Healthcare Administrative Automation
S

SureCost

SureCost sells pharmacy supply software that brings purchasing, inventory and drug shortage forecasting into one workflow, under the Smart Supply name. Purchase Manager puts every connected vendor's unit price side by side, builds one purchase order across wholesalers, secondary suppliers and manufacturers, applies the buyer's own cost, contract and preference rules, and matches invoices to orders before payment. Compliance Insights, included with it, tracks spend against primary vendor and GPO agreements. Inventory Manager keeps perpetual counts, par levels, transfers and automated cycle orders across locations.

The machine learning sits in Drug Shortage Insights, sold on its own or inside the platform. A prediction model trained on procurement activity, vendor signals and shortage outcomes from more than 1,600 customer pharmacies rates each NDC as critical, warning or stable every day, forecasts how long a shortage will last with a confidence score, and lists contract aligned alternatives. When the module is connected to Inventory Manager, rising shortage risk moves par levels automatically.

Buyers span retail chains and independents, long term care operators such as PharMerica and Guardian Pharmacy Services, specialty pharmacies and health systems such as Harrison Memorial Hospital in Kentucky. The company, based in St. Petersburg, Florida, was founded by pharmacist Calvin Hunsicker, cites more than 350 vendor integrations and names SOC 2 without a report a buyer can open. No HIPAA position, model evaluation or price for the core platform is stated.

AI Health Index verifiedOctober 16, 2026
Compare SureCost with other vendors
Founded
—
Headquarters
St. Petersburg, Florida
Categories
healthcare-admin-automation, hospital-operations
Indexed Products
Smart Supply, Drug Shortage Insights, Purchase Manager, Inventory Manager, Compliance Insights, DSCSA Compliance Packages, SureCost Mobile
Buyer Segments
Health system pharmacies, Long term care pharmacies, Retail pharmacy chains and independents, Specialty pharmacies
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Vendor Published

Machine learning drives one module inside a platform that carries value without it. Drug Shortage Insights runs prediction models trained for more than a year on procurement activity, vendor signals and shortage outcomes across more than 1,600 customer pharmacies, producing daily risk ratings for each NDC, shortage duration forecasts and confidence scores. That module is sold on its own, it is the newest of the three in Smart Supply, and it does not exist without the model.

The rest of the platform works by rules. Purchase Manager recommends items through the buyer's own cost, compliance and preference rules, Compliance Insights checks purchases against contract terms loaded into the system, and Inventory Manager reorders at set thresholds, with demand forecasting from usage history described only in general terms. Most of the daily value a buyer sees, price comparison, one purchase order and invoice matching, comes from integration and rules rather than inference.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

People decide on shortage alternatives, while one automated path is left undefined. Each organization sets its own threshold for acting on a shortage signal, confidence scores and the trend data behind each prediction are visible to users, and alternatives appear with primary vendor items first and the secondary market one toggle away. When a buyer passes on a recommended item, the platform asks for a reason and tracks the effect on cost of goods sold. SureCost calls confidence scores a tool for calibrated decisions, not a guarantee.

The open piece is automation. Connected to Inventory Manager, rising shortage risk adjusts par levels automatically, and par levels drive automated cycle orders, with no approval step or limit described for that chain. Marketing for the module promises buyers will know exactly how long each shortage will last.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The approach and its data sources are named; the model type, versions and update cadence are not. SureCost describes its shortage prediction model as trained continuously for more than a year on procurement activity, vendor signals and shortage outcomes from more than 1,600 pharmacy customers. Inputs named for live predictions are National Shortage Data, wholesaler feeds and fulfillment rates, vendor availability trends and partner network data, refreshed daily.

Outputs are a critical, warning or stable rating per NDC, a duration forecast, a confidence score defined as the model's certainty that a disruption will deepen or persist, and a flag when a stable NDC sits in a product group under stress. Users can view the trend data behind each prediction. Inventory forecasting from usage history is described in general terms only.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

The forecasting model is SureCost's own, trained on its customer network, which keeps the model layer short; the hosting layer is unnamed. SureCost describes the shortage prediction model as built through more than a year of training on its own customers' procurement data and names no outside model provider. The service terms permit aggregate use of subscriber data without subscriber identifiers, and that pooled data is what trains the model.

The privacy policy lists only categories of service providers that may receive information, including cloud computing, data storage, data analytics and product engineering services, and says nothing is shared with unaffiliated third parties. No subprocessor list, cloud host or region is named, and the wholesaler, shortage and partner vendor feeds arrive under arrangements that are not described.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

Named customers carry savings and time figures with no dates or denominators, and the shortage model has no measured result. Harrison Memorial Hospital, an independent Kentucky hospital, reports $232,000 saved in five months and daily ordering cut from nearly two hours to five to ten minutes. HAC Pharmacies reports about $200,000 a month saved over four months, iCareRx four to four and a half staff hours a day across two locations, and Smith Pharmacy more than $200,000 a year.

Platform figures add 2 to 5 percent savings on cost of goods sold, which the company bases on retail customer averages, plus $400 million or more in total savings, 6 to 30 times return on investment and a 10 to 20 percent cut in inventory costs. For Drug Shortage Insights, the company says detection often comes up to two months before FDA acknowledges a shortage, with no backtest, hit rate or false alarm rate behind the claim.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

A categorical rule governs pooled use of customer data, without a retention schedule behind it. The service terms let SureCost use subscriber data in aggregate only without reference to the subscriber's demographics, vendors, purchasing organizations, account or specific pricing, and bar disclosure of a customer's data in detail outside the company. The shortage model is trained on that kind of pooled procurement activity across more than 1,600 pharmacies.

Retention is stated only for compliance records and personal information. DSCSA data is kept for six years if the customer asks within 90 days of termination and may otherwise be removed, and personal information is kept as long as legal obligations require. Nothing addresses safety engineering for the model, such as how a bad forecast is caught or how a safety event is handled, and nothing addresses patient data.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

A privacy policy reaches the software, and no HIPAA or business associate position is taken. The policy covers the website, the mobile app and related products and services, and describes SureCost as a processor acting only on the customer's instructions for information users submit, unless a data processing agreement sets other terms. The service terms keep customer data, prices and other information the customer's exclusive property.

Neither document mentions protected health information. Whether the platform handles it is left open: most of what it processes is purchasing, contract and inventory data, but integration with pharmacy management systems, ordering from dispensing trends and patient level demand forecasting for long term care point toward patient linked records in some deployments. No business associate agreement is offered or described.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

SOC 2 is named without a report type, date or route to the report. SureCost calls its SOC 2 protection verified and Inventory Manager SOC 2 certified with enterprise level security, and there is no trust center, security page or attestation letter to open. No HITRUST or ISO 27001 claim is made.

The privacy policy describes reasonable administrative, technical and physical safeguards, and notice to affected individuals after a breach where harm is likely or the law requires it. The service terms condition the warranty on the customer following the security procedures in the product documentation. For a platform holding contract pricing, rebate terms and purchase history across more than 1,600 pharmacies, the scope and period of the SOC 2 examination are the missing pieces.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No device claim is made, and the product is scoped as purchasing and inventory software. The regime it works inside is the federal Drug Supply Chain Security Act, which FDA enforces: the DSCSA packs retrieve EPCIS transaction data from compliant vendors, capture 2D barcode data at receiving and on transfers, quarantine noncompliant items and keep six years of records.

The service terms place DSCSA obligations on the pharmacy, with the customer releasing SureCost from liability for them. Drug reference content from First DataBank inside the software carries its own disclaimer that the information is advisory and does not replace clinical judgment. Shortage alternatives are equivalent NDCs within a product group, chosen by the pharmacy team rather than applied by the system.

DD on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureNothing published on how model behavior is governed or tested. Multilingual operation with no subgroup performance sits here when the vendor markets recognition quality as a strength, because a caller the system failed to understand leaves no complaint and no record.
Vendor Published

Nothing describes how the shortage model is tested or monitored. No backtest, calibration result, false alarm rate or missed shortage rate is offered, and performance is not broken out by drug class, manufacturer concentration, supplier type or pharmacy setting, the places a model trained on pooled network data could perform unevenly.

The one performance claim, detection up to two months before FDA acknowledges a shortage, measures lead time in one direction and says nothing about warnings that never became shortages. SureCost does say confidence scores are not a guarantee and shows users the historical trend behind each prediction, which helps a buyer judge one forecast at a time without showing how the model performs overall. No governance framework, review process or responsible AI policy covers the model.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Users can trace each forecast to its trend data and override a recommendation with a recorded reason, and nothing contractual stands behind the forecast itself. SureCost describes confidence scores as not a guarantee.

The service terms warrant only that the software performs as its documentation or demonstration indicates, exclude responsibility for incorrect data from third party sources, and promise to attempt to correct other incorrect data at SureCost's own cost. Liability is capped at fees paid in the prior 12 months and excludes consequential losses and lost profits. The company indemnifies the customer for patent or copyright claims and for its own gross negligence or willful misconduct. Outages get a 48 or 72 hour remedy window, a commitment tied to uptime rather than to output.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

Integration runs mostly to trading partners rather than record systems, and no system is named. SureCost cites more than 350 prebuilt connections to wholesalers, including the three national distributors, GPOs, specialty and regional distributors, manufacturers and secondary market sources, and lists pharmacy management systems, accounts payable, ERP and EHRs among its integrations.

The service terms describe pharmacy management system integration for pricing and on hand updates, and Inventory Manager sends receiving acknowledgments back to the pharmacy system, which makes that link two way. The DSCSA packs pull EPCIS v1.2 or later transaction data from compliant vendors. The full vendor list sits behind a request form, and no pharmacy management system, EHR or ERP is named, so a buyer cannot confirm its own systems before contact.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

A single hosted service runs in a browser with mobile apps for iOS and Android, and the residency commitment covers personal information only. The service terms say nothing beyond an internet connection and a browser is needed, and set 99 percent annual uptime with ordering responses averaging three seconds or less. The privacy policy, which reaches the software, commits to processing and storing personal information within the user's country of residence.

Pharmacy purchasing, pricing and contract data carries no stated location, hosting provider, region or tenancy model, and the policy names only categories of service providers such as cloud computing and data storage. Where the shortage model runs and whether customer data is separated by tenant are not stated.

Commercial
BB on Commercial TransparencyA price or a pricing basis is published without full tiers, so a buyer can size the cost before making contact.
Vendor Published

Add on prices and the unit of charge are stated, while the core platform and the shortage module are priced by quote. The DSCSA compliance packs run $29 per pharmacy per month for receiving or for transfers, or $49 for both.

The service terms set a monthly subscription per pharmacy that includes unlimited secondary vendors, reporting, external invoice capture, pharmacy management system integration for pricing and on hand counts, and unlimited mobile device licenses, with invoices due in 30 days and a 1.5 percent monthly late fee. Compliance Insights comes with Purchase Manager at no extra cost, Inventory Manager is an add on module, and Drug Shortage Insights can be bought alone. Scanners and other hardware are extra, and any fee a trading partner charges to connect passes to the pharmacy. Buying starts with a demo request.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Coverage is named across pharmacy settings, with customer stories behind purchasing and inventory and none yet behind shortage forecasting. SureCost sells to retail, long term care, specialty and health system pharmacies, inpatient and ambulatory, and tailors features to each: 340B, WAC and GPO accounts in one view for health systems, patient level demand forecasting and cycle fill for long term care, and daily margin dashboards for retail.

Case studies cover a health system (Harrison Memorial Hospital), long term care operators (PharMerica, Guardian Pharmacy Services, SpecialtyRx) and retail pharmacies (HAC Pharmacies, iCareRx, Smith Pharmacy, The Prescription Center). Drug Shortage Insights is offered to all three settings with no named deployment so far. The product carries no clinical scope; therapeutic alternatives are surfaced for the pharmacy team to choose among.

Alternatives

Alternatives to SureCost

Vendors in the same categories as SureCost whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Synthpop sells AI agents for healthcare administrative work, now led by durable medical equipment and home care.

Weave, based in Lehi, Utah and listed on the New York Stock Exchange as WEAV, sells a patient communications, engagement and payments platform to small and medium healthcare practices…

Courier Health gives biopharma teams a shared system for managing patient access to specialty therapies.

Luma Health, founded in 2015 in San Francisco by Adnan Iqbal, Aditya Bansod and Tashfeen Ekram, sells what it calls an operational AI platform for patient access.

Luminai automates administrative work in large health systems end to end.

Magical sells AI agents that do the repetitive operational work in healthcare organizations.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Contact the vendor
Monthly subscription per pharmacy, by module No business associate agreement or HIPAA position stated Not stated; the onboarding team sets up vendor and system file integrations Vendor Published

Smart Supply is sold as a monthly subscription per pharmacy, quoted after a demo. The base subscription covers unlimited secondary vendors, reporting, external invoice capture, pharmacy management system integration for pricing and on hand counts, and unlimited mobile device licenses. Compliance Insights is included with Purchase Manager, Inventory Manager is an add on, and Drug Shortage Insights can be bought alone or inside the platform.

DSCSA compliance packs cost $29 per pharmacy per month for receiving or for transfers, or $49 for both. Invoices are due in 30 days with a 1.5 percent monthly late fee, scanners and devices are extra, and any fee a trading partner charges to connect passes to the pharmacy. The company claims 6 to 30 times return on investment.