Health System AI Platforms
P

Penguin Ai

Penguin Ai sells software for the administrative work shared by healthcare payers and providers. Its workers read records, organize evidence against payer criteria, recommend codes and prepare claims or appeals for staff review. The product combines a data layer that resolves fragmented records, a context layer for policies and guidelines, and a workforce of agents that performs the work.

GwenOS supports ready made workflows for utilization management, revenue cycle operations and coding. Teams can also use Gwen to build their own workers from written instructions. Reviewers see the evidence behind a recommendation, and organizations configure where human approval is required. Native applications can run in a customer's Snowflake or AWS account. Founded in 2024 and based in Palo Alto, California, Penguin Ai serves health plans, providers and service organizations, including home health operations.

AI Health Index verifiedOctober 14, 2026
Compare Penguin Ai with other vendors
Founded
2024
Headquarters
Palo Alto, California, United States
Categories
health-system-ai-platforms, rcm-and-prior-auth, autonomous-medical-coding
Indexed Products
GwenOS, Gwen, Intelligent UM, Intelligent RCM, Medical Coding, HCC Coding and Risk Adjustment
Buyer Segments
Health plans, Health systems, Physician groups, Healthcare service organizations
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Vendor Published

Penguin Ai's workers use language models to extract chart evidence, apply payer policy and prepare coding, authorization and claims work. The company also sells its data and context layers separately. Those layers organize records and policies, while the worker layer depends on learned reasoning to complete its core tasks.

AA on Autonomy and Oversight ModelWhat the system may do and what it may not do are both published, with escalation thresholds, override paths and the conditions that route a case to a person.
Vendor Published

Review checkpoints can be configured by case, sample, risk or dollar threshold. Uncertain results route to reviewers, and clinical determinations require a person. Revenue cycle specialists can dismiss, reassign or escalate findings, retain final approval and control submission, while operators can change the thresholds governing the workflow.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

Gwen's language service runs through AWS Bedrock and identifies Sonnet as its default model family. Specialized pipelines add evidence extraction and validation, while skills can be pinned to a version. The exact production model release and training data for each worker are not specified.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

AWS Bedrock and the Sonnet model family are identified for Gwen's language service. Penguin Ai also describes its own models and customer account execution through Snowflake or AWS. The complete processor inventory and model specific retention terms are not available across all these deployment paths.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

The prior authorization model card reports an F1 score of 0.954 for the Gwen pipeline with GPT 5.5, compared with 0.918 for the model alone. The benchmark does not state its sample count, reference labels or evaluation date. Operational percentages likewise lack a named study population and measurement protocol.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

Customer data is excluded from shared model training, while learning from an organization's operations stays within that organization. Gwen limits ordinary testing to synthetic data. Retention periods and deidentification rules are unspecified. Evidence grounding and confidence routing support review, but a complete clinical safety incident protocol is not described.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

Penguin Ai states HIPAA compliance and signs BAAs for customer relationships. Gwen requires Enterprise deployment and security review before real patient data can be used. The privacy notice centers on contact, account and website information; the service PHI agreement and its subcontractor obligations are not available to read before contracting.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

SOC 2 auditing is stated for Penguin Ai, with further assurance material available to prospective customers under NDA. Encryption, permissions and audit logs are also described. The public pages do not identify the SOC report type, examination period or scope, and the restricted report remains unavailable for direct inspection.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

The workers are positioned for healthcare administration, including coding, claims and preparation of authorization decisions. Clinical reasoning is routed to human reviewers, who retain the decision. The product does not present itself as an autonomous diagnostic or treatment device, and no FDA clearance is claimed for these workflows.

BB on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA governance framework with named process behind it, such as certification to an artificial intelligence management standard, or material written for a customer own review committee to evaluate the product with. A framework covering the vendor whole portfolio counts when its scope reaches this product; what it cannot supply is the product specific evaluation the band above asks for. Published results within the one group where the performance of this product is most at risk also sit here: evaluation on the question this axis asks, short of the comparison across groups the band above requires. A medical device clearance or certification, and the quality system behind it, does not reach this band on its own; it is graded under regulatory status. A regulator reviewed plan governing how the model may change does reach it.
Vendor Published

Skills are evaluated against reference datasets, with accuracy, confidence calibration, cost and latency tracked. Customers can pin skill versions, and policy changes trigger validation of affected workflows. This provides a defined governance process; performance comparisons across demographic or clinical subgroups are not specified for the deployed workers.

BB on AI Liability and RecourseA published falsifiable commitment, or a real correction route the affected person can exercise against the vendor. A published error rate with its method and denominator grades here. A statutory right that runs to the covered entity rather than to the vendor does not reach this band on its own: every other route here asks something of the vendor, and being located in a particular jurisdiction is not conduct.
Vendor Published

Penguin Ai advertises a 90 day return on investment guarantee for engagements and says systemic errors are corrected, communicated and documented. Glassbox connects findings to their supporting evidence. The guarantee's eligibility rules, calculation and remedy are not specified, and the general service terms remain an unfinished draft.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Epic FHIR and Cerner are named connections, alongside HL7, FHIR R4, X12 and NCPDP support. Browser automation reaches portals without modern APIs, and workers produce structured output for downstream systems. Named production evidence of a major EHR connection that both reads and writes is not supplied.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

Native applications can run within a customer's Snowflake or AWS account, and dedicated private VPC deployment is supported. The Snowflake offering keeps records, recommendations and audit activity in that account. A complete regional availability list and processing geography for the hosted Gwen service are not specified.

Commercial
BB on Commercial TransparencyA price or a pricing basis is published without full tiers, so a buyer can size the cost before making contact.
Vendor Published

Gwen offers a free trial allocation and a Pro plan at $450 per month with 250 monthly credits. Usage depends on tokens, with additional credit purchases available. Real patient data requires an Enterprise agreement and security review; its production price and the wider operating system's minimum commitment are not specified.

CC on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is claimed broadly without specifics, or stated clearly with nothing validating it yet.
Vendor Published

The platform targets health plans, health systems, physician groups and healthcare service organizations, with dedicated home health coding and OASIS workflows. Its coding catalog also covers orthopedic and evaluation and management tasks. Settings and workflow names are clear, but validation across those care settings and specialties is not established.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Gwen Pro $450 per month; Enterprise contact sales
$450 baseline
Gwen subscription plus token driven credit usage; Enterprise production and the wider operating system are quoted. Real patient data requires Enterprise deployment and review; Free and Pro permit synthetic data only. BAA signing is standard for customer relationships. Not specified; Enterprise deployment includes a security review. Vendor Published

Free accounts receive 10 starting credits. Pro includes 250 credits per month; additional credit packs cost $25 to $250. The language service lists default Sonnet usage at $3 per million input tokens and $15 per million output tokens. These builder and inference figures do not establish an Enterprise production price.