice capability added in 2026 reaches the consumer telephone consent framework where calls are outbound, following the FCC ruling that AI generated voices are artificial voices requiring prior express consent.

One scoping point worth naming. Evaluating a referral against payer criteria to predict a denial is not itself a coverage determination, and the note does not treat it as one. But it shapes what gets submitted and in what form, which sits closer to the coverage process than pure document handling does. A buyer should establish whether any workflow can cause a referral to be abandoned rather than corrected, since that would be a practical denial made without a payer involved.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No AI governance framework, model monitoring disclosure or bias evaluation was located.

Two mechanisms make this concrete rather than abstract for this product. Extraction accuracy on scanned and handwritten material is not uniform: it varies with fax quality, form design, handwriting legibility and whether a practice sends clean digital output or a photographed page. Those correlate with the resourcing of the sending practice, so an accuracy gradient by document quality is an accuracy gradient by where the referral came from, and the patients affected are those referred from the least resourced settings.

The second is the criteria evaluation. Flagging documents likely to be denied shapes which referrals proceed smoothly and which stall, before any payer has decided anything. Nothing published addresses whether flag rates or extraction accuracy are reported by sending organisation type, payer or document source.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

The model is named and its training corpus is quantified across three dimensions, covering a stated document count, a data field count and a number of payer criteria sets, with the architecture described as a vision language model plus an orchestration engine.

Quantifying a corpus along more than one axis is more informative than a single headline number, because document count speaks to volume while field count speaks to the density of extraction and criteria sets speak to breadth of payer coverage, and a reader can judge whether the three are consistent. Naming the architecture as vision language also tells a buyer the correct failure mode to test for, which is misreading rather than misreasoning. Held at C because nothing is measured.

No model card, benchmark methodology or evaluation results were published to support the accuracy claims, and no warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment attaches. For a document extraction product the useful figures are per field accuracy on realistic source material and the behaviour on low confidence extractions, because the characteristic failure is a plausible value in the right field that nobody checks, and a downstream system will treat it as read. Ask for accuracy by field type and by source quality band, what happens when confidence is low, and whether an extracted value is flagged as machine derived when it reaches a human.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Ingests from more than 50 types of e-fax, phone, email, and portal sources and structures output for EHR and pharmacy management systems. Breadth of intake is the strength; depth of write back into specific named EHRs was not documented.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

No hosting provider, region, tenancy model or data residency commitment was located, and no subprocessor list is published. The company states it uses third party products and services for health data storage and processing, which establishes that subprocessors exist without naming any of them.

That omission is more consequential here than for most products because of the ingest surface. The platform receives material from more than fifty types of electronic fax, phone, email and portal source, and telephony and fax transport are frequently operated by third parties rather than the vendor. Documents therefore pass through infrastructure the customer has not assessed before they reach the platform at all.

Ask for the full subprocessor list including fax and telephony carriage, where each processes and stores content, and how long documents persist at each hop.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No public pricing. Contact the vendor. Enterprise agreements with referral receiving operators and device manufacturers; no published rate card.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Scope is broad but enumerated by function rather than vaguely claimed. Named workflows cover referral intake, patient intake and registration, eligibility verification, order processing and prior authorisation, with a referral network product spanning referring providers, receiving providers and patients, and voice capability for referral phone workflows added in 2026. Buyer types are named across ambulatory practices, hospitals and health systems, health plans and digital health providers.

Held at B rather than A because the span crosses provider and payer sides and the maturity is unlikely to be uniform across them. The company's own reported scale is concentrated in referral receiving operations, so a buyer outside that core should establish what is production proven in a comparable setting rather than assuming the whole list is equally deployed.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Head to head

Vendors the index assesses as direct competitors to Tennr for the same buyer.

Adjacent comparisons

Products a buyer researches alongside Tennr that do a different job: a different category, a different layer of the stack, or a specialist scope. These pages exist to settle whether the comparison is real before it settles which one to pick.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Contact the vendor
Enterprise agreements with referral receiving operators and device manufacturers Third Party Estimated

Enterprise agreements with referral receiving operators including DME, home health, infusion, sleep, and specialty practices, and separately with medical device manufacturers that bill payers directly. No rate card published.