Remote Monitoring & Chronic Care
V

Vivalink

Vivalink sells the sensing and data layer that other organizations build monitoring products on. Its platform combines reusable medical grade wearables (an ECG patch, a temperature monitor, an oxygen saturation sensor and a blood pressure cuff) with edge networking, a cloud data service it calls the Clinical Intelligence Platform, an arrhythmia detection service covering more than 15 arrhythmia types, and a development kit, so a digital health company, a hospital at home program or a clinical trial sponsor can capture continuous physiology without building the hardware or the pipeline; the platform also ingests third party glucose monitors, pulse oximeters and sleep monitors.

FDA has cleared its VV330 continuous ECG platform (2020) and Fever Scout thermometers, and the arrhythmia service is described as an integrated FDA cleared algorithm whose maker is not named. The company cites HIPAA, GDPR and 21 CFR Part 11 compliance and ISO 27001 among its standards. Named customers and partners include Lilly, AstraZeneca, Novartis, AbbVie, Bristol Myers Squibb, Clario, Medpace, Current Health, Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard, Stanford and UCSF, and research use includes atrial fibrillation, COPD and sleep studies. The sensor substrate traces to a thin film technology developed with Google's advanced technology group. Founded in 2014 by Jiang Li and based in Campbell, California, operating as VivaLNK, Inc. No pricing is published.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 27, 2026
Compare Vivalink with other vendors
Founded
2014
Headquarters
Campbell, California, United States
Categories
remote-monitoring, clinical-trials-ai, home-care-operations
Indexed Products
Wearable ECG Monitor, Wearable Temperature Monitor, Wearable SpO2 Monitor, Wearable BP Cuff, Clinical Intelligence Platform, Arrhythmia Detection, Software Development Kit
Buyer Segments
Digital Health Company, Health System, Pharma / Life Sciences
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
CC on AI CentralityArtificial intelligence is a feature layer on a product whose value stands without it. A learned component is a model whose parameters are estimated from data: machine learning, or a statistical model fitted to population data, including one then updated on the patient measurements. A fixed formula, a rule set, or a feedback controller that adjusts a dosing factor from the patient own readings is not one, however patient specific its output and whatever the vendor calls the adjustment.
Vendor Published

Vivalink sells capture and delivery, with an arrhythmia analysis service on top. The product is a family of wearable monitors (ECG patch, temperature, oxygen saturation, blood pressure cuff), an edge network, a cloud data service described as a Clinical Intelligence Platform, and a development kit, sold so that digital health companies, hospital at home programs and trial sponsors can build their own applications on standardized physiological data.

The analysis the company names is an arrhythmia detection service covering more than 15 arrhythmia types with reports, trends and configurable thresholds, which its page describes as an integrated FDA cleared arrhythmia algorithm without saying whose it is; none of Vivalink's own clearances covers arrhythmia detection. Where a customer builds the application, the clinical interpretation is often the customer's, and much of the customer base buys reliable measurement and a pipeline. AI is a feature layer on a product whose value stands without it.

CC on Autonomy and Oversight ModelAutonomy is claimed and oversight is asserted without a mechanism. Human in the loop appears as a phrase rather than a described control.
Vendor Published

Oversight usually belongs to the customer, and the platform's own boundary is not published. Vivalink delivers measurements and arrhythmia detections into applications that other organizations build, and its arrhythmia service offers configurable thresholds, reports and trends, so the customer decides what triggers an alert, who receives it and how fast.

Nothing describes what the platform requires of an integrating application before clinical use, what guidance accompanies threshold settings, or whether a clinical safety review is part of a deployment, and a cleared sensor inside an unvalidated application is a risk this model creates. No operating point, sensitivity or false alarm rate is published for the arrhythmia detections that clinicians act on. Retrospective data file download supports after the fact review and audit.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

Hardware and architecture are specified in detail and the analysis layer is not. Sensors are listed individually (ECG patch, temperature monitor, oxygen saturation sensor, blood pressure cuff) with parameters, reusability and field driven changes to data cache, battery and connectivity, and the architecture is concrete: sensors, edge networking, cloud data services, a development kit, on premise routers, web services and file download.

The sensor substrate traces to a thin film technology developed with Google's advanced technology group and launched as a consumer product. The arrhythmia service is described by what it reports (more than 15 arrhythmia types, trends, configurable thresholds) and as an integrated FDA cleared algorithm, with no model, maker, version, accuracy or operating point stated.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

Partners and lineage are named, and the technical chain is not. The platform ingests third party glucose monitors, pulse oximeters and sleep monitors, the home page names trial and care partners including Clario and Current Health, and the sensor substrate's origin in a collaboration with Google's advanced technology group is stated.

The arrhythmia detection is described as an integrated FDA cleared algorithm whose maker is not named, so a customer cannot tell which outside party analyzes its patients' ECG data. No cloud or hosting provider, subprocessor register or contract manufacturer is named, and the privacy policy names no service providers. Data flows under two consent regimes, clinical care and regulated research, and nothing states whether either informs algorithm development.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

Named customers and research use, with the evidence attaching to customers' studies rather than to Vivalink's own claims. The home page names Lilly, Harvard, Clario, Massachusetts General Hospital, AstraZeneca, Current Health, Stanford, AbbVie, Medpace, Bristol Myers Squibb, UCSF and Novartis, and company material has claimed more than 400 customers across 116 countries.

Research use includes a longitudinal atrial fibrillation study of up to 3,000 subjects, a COPD progression study and sleep research, and the company's blog describes a Brigham and Women's study in which its ECG monitor detected atrial fibrillation missed after cardiac surgery. These show the sensors are trusted to capture research grade data; the scientific questions belong to the investigators, and no accuracy or outcome figure for Vivalink's own arrhythmia service is published.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

General assurances are published and the AI questions are not answered. The privacy policy (VivaLink, Inc., updated 28 November 2023) covers the website and the company's applications and services, including temperature, ECG and oxygen saturation data, names VivaLink as data controller under GDPR, says data is deleted after processing unless a legal storage obligation applies and that the company works hard to protect personal information, and does not say whether data is used to develop algorithms, how it is de-identified or where it is stored.

The company cites HIPAA, GDPR and 21 CFR Part 11 compliance and information security and device software standards, and offers an on premise router mode that keeps multi patient monitoring inside a facility. Nothing states a retention schedule, a training use position or a de-identification method, and the research business matters here because trial data is collected under consent terms that do not automatically extend to commercial algorithm development. No safety engineering is published.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

Compliance is claimed and the privacy document does not support it. Company material states compliance with HIPAA, GDPR and 21 CFR Part 11. The privacy policy (VivaLink, Inc., updated 28 November 2023) reaches the company's applications and services and the health data they collect, but describes the company as a GDPR data controller and does not mention HIPAA, business associate status or agreements. Part 11 governs electronic records in regulated research, not health privacy.

The enablement model makes the contracting position a real question: customers build their own applications and own the patient relationship, so whether Vivalink contracts with covered entities directly, sits as a subcontractor to an application developer, or handles only de-identified streams depends on architecture and contract, and nothing describes it.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

An information security certification is named in the company's own material without the details that make it assessable. Company material lists ISO/IEC 27001 among the platform's compliance basis, alongside 21 CFR Part 11 for regulated research records and the medical device software life cycle and risk management standards.

No revision, certificate number, certification body, audit period or scope statement is published, and scope decides whether the certificate covers the product platform or only corporate systems. No trust center, security page, penetration testing statement or vulnerability disclosure route is published, and the privacy policy says only that the company works hard to protect personal information. The surface is broad: connected sensors, edge routers on customer networks and a cloud platform shared by hundreds of integrators.

BB on FDA and Regulatory StatusThe pathway is stated and in progress, or a clearance is named without the vintage and scope a buyer needs to match it to the product on offer.
Regulatory Filing

Vivalink's own US clearances are identifiable, and the arrhythmia algorithm it sells is not matched to one. FDA's database lists three 510(k) clearances for VivaLNK, Inc.: the VV330 Continuous ECG Platform with adhesive patch (K191870, January 2020, product code DRG, a radiofrequency physiological signal transmitter and receiver, 21 CFR 870.2910) and the Fever Scout continuous thermometer (K162137, January 2017, and K181013, August 2018, product code FLL). None covers arrhythmia detection.

The arrhythmia page describes an "Integrated FDA Cleared Arrhythmia Algorithm" without naming its maker or clearance, which suggests a third party's cleared algorithm; the oxygen saturation and blood pressure devices are not in Vivalink's own clearance list. The site carries an EU electronic instructions for use page, and company material has claimed EU and Chinese clearances and 21 CFR Part 11 compliance for regulated research.

DD on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureNothing published on how model behavior is governed or tested. Multilingual operation with no subgroup performance sits here when the vendor markets recognition quality as a strength, because a caller the system failed to understand leaves no complaint and no record.
Vendor Published

Nothing is published on how the arrhythmia analysis or any other derived output is governed or tested across patient groups: no fairness testing, subgroup performance, calibration, drift monitoring, governance framework or outside audit. The quality, software life cycle, risk management and information security standards the company cites govern development discipline and data protection, and none requires showing that a measurement or algorithm performs evenly across populations.

Two exposures apply directly. Oxygen saturation is measured optically, and optical oximetry can overestimate saturation in patients with darker skin. Electrocardiographic morphology and arrhythmia prevalence vary with sex, age, body habitus and ancestry, and patch placement and signal quality vary with chest size and body composition. Customers build these outputs into their own products for many populations, inheriting whatever performance differences exist with no published data to check them against.

DD on AI Liability and RecourseNothing published on what happens when the system is wrong.
Vendor Published

Nothing is published on what happens when a detection is wrong. The company publishes a product warranty and an end user license agreement, which cover the hardware and the software license rather than clinical consequences, and no service level agreement, uptime commitment, indemnity, remediation position or accuracy figure for the arrhythmia service is published.

Allocation runs three deep in this model: a patient is monitored by a Vivalink sensor, through a Vivalink pipeline, inside an application a customer built, used by a clinician the customer's own customer may employ, so a missed cardiac event could originate in the sensor, the transmission, the algorithm, the integrating application's alert logic or the clinical response, and nothing describes how responsibility divides. For research customers, lost data is also a study integrity problem.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Integration is the product, with named device sources and trial partners and no named record system. The platform offers standardized, integration ready data formats for clinical, research and analytics platforms, a development kit for mobile and cloud integration, RESTful API access to arrhythmia results, machine to machine web services, file download and multi site consolidation with integrity checks, and ingests third party glucose monitors, pulse oximeters and sleep monitors alongside its own sensors.

Clario, a trial data provider, is among the named partners, and the company has described a partnership placing its technology inside global trial infrastructure. No electronic health record is named, no HL7 or FHIR conformance is stated, and no marketplace listing appears, so a clinical buyer cannot confirm compatibility with its record, and a trial sponsor cannot confirm which research data standard the outputs follow.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

Three deployment modes are described, including one that keeps data inside the customer's facility. Cloud web services support direct machine to machine integration for remotely hosted applications; development kit enabled routers support multi patient monitoring on premise, consolidating and processing within a facility; and retrospective data file download serves pipelines that need no live stream.

The on premise mode gives a site with data location obligations a way to monitor without every stream reaching a vendor cloud. The hosted side is not described: no cloud provider, region, residency commitment or tenancy model for a platform serving hundreds of customers, and the privacy policy does not say where data is stored. Nothing states whether the on premise mode still depends on the cloud for management and updates.

Commercial
DD on Commercial TransparencyNothing a buyer can establish before a sales conversation. A published pricing claim contradicted by evidence also grades here.
Vendor Published

Nothing a buyer can use to size the cost is published: no pricing page, unit of charge, range, tier, implementation fee or minimum commitment, and purchase routes end in a contact form. The site footer links a product warranty, an end user license agreement and separate license terms for developers and solution partners, which govern use rather than price.

The unit is inferable in principle and never stated: reusable sensors with a replacement cycle, consumable adhesives, a recurring data platform and a development kit, for customers ranging from a trial sponsor running a fixed study of thousands of subjects to a hospital at home program running continuously. Developers building on the platform need a cost of goods before committing engineering effort.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Coverage is named broadly, with validation behind part of it. Parameters span continuous ECG with heart rate variability, temperature, oxygen saturation, blood pressure, respiratory rate and activity, extended by third party glucose and sleep monitors; use cases span ambulatory cardiac monitoring and arrhythmia detection, cardiac rehabilitation, hospital at home, general remote monitoring and decentralized clinical trials, with company material claiming customers in 116 countries.

Validation stands behind the cleared ECG platform and thermometers and behind named research use (atrial fibrillation, COPD and sleep studies, and a Brigham and Women's post cardiac surgery study the company describes), not behind every parameter and setting. Nothing states how the customer base divides between clinical and research use or which deployments run at scale.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Vivalink

Vendors in the same categories as Vivalink whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Current Health gives health systems, community oncology practices and drug makers the monitoring and nursing infrastructure to deliver CAR T cell therapy, bispecific antibodies and other…

hellocare.ai, operated by Solaborate Inc of Clearwater, Florida, is an inpatient virtual care platform combining software, hardware and AI, sold to hospitals, home care and primary care.

Huma sells a regulated platform that other organizations configure into their own clinical software, and now describes itself as an operating system for AI in regulated industries.

Sibel Health makes soft, flexible, wireless sensors that stick to skin and monitor vital signs without cables.

PaceMate makes PaceMateLIVE, a cloud platform for remote cardiac monitoring that aggregates data from implanted cardiac devices across manufacturers, pairs it with electronic health record…

Clinician led transitional care for the high risk period after hospital discharge, offered to health systems and payors as a clinical service line and billed as a medical practice through…

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published
Not disclosed. No unit of charge is described anywhere. The offering combines reusable hardware sensors, consumable adhesives, edge routers, a cloud data platform and a development kit, and nothing indicates whether charging follows the sensor, the monitored patient, the data volume, the seat or an enterprise license, nor how the clinical and clinical trials markets price relative to one another. Not disclosed as a template or posture, against a compliance basis that names three regimes including one no other record in this index cites. United States health privacy law and European data protection law are both claimed, alongside the federal rule governing electronic records and electronic signatures in regulated research, which imposes requirements on record integrity, audit trails, system validation and attributability and is what a trial sponsor must satisfy for data to be admissible to a regulator. The international information security management standard is also listed. What is absent is the contractual layer: no agreement template, execution requirement, negotiation stance or subcontractor position was located. The enablement model creates a question specific to this vendor and leaves it unanswered, since customers build their own applications and hold the patient relationship, so whether Vivalink contracts directly with covered entities, sits as a subcontractor to the application developer, or handles only de identified streams is undescribed, and an integrator needs that answer before it can state its own compliance position downstream. Ask for the agreement template, where Vivalink sits in the contracting chain, and whether the platform handles identified data by default. Not disclosed. The company describes a self serve integration path: a development kit covering sensors and data services, edge tools for building and testing mobile applications, routers for on premise multi patient monitoring and web services for cloud integration. Whether integration support, validation assistance or documentation for a customer's own regulatory submission are charged separately is not stated; for research customers, system validation under 21 CFR Part 11 is part of the work. Vendor Published

No price is published: no pricing page, unit of charge, range, tier, implementation fee position or minimum commitment, and commercial routes end in a contact form. The company sells a development kit, a sensor family and a data platform to organizations building their own monitoring products, an audience that has to model cost of goods before committing engineering effort.

The footer links a product warranty, an end user license agreement and license terms for developers and solution partners, which govern use rather than price. Reusable sensors, consumable adhesives, a recurring data service and a development kit could each be charged differently, and a trial sponsor running a fixed study and a hospital at home program running continuously consume very differently. Ask for the unit of charge, sensor purchase against lease, the platform licensing basis, and how trial and clinical deployments are priced.