Regard
Regard reads the whole electronic health record when a clinician opens a chart, recommends diagnoses the chart supports but the notes do not yet carry, and drafts the note around them inside the EHR. The company's premise is that physicians see about 3 percent of the data in a chart. Four modules run on the same engine: Clinical Notes, Mid-Revenue Cycle, HCC Capture and Screening, and a chat agent named Max answers questions about the chart and edits the note.
The diagnostic engine is a library of rules written and reviewed by physicians, published in numbered versions and deterministic, with each recommendation linked to the labs, vitals, medications and notes behind it. The language features, Max and note drafting, were built on OpenAI's GPT-4 according to the company's 2023 release. The company names native support for Epic and Cerner through FHIR, holds an ONC Health IT Module certification (2 May 2024) for data export and authentication, announced a Microsoft Dragon Copilot integration in 2025, and says it is HITRUST certified and SOC 2 Type II. No FDA clearance or regulatory position is published.
The company lists more than 150 hospitals, among them Sentara Health, Cedars-Sinai, Banner Health, AdventHealth, Montefiore, Tampa General, UVA Health, WakeMed and Penn Highlands. Its published results are financial and operational: 17 percent more CC and MCC capture at Sentara, appeal wins from 20 to 80 percent at Penn Highlands, and revenue and denial figures at unnamed systems. It also reports 90 percent or better diagnosis accuracy against clinician review, without a method. Founded in 2017 and based in Los Angeles, Regard raised a $61 million Series B led by Oak HC/FT in 2024. Pricing is not published.
Capability Axes
An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read
The diagnostic engine is a rule system, and the learned parts are features around it. Regard's technology page describes diagnostic logic written and reviewed by physicians, published in numbered versions, and deterministic: the same chart always produces the same assessment. Its worked example, thrombocytopenia in an adult inpatient, is a threshold on the lowest platelet count with severity bands and exclusions for heparin and ITP treatment.
The learned components are the language features: Max, a chat agent in the chart, and note drafting, both built on OpenAI's GPT-4 according to the company's 2023 release, plus AI that helps the clinical team write new rules. How the note parser detects negation and timing is not stated. The company markets AI-powered diagnosis, but the recommendations it counts and the revenue results it reports come from the rules.
The marketing rests on an absolute promise. The technology page opens with "The technology that reads every chart, so no diagnosis is missed", the home page with "Never miss a diagnosis", and a 2024 release says the platform ensures "no critical information is missed". Taken at face value, that promise invites a hospital to skip the review for omissions this kind of product needs.
The controls underneath are real: the clinician accepts or declines each recommended diagnosis, every recommendation links to the labs, vitals, medications and notes behind it, and the rules report insufficient evidence separately from a condition ruled out. The company counts 12,993,284 accepted recommendations on the home page and 15M+ on the Clinical Notes page, with no count of recommendations made, so the decline rate cannot be derived.
The approach and a supplier are named, with version discipline published for the rules and not for the language model. The technology page describes the pipeline: chart ingestion, an in-process clinical language parser that marks negation, subject and timing, a concept library that maps each hospital's codes to one vocabulary, and a diagnostic rule library written by physicians, reviewed by two clinicians and published in numbered versions with every prior version archived.
The company's 2023 release names OpenAI's GPT-4 for Max and note drafting. Three things go unpublished: which language model and version run today, how the parser was built or tested, and the training data for any learned part.
A model provider is named and the rest of the chain is not. The company's August 2023 release names OpenAI's GPT-4 as the model behind Max and the note drafting features, both still sold; the diagnostic rules are built in house. No host, subprocessor list, or retention and training terms for data sent to OpenAI are published, and the product pages' statement that all data stays inside the customer's environment leaves open how the language model features reach OpenAI.
Named deployments with outcome figures, all vendor published. Sentara Health's pilot case study reports a 17 percent increase in CC and MCC capture, up to 4x return per user and 74 percent voluntary adoption among hospitalists; Penn Highlands reports appeal wins rising from 20 to 80 percent; the home page cites $50 million or more in revenue at an Arizona system, $9.3 million in denials prevented in North Carolina and a 20 percent reduction in queries in Pennsylvania; the Clinical Notes page cites two hours saved per clinician per day at a multi-site academic medical center.
The diagnostic headline has less behind it: "90%+ diagnoses accuracy validated against clinician review" carries no method or sample, and PubMed lists no study of Regard. The outcomes reported are financial and throughput, not whether patients were diagnosed correctly. The company lists more than 150 hospitals.
General assurances. Product pages say all data stays inside the customer's environment with end-to-end encryption, full audit logging and role-based access. The privacy policy (updated June 2026) covers website comments, cookies and embedded media only and says nothing about patient data. Nothing states how long chart data is retained, whether customer data trains or tunes any model, or what reaches OpenAI when the GPT-4 based features (Max, note drafting) run. No safety engineering is published, meaning how a language model output is checked and how a safety event is handled.
Compliance is claimed without the document behind it. The Clinical Notes page says Regard is "HIPAA-compliant"; no business associate status is stated, and the privacy policy covers only the website. The ONC certification is a separate framework: it tests the software's export and authentication functions and says nothing about business associate terms. The product reads full charts across a population for HCC and screening work, beyond the patient in front of a clinician, so the agreement's scope matters.
Recognized certifications are named in the company's own material without the artifacts. The Mid-Revenue Cycle and HCC Capture pages say Regard is "HITRUST-certified and SOC 2 Type II compliant", and the Clinical Notes page says SOC 2 Type II certified; the HITRUST assessment type, the report periods and the scope are not stated, and no trust center is published.
The ONC Health IT Module certification (15.04.04.3192.Rega.01.00.0.240502, 2 May 2024) is an outside check of the software's security features, and for multi-factor authentication it relies on the EHR's own login through SMART on FHIR. The quality system is ISO 9001.
No device claim is made, and no regulatory position is stated for a product that recommends diagnoses. The ONC certification (2 May 2024, criteria b10, d1, d5, d12, d13, g4 and g5) is an interoperability and security certification and does not include the decision support interventions criterion; it is not FDA clearance, and FDA's 510(k) database lists none.
The design points toward the non-device decision support criteria, since each recommendation shows the evidence and logic behind it for the clinician to review, and the recommendations are not time critical alarms. The marketing runs further ("Never miss a diagnosis", "AI-powered diagnostic support").
A named review process governs every piece of diagnostic logic, and no evaluation across patient groups is published. Physicians write each condition rule, two clinicians review it, only approved versions run, and earlier versions are archived for audit; the company says the logic is updated against guidelines, peer review and real-world performance data. The process is set out in enough detail to be examined.
What is missing is any result: no performance by age, sex, race, language or care setting, and no measure of how often rules fire or miss in each group. The same recommendations feed the Mid-Revenue Cycle and HCC Capture modules, and nothing says how clinical accuracy is monitored apart from coding yield.
Mechanisms exist and nothing stands behind the output. Every recommended diagnosis carries the chart evidence behind it, a clinician can reject it on that evidence, and the rules separate insufficient evidence from a condition ruled out. The Clinical Notes page reports "90%+ diagnoses accuracy validated against clinician review" with no method, sample or denominator, and no omission rate is published, which is the error that leaves no trace in the chart. No warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment is published.
Named record systems with read access documented, and the write path not described. The technology page names native support for Epic and Cerner, plus generic FHIR servers, and shows chart loads over Epic FHIR R4 triggered when a clinician opens the chart; the app embeds in the EHR through SMART on FHIR, and the company announced an integration with Microsoft Dragon Copilot in 2025.
Recommendations, evidence and the drafted note appear inside the EHR workflow, but how the note and problem list reach the record is not described, and the pages name no marketplace listing. Named production sites include Sentara Health, Cedars-Sinai and Banner Health. The ONC certification covers electronic health information export (FHIR single patient and bulk), not the EHR integration.
Residency is stated and the processing path is left open. The product pages say all data stays inside the customer's environment and that Regard deploys inside the existing security perimeter, while the ONC certification lists the product as Regard SaaS Solution v.1. The technology page describes per-customer configuration and chart loads triggered when a clinician opens the chart. No hosting provider, region or tenant model is named, and nothing says where the GPT-4 based features process data.
Pricing is private, but part of the commercial posture is public. The company frames value as return per user (4x at Sentara), offers a free HCC gap analysis to size the revenue opportunity before contract, and states go-lives of six to ten weeks with a dedicated team. The unit of charge, tiers and implementation fees are not published. Several modules are sold on coding and denial outcomes, yet the company does not say whether any part of the fee varies with captured revenue, severity or collections.
Inpatient first, with coverage named and validation behind part of it. The product began with hospitalists and leads with inpatient measures (CC and MCC capture, DRG movement). The company says 250+ conditions are detected across specialties and announced expansion to new specialties toward all admitted patients in March 2026, and HCC Capture and Screening reach ambulatory populations. The example rule is scoped to adult inpatients, but no age, population or specialty exclusions are published for the library.
Product updates
Material product, regulatory, evidence and commercial changes at Regard, each verified against a live source and tagged to the capability axis it bears on. Funding rounds and awards are not product changes and are not logged.
Regard published real-world outcome data from its deployment at Monument Health, demonstrating significant improvements in diagnostic capture. Over an eight-month period across two hospitals, the platform drove a 56% improvement in average Elixhauser scores, a 52% increase in HCC capture, and a 44% improvement in CC/MCC capture. At smaller facilities without prior clinical documentation improvement programs, the platform increased HCC capture by 352%.
Alternatives to Regard
Vendors in the same categories as Regard whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
ThetaRho sells a clinical intelligence platform in three layers and will sell any of them on its own.
Fourier Health automates medical record intake and turns inbound records into structured, cited clinical data and specialty summaries.
Layer Health is a Massachusetts Institute of Technology spin out, founded in 2023 and based in Boston, applying large language models to clinical chart review.
Wellsheet sells a Care Team Copilot that sits on top of the EHR and reads the existing chart rather than listening to the visit.
Averbis is a Freiburg company that turns unstructured clinical documents, mostly in German, into structured data.
Patients.app, from Granville Labs, finds a patient's records across other hospitals and practices and uses AI to screen them for a specific decision.
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Compared With
Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.
Head to head
Vendors the index assesses as direct competitors to Regard for the same buyer.
Adjacent comparisons
Products a buyer researches alongside Regard that do a different job: a different category, a different layer of the stack, or a specialist scope. These pages exist to settle whether the comparison is real before it settles which one to pick.
Pricing
Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.
| Entry Price | Pricing Basis | BAA Tier | Implementation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Not published
|
Not published (value framed as return per user) | Not published | Not published. Go-lives are stated at six to ten weeks with a dedicated Regard team. | Vendor Published |
No price, tier or unit of charge is published, and every commercial path ends at a demo request. The company frames value as return per user (4x at Sentara Health) and offers a free HCC gap analysis to size the revenue opportunity before contract. Because the Mid-Revenue Cycle and HCC Capture modules are sold on coding and denial outcomes, establish in writing whether any part of the fee varies with captured revenue, severity or collections rather than with users, volume or time.