Clinical Decision Support
C

Curbside Health

Clinical pathway authoring and governance platform that turns a health system's guidelines, protocols and policies into structured, visual decision logic delivered inside the EHR. Content types cover clinical pathways and ClinApps, guidelines and protocols, policies and regulatory content mapped to CMS, Joint Commission and state requirements, clinical calculators, and antimicrobial stewardship with local antibiograms. Each item carries a named clinical owner, independent clinical review, committee sign-off, version history and a review cadence.

AI is used on the authoring side: structuring source documents into draft logic, summarizing, consistency checks, evidence retrieval and flagging guidance that new evidence may have outdated, with every AI-assisted change gated by clinician approval; the company states AI never diagnoses, prescribes or publishes on its own. The platform launches in the EHR over SMART on FHIR (Epic, Oracle Health, MEDITECH and athenahealth are named), runs on web and iOS and Android apps with offline access, and includes a community network where institutions and professional societies share and adapt pathways.

The company says it is live in more than 40 health systems and names Intermountain Health, University Hospitals Rainbow Babies and Children's, Children's Hospital Los Angeles and Nemours Children's Health.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 29, 2026
Compare Curbside Health with other vendors
Founded
—
Headquarters
—
Categories
clinical-decision-support, workforce-and-training, clinical-reference-and-evidence
Indexed Products
Clinical Pathways & ClinApps, Curbside Community, Antimicrobial Stewardship & Antibiograms, Curbside mobile apps
Buyer Segments
Large IDN, Children's Hospital, Academic Medical Center, Professional Society
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
CC on AI CentralityArtificial intelligence is a feature layer on a product whose value stands without it. A learned component is a model whose parameters are estimated from data: machine learning, or a statistical model fitted to population data, including one then updated on the patient measurements. A fixed formula, a rule set, or a feedback controller that adjusts a dosing factor from the patient own readings is not one, however patient specific its output and whatever the vendor calls the adjustment.
Vendor Published

AI is an authoring and maintenance layer on a pathway platform whose value stands without it. The company's pages say AI structures guidelines, PDFs and policies into decision logic, proposes structure, tagging and cross-references, summarizes long documents for review, runs consistency and completeness checks, retrieves evidence for reviewers, and monitors sources to flag guidance that may be outdated; its governance page shows AI turning a 48-page guideline into branching logic for a named clinical owner to direct. The clinical logic clinicians see is authored and approved by people, and the company says AI never diagnoses, prescribes or acts on a patient.

Drafting decision logic from clinical prose and summarizing documents are functions whose working form is a trained language model, and the company refers to improving prompts, so the learned component is found. Remove it and the authoring, governance, EHR delivery and community sharing remain a complete product.

AA on Autonomy and Oversight ModelWhat the system may do and what it may not do are both published, with escalation thresholds, override paths and the conditions that route a case to a person.
Vendor Published

What the AI may and may not do is published, and every AI output routes to a named person before it can reach care. The responsible AI and philosophy pages list what AI does (structures documents into decision logic, summarizes, runs consistency and completeness checks, retrieves evidence, monitors sources and flags outdated guidance) and what it never does (diagnose, prescribe or make treatment decisions, act on a patient without a clinician, publish or update guidance without human approval, override clinical judgment). The route is published step by step: a named clinical owner directs the draft, two independent clinicians review every branch with comments resolved against the source, a multidisciplinary committee signs off and sets the effective date, and new evidence or a policy change reopens the pathway on a defined cadence as a new version. The company calls review a gate, not a suggestion; AI surfaces candidates for review, not silent edits.

At the point of care the clinician confirms eligibility and chooses, and the pathway is shown as explicit logic, so a clinician can disagree with a specific branch. The company does not describe how AI drafted passages are marked for reviewers, or how a clinician reports a branch that looks wrong in use.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

The role of the AI is described in detail and the technology is not identified. The company lists what AI does in drafting, monitoring and review support, and refers to improving prompts, checks and controls, which points to a language model; no model, provider, version or update practice is named, and nothing describes how guideline prose becomes decision nodes or how AI suggestions are checked before reviewers see them. The decision engine and content framework are described as proprietary software.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

The architecture is described and no party in the chain is named. The EHR launch reads scoped patient context over SMART on FHIR, the AI drafts and summarizes from guideline documents under prompts the company maintains, and the compliance statement lists vendor and subprocessor due diligence as a control; no hosting provider, model provider or subprocessor list is published.

Content also moves between institutions by design: health systems publish pathways to the community network and others adapt them, and the intellectual property page says nothing changes hands by default and customers keep ownership.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

Named customers and a reach figure are published, and no result is. The home page says the platform is live in more than 40 health systems and shows Intermountain Health, University Hospitals Rainbow Babies and Children's, Children's Hospital Los Angeles, Nemours Children's Health and the American Academy of Pediatrics, with more than 1,000 pathway decisions modeled. The insights library argues that pathways fail at delivery rather than documentation and that most health systems underestimate the cost of variation two to three times, without a source; the variation figures on the clinical programs page are labeled fictional and illustrative.

No adherence change, variation reduction, outcome or time saving is published for any named customer, and nothing measures whether AI drafting saves authoring time or introduces errors. For a product whose case is that guidance fails at execution, an adherence figure with a denominator at a named site is the expected proof.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

General assurances are published, and what reaches a model is not. The compliance statement says protected health information is encrypted in transit and at rest, with access logging, monitoring and periodic review; the privacy page summarizes principles (use only for disclosed purposes, least-privilege access, no sale of personal information) and says the full policy is provided during contracting. The intellectual property page says customers keep ownership of the clinical content they author, the company takes no rights to it, and nothing changes hands by default.

No retention period, training position or de-identification method is stated. The EHR launch reads patient context, and nothing says whether any patient data reaches the AI or its provider, or whether guideline documents uploaded for drafting are used to improve models. Safety engineering, meaning how a wrong AI draft or a misfiring pathway is caught after release, is not published beyond the review gate.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

HIPAA alignment is claimed and the documents are held back. The compliance statement lists HIPAA-aligned safeguards and says the platform governs how protected health information is stored, encrypted, transmitted, accessed and logged; it adds that alignment does not imply certification and that current documentation is shared on request. No business associate status, agreement or scope is stated, and the privacy page is a summary, with the full policy provided during contracting.

The product reads patient context from the EHR, so a buyer will need a business associate agreement.

DD on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are asserted with nothing independent behind them, or nothing is published. Read the note before concluding anything: this is the grade most often corrected on a second pass, because assurance material frequently sits on a parent domain or inside an old announcement rather than on the product pages.
Vendor Published

Controls are described and nothing independent stands behind them. The security page lists defense-in-depth architecture, role-based least-privilege access, encryption in transit and at rest, secure development with code review and dependency scanning, and continuous monitoring, and calls itself an illustrative summary with documentation on request. The compliance statement lists SOC 2-aligned controls and practices, then says alignment does not imply certification and that the company shares where it holds formal attestations on request. No certification, audit, penetration test or trust portal is named.

For a platform that reads patient context inside the EHR at enterprise health systems, a SOC 2 report is the document a vendor review will ask for.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No device claim is made, and no regulatory position is stated. The terms summary says the clinical content and tools are intended to inform and support qualified clinical decision-making and do not replace professional judgment, and the responsible AI page says the AI does not diagnose, prescribe, triage or act on a patient. The product delivers pathways authored and approved by the customer's own clinicians, with every branch linked to its source, which is the kind of reviewable basis that clinical decision support outside device regulation relies on.

The company does not state that reasoning. Its demonstration includes a time-critical chest pain pathway with cath lab activation, and the clinical decision support boundary is less settled for time-critical guidance.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Content governance is specified; model governance is a commitment without results. The responsible AI page says the company tests AI-assisted workflows for consistency and quality, watches for drift after release, and improves prompts, checks and controls as evidence changes; no method, test set, error rate or finding is published. Content governance is concrete by contrast: named clinical owners, two independent clinical reviewers, a multidisciplinary committee sign-off, version history with audit trails, a defined review cadence, and status showing what is live, outdated or under review.

The community layer adds a risk of its own. When institutions publish pathways to the network and others adapt them, the practice patterns and resource assumptions of the most active publishers can become defaults elsewhere, and a pathway that assumes staff or equipment a hospital lacks is not best practice there.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Mechanisms let reviewers catch a wrong draft, and nothing stands behind the output once approved. The company says no AI-assisted output is published, updated or surfaced at the point of care until a qualified clinical reviewer has approved it, links every AI-assisted recommendation to the guideline section it draws on, and versions and logs AI-assisted changes with their provenance; its governance workflow adds two independent reviewers and a committee sign-off before a pathway goes live.

Those are review and traceability controls. No drafting error rate is published, so the load the reviewers carry is unmeasured, and no warranty, remedy or route is described for a clinician or patient harmed by a pathway that went live with an error. The customer's own clinicians own and approve the content, which places responsibility with the health system.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Named record systems and a two-way model are claimed, with production unverified. The EHR integration page says Curbside works with Epic, Oracle Health, MEDITECH, athenahealth and other FHIR-capable systems, launches in context over a SMART on FHIR-ready architecture with OAuth 2.0 authorization, reads scoped patient context and writes back orders and notes inside the session; it says the platform is built with modern Epic environments in mind and demonstrates an embedded activity in a simulated Epic Hyperspace session. Pathway logic stays under clinical control after the initial integration, and the mobile apps read the same published version as the EHR launch.

The phrasing is ready rather than live, no FHIR resources or scopes are listed, no marketplace listing is cited, and no customer is tied to a production connection.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

The delivery model is described and where the data rests is not. Curbside is a hosted platform that launches inside the EHR over SMART on FHIR with OAuth authorization, runs on the web, and ships iOS and Android apps with single sign-on and managed deployment through Intune, Jamf or Workspace ONE; downloaded pathways stay available offline in the app sandbox and are removed with the app. No hosting provider, region, data location or tenant separation is stated, and the customer base shown is in the United States.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price is published, and how the product is sold can be pieced together. Buyers are named by role (health systems, clinical programs and service lines, professional societies, physician editors, education and training programs), deployment is enterprise (EHR launch, single sign-on through the customer's identity provider, managed mobile deployment), and every route leads to a demo request; security documentation and the full terms are provided on request or during contracting.

No rate, unit or tier appears.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Coverage is named by audience and content type, with named customers behind part of it. The company sells to health systems, clinical programs and service lines (oncology, trauma, pediatrics), professional societies, physician editors and education programs, across pathways, guidelines and protocols, policies and regulatory content, calculators, and antimicrobial stewardship with local antibiograms. It names Intermountain Health, University Hospitals Rainbow Babies and Children's, Children's Hospital Los Angeles and Nemours Children's Health, a concentration in children's hospitals that its demonstration pathways reflect. Those deployments support the health system and children's hospital settings; the professional society and education uses have no named customer, and no outcome is published for any setting.

It is listed for workforce and training because its education and training page sells the platform to academic medical centers, residency and fellowship programs, clinical education leaders and teaching hospitals, for onboarding and orientation and for keeping trainees and faculty on one current standard. No training outcome is published.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Curbside Health

Vendors in the same categories as Curbside Health whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

MedPearl is a clinical decision platform built inside Providence and in use there since mid 2022.

Azra AI reads pathology and radiology reports as they land in the record and turns what it finds into work someone is accountable for.

Nest Genomics, the trading name of Nest Health Inc. and a Y Combinator company, sells a genomic care platform that runs inside the electronic health record.

Tempus is a precision medicine company listed on NASDAQ as TEM and based in Chicago, whose core business is molecular laboratory testing.

VieCure sells Halo Intelligence, an oncology electronic medical record and clinical decision support platform built for community cancer care.

AI4Eyes is building OSDx, a compact imaging device that mounts on a clinic's slit lamp and consolidates ten dry eye tests into one five minute scan, paired with subscription AI software…

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Head to head

Vendors the index assesses as direct competitors to Curbside Health for the same buyer.

Adjacent comparisons

Products a buyer researches alongside Curbside Health that do a different job: a different category, a different layer of the stack, or a specialist scope. These pages exist to settle whether the comparison is real before it settles which one to pick.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published
Not published; demo request route Not published; HIPAA-aligned safeguards claimed, documentation on request Not published. EHR integration is a one-time setup after which pathway logic stays under clinical control; whether converting existing PDFs is billed is not stated. Vendor Published

No rate, unit, tier or indicative band is published, and every route leads to a demo request; security documentation and the full terms are provided on request or during contracting. Ask whether pricing is per pathway, per facility, per clinician or per enterprise, whether community content is included, whether content conversion is billed as services, and how authored pathways and their history are exported at contract end (the intellectual property page says customers keep full export rights).