Aloe Care Health
Aloe Care Health rebuilt the medical alert pendant around voice and sensors. Its Smart Hub sits in the home carrying motion, temperature and air quality sensors, connects over cellular without requiring home broadband, and can be triggered three ways: a large central button that doubles as a motion activated nightlight, a wearable care button, or a spoken call for help. Yes and no buttons let an older adult answer an operator or a family member without finding a phone. The Mobile Companion 2 extends coverage outside the home with fall detection, location and caregiver speed dial, and a caregiver application connects family members. Behind it sits a professional emergency response center, which the company describes as Five Diamond and staffed around the clock.
The design choices are deliberate. There are no cameras, which the company states plainly as a differentiator. Connectivity is cellular first with battery backup, addressing the failure mode where an older adult's router quietly stops working. Fall detection sensitivity is user adjustable, and the fall detection claim carries its caveat beside the feature: "not guaranteed to detect all falls". The terms add that the device may activate when no fall occurred and that the service is not a substitute for 911.
Monitoring extends past emergencies into ambient wellbeing. The hub watches for unusual movement patterns, inactivity, poor air quality, temperature extremes and power outages, notifying caregivers when something is out of the ordinary.
Commercially it is legible because it is a consumer product. Plans are published on the home page: Essentials at $39.99 a month with $199.99 of hardware, Mobile Companion 2 at $44.99 a month with $149.99 of hardware, and Essentials Plus at $59.99 a month with $349.99 of hardware, with a 30 day money back guarantee. A partner and solutions channel serves providers and organizations, with no published pricing.
Roughly $12.1 million was raised across two rounds in 2020 and 2021. In April 2026 Arlo Technologies completed its acquisition of the company, folding the platform into its subscription services business and describing it as an artificial intelligence powered medical alert and fall prevention platform. The brand and product line continue under their own name. The product's own material describes voice activation, sensors and staffed emergency response rather than artificial intelligence, and publishes no clinical study, security attestation or HIPAA business associate position.
Capability Axes
An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read
Modest inference doing real work inside a product that is fundamentally a well designed emergency response system. A base station with buttons, two way audio, a wearable button, cellular connectivity, environmental sensors and a staffed response center is a personal emergency response system, a category that predates machine learning by decades. Air quality, temperature and power outage alerts are threshold logic, and the central and wearable buttons involve no inference at all.
The learned component the company's own pages describe is voice: the Smart Hub is "voice-activated" and answers a spoken call for help, and the privacy policy (3 July 2020) says the devices collect voices and voice commands. Recognizing a spoken command is speech recognition, which runs on trained models. Fall detection on the Mobile Companion 2 is described by function only, with the caveat that it is "not guaranteed to detect all falls", and nothing says whether it or the unusual movement alerts are learned or thresholded. The home page, the privacy policy and the terms make no artificial intelligence claim; Arlo Technologies, which completed its acquisition of the company in April 2026, described it in its announcement as an AI powered medical alert and fall prevention platform, a framing stronger than anything in the product's own material.
A learned voice layer on a product whose value stands without it.
A staffed escalation path with redundant ways to call for help and plainly stated limits; the missing part is measurement. Every alert reaches operators at the company's authorized monitoring center, which the home page calls a Five Diamond emergency response center with a professional team on hand around the clock, and the terms (24 May 2023) say operators may verify the need before notifying responders. Three independent ways exist to call for help: the central button, a wearable button and a spoken call to the voice-activated hub, which matters because each fails differently. Yes and no buttons let a person answer an operator without a phone, and fall detection sensitivity on the mobile device is adjustable by the household.
The limits are stated where a buyer sees them: the home page prints "(not guaranteed to detect all falls)" beside the feature, and the terms say the device may not detect all falls, may activate when no fall occurred, and cannot be monitored off the cellular network. The "24/7" response center is a claim of presence that sets the scope the oversight is judged against, and the routing for that channel is published.
What is missing is the operating figure: no response time, fall detection rate or false alarm rate is published.
Hardware described in real detail, with the detection layer characterized only by function. The hub is described down to its buttons and their purposes, its motion activated nightlight, its motion, temperature and air quality sensors, its battery backup and plug and play setup, and the second generation adds multi carrier cellular and a built in hotspot, each explained by what it solves. The Mobile Companion 2 carries fall detection, location and adjustable sensitivity. A buyer can picture exactly what arrives.
What produces the detections is not identified. The hub is described as voice-activated, and the privacy policy says devices collect voices and voice commands, but no speech recognition method or supplier is named. No fall detection rate, false alarm rate or voice recognition accuracy is published, nor how unusual movement patterns are defined or what baseline they are measured against. The caveat that fall detection is "not guaranteed to detect all falls", and the terms' statement that the device may activate when no fall occurred, are honest and do not tell a buyer whether a miss means one in twenty or one in three.
The architecture is described with nothing identified at the model layer.
The recipients are described by category, and the party a family relies on most is unnamed. The privacy policy (3 July 2020) lists service providers, call centers, personal emergency response operators, emergency responders, healthcare providers, caregivers, dealers, co-brand and white label partners, insurance companies, employers and fitness or health monitoring device providers among the parties that may receive data, names Google Analytics for analytics, and says the company does not sell personal information. Connectivity runs over cellular carriers, with the second generation hub supporting several.
The monitoring center is the significant omission. The terms (24 May 2023) refer to operators at "our authorized monitoring center", and the privacy policy's mention of call centers and personal emergency response operators as recipients points to an outside operator; which company runs it, and under what licensing, is not stated. No cloud or hosting provider, device manufacturer for the hub or wearables, or speech recognition component is named, and nothing describes what changes in the chain under Arlo Technologies, which completed its acquisition in April 2026.
Recipient categories described, with no host or model supplier named.
No named deployment and no checkable performance claim. The home page, the privacy policy and the terms publish no clinical study, outcome data, peer reviewed publication, named provider deployment or measured performance for voice activation, fall detection or the response center.
What the home page offers instead is consumer review: a CNET quote calling the system the best all in one and a more innovative version of the alert systems it competes with. Reviews like that assess usability, setup and features for a family choosing a device; they do not show whether the product prevents harm. The home page's "world's first" and "world's most advanced" describe the product's novelty, not its performance.
Arlo Technologies' April 2026 acquisition announcement asserted better health outcomes and fewer hospitalizations with no study, sample, comparison or citation attached, and the home page names no organization deploying the product through the company's partner and solutions channel.
The design removes cameras outright, and the published policy states what is collected, what is reused and a deletion window, without a firm schedule. The company presents the absence of cameras as a differentiator: no image of an older adult at home, in the bathroom or in the bedroom is created, which is a stronger guarantee than a promise not to look.
The privacy policy (Aloe Care Health, Inc., updated 3 July 2020) covers the websites, applications, voice applications and devices. It lists what the devices collect: room temperature, air quality, motion and activities with their frequency and duration, the presence of pets, and voices and voice commands. The company says it will endeavor to delete device event and activity information within 12 months after the service ends, may create non-identifiable information for research, analytics and to develop new products and services, and does not sell personal information. The terms (24 May 2023) add that calls are recorded and that the company alone owns the recorded data, with no retention period stated.
What is not published: whether voice is processed on the hub or in the cloud, whether audio before a spoken trigger is kept, how data is made non-identifiable, and how long call recordings are held; the policy also allows storage anywhere in the world. Safety engineering, meaning how a missed detection is handled as a safety event, is not published. The policy predates the second generation hub and the April 2026 acquisition by Arlo Technologies.
Collection, reuse and a deletion window are stated, with no firm retention schedule.
A privacy policy reaches the devices and the service, and its HIPAA statement is conditional. The privacy policy (Aloe Care Health, Inc., updated 3 July 2020) covers the websites, mobile and voice applications and devices, and says "any Protected Health Information will be protected in accordance with the requirements of HIPAA, if and to the extent applicable", defining the term by reference to 45 CFR 160.103. No business associate status, agreement or covered entity position is stated, and the terms (24 May 2023) do not mention HIPAA. The policy lists healthcare providers, insurance companies, employers, dealers and white label partners among parties data may go to.
The structural point matters. A personal emergency response system bought directly by a family generally sits outside HIPAA, because the buyer is a consumer and the vendor is not acting for a covered entity, so protection is whatever the privacy policy grants; many families will assume the opposite. The company also sells through a partner and solutions channel to providers and organizations, where the analysis could differ, and nothing distinguishes the two.
The data is not trivial despite containing no clinical record: movement and inactivity patterns, time away from home, air quality and temperature in the residence, and recorded emergency calls, which the terms say the company owns. Who controls the caregiver circle, and whether the monitored adult can remove someone from it, is not stated.
A service privacy document with no business associate position.
Nothing independent is published on the company's own security. The home page, the privacy policy (3 July 2020) and the terms (24 May 2023) name no SOC 2 report, ISO/IEC 27001 certificate, trust center, penetration testing statement or vulnerability disclosure policy; the privacy policy says only that no transmission or storage can be guaranteed secure. The Five Diamond designation the home page gives the response center concerns the monitoring operation's service standards, not information security.
The surface is a connected device with a microphone and two way audio installed in a private home, paired with wearable devices and reachable over cellular. Device authentication, firmware update practice, and how a hub is decommissioned or transferred when a user dies or moves into care are unaddressed. A hub that a remote operator or family member can speak through is, if compromised, a listening device in an older person's living room, in a population poorly placed to notice misuse. The caregiver application grants family members visibility into a person's movements and location, and account security for those users is not described.
No device claim is made, and the product is scoped accordingly. The home page makes no FDA, cleared or medical device claim; the product measures no physiological parameter, makes no diagnostic claim and presents fall detection as a way to summon help rather than to diagnose injury. The terms (24 May 2023) state that the equipment and service are not a substitute for 911 and do not provide diagnosis or medical advice, and they say plainly that the device may not detect all falls. That is a coherent position for a personal emergency response system positioned as communication and safety equipment, though it is framed in disclaimers rather than published as a stated regulatory position.
Two points go unaddressed. Arlo Technologies' April 2026 acquisition announcement described the platform as fall prevention, which implies an intervention that reduces falls rather than a system that notices them, and nothing in the product's own material supports that claim. And emergency alarm monitoring is licensed at state level in much of the United States; the home page names the response center's Five Diamond status without naming its operator or licensing.
Nothing is published on how voice recognition or fall detection is tested across the people who use it. The home page, the privacy policy (3 July 2020) and the terms (24 May 2023) carry no fairness testing, subgroup performance, calibration data or governance framework.
The exposure is concrete. Voice activation depends on recognizing a spoken call for help, and speech recognition degrades with accent, dialect, pitch, volume and the slower or less distinct speech common with age, dental changes, respiratory limitation or neurological conditions. The consequence is severe rather than inconvenient: a person on the floor who cannot reach a button and whose voice is not recognized has no other path to help through the feature the product leads with. Nothing states whether voice activation works in any language other than English, or how far from the hub it works.
Fall detection carries a second exposure, since accelerometry signatures vary with body mass, gait, mobility aids and the controlled descents common in frail adults. The terms say the device may not detect all falls and may activate when a person has not fallen, with no rate by group or at all.
A person answers every alert, the limits are stated plainly, and the terms put nothing behind the output. Alerts go to operators at the company's authorized monitoring center, which the home page calls a Five Diamond emergency response center staffed around the clock; the terms (Aloe Care Health, Inc., updated 24 May 2023) say operators may verify the need before notifying responders. The home page prints "(not guaranteed to detect all falls)" beside the fall detection feature, and the terms say the device "may not detect all falls and may activate when you do not fall", that location services are of limited accuracy, and that no monitoring is possible while the equipment is off the cellular network.
That is candor about limits, not recourse. The terms state that the equipment and service are not a substitute for 911, disclaim all warranties, cap the company's liability at $1,000 or the amount a state statute permits, require the subscriber to indemnify the company, and waive jury trial. No detection rate, response time commitment or availability figure is published, and the wording fits a system that misses one fall in twenty as well as one that misses one in three.
No integration evidence. The home page, the privacy policy and the terms describe no electronic health record integration, interface standard, published application programming interface or clinical system connection. The privacy policy lists healthcare providers among parties data may be disclosed to, which is a permission, not an integration.
The ecosystem is family facing by design. Data flows from the hub and the mobile device into the company's caregiver application, where family members can view activity and alerts, and it reaches no clinician. A pattern of increasing night time activity, repeated falls that did not need an emergency call, or declining movement over months are the signals a physician managing an older adult would want, and none of them reaches a record unless a family member relays it.
The company's partner and solutions channel for providers and organizations makes the gap more pointed, and nothing describes how data would reach their systems. Whether the monitoring center's record of an emergency event is available to the person's clinician afterward is unstated.
Nothing published says where the data rests. The privacy policy (3 July 2020) says personal information "may be stored anywhere in the world, including but not limited to, in the United States, in the cloud", which describes a hosted service and commits no location, and no hosting provider, region, tenancy model or location of the monitoring center is published. Nothing says what changes under Arlo Technologies, which completed its acquisition in April 2026.
The device side is disclosed. Connectivity is cellular first and does not require home broadband, which removes a common silent failure in home monitoring, where a router stops working and nobody notices until the system is needed. The second generation hub adds multi carrier cellular and a built in hotspot for companion sensors, battery backup covers power loss, and power outages are detected and reported. The terms (24 May 2023) state the limit: while the equipment is off the network, no monitoring is possible.
Where the system runs and where data rests are not committed; the connectivity design is disclosed.
Published tiers with figures, a stated unit of charge and a way to start without a sales conversation. The home page lists three plans, each a monthly subscription plus a one time hardware cost: Essentials at $39.99 a month with $199.99 of hardware, Mobile Companion 2 at $44.99 a month with $149.99 of hardware, and Essentials Plus at $59.99 a month with $349.99 of hardware, sold online with a 30 day money back guarantee. The terms (24 May 2023) set the refund on an annual subscription: full within the first month, pro rated within five months, none after six. The upfront and ongoing cost, and the capability behind each step up, are all visible without speaking to anyone; fall detection comes with the Mobile Companion 2 rather than the entry hub.
The household is the unit of charge, and the caregiver application is included for the family circle. What is not published sits on the other channel: the company's partner and solutions route for providers and organizations carries no institutional pricing, volume terms or contract structure, and nothing says whether any payer or state waiver program covers the service.
One population and one job, stated clearly, with nothing validating it yet. The scope is older adults aging in place and the people who care for them. Coverage runs from the home, where the hub provides voice activation, sensing and two way audio, to outside it through the Mobile Companion 2 with fall detection and location; splitting the product that way suits a risk profile that differs inside and outside the house. The caregiver application lets several family members share visibility, which reflects how family caregiving is actually divided.
Nothing is published outside that lane: no clinical condition coverage, chronic disease management or vital signs, and no provider or health system deployment named, although a partner and solutions channel for organizations exists. The service depends on cellular coverage, and the terms (24 May 2023) say no monitoring is possible off the network; coverage beyond the United States is not stated. No study or named deployment shows how the product performs in the home, in supported living or for users with mobility aids.
Coverage stated clearly with nothing validating it.
Alternatives to Aloe Care Health
Vendors in the same categories as Aloe Care Health whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
Cherish Health detects falls and activity by bouncing radar off people, with no camera and nothing worn.
CarePredict infers what an older adult is doing from how their wrist moves, and raises an alert when the pattern changes.
August Health supplies resident records and daily care software to senior living operators.
CareConnect sells a Workforce Operating System for home care, home health, hospice and long term care organizations.
Inspiren sells an AI-powered safety and operations system to senior living operators, for assisted living and memory care communities.
Sensi.AI sells audio based monitoring and AI agents to home care agencies.
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Pricing
Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.
| Entry Price | Pricing Basis | BAA Tier | Implementation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Essentials $39.99 a month plus $199.99 hardware; Mobile Companion 2 $44.99 a month plus $149.99 hardware; Essentials Plus $59.99 a month plus $349.99 hardware; 30 day money back guarantee
$39.99 baseline
|
Subscription per household per month plus a one time hardware purchase, published across three named plans on the home page. Fall detection comes with the Mobile Companion 2 rather than the entry hub. Annual subscriptions are refunded in full within the first month, pro rated within five months and not after six, under the terms of 24 May 2023. Institutional or provider pricing through the company's partner and solutions channel is not published. | Not published. The privacy policy (3 July 2020) says protected health information will be protected under HIPAA "if and to the extent applicable" and states no business associate position. A system bought directly by a family generally sits outside HIPAA, so protection is whatever the privacy policy grants, and the company's partner and solutions channel for providers could be treated differently; nothing distinguishes the two. Ask which deployments are treated as covered, whether the company signs business associate agreements with provider partners, what audio is retained, and who controls the caregiver circle. | No separate installation fee is published, and the product is designed to avoid one: setup is plug and play with voice prompts, and cellular connectivity means no home broadband or network configuration is needed. Hardware is a one time cost stated beside each plan. Nothing describes charges for additional sensors, replacement devices or hardware damage, or what happens to the hardware at cancellation. | Vendor Published |
Published plans with figures, a unit of charge and an online route to buy. The home page lists Essentials at $39.99 a month with $199.99 of hardware, Mobile Companion 2 at $44.99 a month with $149.99 of hardware, and Essentials Plus at $59.99 a month with $349.99 of hardware, with a 30 day money back guarantee. A family can establish both the upfront outlay and the ongoing commitment before contacting anyone, and can see that fall detection requires the mobile device rather than the entry hub.
The terms (24 May 2023) set refunds on annual subscriptions and cap the company's liability at $1,000 or the amount a state statute permits.
What is missing sits on the other channel. The company operates a partner and solutions route aimed at providers and care organizations, and nothing about institutional pricing, volume terms, contract structure or payer coverage is published there. Some personal emergency response services are covered under state waiver programs, and nothing says whether this one is. Arlo Technologies' April 2026 acquisition announcement claimed fewer hospitalizations with no supporting figure.
Ask for institutional and provider pricing, whether any payer or waiver program covers the service, contract terms, and hardware replacement cost.