Inpatient Deterioration & Risk Monitoring
V

VirtuSense VSTOne

VSTOne is VirtuSense's acute care product, a single sensor device per hospital room that predicts when a patient is about to leave the bed or chair unassisted and alerts staff before it happens. It belongs in this category because bed alarms are the classic alarm fatigue problem in hospital nursing, and the product is sold in those terms.

A LiDAR sensor builds three dimensional point clouds of the room, and on device AI reads the postural shifts that come before a deliberate attempt to stand; the company says this gives 31 to 65 seconds of warning, and the same device prompts repositioning when a patient has not moved. Detection runs on the device's own processors without network connectivity. The device also carries an infrared camera, microphones, location sensing and an optical pan, tilt and zoom camera used for virtual nursing and virtual sitting, and the company lists eight use cases in all, including violent patient alerting, an AI patient assistant in beta and hand hygiene tracking in development. Its marketing says the product works without cameras, which the hardware list does not support for the virtual care functions.

The company states 99.99 percent accuracy and 98 percent fewer false alarms than bed and chair pads on one page and over 99 percent and more than 95 percent on another, with outcome figures that also vary by page and come without method. A case study reports no falls with injury and 57 percent fewer unassisted falls over three months in 9 neurology beds. Alerts route to nurse devices, nurse call and the record, with Epic, Oracle Health and PointClickCare named; Emory Healthcare is a named customer, with about 1,000 beds planned. No regulatory position is stated.

VirtuSense, founded in 2013 and based in Peoria, Illinois, also sells VSTAlert and VSTBalance for skilled nursing, senior living and primary care, and VSTSentry for VA hospitals; this record covers VSTOne only. Pricing is not published.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 29, 2026
Compare VirtuSense VSTOne with other vendors
Founded
2013
Headquarters
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Categories
inpatient-monitoring
Indexed Products
VSTOne (acute care fall and pressure injury monitoring with virtual nursing)
Buyer Segments
Academic Medical Center, Large IDN, Community Health System
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Vendor Published

The model is the engine of the product's lead use, and the device now carries other value too. Fall and pressure injury monitoring depend on it entirely: a LiDAR based sensor produces three dimensional point clouds, and on device AI reads subtle postural shifts that precede a patient getting up, which the company says gives 31 to 65 seconds of warning before an unassisted bed or chair exit, and recognizes when a patient has not moved for a set period.

Remove that and a depth sensor alone does nothing a nurse can use. But the same device is sold for virtual nursing and virtual sitting, with an optical pan, tilt and zoom camera streaming 4K video (up to 24 streams to one sitter), and for violent patient notifications driven by a flag in the record, so a hospital would still have a working virtual care device without the model.

An AI patient assistant (in beta) and location tracking with hand hygiene monitoring (in development) are listed as well. B because the monitoring capability the company leads with does not exist without the model.

DD on Autonomy and Oversight ModelNo oversight structure is published. An absolute claim that the system does not err grades here too, because a buyer who believes it will not build the review step that would catch a failure.
Vendor Published

The home page says VSTOne autonomously monitors for fall risk and pressure injury "24/7, without wearables, without cameras, without false alarms", and the hospital page repeats "without cameras, wearables, or false alarms" beside "Zero Alarm Fatigue". That is an absolute claim that the system's alerts are never wrong, with the product as the subject, and the company's own product page contradicts it by saying VSTOne eliminates more than 95 percent of false alarms. A unit that believes the claim has no reason to measure what the alerts get wrong.

The oversight structure behind the claim is otherwise described. The system notifies rather than acts: an alert reaches the assigned nurse's device, nurse call and room lights, and the company describes routing alerts to other staff when a nurse is already in the room with a patient flagged as violent. Monitoring can run fully automated, as a hybrid with a human virtual sitter, or as full virtual sitting. What is not published is the threshold at which an alert fires, how sensitivity is set by patient, and how often the system stays silent before a fall.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The approach is described specifically. The sensor stack is listed as an infrared camera, LiDAR, microphones, 3D location sensing and an optical pan, tilt and zoom camera, with on device CPU, GPU and NPU processing; the LiDAR produces three dimensional point clouds mapping patients, furniture and assistive devices; video, depth, audio and location signals are fused on the device before an alert is generated; and the inference target is named as the postural shifts that precede a deliberate attempt to rise, rather than the movement itself. The patient assistant is described as using natural language processing and understanding.

Nothing identifies the model: no model class, no description of training data (a corpus figure the company stated earlier no longer appears on its pages), no version or update practice, and no statement of which inputs the fall and pressure injury models actually use given that the privacy message says no camera is involved.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

For the lead function the chain is structurally short: the fall and pressure injury models are the company's own and run on the device in the room, so detection data does not need to go anywhere. The rest of the product is less clear.

Virtual nursing and sitting send video and audio to remote staff, the home page lists virtual nursing with ambient listening and note capture, and the patient assistant uses natural language processing, yet no provider is named for transcription, note generation or language understanding. The privacy policy says personal information may go to service providers such as the company's data centers, without naming them, and no subprocessor list is published.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

The company publishes the right kinds of numbers and none of their method, and the numbers do not agree with each other. Lead time is stated as 31 to 65 seconds before a bed or chair exit on the product page and as up to 30 seconds in the Emory Healthcare announcement. Accuracy is 99.99 percent on the home page and over 99 percent for alerts on the product page. False alarm reduction against bed and chair pads is 98 percent on the home page and more than 95 percent on the product page. Outcome figures vary by page too: an 83 percent reduction in falls with injury and over 60 percent fewer hospital acquired pressure injuries in a June 2026 post, more than 61 percent average fall reduction on the return on investment page, and 40 percent fewer falls, 50 percent fewer falls with injury and 40 percent fewer pressure injuries as the calculator's validated deployment averages. None gives a denominator, comparison period or definition.

One hospital case study is summarized on the site: in a Midwest hospital system's neurology unit, over three months with VSTOne in 9 beds, there were no falls with injury and unassisted falls fell by 57 percent (the full paper sits behind a form). Named deployments include Emory Healthcare, where Emory University Hospital Midtown was first to deploy and eight units with about 1,000 beds were planned for 2025. PubMed lists no peer reviewed evaluation of VSTOne; the company's published research concerns VSTBalance, its gait and balance product.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

Local processing is a real reduction in exposure: the company says fall and pressure injury detection runs on the device at the bedside, independent of network connectivity, so monitoring data stays behind the hospital's firewall, and the LiDAR sensor produces point clouds rather than photographs. Two things cut against it.

First, the company's privacy policy (updated October 2025), which names VSTOne among the services it covers, reserves the right to use health information and use data for any purpose on a de-identified basis, and to keep de-identified information after an account closes to improve its products. A right to reuse customer data runs against the customer rather than protecting it, and no de-identification method is described.

Second, the privacy message and the hardware do not match. The home and hospital pages say VSTOne monitors without cameras, while the product page lists an infrared camera, microphones, location sensing and an optical pan, tilt and zoom camera, says video, depth, audio and location signals are fused on the device, and offers 4K video streams to virtual sitters and nurses; the product FAQ says live camera feeds are used only for telehealth and virtual nursing. A patient told there is no camera in the room has been told something the product description does not support.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

Compliance is claimed and business associate status is not stated. The products page says all VirtuSense products are HIPAA compliant, a July 2026 post calls VSTOne HIPAA compliant by architecture because detection happens on the device, and the privacy policy (updated October 2025), which names VSTOne among the services it covers, says information collected through the services is handled in compliance with the HIPAA Privacy Rule.

That policy reaches the service, but it reads as written for the VSTBalance app's users and care providers, it reserves a right to use health information for any purpose once de-identified, and it says nothing about business associate agreements. No agreement, template or summary of terms is published.

DD on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are asserted with nothing independent behind them, or nothing is published. Read the note before concluding anything: this is the grade most often corrected on a second pass, because assurance material frequently sits on a parent domain or inside an old announcement rather than on the product pages.
Vendor Published

Controls are asserted with nothing independent behind them. The company says monitoring happens locally on the device behind the hospital's firewall, LiDAR data is anonymous by nature, and the system uses end to end encryption, and it sells an off network variant for VA hospitals. No SOC 2 report, ISO 27001 certificate, HITRUST certification, penetration test, trust center or report request path is published. The architecture does narrow the surface for detection, but the same device streams 4K video and audio for virtual nursing and sitting, which a security review has to cover.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No FDA clearance is claimed for VSTOne and none appears under the company's name, and no regulatory position is stated anywhere in its published material. Silence alone is not a failure, and the lead functions, alerting staff that a patient is about to get up and reminding them to reposition a patient who has not moved, have a reviewable basis because a nurse goes to the room and sees the patient. What is marketed goes well beyond that basis.

The company markets autonomous fall and pressure injury prevention with accuracy figures, and its Emory Healthcare announcement says the software also supports virtual nurses by continuously monitoring patient data to detect early signs of deterioration or emergencies, a clinical detection claim with no stated basis. The end user license for its app says the application is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease, but that document is written for the VSTBalance exercise app.

DD on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureNothing published on how model behavior is governed or tested. Multilingual operation with no subgroup performance sits here when the vendor markets recognition quality as a strength, because a caller the system failed to understand leaves no complaint and no record.
Vendor Published

Nothing is published on how the model's behavior is governed or tested: no subgroup performance, no fairness evaluation, no responsible AI policy, and no description of how the detection model was trained or validated. The company describes its outcome figures and return on investment model as validated, but that refers to deployment results, not to an evaluation of where the model performs well or poorly.

The open questions are specific to movement based inference. Depth sensing does not depend on skin tone the way optical pulse sensing does, but a model reading postural shifts may behave differently for patients with contractures, tremor, amputations, high body mass, mobility aids or restraints in the bed, unusual bedding, or room layouts unlike those it learned from, and for patients whose normal movement in bed looks like an attempt to rise.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

A mechanism exists for reviewing what the system did, and nothing stands behind the output. Each alert and safety event is documented automatically in the record, and alerts go to the assigned nurse and through the nurse call system, so a unit can audit the alerts it received and how staff responded. What that record cannot show is the exit the system did not predict, which is the failure that leads to a fall.

Nothing published answers for an error. No sensitivity, missed exit rate or false alert rate is given with a method or denominator: the home page states 99.99 percent accuracy and 98 percent fewer false alarms than bed and chair pads, the product page states over 99 percent accuracy for alerts and more than 95 percent of false alarms eliminated, and neither says what was counted or over how many patients. The published terms of service disclaim warranties, limit the company's liability for direct damages to $50 and ask the user to indemnify the company, and no warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment for hospital customers is published.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Named systems and a described exchange. The company's June 2026 integration post says VSTOne uses HL7 and FHIR data exchange with Epic, Oracle Health (Cerner) and PointClickCare, receives admission, discharge and transfer feeds that switch monitoring on and off per patient, and writes fall risk events, position change alerts and monitoring status into the record without manual entry; alerts can also route through nurse call systems.

At Emory Healthcare it runs virtual nursing integrated with Epic MyChart Bedside, which is evidence of an Epic connection in production. None of this can be checked in a marketplace listing or integration documentation linked from the company's pages, and the product FAQ itself says only that VSTOne integrates with several EHR and other systems.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

The deployment is one sensor device per room, no wearable, and no dependence on the hospital's existing monitoring estate. Detection runs on the device's own processors and works without network connectivity, and the company says monitoring data stays behind the hospital's firewall. For VA hospitals it sells VSTSentry, a variant built to run off network.

The virtual nursing and sitting functions necessarily send video and audio to remote staff, and the company's privacy policy refers to service providers such as its data centers, so something runs off site; where, and in which region, is not stated. Alerts route to nurse devices, nurse call systems (Vocera integration announced) and the record.

Named deployments include Emory Healthcare (Emory University Hospital Midtown first, Emory Hillandale Hospital implementing, eight units and about 1,000 beds planned for 2025) and a Midwest hospital system's neurology unit. Residency is stated for the detection function only, and the processing path for virtual nursing video, the assistant and any cloud management layer is left open.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price is published: no per sensor, per room or per bed cost, no subscription rate, band or implementation fee. What the site does show is how the product is sold and what drives value. It is one sensor per room, so cost scales with rooms covered, and the return on investment calculator states its assumptions (75 percent occupancy, falls with injury at 25 percent of falls, and reduction rates of 40 percent for falls, 50 percent for falls with injury and 40 percent for pressure injuries) and says technology costs are included in its net estimate, which for a 300 bed hospital at national average rates is $1.2 million a year. The cost figure itself is not shown, the reduction rates are the company's own unpublished deployment averages, and the page states the results are illustrative, not a guarantee.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

VSTOne is the company's acute care product; VSTAlert and VSTBalance serve skilled nursing, senior living and primary care, and VSTSentry is the VA hospital variant. Within acute care, coverage is any monitored inpatient room rather than a clinical population, and the eight use cases are now listed: fall prevention, pressure injury prevention, active safety monitoring, virtual nursing with ambient listening and note capture, an in room AI assistant (in beta), violent patient alerting, and location tracking with hand hygiene compliance (in development).

Validation sits behind a small part of it. The only hospital result summarized is a three month deployment in 9 neurology beds, and nothing is published on patients or rooms where the sensing works less well, such as patients who move a lot in bed, bariatric beds, restraints or shared rooms.

Tracked Since Listing

Product updates

Material product, regulatory, evidence and commercial changes at VirtuSense VSTOne, each verified against a live source and tagged to the capability axis it bears on. Funding rounds and awards are not product changes and are not logged.

Aug 13, 2026Product / capability

VirtuSense launched VSTOne Go, a mobile version of its ambient AI fall prevention platform designed specifically for post-acute care and skilled nursing environments. The transportable system uses infrared sensors rather than cameras to continuously monitor residents, predicting unassisted bed or chair exits 30 to 65 seconds in advance while maintaining patient privacy.

Bears on: Setting and Specialty CoverageSource
Our read on this update →Tracked since Aug 2026
Alternatives

Alternatives to VirtuSense VSTOne

Vendors in the same categories as VirtuSense VSTOne whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Corsano Health, based in The Hague, makes the CardioWatch, a certified medical wrist wearable that measures up to 10 vital parameters continuously, including heart rate, respiratory rate…

Sickbay, from Medical Informatics Corp (MIC) in Houston, is a vendor neutral platform that captures physiologic data and waveforms from bedside monitors, ventilators and other devices…

care.ai makes virtual care and ambient monitoring software for hospital inpatient units.

Artisight sells a smart hospital platform built around one ceiling or wall mounted device that combines dual 4K cameras, a microphone array, radar, indoor positioning and an NVIDIA Jetson…

AvaSure makes virtual care technology for hospitals, and launched virtual sitting (TeleSitter) in 2009.

Biobeat sells wearable vital sign monitors and a cloud platform for hospitals, long term care and home programs.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published
Not published; one sensor device per room Not published Not published Vendor Published

No pricing is published at any level: no per sensor, per room or per bed cost, no subscription rate, no band and no implementation fee. The model is one device per room, so cost scales with rooms covered. The company's return on investment calculator says technology costs are included in its net estimate ($1.2 million a year for a 300 bed hospital at national average rates) but does not show the cost, and its reduction rates are the company's own unpublished deployment averages, presented as illustrative.

Ask for the per room price, whether virtual nursing, virtual sitting and the patient assistant are priced separately from fall and pressure injury monitoring, and how partial coverage of a unit is priced.