Clinical Decision Support
N

Neurotrack

Neurotrack describes itself as a cognitive care enablement platform: digital cognitive assessments, an adaptive layer it calls Smart Logic, and care planning support, sold to help providers assess, diagnose and care for people with mild cognitive impairment and dementia. The assessments are Symbol Match (processing speed and visual attention), Path Points (a digital trail making task for executive function) and Word Recall (verbal memory); the first step takes about three minutes and can be taken in clinic, remotely or at home. Smart Logic chooses which assessments to give from the patient's responses, combines the results with EHR context to surface a DSM-5 aligned diagnostic pathway, and drafts a care plan; the company does not say how it works.

The company describes the product as an FDA registered Class II medical device and reports 94 percent sensitivity and 90 percent specificity for the Symbol Match and Path Points battery in a Frontiers in Aging Neuroscience study comparing healthy people with people diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease. It sells to health systems, primary care networks and health plans, and to plans it positions the assessments as documentation for V28 risk adjustment, Medicare Advantage in-home health risk assessments and Annual Wellness Visits. Customers named on the estate include Desert Oasis Healthcare and Sutter Health, and Nationwide reports using the three minute screen in long term care insurance underwriting.

Founded in 2012 by Elli Kaplan with academic co-founders including Elizabeth Buffalo and Stuart Zola, Neurotrack began with eye tracking based cognitive assessment; the current products use the patient led tests above.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 21, 2026
Compare Neurotrack with other vendors
Founded
2012
Headquarters
Redwood City, California, United States
Website
neurotrack.com
Categories
clinical-decision-support, vbc-intelligence, remote-monitoring
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
DD on AI CentralityNo learned component can be found. Either artificial intelligence is claimed in the marketing and cannot be located in the product, or the term is covering rules and automation that predate it. The note says which. A product that makes no AI claim and runs on rules, formulas or human curation is outside the index.
Vendor Published

AI is claimed and no learned component is described. The platform page calls Smart Logic an adaptive intelligence layer that chooses which assessments to give based on how a patient is responding, combines the results with EHR context to surface a DSM-5 aligned diagnostic pathway, and generates a patient specific care plan. Neither the home page nor the platform page says any part of this is learned from data, and the assessments themselves (Symbol Match, Path Points, Word Recall) are scored digital tests, which the device regulation Neurotrack is registered under describes as a battery of cognitive tasks producing a score.

That may be rules under an intelligence label, or a model the company has not described; nothing published says which, and adaptive test selection and care plan drafting can be done either way. The product is a validated digital test battery with workflow around it, and its AI rests on the company's claim alone.

DD on Autonomy and Oversight ModelNo oversight structure is published. An absolute claim that the system does not err grades here too, because a buyer who believes it will not build the review step that would catch a failure.
Vendor Published

The platform page makes a universal claim about the output: 'every output supports confident clinical action, and every result is clinically defensible.' The first half is a claim of reliability: a buyer who believes every output supports confident action has no reason to build the check that would catch a false impairment or a missed one, whatever the review structure. The second half is a claim about basis: in the risk adjustment language Neurotrack sells in, defensible means supported well enough to survive an audit, which holds only where each result shows what it rests on. Nothing here does: nothing published says how Smart Logic chooses assessments or what moves a patient onto the diagnostic pathway.

The structure itself is described in part. The page says Smart Logic supports clinical decision making and never directs it, and that the clinician leads the diagnosis and care plan. But Smart Logic also decides on its own which assessments a patient receives, and nothing published says what happens when the clinician disagrees.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The instruments are now named. The platform page lists Symbol Match (processing speed and visual attention), Path Points (a digitally adapted trail making task for executive function and working memory) and Word Recall (verbal memory), and gives sensitivity and specificity for the Symbol Match and Path Points battery with the journal that published it. Because in cognitive assessment the instrument is the evidence, naming the battery lets a buyer find its literature and known limits. The company began with eye tracking based assessment; the current products use these patient led tests instead.

What is not explained is Smart Logic, the layer that chooses which tests to give, proposes a diagnostic pathway and drafts care plans: its rules or model, the norms scores are compared against, and how and when either changes.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

The chain is described by category in the privacy policy (updated 26 March 2025), along with the terms that bind it: secure hosting providers that store and process data, electronic communications providers, data analytics providers, and video conferencing services used to record assessments. These subprocessors may not use the information except to provide the service, may not keep it afterward, and the current list is available on request. The product describes no third party model, and nothing on the platform page suggests one, so the chain as published is short.

That is substantial partial disclosure. No party is named publicly, the list is available only on request, and Smart Logic's mechanism is not described, so nothing shows whether any model provider sits in the care plan or diagnostic pathway step.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Peer Reviewed Publication

The headline claim is that the assessments detect cognitive impairment at the MCI stage, earlier and more accurately than paper tools or other digital tests. The published evidence the platform page cites is a Frontiers in Aging Neuroscience study reporting 94 percent sensitivity and 90 percent specificity for the Symbol Match and Path Points battery, comparing healthy people with people diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease. That is peer reviewed and it answers a different question: separating established Alzheimer's from health is easier than finding mild impairment, and Word Recall is not in the figure. The comparison chart against MoCA, Mini-Cog and MMSE does not say where the comparator figures come from.

The deployment figures are vendor reported. An unnamed national Medicare Advantage plan's three month home visit pilot found 85 percent higher MCI identification and 53 percent higher dementia identification than pen and paper assessment (p below 0.001); Desert Oasis Healthcare reported a 35 percent net increase in new dementia diagnoses, presented at a pharmacists' conference in 2025; internal comparisons against Mini-Cog report five times more impairment identified. More diagnoses is not the same as correct diagnoses, and none of these reports how many flagged patients were confirmed.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

The privacy policy (updated 26 March 2025) covers the cognitive assessments and protected health information and publishes categorical commitments: Neurotrack does not sell account information or health data; its subprocessors may not use the data except to provide the service or keep it afterward; and information shared with third parties for research or development excludes personally identifiable information and health data unless the person consents. Deletion requests are handled within 30 days, up to 90 days for backups.

The rest of the lifecycle is looser. The policy says Neurotrack itself uses the information it collects to improve the services, perform data analysis and testing, conduct research and develop new features, which is a use for development rather than a commitment against it; retention is no longer than necessary, with no schedule; and aggregated or de identified data may be disclosed publicly and to partners, including as community benchmarking. The data concerns cognitive decline in older adults, which reaches into driving, finances and legal capacity.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here. A vendor whose product does not process protected health information grades here too when it says so plainly and explains the scope, with a service privacy document behind it: stating a position a buyer can rely on is the posture this axis grades, and the band above is closed to it because there is no agreement to publish.
Vendor Published

HIPAA compliance is stated on the security page and the platform page, and the privacy policy (updated 26 March 2025) covers the cognitive assessments and protected health information: when a health plan, provider or insurer asks Neurotrack to run an assessment, the policy describes receiving health information on its behalf and sharing results with it and its business associates. The security page describes the administrative, physical and technical safeguards behind the claim.

No business associate agreement or summary of its terms is published, and the policy does not say in plain words that Neurotrack is the business associate when it runs assessments for a covered entity. The treatment of assessment recordings is not described, nor that of de identified data, which the privacy policy allows to be shared for benchmarking.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

The security page states that Neurotrack is SOC 2 and HIPAA compliant, and the platform page repeats SOC 2 across all care settings and deployment models. That is a recognized attestation presented as the company's own. The security page also describes administrative, physical and technical safeguards, and says the company conforms to ISO 13485 and FDA quality system regulations; those are device quality standards, which bear on regulatory status rather than security.

The SOC 2 type is not stated, and none of the supporting material is published: no report, trust center or audit period. A Type I report covers the design of controls at a point in time, a Type II their operation over a period, and the difference carries the weight.

DD on FDA and Regulatory StatusThe positioning is unclear or unsupported: clinical claims with no regulatory position stated, or language implying a status the databases do not carry. An open enforcement action that names the product also grades here, whatever the positioning: an FDA warning letter with no close out letter posted, or a consent decree in force. The note says which of the two applies, and the grade returns to the positioning bands when FDA closes the action.
Regulatory Filing

The stated position and the marketing contradict each other. The platform page describes the product as an 'FDA-Registered Class II Medical Device' that 'meets regulatory standard for clinical diagnostic tools', and the home page says it equips providers to 'assess, diagnose, and care for people living with MCI and dementia', with Smart Logic surfacing a DSM-5 aligned diagnostic pathway. Registration is not clearance: no 510(k) or De Novo is named. The classification a registered cognitive test battery falls under, the computerized cognitive assessment aid at 21 CFR 882.1470, describes a device that 'does not identify the presence or absence of clinical diagnoses' and 'is not intended as a stand-alone or adjunctive diagnostic device', and its exemption from premarket review does not apply when the device is intended for diagnostic assessment of specific diseases and relies on visual cues or use of the hand, as Symbol Match and Path Points do.

A device registered as an assessment aid and marketed as a diagnostic tool is the D shape. The platform page also says Neurotrack conforms to ISO 13485 and FDA quality system regulations.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Neurotrack asserts even performance across groups without publishing results for them. The platform page says the assessments are validated across diverse patient populations, that Word Recall is a sensitive indicator across diverse linguistic backgrounds, and that assessments can be given in clinic, remotely or at home, in multiple languages, with the same clinical accuracy across every setting. The tests are also described as using culturally agnostic symbols and numbers by design. No results by language, education, age band or setting are published, and the one validation figure on the page compares healthy people with people diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease.

That gap matters because cognitive test scores are known to shift with education, language and familiarity with screens, and a false impairment signal can follow a person into a dementia diagnosis, risk adjustment coding and, where the screen is used in long term care insurance underwriting, a coverage decision.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

The mechanism is review by the clinician: the platform page says Smart Logic supports clinical decision making and never directs it, and results, DSM-5 aligned documentation and care plans are written into the record for the provider to act on. Nothing stands behind the output. The page publishes 94 percent sensitivity and 90 percent specificity from a Frontiers in Aging Neuroscience study, but that comparison is of healthy people against people already diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease, not the early stage impairment the product is sold to find, and no warranty, remedy or correction route for the person tested is published.

The person who bears a wrong result is often not the clinician. A false positive can become a coded dementia diagnosis in a risk adjustment record, and the three minute screen is also used in long term care insurance underwriting, where an applicant who scores poorly has no published way to challenge it with Neurotrack.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

Integration is claimed and nothing is named. The platform page says Neurotrack integrates directly into existing EHR environments, connects to major EHR platforms, and generates structured documentation that flows automatically into the patient record, including assessment results, DSM-5 aligned documentation and care plans. No record system, marketplace listing, interface standard or production site is named on the home, platform or health plan pages, so there is nothing a buyer can verify before contracting.

The direction matters here because the product writes: diagnosis supporting documentation that lands in the record feeds coding and risk adjustment.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

The service is hosted by third party secure hosting providers, according to the privacy policy, and the location is not committed: account information and health data may be stored and processed in the United States or any other country where Neurotrack, its affiliates, subsidiaries, agents or contractors maintain facilities. No hosting provider, region or tenant isolation is named.

The platform page describes administration in clinic, remotely and at home and integration into existing EHR environments, which are ways of using the product rather than places the data rests. The subprocessors include a video conferencing service for recording assessments, so recordings of patients taking the test are among the data held.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price or pricing basis is published. How the product is sold is discoverable: to health systems, primary care networks and providers, and to health plans through in-home health risk assessments, complex care management programs and provider partnerships. The platform page says cognitive screening and care planning are reimbursable under Medicare Annual Wellness Visits and CPT 99483, which tells a provider how the service can be billed but not what Neurotrack charges.

The health plan case is built on risk adjusted revenue under the V28 model, where dementia severity drives the risk score. It is not stated whether pricing is per assessment, per member or an enterprise platform fee, whether the care planning and Smart Logic features are priced separately from the assessments, or whether any fee is tied to diagnoses or risk score changes.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Coverage is named across settings and buyers: primary care networks, health systems and in-home care, with assessments given in clinic, remotely or at home, and health plans using them in Medicare Advantage in-home health risk assessments, complex care management and provider partnerships. The value based care tie is explicit: the health plan page sells the assessments as documentation for V28 HCC risk adjustment, where dementia severity drives the risk score, and cites a national Medicare Advantage plan that made the assessment standard in its home based Annual Wellness Visit program. Named users include Desert Oasis Healthcare and Sutter Health, and Nationwide reports using the three minute screen in long term care insurance underwriting, a non clinical use with its own stakes.

Validation sits behind part of this: Path Points is described as validated for remote and in-home administration, and the published accuracy figure comes from one comparison of healthy people with people diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease. The claim of the same accuracy in every setting and language is not backed by results.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Neurotrack

Vendors in the same categories as Neurotrack whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Genomate Health ranks targeted cancer therapies for a patient from the full set of alterations in their tumor's sequencing report.

VieCure sells Halo Intelligence, an oncology electronic medical record and clinical decision support platform built for community cancer care.

Creyos, formerly Cambridge Brain Sciences and briefly Creyos Health, is a Toronto company selling digital cognitive and behavioral health assessment to clinicians.

VUNO, a Seoul medical AI company founded in 2014, leads with DeepCARS, which predicts in-hospital cardiac arrest within 24 hours for patients on general wards from four routinely charted…

Birth Model applies machine learning to labor and delivery, and the product has two halves a buyer should assess separately.

Nest Genomics, the trading name of Nest Health Inc. and a Y Combinator company, sells a genomic care platform that runs inside the electronic health record.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published
Not published. Sold to health systems, primary care networks, providers and health plans; unit of charge not stated. Not published. HIPAA compliance is stated and the privacy policy describes running assessments on behalf of covered entities, but no business associate agreement or its terms are published. — Vendor Published

No price or pricing basis is published. The platform page says cognitive screening and care planning are reimbursable under Medicare Annual Wellness Visits and CPT 99483, which tells a provider how the service can be billed but not what Neurotrack charges. The health plan case rests on V28 risk adjustment, where dementia severity drives the risk score, and on in-home health risk assessments and Annual Wellness Visit programs.

Establish whether pricing is per assessment, per member or an enterprise platform fee, since those imply very different economics at population screening volumes; whether Smart Logic, the diagnostic pathway and care planning are priced separately from the assessments; whether any fee is tied to diagnoses or risk score changes; and what implementation support is included.