Radiology & Imaging AI
V

Viz.ai

AI powered care coordination platform, Viz One, that pairs detection algorithms on imaging and ECG with automatic alerts and team messaging on clinicians' phones. It began in stroke: its large vessel occlusion product, ContaCT, received FDA's De Novo authorization in 2018 (DEN170073), which created the regulatory category for imaging triage and notification software. The company now reports more than 50 FDA cleared algorithms, sold as suites for neurovascular, vascular, cardiac, pulmonary, trauma and radiology care, with oncology and other areas offered as pilot programs, plus a workflow assistant, Viz Assist.

The stroke product has the strongest evidence, including a multicentre prospective randomized trial that reported shorter door to groin times. Viz.ai states SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001 on its Trust Center, with reports available on request, and runs on Amazon cloud infrastructure across about 2,000 hospitals and health systems in the United States and Europe. It also sells to life sciences companies. No price is published.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 25, 2026
Compare Viz.ai with other vendors
Founded
2016
Headquarters
San Francisco, California, United States
Website
www.viz.ai
Categories
radiology-and-imaging-ai, clinical-decision-support
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Vendor Published

Viz.ai sells Viz One as an AI powered care coordination platform. Detection models sit under each suite, with more than 50 FDA cleared algorithms across CT, ECG and echocardiography for neurovascular, vascular, cardiac, pulmonary, trauma and radiology work. They are the engine of the alerting module: nothing reaches a specialist's phone until a model flags the study.

The platform also carries value without the models. The mobile app gives clinicians secure image viewing, messaging and team activation across hub and spoke networks, and Viz Assist is sold as a separate workflow assistant. Remove the algorithms and a hospital would still have a care coordination and communication system, so the models are a core module rather than the whole product.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Regulatory Filing

For the original stroke product the oversight model is published in full. FDA's De Novo decision summary for ContaCT (DEN170073, February 2018) describes a notification only tool. It runs in parallel with normal reading and alerts a specialist's phone with the images attached; its findings are not for diagnostic use beyond notification. It flags a study at a stated fixed threshold, and the radiologist's report still follows the standard of care.

That description covers one algorithm, first cleared in 2018. The platform now sells more than 50, and no equivalent statement of limits, thresholds and who sees the unflagged studies is published per module. The homepage also describes "automated assessments to accelerate diagnosis", which reaches further than a notification only device.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Regulatory Filing

The approach is named, the detail is not. FDA's De Novo summary for ContaCT (DEN170073) describes an artificial intelligence algorithm that analyzes CT angiography for large vessel occlusion. It was tested on 300 studies from two US sites: sensitivity 87.8 percent, specificity 89.6 percent, AUC 0.91, and median time to notification of 5.6 minutes against 51.5 minutes for standard care. Later work names the network type for some modules; the hemorrhage quantification tool is described as a convolutional neural network.

The company publishes no architectures or training data and does not say how updates to each of the 50 plus algorithms are released and announced. The 2018 figures describe the first version of one product, not the current release.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

The imaging model layer is Viz.ai's own. Each algorithm is FDA cleared per indication, so it cannot be swapped without new review, and no outside model provider is named in the path. The host is named on the Trust Center: Viz.ai uses Amazon, with ISO 27017 and 27018 for cloud controls. A subprocessor list exists but sits behind a request on the Drata trust portal rather than in public.

Two parts of the chain are open. Viz Assist, sold as a workflow assistant, is not described, so whether it relies on an outside language model is unknown. The mobile app puts images on clinicians' own devices, outside the vendor's infrastructure.

AA on Clinical and Operational EvidencePeer reviewed or independently evaluated performance, prospective and multi site where the claim requires it, with the method available to read. The grade describes the strength of the evidence, not its direction: a rigorous study that found no benefit grades by its design, and the note leads with what it found.
Vendor Published

The stroke evidence measures care delivery in prospective, multi site designs run by hospital investigators. A post hoc analysis of a multicenter, prospective, randomized trial of Viz LVO, led at UTHealth Houston, reported an 11 minute reduction in door to groin time across all centers. A parallel cohort of acute stroke consults at 166 facilities in 17 states compared AI and non AI sites. Single center pre and post studies report shorter door in to puncture times and higher reperfusion rates after deployment. Viz.ai hosts a publications library on its site.

The strength is concentrated in large vessel occlusion. Most studies are before and after comparisons in which other workflow changes also happened. The evidence for the newer cardiac, pulmonary and oncology modules is thinner, and some are sold as pilot programs.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

Viz.ai's privacy policy for its subscription services (effective August 2025) makes categorical commitments. Protected health information in the service is governed by the customer's HIPAA Business Associate Agreement, not the policy. The customer's contract sets how long Viz.ai keeps customer data. Usage data (which studies and alerts a clinician opened, response times) is de-identified to the HIPAA standard at 45 CFR 164.514 before it is used to improve services, build new products or conduct research.

What is not published: a retention schedule, whether patient imaging is used to train or retrain models, and what persists on clinicians' phones after a case closes, which matters because the product pushes imaging to mobile devices by design. No guardrails or safety event process is published for the algorithms.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here. A vendor whose product does not process protected health information grades here too when it says so plainly and explains the scope, with a service privacy document behind it: stating a position a buyer can rely on is the posture this axis grades, and the band above is closed to it because there is no agreement to publish.
Vendor Published

Business associate status is stated in a privacy document that covers the service. The US privacy policy for Viz.ai's subscription services says protected health information is governed by the HIPAA Business Associate Agreement between the customer and Viz.ai. The Trust Center describes a HIPAA program with administrative, technical and physical safeguards, regular risk assessments including third party evaluations, and SOC 2 controls mapped to HIPAA. HIPAA compliance documentation is available on request through the Drata trust portal.

The agreement itself is not published, so its terms on subcontractors, breach notice and data return cannot be read before contracting. Separate privacy policies cover EU platform users.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

The Trust Center linked from Viz.ai's site footer names the company's own certifications. SOC 2 Type II covers security, availability, confidentiality, processing integrity and privacy, scoped to production systems and supporting infrastructure. ISO 27001 is held with ISO 27701, 27799, 27017 and 27018, 22301 and 27035. Controls are monitored continuously through Drata between audits.

The artifacts are not open to read. The SOC 2 Type II report, ISO certificates, the independent penetration testing summary, the subprocessor list and continuity plans are available on request through the Drata portal at trustcenter.viz.ai. Audit periods and certificate dates are not shown publicly.

AA on FDA and Regulatory StatusThe regulatory position is unambiguous and verifiable: a clearance or authorization identifiable in the public databases, with the version and indication it actually covers.
Regulatory Filing

ContaCT, the company's first product, received FDA's De Novo authorization DEN170073 in February 2018. That created the regulation for radiological computer aided triage and notification software (21 CFR 892.2080, product code QAS), under which many later imaging triage products have been cleared. The company now reports more than 50 FDA cleared algorithms across stroke, hemorrhage, aneurysm, pulmonary embolism, aortic disease and cardiac indications, and publishes an Indications for Use page. EU user guides are published separately for CE marked products.

Clearance is per algorithm and per indication. Some items on the product menu are sold as pilot programs (oncology, respiratory, osteoporosis), and a pilot is not a clearance.

BB on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA governance framework with named process behind it, such as certification to an artificial intelligence management standard, or material written for a customer own review committee to evaluate the product with. A framework covering the vendor whole portfolio counts when its scope reaches this product; what it cannot supply is the product specific evaluation the band above asks for. Published results within the one group where the performance of this product is most at risk also sit here: evaluation on the question this axis asks, short of the comparison across groups the band above requires. A medical device clearance or certification, and the quality system behind it, does not reach this band on its own; it is graded under regulatory status. A regulator reviewed plan governing how the model may change does reach it.
Vendor Published

Viz.ai names ISO/IEC 42001, the AI management system standard, among its certifications on the Trust Center. It says the certificate covers how the company develops, evaluates and deploys AI systems. That is a governance framework with an outside audit behind it, and ISO 27701 privacy management sits alongside it. The certificate is available on request through the trust portal, not published.

No bias evaluation or subgroup performance is published for any algorithm. The allocation question is specific here: the product speeds transfers from spoke hospitals to thrombectomy centers, so its benefit reaches only the catchments whose hospitals run it.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Regulatory Filing

An error rate exists for the first product. FDA's De Novo decision summary for ContaCT (DEN170073, 2018) reports a standalone test on 300 CT angiography studies from two US sites against neuroradiologist ground truth. Sensitivity was 87.8 percent (95% CI 81.2 to 92.5) and specificity 89.6 percent (83.7 to 93.9). The FDA wrote that summary, and Viz.ai does not publish or cite the figures itself. They describe a version first cleared in 2018, not the current large vessel occlusion product.

No warranty, indemnity or remedy is attached to a missed or false alert. The missed activation is the harder failure: an unflagged case proceeds at ordinary speed, and nothing records that the system should have caught it.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Regulatory Filing

Integration is imaging and communication. The platform receives DICOM studies from scanners and PACS, and the De Novo summary describes the notification path to the mobile app with the images attached. The app is the working surface for neurologists, interventionalists and stroke teams across hospital networks. The platform runs at a named scale of about 2,000 hospitals and health systems in the United States and Europe, and a named HCA division CIO speaks for it on the Trust Center.

No EHR integration is named or documented, and no PACS or RIS product list is published. Viz.ai lists a Microsoft Cloud for Healthcare collaboration, not read here.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

The platform is cloud hosted. The Trust Center says Viz.ai uses Amazon, encrypts data in transit and at rest, and holds ISO 27017 and 27018 for its cloud infrastructure. It processes data across hospitals in the United States and Europe, with EU to US transfers under the EU-US Data Privacy Framework. The design sends imaging to clinicians' phones.

No on premises option is described, and residency is not committed: the region a given customer's data rests in, and whether European data stays in Europe, are not stated. Tenant isolation is not described. The mobile endpoint, meaning what is cached on a phone, for how long, and what happens when a device is lost or a clinician leaves, is not described.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price is published. The website sets out how the product is sold: Viz One is an enterprise platform with therapeutic suites (neuro, vascular, cardio, pulmonary, trauma, radiology, oncology) and pilot programs, and the route in is a contact form. So cost depends on the suites and hospitals covered, while the unit of charge and any figure go unstated.

Medicare's New Technology Add on Payment has applied to AI stroke triage in past years. That is what a hospital could recover, not what Viz.ai charges, and its status for the current year is not stated.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Coverage is named broadly: stroke and neurovascular care, hemorrhage and aneurysm, pulmonary embolism and aortic disease, cardiac conditions including hypertrophic cardiomyopathy on ECG, trauma, and radiology. It spans CT, ECG and echocardiography, in hub and spoke hospital networks in the United States and Europe, at about 2,000 hospitals and health systems.

Validation stands behind part of it. Large vessel occlusion has a De Novo filing with a two site test set and prospective multi site workflow studies. Other modules have clearances and some studies. The oncology, respiratory, neurology and osteoporosis offers are sold as pilot programs.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Viz.ai

Vendors in the same categories as Viz.ai whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Genius AI Detection is the breast imaging AI software line of Hologic, Inc. of Marlborough, Massachusetts; this record covers the software a breast imaging buyer licenses, not Hologic's…

Deep learning software that enhances and accelerates image acquisition on existing scanners rather than detecting disease.

Clinical AI for imaging triage and follow-up, delivered through aiOS, an enterprise platform that runs Aidoc's own FDA cleared algorithms alongside vetted partner algorithms and carries…

Caristo Diagnostics, an Oxford spinout, measures coronary inflammation from the same routine coronary CT angiogram used to assess plaque.

Belgian company, founded in 2011 in Leuven and now part of GE HealthCare, whose icobrain software measures the brain on MRI and CT.

Optellum, based in Oxford with a US office in Houston, sells the Virtual Nodule Clinic, which identifies patients with pulmonary nodules, triages and tracks them, and scores malignancy risk…

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Contact the vendor
Not published; enterprise platform (Viz One) sold by therapeutic suite and pilot programme through a sales conversation Business Associate Agreement stated in the subscription services privacy policy; agreement not published Not disclosed. Deployment connects scanners or PACS by DICOM and rolls the mobile app out to the care team across each hospital in a network. Vendor Published

No price or unit of charge is published. The site sells Viz One as an enterprise platform organised by therapeutic suite, with some areas offered as pilot programmes, and the route in is a contact form. Medicare's New Technology Add on Payment has applied to AI stroke triage in past years; that is what a hospital may recover, not Viz.ai's price, and should be checked for the current year. Ask for the pricing unit, the term, and how the mobile app is licensed.