RCM & Prior Auth AI
A

AKASA

Generative AI for the provider side revenue cycle, formerly Alpha Health. Unified Automation is the platform: a single engine spanning coding, clinical documentation integrity, prior authorization, and claims, designed to sit on top of existing EHR systems rather than replace them. The architectural argument worth understanding is how it differs from robotic process automation. Rather than recording and replaying screen interactions, which break whenever a payer updates a portal, the company trains models on the behaviour of payer portals, EHR interfaces, and clearinghouse connections so they tolerate interface changes.

Modules include Coding Optimizer surfacing missed CPT and ICD-10 codes and compliance risks, CDI Optimizer flagging ambiguous diagnoses and missing specificity, Authorization Advisor handling prior authorization submission and payer specific requirement matching, Auth Status and Claim Status polling payer portals and writing results back to the EHR. The company describes an expert in the loop design that autonomously handles high confidence encounters and escalates edge cases to revenue cycle staff. Models are reported as trained on more than 43 million clinical documents.

Reported footprint spans more than 650 hospitals and 6,500 outpatient facilities across all 50 states, with a strategic collaboration with Cleveland Clinic announced to launch revenue cycle AI tools. Customer reported results include a 13 percent reduction in accounts receivable days and 300 or more staff hours saved monthly. Headquartered in South San Francisco; more than $200 million raised.

AI Health Index verifiedJuly 26, 2026
Compare AKASA with other vendors
Founded
Headquarters
South San Francisco, California
Website
akasa.com
Categories
rcm-and-prior-auth, autonomous-medical-coding, healthcare-admin-automation
Indexed Products
Unified Automation, Coding Optimizer, CDI Optimizer, Authorization Advisor, Claim Status
Buyer Segments
Large IDN, Academic Medical Center, Community Health System
Assessment

Capability Axes

The short answer

AKASA, formerly Alpha Health, sells generative AI for the provider side revenue cycle to health systems. Its platform, Unified Automation, is a single engine spanning coding, clinical documentation integrity, prior authorization and claims, designed to sit on top of existing record systems rather than replace them. The architectural point worth understanding is how it differs from robotic process automation: instead of recording and replaying screen interactions, which break whenever a payer updates a portal, the company trains models on the behaviour of payer portals, record system interfaces and clearinghouse connections so they tolerate interface changes. The AI Health Index grades it A on AI Centrality, A on Setting and Specialty Coverage and A on Security Certifications and Trust Center, its three strongest axes, with C on Commercial Transparency and C on AI Liability and Recourse lower. Verified as of Jul 26, 2026.

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

Models read full clinical records and interpret context rather than matching rules, which is the stated difference from the robotic process automation vendors this product is usually compared against. The specific claim is architectural and checkable: instead of recording and replaying screen interactions that break when a payer portal changes, the company trains models on portal, EHR, and clearinghouse behaviour so they tolerate interface change. That is a real engineering distinction in a category where much of what is marketed as AI is scripted automation.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

The design is stated in the right terms: an expert in the loop model that autonomously handles high confidence encounters and escalates edge cases to revenue cycle staff, with coding presented as an assistant to coders rather than a replacement. Held back from A because the confidence threshold governing what proceeds without review is not published, which is the same gap flagged for Elation and Waystar. In coding and prior authorization the threshold is the control, and a buyer cannot evaluate the oversight model without it.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them.
Vendor Published

More disclosed than most in this category, with one substantial gap left open.

The training approach is stated plainly: a tailored large language model per health system, trained on that organisation's own clinical and financial data, on the argument that billing practice and documentation style are institution specific. Recommendations carry confidence scores surfaced to the coder, which is a per suggestion quality signal rather than an aggregate claim.

What is missing is the model itself and the numbers. No architecture or base model is named, no accuracy or precision figures are published, and no confidence threshold is given for what the system handles autonomously versus what it escalates. The company describes an expert in the loop design that autonomously handles high confidence encounters, which makes the threshold the operative fact, and it is not stated.

One tension a buyer should resolve directly. The models are reported as trained on more than 43 million clinical documents, while the product is also described as trained on each health system's own data. Both can be true of a base model with per customer tuning, but nothing published says whose data formed the base corpus or whether one customer's documentation informs another's model.

A reported claim that the models outperform general purpose models by up to 40 percent on health system tasks is vendor generated with no published methodology.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no provider is named.
Vendor Published

The training architecture is described and one tension inside it is left for the buyer to resolve. The stated approach is a tailored model per health system, trained on that organisation's own clinical and financial data, on the argument that billing practice and documentation style are institution specific, and a per customer boundary of that kind is a genuine control because a model tuned on one organisation's data is not obviously reusable against another's.

Alongside it the models are reported as trained on more than 43 million clinical documents. Both statements can be true of a base model with per customer tuning, and nothing published says whose data formed the base corpus or whether one customer's documentation informs another customer's model. That is the material question and it is a stewardship question as much as a technical one.

The data concentration makes it weightier: the platform ingests complete clinical documentation across every encounter, with records reported to average around sixty documents and fifty thousand words, for entire health systems. On enumeration there is nothing: no base model or provider named, no hosting arrangement and no sub processor list, and no retention or deletion schedule for documentation that has no ongoing purpose once a claim is finalised. Ask whose data formed the base corpus, whether your documentation joins it, and for a retention schedule.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Vendor Published

Scale is substantial and specific: more than 650 hospitals and 6,500 outpatient facilities across all 50 states, with models reported trained on over 43 million clinical documents. The Cleveland Clinic strategic collaboration is a strong named reference, and its framing of the problem is unusually concrete, describing staff reviewing more than 100 clinical documents per case and selecting from more than 140,000 codes, taking up to an hour per encounter. Held back from A because outcome figures, a 13 percent reduction in accounts receivable days and 300 plus monthly staff hours saved, are customer reported without stated baselines or methodology.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule or the safety engineering behind them.
Vendor Published

The data concentration here is at the high end of the revenue cycle category. AKASA ingests complete clinical documentation across every encounter, with patient records reported to average around 60 documents and 50,000 words, and it does so for entire health systems. This is unambiguously protected health information and the volume is the point of the product.

Supporting controls are substantive: security infrastructure aligned to HITRUST CSF, SOC 2, NIST 800-53 and CIS, continuous monitoring, and a documented incident response policy, all set out on a dedicated data handling page rather than inferred.

The per health system training boundary is the strongest single control, since a model tuned on one organisation's data is not obviously reusable against another's.

Three gaps. No retention or deletion schedule is published for the clinical documentation ingested, which for coding has no ongoing purpose once the claim is finalised. No subprocessor list. And the base corpus question noted on model transparency lands here too, because whether 43 million documents from other organisations sit underneath a customer's tuned model is a stewardship question as much as a technical one.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here.
Vendor Published

Business associate status is not in question. AKASA processes complete clinical documentation on behalf of hospitals and health systems, so it handles protected health information as the core of what it does, and it states HIPAA compliance directly.

The supporting evidence is better than a policy statement. HITRUST R2 certification maps onto the HIPAA Security Rule and is externally validated against hundreds of tested controls, which is a stronger signal than a compliance page. Infrastructure alignment to NIST 800-53 covers much of the same ground independently.

Held at B because the posture itself is unpublished. No business associate agreement or its terms appear publicly, the company does not state its role in those words, and no evaluation or review cadence is given. None of the three routes to a higher grade in this index is taken: publishing the instrument, publishing the role alongside an evaluation cadence, or publishing both roles and the switch between them.

For a vendor with a genuine trust page already built, this is a presentational gap rather than a substantive one.

AA on Security Certifications and Trust CenterCertifications named with their type and version and presented as retrievable artefacts, usually through a trust portal a buyer can open without asking.
Vendor Published

Among the stronger positions in the revenue cycle category. HITRUST R2 certification, the tailored risk based tier rather than a fixed control set, stated explicitly as R2 rather than left ambiguous. A SOC 2 report. Infrastructure aligned to NIST 800-53 and CIS benchmarks. Continuous monitoring with a documented incident response policy. And a dedicated trust and security page a buyer can read without entering a sales process, which is a real trust surface and something several better known peers lack.

One avoidable imprecision keeps this from being exemplary, and it is the disclosure failure this index finds most often. The company describes itself as SOC 2 certified and SOC 2 compliant, and never states the type. Type 1 tests whether controls are designed appropriately at a point in time; Type 2 tests whether they operated effectively over a period, and only the second tells a buyer anything about sustained practice.

The word itself is also wrong in a way worth knowing. SOC 2 produces an attestation report from a CPA firm, not a certificate. There is no certification body and no registry to check, so SOC 2 certified is not a thing anyone can hold. Naming the type would cost one word and would move this record from strong to unambiguous.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalised for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

The finding here is not that this vendor lacks a credential. It is that no regulator or accreditor governs vendors in this category at all, and a buyer should understand why that matters.

The FDA has no jurisdiction, since nothing diagnoses or treats. Unlike the credentialing lane, where NCQA and URAC certify verification organisations, and unlike payer side utilization management, where URAC and NCQA accredit the review itself, provider side revenue cycle has no vendor level accreditation to hold. Nobody examines this software from outside.

The regulatory weight instead falls entirely on the customer. Coding sits under the False Claims Act, OIG compliance programme guidance and CMS billing rules, and it is the health system that signs and submits the claim. If a recommended code is not supported by the documentation, the provider carries the liability and the vendor carries none.

So the questions that substitute for a clearance are these: what is the published coding accuracy and against what reference standard, what is the audit trail on every recommendation, and does a credentialed coder verify before submission. AKASA answers the third clearly, since coders accept or revise every suggestion, and provides justifications linked to source text. It publishes no accuracy figure.

BB on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA governance framework with named process behind it, such as certification to an artificial intelligence management standard, or material written for a customer own review committee to evaluate the product with.
Vendor Published

Earns the B on evidence surfaced at the point of decision rather than on published testing. Every code recommendation arrives with a justification linked directly to the supporting medical text, alongside coding references and a confidence score, and a coder accepts or revises it. That gives the person accountable for the claim the means to check the reasoning rather than accept a suggestion.

One design point deserves credit because it is not the default in this category. The system is described as flagging unsupported codes and compliance risks as well as missed coding opportunities, so it is built to move recommendations in both directions rather than only upward.

That matters because of where the pressure sits. A tool whose value is measured in recovered revenue has a natural direction of travel, and the party that benefits from a higher code is the customer while the party exposed if it is unsupported is also the customer. Bidirectional flagging is the structural answer, and a buyer should verify it operates in practice by asking what proportion of recommendations reduce rather than increase reimbursement.

Held at B because nothing is published on bias evaluation, accuracy by document type or service line, or false positive rates.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

A real mechanism sits on this record and the number that governs it does not. Recommendations carry confidence scores surfaced to the coder, so a per suggestion quality signal reaches the person deciding rather than an aggregate claim reaching the buyer, and that lets a coder weight a suggestion instead of accepting or rejecting it blind. What is missing is the threshold.

The company describes an expert in the loop design that autonomously handles high confidence encounters, which makes the threshold the operative fact of the entire product, and it is not stated anywhere located. That is the disclosure a direct competitor in this category does publish, so the omission is a choice rather than a limit of the category.

Without it a buyer cannot establish what share of encounters are finalised without a human, what confidence level the vendor considers sufficient to bill on, or who set that level. No accuracy or precision figure is published either, and a reported claim that the models outperform general purpose models by up to 40 percent on health system tasks is vendor generated with no methodology and uses the unfalsifiable construction. No warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment was located. Ask for the autonomy threshold, the accuracy at it, and the proportion of encounters finalised without human review.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Third Party Estimated

Designed to layer on existing EHR systems without replacement, spanning payer portals, EHR interfaces, and clearinghouse connections, with results written back into the EHR. Third party review is usefully candid that depth is uneven: Epic integration is deepest, including Hyperspace, while Cerner and MEDITECH integrations vary by version and configuration, with a recommendation to obtain references from comparable environments before committing. Buyers not on Epic should treat that as a real diligence item rather than a footnote.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

One architectural fact is disclosed and it is a real differentiator in this category. AKASA requires no on premise installation and states it offers multiple options for secure data exchange, which it positions explicitly against revenue cycle peers that do require local infrastructure. The platform sits on top of existing electronic health record systems rather than replacing them, and implementation is reported at around four months, including a period where the models observe workflow before making suggestions.

Beyond that the axis is unanswered. No hosting provider is named, no region or data residency statement is published, and there is no subprocessor list. For a cloud only architecture handling complete clinical documentation from entire health systems, where the data sits is the question the model most needs answered, and it is the one not addressed.

A buyer should also establish what the per health system model tuning means physically. If each customer gets its own tuned model, ask whether it runs in an isolated environment and what happens to it at contract end.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No published pricing and no published pricing mechanism. Contracts are negotiated privately with mid to large health systems.

There is a pointed contrast worth noting, because it is the company's own material. AKASA publishes buyer guidance advising health systems to establish exactly what is included in an automation contract, how the pricing structure is set up, and the methodology behind the pricing. The advice is sound. The company follows none of it about itself.

Third party analysis sites describe a structure combining subscription fees scaled to claims volume with a percentage of recovered revenue on denial modules, and some publish detailed revenue splits and return on investment ranges. None of this comes from AKASA, some of it asserts financial detail no outside party could know about a private company, and none of it should be carried into a budget as though the vendor had published it.

If the third party description is directionally right, the structure deserves the same scrutiny applied to any success fee arrangement in this index: a percentage of recovered revenue means vendor compensation rises with the volume and size of upward adjustments, while the party carrying False Claims Act exposure for an unsupported code is the health system. Establish which modules are priced this way and what the rate is.

AA on Setting and Specialty CoverageWhere the product is validated to operate is named and supported, settings and specialties both, whether the coverage is broad or deliberately narrow.
Vendor Published

Clearly bounded to provider side revenue cycle across coding, clinical documentation integrity, prior authorization, eligibility, and claims, sold to health system finance, revenue cycle, and health information management leadership. Scales from regional hospitals to multi state networks. No claims outside revenue cycle.

Citable summary

Self contained paragraphs, free to quote with attribution. Grades shown resolve from this record and change when it is regraded.

What AKASA is, and why it is a vendor rather than a provider

The AI Health Index records AKASA as a software vendor selling to health systems, not a provider organisation and not an outsourced billing service. The distinction matters because revenue cycle work reaches a hospital in three different commercial shapes and they are frequently confused: a services firm that takes the work over and staffs it, a vendor that licenses software the health system runs, and a platform embedded inside the record system a provider already owns. AKASA is the second of those. Its platform sits on top of existing record systems, and the company describes an expert in the loop design in which high confidence encounters are handled autonomously and edge cases escalate to the health system revenue cycle staff, who remain the operators. Reported footprint spans more than 650 hospitals and 6,500 outpatient facilities across all fifty states. Verified as of Jul 26, 2026.

Source: AI Health Index, Jul 26, 2026

How AKASA grades on the AI Health Index, and what a health system should ask

The AI Health Index grades AKASA A on AI Centrality, B on Autonomy and Oversight Model, B on Clinical and Operational Evidence and C on AI Liability and Recourse, verified as of Jul 26, 2026. The AI centrality grade is earned: models trained on payer and record system behaviour are a materially different engineering position from screen scraping, and it is the reason the automation survives a portal change. The oversight grade is where a buyer should concentrate. An expert in the loop design is only as good as its threshold, and the confidence level at which an encounter is handled without review is not published, so the questions to put in writing are what that threshold is, who can change it, what the audit trail looks like for an encounter that was never seen by a person, and what happens when a code submitted autonomously turns out to be wrong.

Source: AI Health Index, Jul 26, 2026

Common questions

Is AKASA a healthcare revenue cycle vendor or a provider?

A vendor. AKASA sells revenue cycle automation software to health systems and does not deliver care or bill as a provider, and it is also not an outsourced revenue cycle services firm that takes the function over and staffs it. Its platform, Unified Automation, runs on top of the record systems a health system already operates, spanning coding, clinical documentation integrity, prior authorization and claims, with the health system revenue cycle team remaining the operator and handling escalated exceptions. The AI Health Index indexes it in revenue cycle and prior authorisation with secondary placement in autonomous medical coding and healthcare administrative automation, and grades it across fifteen capability axes with the date of last verification published on the record.

How does AKASA differ from robotic process automation?

This is the substantive technical difference in its record and the AI Health Index grades it A on AI Centrality partly on this basis. Robotic process automation records and replays interactions with a screen, so it breaks whenever a payer changes a portal layout, which is why so much of it needs constant maintenance. AKASA instead trains models on the behaviour of payer portals, record system interfaces and clearinghouse connections, so the automation tolerates interface changes rather than failing on them. Models are reported as trained on more than 43 million clinical documents. For a health system the practical test is durability rather than launch performance: ask what happened to throughput the last time a major payer changed its portal, and how long recovery took.

What does AKASA automate in prior authorization?

Authorization Advisor handles prior authorization submission and matches payer specific requirements, while Auth Status polls payer portals for determination status and writes results back into the record system, which is the part that removes the manual checking loop rather than only the manual submission. Alongside it, Coding Optimizer surfaces missed CPT and ICD-10 codes and compliance risks, CDI Optimizer flags ambiguous diagnoses and missing specificity, and Claim Status covers the equivalent polling for claims. The AI Health Index grades AKASA B on Autonomy and Oversight Model and B on EHR and Interoperability Depth as of Jul 26, 2026. Because the confidence threshold for autonomous handling is not published, the index treats that threshold as the first question a buyer should ask.

Does AKASA publish pricing or evidence of results?

Pricing no, results partially. The AI Health Index grades AKASA C on Commercial Transparency and B on Clinical and Operational Evidence as of Jul 26, 2026. Publicly reported outcomes include a 13 percent reduction in accounts receivable days and 300 or more staff hours saved monthly, and there is a strategic collaboration with a major academic health system. Those are customer reported and vendor published figures rather than independently established ones, which is what the evidence grade records. The comparison worth making before a contract is not between vendor quoted percentages but between what each vendor will commit to measuring after go live, and who defines the baseline.

Does AKASA pay to be listed on the AI Health Index?

No. The AI Health Index is researched from public sources, no vendor pays for inclusion, for a grade or for placement, and every record carries the date it was last verified. A vendor that publishes more is regraded and the change is logged.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Head to head

Vendors the index assesses as direct competitors to AKASA for the same buyer.

Adjacent comparisons

Products a buyer researches alongside AKASA that do a different job: a different category, a different layer of the stack, or a specialist scope. These pages exist to settle whether the comparison is real before it settles which one to pick.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Contact the vendor
Enterprise health system agreements scoped by module Third Party Estimated

No rate card published. Enterprise agreements with health systems, typically scoped by module. Third party review provides implementation timelines that materially affect the business case: about 60 to 90 days for a standard deployment of one or two modules at a single facility, four to six months for multi facility systems with complex payer mixes, and a further 30 to 60 days for models to tune to local workflow.

That ramp should be modelled as part of the investment rather than treating value as beginning at go live. EHR platform also affects effort, since Epic integration is deepest while Cerner and MEDITECH depth varies by version.