Hospital & Unit Operations
G

GE HealthCare Command Center

GE HealthCare Command Center is hospital operations software that pulls streaming data from a hospital's record and resource systems into tiles, small applications that each cover one part of capacity, patient flow or care progression, from Capacity Expediter and Patient Manager to Hospital Pulse and the ED Expediter. GE HealthCare says close to 500 hospitals and facilities use it, across the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Australia, Turkey and the Netherlands. In March 2026 GE HealthCare announced that Alfred Health in Melbourne was running the first installation in the Southern Hemisphere, activated in phases across The Alfred, Caulfield and Sandringham hospitals under the name ORA.

CareIntellect for Operations, announced in September 2026, is the AI application built on that base. Two proprietary models drive it. Pressure Forecast predicts census, staffing, boarding and wait time constraints up to 72 hours ahead at unit, department and enterprise level, and Estimated Day of Discharge predicts when each patient is likely to leave, refreshed hourly. The application recommends actions, reorders work queues for operational leaders, and offers a digital twin for testing what if scenarios. It runs on AWS, is sold by GE HealthCare directly and through AWS Marketplace, and is commercially available in the United States only, with The Queen's Health Systems and Duke Health as the first sites.

Customer case studies carry real figures, such as a 1.07 day drop in length of stay at Queen's and 24 percent fewer avoidable days at Children's Mercy Kansas City. There is no accuracy figure for either model, no price and no security certification specific to the product.

AI Health Index verifiedOctober 11, 2026
Compare GE HealthCare Command Center with other vendors
Founded
—
Headquarters
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Categories
hospital-operations
Indexed Products
Command Center tiles, CareIntellect for Operations, Pressure Forecast model, Estimated Day of Discharge model, Digital Twin, Capacity Expediter, Patient Manager, Intake (transfers and boarders), Hospital Pulse, ED Expediter, Patient Placement Prioritizer, Capacity Intake, Procedural Growth
Buyer Segments
Health systems and academic medical centers, Regional and statewide public health services, Hospital capacity and transfer centers
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Vendor Published

Prediction is what the newer product is for. CareIntellect for Operations is built around two models: Pressure Forecast, which reads historical operations data and live feeds from the record and resource systems to predict constraints up to 72 hours ahead, and Estimated Day of Discharge, which predicts each patient's likely discharge day from longitudinal data and updates every hour. The recommendations and reprioritized work queues come out of those predictions, and a digital twin lets teams test what if scenarios on a simulated copy of the health system before changing staffing or capacity.

The installed Command Center is a mix. Many tiles are real time visibility tools for beds, transfers and care progression that work without a model, while others carry predictive census and capacity forecasts; GE HealthCare describes Command Center as using AI and machine learning to optimize capacity at Alfred Health. A hospital buying tiles for visibility alone gets workflow software, and one buying CareIntellect for Operations gets a forecasting product.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

The software advises and people decide. Pressure Forecast flags where constraints are building, Estimated Day of Discharge gives each patient a predicted discharge day, and the application recommends actions and reorders operational work queues for capacity, discharge, imaging and transfer teams. GE HealthCare's chief science and technology officer describes the design goal as predictions teams can understand and recommendations tied to their workflow. No step acts on a patient, bed or order without a person.

What staff see about why a forecast changed, and how often recommendations are overridden, is not described.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

Pressure Forecast combines historical operations data with live record and resource system data to predict census, staffing, boarding and waits across the emergency department, therapies, procedural recovery and inbound transfers up to 72 hours ahead, at unit, department and enterprise level. Estimated Day of Discharge uses longitudinal patient data to predict each patient's discharge day, with estimates refreshed hourly. A digital twin simulates the health system so teams can test what if scenarios before acting. All of it is proprietary to GE HealthCare and runs in the CareIntellect cloud infrastructure on AWS.

The model type, training data, whether models are fitted per hospital, update cadence and any accuracy measure are not given.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

Both models are GE HealthCare's own, so no outside model provider sits in the forecasting path. CareIntellect for Operations runs on Amazon Web Services and is sold through AWS Marketplace as well as directly, which puts AWS in the chain as the host.

No subprocessor list is published, and whether data is shared with AWS services beyond hosting, or used to train models across customers, is not stated.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Vendor Published

The evidence is customer case studies with numbers and a stated method. At The Queen's Health Systems in Honolulu, ten months after its command center opened, length of stay fell 1.07 days, emergency department length of stay for admitted patients fell 41.2 percent (248 minutes), boarding fell 63.9 percent and accepted transfers rose 22.2 percent, about 100 more a month. The case study says the metrics came from Queen's, covers January to October 2024, and bases the $20 million first year saving on year over year length of stay at an assumed $1,200 per patient day. Providence Swedish reports capacity for 19,000 more patients a year from a regional command center.

Children's Mercy Kansas City opened its Patient Progression Hub on Command Center tiles in May 2023. Comparing June to December 2023 with the same months of 2022, it reports avoidable days down 24 percent, room for 300 more patients on its medical and surgical floors, transfers from pediatric intensive care to the floor 20 percent faster, deferrals down 94 percent and admissions up 2.8 percent, with census and surge days about the same.

These are before and after results for whole programs, which at Queen's also included surge plans and daily discharge rounds, so they cannot be read as the effect of the software or its models alone. GE HealthCare's own footnote says results vary with the record system and level of adoption. No study of the Pressure Forecast or Estimated Day of Discharge models has been published.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

The models draw on hundreds of patient and operational data points, including bed availability, patient delays, staffing, wait times and ancillary services, combined with historical operations data and live feeds from the record system. CareIntellect applications share one data layer on a fully managed AWS infrastructure with single sign on, so a hospital's data feeds several applications from one place rather than being copied into each.

How long that data is kept, whether one hospital's data is used to train or tune the models offered to others, and whether any of it is de identified are not stated.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

The product reads identifiable patient data from the record system, including bed placement, delays and longitudinal patient information for discharge prediction, so it sits inside a US customer's HIPAA program. The Command Center and CareIntellect for Operations pages, the AWS Marketplace listing and the launch announcement say nothing about business associate status, and no agreement, template or tier is published.

Outside the United States, at Alfred Health or NHS sites, the equivalent obligations come from Australian privacy law and UK data protection law, and no data processing position is published for those either.

DD on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are asserted with nothing independent behind them, or nothing is published. Read the note before concluding anything: this is the grade most often corrected on a second pass, because assurance material frequently sits on a parent domain or inside an old announcement rather than on the product pages.
Vendor Published

GE HealthCare runs a product security portal and a cybersecurity program across its equipment and software, linked from its site navigation. For Command Center and CareIntellect for Operations, though, no SOC 2 report, HITRUST certification or ISO 27001 certificate is named, and the product pages describe security only as secure onboarding of new applications. Running on AWS brings AWS's own certifications for the infrastructure, which do not cover GE HealthCare's controls over the application and its data.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

Command Center and CareIntellect for Operations are presented as operational software for capacity, staffing and patient flow, and nothing on the product pages claims a clinical diagnosis or treatment function. GE HealthCare states no regulatory position for either product. The CareIntellect for Operations page says only that it is commercially available in the United States and may not be available elsewhere, and the Command Center pages carry the general notice that not all products or features are available in all markets.

Estimated Day of Discharge predicts a patient level event from clinical data, which is the part of the product closest to clinical decision making.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

The Queen's Health Systems and Duke Health are the first clinical evaluation sites for CareIntellect for Operations, and frontline feedback from both shapes later releases. GE HealthCare frames the aim as predictions teams can understand and trust, which describes how the models are developed rather than how they are checked.

No validation results, monitoring practice or subgroup analysis is published for either model. A discharge prediction can run consistently late for patients who wait on post acute placement or social care, and those waits differ by payer, age and community; whether the model's errors are tracked by group is not stated.

DD on AI Liability and RecourseNothing published on what happens when the system is wrong.
Vendor Published

Each forecast and recommendation lands with operational staff, who decide whether to act on it. Pressure Forecast and Estimated Day of Discharge carry no published accuracy, error rate or calibration figure, so a hospital has no stated level of performance to hold them to, and no warranty, service commitment on forecasts or correction route appears in public material.

The case study footnote says results are not prescriptive and vary with the user, the record software and the level of adoption, which places outcome risk with the hospital.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

Command Center integrates streaming data from electronic medical records and other source systems, and CareIntellect connects to the medical record and to the customer's single sign on. Alfred Health and close to 500 other facilities run it on top of their own record systems, which it reads rather than replaces.

The record systems behind named deployments, the integration standards used, and any documentation or listing in a record vendor's app marketplace are not published, and GE HealthCare's case study note says results vary with the record software in use.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

CareIntellect for Operations is software as a service on a fully managed AWS infrastructure, part of a cloud first family meant to let customers add applications without integrating each one separately, and it is listed on AWS Marketplace. It is commercially available in the United States only. Command Center itself is delivered as tiles activated in phases, as at Alfred Health.

The AWS regions used, the tenancy model and any residency commitment are not stated. For Command Center sites in Australia, Canada and the United Kingdom, where patient data is processed is not addressed either.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

CareIntellect for Operations is sold by GE HealthCare directly and through AWS Marketplace, where the listing offers custom pricing through a private offer rather than a public rate. Command Center is bought as a set of tiles that can be added over time, from Capacity Expediter and Patient Manager to Hospital Pulse and the ED Expediter, and Alfred Health is activating its tiles in phases.

No price, unit of charge, subscription term or implementation fee appears on the product pages, the Marketplace listing or the launch announcement, so the cost of a starting set of tiles, or of moving from Command Center to CareIntellect for Operations, is not shown.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Command Center runs across hospital types and health systems in several countries. GE HealthCare cites close to 500 hospitals and facilities, with named users including The Queen's Health Systems (a 575 bed trauma center and a 120 bed community hospital on Oahu), Duke Health (a user since 2019), Providence Swedish in the Puget Sound region, Children's Mercy Kansas City, Halifax Infirmary in Nova Scotia, Bradford Royal Infirmary in England, and Alfred Health's three Melbourne hospitals. Tiles cover beds, transfers, intake, discharge, procedural growth and the emergency department.

The CareIntellect for Operations forecasts cover inpatient units, the emergency department, imaging, therapies, procedural recovery and inbound transfers, but the product is commercially available in the United States only, so sites such as Alfred Health and Bradford run Command Center without it. The published results come from United States sites, and how the models would perform in public systems with different admission patterns and discharge rules is not reported.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published; custom pricing through an AWS Marketplace private offer or GE HealthCare directly
Not published. CareIntellect for Operations is a software as a service application, and Command Center is assembled from tiles added in phases, but the unit of charge and term are not stated. Not published. The product pages do not state a business associate position or offer an agreement. Not published. Vendor Published

No price, unit of charge, term or implementation fee appears on the Command Center or CareIntellect for Operations pages or in the September 2026 launch announcement. The AWS Marketplace listing for CareIntellect for Operations offers custom pricing through a private offer, depending on the buyer's requirements, and the product is commercially available in the United States only. Command Center is bought as a set of tiles, and Alfred Health, which GE HealthCare announced as operating in March 2026, is activating it in phases.