Charta Health vs Waystar (2026)
Two ways to stop a denial, aimed at different causes. Charta reviews every encounter before the bill leaves, coding from the provider's own documentation so the gap between what was written and what was billed closes while it is still cheap. Waystar runs the transaction itself at national scale, with eligibility, claim status and payment moving through infrastructure much of the provider market already touches, and an intelligence layer predicting outcomes on top. If your denials trace to documentation, Charta is upstream of them. If they trace to eligibility, submission errors and payer rules, Waystar is where that is handled. Ask Charta for the ratio of codes its review removes to codes it adds, which is what separates accuracy from optimization.
- It reviews every encounter before the bill goes out, coding from the provider's own documentation so problems surface while they are cheap to fix.
- Tying output to what the clinician actually wrote makes the resulting claim easier to defend if it is questioned.
- For a practice whose denials come from documentation gaps, pre bill is the right intervention point.
- It runs the electronic rails at scale, with eligibility, claim status and payment transactions through infrastructure much of the provider market already touches.
- The intelligence suite sits on that platform so predictions arrive inside an existing workflow rather than as another vendor.
- For an organization whose problem is transaction volume rather than documentation quality, that is where the leverage is.
This comparison is published by AI Health Index, an independent research platform that compares healthcare AI vendors objectively. Charta Health and Waystar are each graded against the same capability taxonomy, from each vendor's own public materials and the regulatory record, under the AI Health Index verification standard. No vendor pays for placement, and no vendor has reviewed this page. How this evidence is graded
Plain facts
| Fact | Charta Health | Waystar |
|---|---|---|
| Primary category | Autonomous Medical Coding | RCM & Prior Auth AI |
| Founded | 2023 | 2017 |
| Headquarters | San Francisco, California, United States | Lehi, Utah and Louisville, Kentucky |
| Website | chartahealth.com | waystar.com |
Side by Side
Select any grade to read the note behind it.
Product updates
The latest logged changes from each vendor, newest first, each linked to its source.
Waystar
-
Product / capability
Waystar launched agentic AI capabilities inside its AltitudeAI platform, moving from software that scores and routes work to agents that carry the work out.
Source
Each vendor in one paragraph
Written to be quoted whole. Each paragraph opens the AI Health Index profile of the vendor: what the product is, who buys it and what it does.
Charta Health reviews the documentation for every encounter before billing, using large language models rather than a rules engine. For providers it codes each visit after the note closes, corrects coding directly in the EHR or queues problem charts for a person, and cites the supporting documentation on each suggestion; revenue discovery, payer compliance, clinical quality analytics, clinical documentation improvement and provider feedback run on the same review.
Source: AI Health Index, August 2026
Waystar's AltitudeAI capabilities on its healthcare revenue cycle platform, which clears claims, eligibility and payment transactions for about one million providers and roughly 60 percent of US patients.
Source: AI Health Index, August 2026
Questions buyers ask
How do Charta Health and Waystar work with the EHR?
Integration runs both ways in Charta's account: the platform reads all documentation after a note closes and can correct coding directly in the EHR, and the FAQ says it has integrated with dozens of commercial EHRs and homegrown EMRs.
With Waystar, the Innovation Lab adds FHIR-based prior authorization connectivity for CMS-0057-F. A 2023 third-party survey reports 94 percent of clients satisfied with its EHR integrations. From the AI Health Index, drawn from each vendor's own published materials and the regulatory record, verified August 4, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
How are Charta Health and Waystar priced and sold?
Charta sells to provider organizations, health systems, MSOs and payers, builds each integration with dedicated engineering support, and measures its value as revenue uplift in RVUs per encounter. Whether the fee is per encounter, per provider or a share of uplift is not stated, and a fee that scales with uplift would reward higher coding.
Waystar's annual report on Form 10-K says contracts generally combine a subscription fee with a volume-based component, sometimes only one; initial terms run two or three years and renew automatically for one-year terms with standard price escalators; billing is monthly; and more than 99 percent of revenue is recurring subscription or predictable volume. From the AI Health Index, drawn from each vendor's own published materials and the regulatory record, verified August 4, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
How do Charta Health and Waystar handle patient data?
Charta reads all provider documentation for every encounter, faxes and scanned images included, and tunes each implementation on the client's review feedback; its FAQ states HIPAA, SOC 2 and GDPR compliance. Retention, de identification, whether client documentation trains models used for other clients, and which model provider receives the notes are not stated.
In Waystar's case, the website privacy policy covers site visitors, keeping web analytics data 24 months and no longer than five years, and says support staff are trained and bound by confidentiality. From the AI Health Index, drawn from each vendor's own published materials and the regulatory record, verified August 4, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Which settings and specialties do Charta Health and Waystar cover?
Inpatient facility coding is not the target, although Charta says any organization with a reason to audit charts can use it.
With Waystar, the company's filing reports more than 30,000 client organizations and about one million providers, with revenue split roughly 30 percent hospitals and health systems to 70 percent ambulatory and alternate sites. The AI features run across that platform; results specific to them are not broken out by setting. From the AI Health Index, drawn from each vendor's own published materials and the regulatory record, verified August 4, 2026. No vendor pays for placement.
Related comparisons
Other published head to head assessments involving these vendors or their closest peers.
These address different causes of the same denial: one fixes what the documentation says before submission, the other manages the transaction and predicts the outcome, and an organization with both problems needs both. Neither publishes the ratio of codes removed to codes added, which is the number that separates accuracy from optimization on the pre bill side. Neither publishes a bias evaluation. Neither publishes pricing, and revenue cycle products are frequently priced against recovered value, which rewards volume.