Hospital & Unit Operations
O

Opmed

Opmed sells an AI platform for hospital operations and scheduling, built first for the operating room. Its Forecast layer predicts case duration and procedure length, turnover time, block utilization, PACU and admission length of stay, demand and staffing needs; Allocate plans block allocation, shift assignment and staff to patient matching across rooms, staff and equipment; and Adjust responds to no shows, late cancellations, add ons, urgent cases, equipment maintenance and operational emergencies with updated schedules and recommended next steps. A custom workflow layer reads each site's rules, exceptions and live changes, surfaces recommendations for teams to review and approve, and learns from approvals and overrides.

Surgical services, procedural services such as cardiovascular labs, and rehabilitation scheduling are the three care areas. Geisinger and AtlantiCare run it in perioperative services, Opmed and Mayo Clinic have presented its cardiovascular procedure scheduling work, and Raphael Hospital and Herzliya Medical Center in Israel are named users. Opmed AI, Inc. raised a $15 million Series A; Dr. Mor Brokman Meltzer is chief executive, Avi Paz chief technology officer and Prof. Baruch Barzel chief scientist.

AI Health Index verifiedOctober 12, 2026
Compare Opmed with other vendors
Founded
—
Headquarters
—
Website
www.opmed.ai
Categories
hospital-operations
Indexed Products
Forecast, Allocate, Adjust, Custom AI Workflow, Live Schedule Optimizer, Block Optimizer
Buyer Segments
Health systems and hospitals, Perioperative services leaders, Procedural services, Rehabilitation providers
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Vendor Published

Prediction and optimization run the core modules. Duration models forecast case and procedure length, turnover, PACU stay and demand from each site's history, and Opmed says they cut duration prediction error roughly in half against clinician estimates; the Live Schedule Optimizer and Block Optimizer then align cases, rooms, staff and equipment and model block reallocation, and agentic workflows turn live changes into recommended next steps.

Around those models sit dashboards for performance and throughput, rule configuration and EHR connected scheduling workflows that carry value of their own.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

People approve what the platform recommends. Opmed reads schedules, resources, rules, exceptions and live operational changes, then surfaces the next best action for teams to review, approve and act on, and it captures approvals, overrides and outcomes to improve later recommendations. Teams configure the rules, priorities and exception handling the workflows follow.

Which actions, if any, the agents carry out without an approval is not stated.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

The platform is described as AI native, combining duration prediction, schedule and block optimization and agentic workflows, with recommendation logic built on each site's mapped workflows and configured rules. Its chief scientist, Prof. Baruch Barzel, and a director of AI lead the technical work.

Model types, training data and accuracy figures beyond the comparison with clinician estimates are not published.

DD on Model Supply Chain DisclosureNothing establishes who else sits between a patient record and an answer.
Vendor Published

Opmed presents duration prediction, optimization and the agentic workflow layer as its own platform, and its team includes a chief scientist and a director of AI. Recommendation logic is built on each customer's mapped workflows and configured rules, and approvals and overrides feed back into later recommendations.

No hosting provider, outside model or subprocessor is named.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

Results are reported by care area. In surgery Opmed cites a 10 percent increase in OR utilization, 20 percent less nurse overtime and $1.2 million recovered per OR each year; in procedural services, duration prediction error about half that of clinician estimates, more than 200 OR hours saved per room each year and 67 percent fewer delays and cancellations; in rehabilitation, a 95 percent reimbursement approval rate, 12 percent more billable hours and 29 percent better provider utilization. Geisinger and AtlantiCare are named deployments, and Opmed and Mayo Clinic have presented its cardiovascular scheduling work.

The figures come without a named site, period or method.

DD on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipNothing published on how protected information moves through the system.
Vendor Published

The platform reads schedules, case data and staffing from hospital systems through EHR connected workflows, which brings patient identifiers and procedure details into scheduling decisions. The public privacy policy covers the website, which is directed to healthcare professionals in the United States and Israel, and describes HTTPS and encryption for site data.

How product data is retained, whether it trains models across customers and how it is protected are not described.

Regulatory and Compliance
DD on HIPAA and BAA PostureNo statement of status and no privacy document that reaches the product. Both halves are absent at this grade: a service level privacy document on its own lifts a vendor to the band above even where no status is stated. A website privacy notice, including one that says it does not cover customer data, does not reach the product, so a vendor whose only document is that notice and who states no status grades here.
Vendor Published

Scheduling workflows connect to the EHR and handle case and patient level schedule data for hospital customers in the United States and Israel, including US systems such as Geisinger and AtlantiCare. The public terms and privacy policy cover the website and are governed by New York law.

No HIPAA statement or business associate agreement appears on the public pages.

DD on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are asserted with nothing independent behind them, or nothing is published. Read the note before concluding anything: this is the grade most often corrected on a second pass, because assurance material frequently sits on a parent domain or inside an old announcement rather than on the product pages.
Vendor Published

Security information on the public site is limited to the website privacy policy, which mentions HTTPS and encryption and says no measure provides absolute security. The platform runs inside customer scheduling workflows connected to the EHR at systems such as Geisinger and AtlantiCare, across surgical, procedural and rehabilitation scheduling.

No certification, audit report or trust center is published.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

The platform forecasts and allocates operating room time, procedure rooms, staff, equipment and therapist schedules. It makes no diagnostic or treatment recommendation for an individual patient, and its rehabilitation scheduling is aimed at compliance and reimbursement rather than clinical care.

Opmed makes no regulatory claim, and no FDA device listing exists for it.

DD on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureNothing published on how model behavior is governed or tested. Multilingual operation with no subgroup performance sits here when the vendor markets recognition quality as a strength, because a caller the system failed to understand leaves no complaint and no record.
Vendor Published

Recommendations learn from each site's own decisions: approvals, overrides and outcomes feed later recommendations, and block allocation is modeled from historical utilization. That history can carry forward who has held operating room time and how cases have been sequenced.

No governance process, monitoring practice or fairness review of allocation across services or surgeons is published.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Recommendations wait for a person. Teams review, approve and act on the next best action the platform surfaces, overrides are captured, and schedule changes run through the hospital's own workflows, so a wrong forecast can be set aside before it moves a case.

The website terms disclaim warranties of accuracy, and no product warranty, service level or remediation commitment is published.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

Opmed describes EHR connected workflows that bring live schedule optimization, AI recommendations, block planning and throughput insights into one operational layer, reading schedules, resources and live operational changes. Customers such as Geisinger and AtlantiCare run it alongside their record systems.

No EHR vendor, interface standard or write back path is named.

DD on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyNothing published about where the system runs or where the data rests.
Vendor Published

Delivery is a platform connected to each health system's EHR and scheduling workflows, with the forecasting, allocation and adjustment layers configured around local rules. Each deployment starts with workflow mapping and rule configuration for the site's rooms, staff and resources. Customers are named in the United States and Israel, and the company is Opmed AI, Inc.

Hosting, regions and tenancy are not stated.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Health systems buy through a demo and sales conversation, organized by care area and by the Forecast, Allocate and Adjust modules, with custom AI workflows built around each site's rules. The value case is set per operating room: $1.2 million recovered per OR each year, a 10 percent rise in OR utilization and 20 percent less nurse overtime, and in rehabilitation a 12 percent increase in billable hours.

Opmed publishes no price, unit of charge or contract term.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Three care areas are named. Surgical services cover OR scheduling, blocks, staffing and capacity; procedural services cover quick diagnostics through complex interventions, with imaging and specialized equipment allocation and cardiovascular procedure scheduling presented with Mayo Clinic; rehabilitation covers therapist and patient scheduling, with Three Birds One Mission as a named user. Geisinger and AtlantiCare are named in the US, and Raphael Hospital and Herzliya Medical Center in Israel.

Results are reported by care area rather than by named site.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published
Enterprise contracts through a demo and sales conversation, organized by care area and module. Rates are set in each contract and not published. No business associate agreement or HIPAA statement is published. Not published. Deployment includes workflow mapping and rule configuration for each site. Vendor Published

Opmed frames value per operating room, $1.2 million recovered per OR each year with a 10 percent rise in OR utilization and 20 percent less nurse overtime, and in rehabilitation a 12 percent increase in billable hours and a 95 percent reimbursement approval rate. It raised a $15 million Series A. Opmed publishes no rate card.