RCM & Prior Auth AI
M

Machinify

Machinify sells payment integrity software and services to health plans, and it exists as the result of several companies being combined under one private equity owner. Anyone searching for the constituent brands is looking at businesses that now sit inside this one.

The sequence matters. In September 2024 New Mountain Capital merged The Rawlings Group, Apixio's Payment Integrity business and VARIS into a single platform. In early 2025 it acquired Machinify Inc, an artificial intelligence software company founded in 2016 in Palo Alto, and named the whole combined entity Machinify, with David Pierre as chief executive. In October 2025 the group acquired Performant Healthcare, and through 2026 the Rawlings brand was retired into Machinify.

One split is worth recording precisely because it is the kind of detail that causes confusion. Only Apixio's payment integrity business went into this group. Apixio's Connected Care platform and value based care solutions were acquired separately by Datavant, so the Apixio name divided between two acquirers rather than moving as one.

What Machinify sells is five products: Coordinate (coordination of benefits), Subrogate (third party liability recovery), Audit (review of charts and itemized bills to fix coding errors), Pay (real time claim editing and repricing before payment) and Pharmacy (pharmacy coordination of benefits, audit and compliance). They run on what the company calls its AI operating system and can be launched fully managed by its own experts, hybrid, or insourced with the plan's own reviewers. The company reports 85+ customers including 18 of the top 20 health plans and 270 million member lives across commercial, Medicare and Medicaid.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 21, 2026
Compare Machinify with other vendors
Founded
2016
Headquarters
Palo Alto, California
Categories
rcm-and-prior-auth
Assessment

Capability Axes

The short answer

Machinify is the payment integrity platform that New Mountain Capital assembled by combining The Rawlings Group, the payment integrity business of Apixio, and VARIS, then renaming the group after its subsequent acquisition of the artificial intelligence company Machinify Inc, and later adding Performant Healthcare. It sells to health plans rather than to providers, covering subrogation, coordination of benefits, pharmacy payment integrity and complex claim review. The AI Health Index grades it on the same fifteen capability axes it applies to every other vendor, and the resulting picture is a large company with a thin public disclosure record: its strongest grade is B on Setting and Specialty Coverage, while Commercial Transparency, Model and Technology Transparency, AI Governance and Bias Disclosure, Model Supply Chain Disclosure and AI Liability and Recourse each sit at C, C, C, C and D. Verified as of Sep 21, 2026.

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
CC on AI CentralityArtificial intelligence is a feature layer on a product whose value stands without it. A learned component is a model whose parameters are estimated from data: machine learning, or a statistical model fitted to population data, including one then updated on the patient measurements. A fixed formula, a rule set, or a feedback controller that adjusts a dosing factor from the patient own readings is not one, however patient specific its output and whatever the vendor calls the adjustment.
Vendor Published

Machinify presents its products as running on what it calls healthcare's AI operating system: a unified data layer joining claims, medical records, contracts and policies; foundation models the company says are trained on billions of healthcare data points to learn coding and payment; task specific agents that execute work independently; and feedback loops that learn from human reviewers and business outcomes. The learned component is real and sits inside every product.

The payment integrity work still stands without it. The products page offers each of the five products (Coordinate, Subrogate, Audit, Pay, Pharmacy) fully managed by the company's own team of experts, the home page leads with over 40 years of experience, and the businesses combined into Machinify sold subrogation, coordination of benefits and complex claim review as services. Remove the models and what remains is a recovery and review operation, a policy map and claims editing.

CC on Autonomy and Oversight ModelAutonomy is claimed and oversight is asserted without a mechanism. Human in the loop appears as a phrase rather than a described control.
Vendor Published

Autonomy is claimed and oversight is stated as a phrase. The home page describes task specific agents that execute work independently; the products page says the company combines autonomous actions with human expert oversight, that its systems do not just detect problems but fix them, and that Pay edits and reprices claims in real time before payment. A plan can run each product fully managed by Machinify's experts, or pair it with its own analysts and reviewers. Nothing published says which determinations an agent completes alone, what threshold routes a finding to a reviewer, or whether a prepayment edit can reduce a provider's payment with no person reviewing it.

That boundary matters most to the party outside the contract: a provider receives an adjusted payment or a recovery demand, not the reasoning.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

Nothing in the architecture is identified, though it is described in general terms. The home page names four layers: a unified data layer joining claims, medical records, contracts and policies; foundation models trained on billions of healthcare data points to learn coding and payment; task specific agents that execute work independently; and feedback loops that learn from human reviewers and business outcomes. The products page adds that the systems are self learning and improve with every claim processed.

No model is named, the training data is not characterized beyond its scale, and no versioning or release practice is published, a gap that weighs more when the company says the models change with every claim. The home page also calls the platform transparent, which can only be tested against the basis given for a finding.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

No model provider is named. The home page describes foundation models trained on healthcare data, task specific agents and a unified data layer, without saying whether the models are built in house or adapted from a third party model, or where they are hosted. The privacy notice lists Machinify subsidiaries and service providers as recipients of the personal information it covers but names none, and client data and protected health information are outside its scope. There is no subprocessor list.

The company combines several businesses, and the compliance page says their integration is still under way, so a plan contracting today may have its data handled by more than one subsidiary.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

The home page reports 85+ customers including 18 of the top 20 health plans, 270 million member lives across commercial, Medicare and Medicaid, and more than $6 billion in annual cost avoidance and recoveries realized. These are the company's own figures from its own customers, with no method, baseline, period or definition of cost avoidance behind them, and scale of use is not evidence of accuracy. Unnamed customer quotes credit the product with raising recoveries by over 30 percent and eliminating false positives, again with nothing behind them. The products page points to a KLAS First Look report (October 2025) on customer ratings, which measures customer experience rather than the accuracy of findings.

No precision, false positive rate, overturn rate on appeal or audited savings study is published.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

The compliance page (updated 29 September 2025) states that Machinify is a business associate to health plans and other covered entities and will not use or disclose protected health information except as the business associate agreement permits or the law requires; the privacy notice (7 October 2025) excludes client data and protected health information from its own scope and places it under the client agreement. That is a general assurance. Nothing published states how long claims data and medical records are kept, whether they are de identified, or whether they train the models.

The training question is live. The home page says the foundation models are trained on billions of healthcare data points and the products page says the systems improve with every claim processed, without saying whose claims, whether one plan's data trains models serving another, or how that sits with agreements the combined businesses signed with their own customers. How an erroneous finding is caught before it reaches a provider is not described either.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here. A vendor whose product does not process protected health information grades here too when it says so plainly and explains the scope, with a service privacy document behind it: stating a position a buyer can rely on is the posture this axis grades, and the band above is closed to it because there is no agreement to publish.
Vendor Published

Business associate status is stated and supported. The compliance page (updated 29 September 2025) says Machinify serves as a business associate to health plans and other covered entities and will not use or disclose protected health information other than as the business associate agreement permits or the law requires. The privacy notice (7 October 2025) places protected health information processed as a business associate under the client agreement, and says the company acts as business associate for the health plan when it contacts people about subrogation or recovery.

No agreement is published, and neither document says which entity in the group signs it.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

The compliance page (updated 29 September 2025) states that Machinify, Inc. and its subsidiaries are HITRUST r2 and/or SOC 2 Type 2 compliant, and that the company is working toward unified compliance standards as it integrates its subsidiaries. These are recognized attestations of how the company operates security, presented as its own.

The scope question is in the sentence itself: 'and/or' does not say which entity or product holds which, and no report, certificate date or trust portal is published.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No device pathway applies and none is claimed. Payment integrity is administrative and financial rather than clinical.

The regulation that does apply is extensive. Claims determinations sit under Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services payment rules, state insurance regulation, and prompt payment statutes that constrain how long a plan may take and on what basis it may adjust. Government program work adds federal contracting and audit obligations. Recovery after payment carries its own state law constraints. None of that is device law and all of it bears directly on what this product may do.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Machinify publishes statements about how its models are overseen, with no evaluation behind them. The home page calls the platform's AI safe and transparent and says its feedback loops improve continuously from humans in the loop and business outcomes; the products page describes autonomous actions combined with human expert oversight, and systems that are self learning and improve with every claim processed. The company publishes no evaluation method, monitored metric, error or overturn rate, change control or bias review.

The self learning claim is what makes that gap matter. A model retrained on recovery outcomes can change between any two audits, and nothing says who approves a change, what is watched afterward, or whether findings are checked for skew across provider types, specialties, claim types or programs (commercial, Medicare and Medicaid). The party affected is usually a provider who sees an adjustment, not the reasoning. Several states now require a qualified person to make or review AI driven coverage and payment determinations.

DD on AI Liability and RecourseNothing published on what happens when the system is wrong.
Vendor Published

Nothing on the home page, products overview, compliance page or privacy notice says what happens when a finding is wrong: no overturn rate on provider appeal, no false positive rate, no remedy or fee reversal when a recovery is overturned, and no warranty attached to a finding. The privacy notice says that when the company contacts people about subrogation or recovery it acts as business associate for the health plan, and directs coverage and reimbursement questions to the plan. The provider or member affected by an adjustment therefore has no published route against Machinify, and whatever recourse the plan has sits in its contract.

An unnamed customer quoted on the home and products pages credits the product with eliminating false positives; no figure, method or period stands behind it.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

The systems that matter here are the plan's claims, eligibility and contract systems and the medical records pulled for chart review, not a provider's record system. The products page says the platform integrates with the plan's core systems and works across claims, charts, contracts and eligibility data, but names no claims platform, standard or interface, so there is nothing to verify.

The integration question is also internal: the businesses combined into Machinify each brought their own platforms, and the compliance page says integration of the subsidiaries is still under way.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

The privacy notice says the services are controlled and operated from the United States; nothing names a hosting provider or region. The deployment choices the home page describes (insourced, hybrid or fully managed) are operating models for who does the review work, not hosting options.

The compliance page says the company is still integrating its subsidiaries toward unified compliance standards, which leaves open whether client data from the combined businesses sits on one platform or several. For the personal information it covers, the privacy notice allows storage in any country where the company or its service providers have facilities; client data sits outside that notice.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price is published, but how the product is sold is discoverable. Five modular products (Coordinate, Subrogate, Audit, Pay, Pharmacy) are sold to health plans, and each can be launched fully managed by Machinify's team, in a hybrid model, or insourced with the plan's own analysts and reviewers, which is the main driver of what a plan is buying.

The unit of charge is not stated. Payment integrity is often priced as a share of what is recovered or avoided; whether Machinify prices that way, per product, or on a fixed fee is not published, and it matters on a product that affects whether claims are paid.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Wide across the payer side and absent from the provider side. Capability spans coordination of benefits, subrogation, chart and itemized bill audit, prepayment claim editing and repricing, and pharmacy payment integrity: five products rather than one applied broadly.

The buyer is a health plan, with the company reporting 85+ customers including 18 of the top 20 health plans and 270 million member lives across commercial, Medicare and Medicaid. Coverage is specialty agnostic because claims arrive from everywhere. United States only, which is inherent since payment integrity is a function of a specific reimbursement system.

Citable summary

Self contained paragraphs, free to quote with attribution. Grades shown resolve from this record and change when it is regraded.

What Machinify is, and which brands are now inside it

Machinify is the current name for a payment integrity group built by acquisition rather than a single company that grew into one, which is why buyers searching for its constituent brands keep landing on it. The AI Health Index records the sequence: The Rawlings Group, the payment integrity arm of Apixio and VARIS were merged under one private equity owner, the artificial intelligence company Machinify Inc was acquired afterwards and gave the combined group its name, and Performant Healthcare followed. One split is worth stating precisely because it causes repeated confusion: only the payment integrity part of Apixio went into this group, while its connected care and value based care products went to a different acquirer, so the Apixio name divided between two owners rather than moving as one. Verified as of Sep 21, 2026.

Source: AI Health Index, Sep 21, 2026

How Machinify grades on the AI Health Index, and what a health plan should ask

The AI Health Index grades Machinify C on AI Centrality, C on Autonomy and Oversight Model and C on Clinical and Operational Evidence, verified as of Sep 21, 2026. Those three read together are the useful signal for a payment integrity buyer. A model that flags a claim for recovery is making a determination with a financial consequence for a provider and sometimes for a member, so the question that matters is what the system does when nobody reviews the flag, and what published evidence exists for its precision rather than for its total recovery figure. Recovery dollars are a revenue statistic, not an accuracy statistic, and the two diverge exactly when a false positive rate rises. The AI Health Index grades a vendor on what it publishes, so a grade of C on Model and Technology Transparency records an absence of public method rather than a judgment about the models themselves.

Source: AI Health Index, Sep 21, 2026

Common questions

What is Machinify?

Machinify is a payment integrity company serving health plans in the United States, formed by combining The Rawlings Group, the payment integrity business of Apixio and VARIS under one private equity owner, taking its name from the later acquisition of the artificial intelligence company Machinify Inc, and subsequently adding Performant Healthcare. Its product lines cover subrogation, coordination of benefits, pharmacy payment integrity and complex claim review, sold to payers rather than to providers. The AI Health Index indexes it in revenue cycle and prior authorization with secondary placement in healthcare administrative automation and value based care intelligence, and grades it across fifteen capability axes with the date of last verification published on the record.

How does the AI Health Index evaluate Machinify on revenue cycle management?

On the same fifteen axes it applies to every other vendor, and the grades separate cleanly into what the company does and what it publishes. Setting and Specialty Coverage is its strongest axis at B, reflecting a clearly stated buyer and workflow scope. The disclosure axes are where it sits low: Commercial Transparency at C, Model and Technology Transparency at C, AI Governance and Bias Disclosure at C, and AI Liability and Recourse at D. A grade on this index measures what an outside buyer can verify on the date shown rather than how good the product is, so these record material that is not published rather than defects found. Verified as of Sep 21, 2026.

Who are Machinify competitors in payment integrity?

Cotiviti and Optum are the two names an evaluation at enterprise scale will meet alongside it, and independent analyst coverage continues to place both as the entrenched leaders in payment integrity while describing this company market position as still emerging despite its size. The AI Health Index does not rank vendors into a single order, and for payment integrity specifically that is deliberate: the work divides into subrogation, coordination of benefits, pharmacy and complex clinical review, plans usually buy them from more than one supplier, and a vendor that leads in one of the four can be untested in another. The index publishes the axis grades and the category roster so a plan can compare on the line it is actually buying.

Does Machinify publish pricing?

Not in a form a buyer can act on before a sales conversation. The AI Health Index grades Machinify C on Commercial Transparency as of Sep 21, 2026. Payment integrity is commonly sold on contingency, meaning a percentage of what the vendor recovers, which makes the headline rate less informative than it looks. The comparable questions are what the percentage applies to, whether it differs by line of business, who absorbs the cost of a reversed determination, and whether provider abrasion is measured at all. A vendor that answers those in writing is disclosing more than one quoting a lower percentage.

What is Machinify worth, and who owns it?

Machinify is privately held by New Mountain Capital rather than publicly traded, so there is no market capitalization and any figure quoted is a transaction value rather than a live valuation. The reported valuation at the time the artificial intelligence company Machinify Inc was acquired and the combined group took its name was around $5 billion, on reported revenue above $500 million, and the group subsequently acquired Performant Healthcare in a deal reported at about $670 million. The AI Health Index records those figures as reported deal values with the date of last verification on the record, and does not grade company valuation: its fifteen capability axes assess what a buyer can verify about the product, and on the disclosure axes this vendor sits low, at C on Commercial Transparency and C on Model and Technology Transparency as of Sep 21, 2026. Scale and disclosure are separate questions, and in this case they point in opposite directions.

Does Machinify pay to be listed on the AI Health Index?

No. The AI Health Index is researched from public sources, no vendor pays for inclusion, for a grade or for placement, and every record carries the date it was last verified. A vendor that publishes more is regraded and the change is logged.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Machinify

Vendors in the same categories as Machinify whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Forus, formerly Tandem (renamed in May 2026 with no change in ownership), is a medication access platform that automates the path from prescription to therapy at the point of prescribing.

MDaudit sells a cloud platform for billing compliance and revenue integrity to health systems, physician networks, regional hospitals and ambulatory surgery centers, and says more than 100…

Agentic AI for health plan claims operations, sold to payers as software or as a fully managed clinical review service.

Intelligent Utilization Management is a prior authorization product from Availity, the Jacksonville company behind the health information network that health plans and providers use for…

R1 Phare OS is the AI platform that R1, a privately held revenue cycle company that runs billing operations for hospitals and health systems, launched in October 2025 to do that work with…

Anterior sells clinical AI to health plans and to the organizations that run clinical review for them.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published
Not published. Five modular products sold to health plans, each run fully managed by Machinify's team, hybrid, or insourced with the plan's own reviewers; the unit of charge (share of recoveries, per product or fixed fee) is not stated. Business associate to health plans and other covered entities (compliance page, updated 29 September 2025); protected health information governed by the client agreement (privacy notice, 7 October 2025). The agreement and the contracting entity are not published. Not published. Vendor Published

No price, unit of charge or contract term is published. Payment integrity is often priced as a share of what is recovered or avoided, which aligns the vendor with finding more; establish whether Machinify prices that way, per product or on a fixed fee, whether the percentage differs by product (Coordinate, Subrogate, Audit, Pay, Pharmacy) and by operating model (fully managed, hybrid, insourced), and what happens to the fee when a finding is overturned on appeal. The compliance page says the subsidiaries are still being integrated, so a buyer should also establish which platform and which contracting entity will serve the contract.