Ambient Scribes
U

Uncovr

Uncovr turns operating room video into the operative report and the procedural codes that follow it. Computer vision models read the live feed from laparoscopic, robotic or endoscopic procedures, segment the operation into steps and instrument events, and produce a draft operative report plus CPT codes before the surgeon leaves the room. Every code is presented with linked evidence: the passage of the report that supports it and the video timestamp it came from. The company positions against dictation based scribing explicitly, arguing that surgical video is the ground truth an operative report should be reconstructed from rather than a surgeon's memory hours later.

Founded in 2025 by Ines Iraki (chief executive), Johann Diep (chief technology officer, previously built autonomous tracking systems at the European Space Agency and ETH Zurich) and Professor Eric Vibert (medical co founder, Chief of Surgery at AP-HP). Offices in Paris and New York. A $7 million seed round led by Index Ventures was announced in June 2026, with Seedcamp, Frst, No Label Ventures and Entrepreneurs First participating, alongside angels including Digital Surgery founder Jean Nehme and Color Health chief executive Othman Laraki. The company reports a deployment pipeline exceeding 400 operating rooms across the United States and Europe, and says roughly a third of its team are surgeons.

Its published security position is a zero protected health information architecture with anonymization performed on the capture device before any processing, end to end encryption, retention on the customer's terms, and clinician review before every submission. No third party attestation covers any of it and no de identification error rate is published.

In June 2026 Uncovr and Moon Surgical announced the first 20 clinical cases of automated operative reporting on the Maestro platform at Institut Arnaud Tzanck in Nice, which the companies describe as the first third party artificial intelligence application deployed on that platform in clinical practice.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 14, 2026
Compare Uncovr with other vendors
Founded
2025
Headquarters
Paris, France
Website
uncovr.ai
Categories
ambient-scribes, autonomous-medical-coding
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

The computer vision models are the entire product. Uncovr reads raw operating room video, segments the procedure into steps, instruments and events, and derives both the operative narrative and the codes from that segmentation. There is no video management platform, archive or workflow tool underneath that would retain value without the models, and the company was founded around the vision capability rather than adding it to an existing product.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

A stated hard gate plus an unusually auditable output, held back by one unanswered question.

The gate: the vendor states output is clinician reviewed before every submission, so nothing files autonomously. The auditability is the standout. Every proposed code is presented with linked evidence, meaning the passage of the operative report that supports it and the timestamp in the footage it was derived from, shown in the product to the second. Anchoring a billing code to a moment of video is a stronger form of justification than a note that merely asserts the act occurred, because the reviewer can check the claim against the act rather than against the narrative.

The unanswered question is who reviews. Clinician reviewed before every submission does not say whether the reviewer is the operating surgeon who performed the case or a reviewer employed by the vendor, and those are entirely different oversight models carrying different accountability. The vendor markets expert judgment as a product property, stating that senior surgeons and expert medical coders ensure accuracy, which suggests a vendor-side review layer exists alongside whatever the customer does. Whether that layer supplements the operating surgeon's review or substitutes for it is the thing to establish, because only one of those leaves the person who performed the operation accountable for the record of it.

Also missing: any published rate at which the reviewer disagrees with the draft, any confidence threshold, and any statement of system behavior when the view is obscured, which is routine in laparoscopy and is precisely when a vision model's inference is least reliable.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

The product interface demonstrates what the system outputs, showing step segmentation with named instruments and procedural phases against a timeline, but the mechanism behind it is undescribed. No model is named, no architecture is given, there is no description of training data or how procedures were annotated, and no evaluation methodology or accuracy figure for the vision models is published. References to our models and our agents carry no further detail. The chief technology officer's background in autonomous tracking systems at the European Space Agency and ETH Zurich is credible provenance but it is not disclosure about this product.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

One architectural commitment bounds the chain and nothing names what is in it.

Anonymization is stated to run on the capture device before any processing occurs, so if it performs as described, whatever parties sit downstream receive content from which identifiers have already been removed rather than receiving identifiable operating room video and being trusted with it. Redaction preceding transmission is a structural protection rather than a promise, and for video it matters more than for text, because a frame cannot be selectively redacted after the fact the way a transcript can. End-to-end encryption and customer-controlled retention sit alongside it.

On enumeration there is nothing. The vendor names no model and no model family, describes no architecture, gives no training data source or annotation process for the vision models, publishes no hosting arrangement and publishes no subprocessor list. References to the company's models and agents carry no further detail, and a founder's background in autonomous tracking in another field is provenance rather than disclosure about this product.

The annotation question is particular to this product. Procedural step segmentation with named instruments implies a labeled corpus of real operations. Whose operations those were, under what consent, and whether customer cases feed it, is a supply chain question rather than a technical one, and the answer determines whether a hospital is a customer or also a contributor.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

Uncovr publishes denominators alongside its figures, which counts in its favor, and the trouble lies in what those figures measure. The company labels its foregut analysis with N equals 100 and cites an HCA Healthcare series at N equals 1,011. The problem is that the two numbers are of different kinds and appear under one heading reading real results.

The foregut figure, 16 percent of revenue lost to poor documentation and undercoding, is Uncovr's own deployment finding with no stated methodology, cohort definition or comparison arm. The HCA figure, 70 percent of recommended detail missing correlating with reoperation, readmission and surgical site infection rates, measures how poor operative reports are in general.

It characterizes the PROBLEM Uncovr addresses, not Uncovr's PERFORMANCE against it, and presenting the two together invites a reader to attribute both to the product. Beyond that: no peer reviewed publication, no accuracy or completeness measurement of Uncovr's own output against a reference standard, and the Moon Surgical deployment reports 20 cases. The company was founded in 2025, so a thin evidence base is expected rather than damning, but it is thin.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

A specific architectural position rather than a slogan, stated as four distinct commitments in the vendor's own security section: a zero protected health information architecture, on-device anonymization performed before any processing, end-to-end encryption, and retention on the customer's terms. If accurate, identifiable content never leaves the operating room, which addresses the central exposure of surgical video head on rather than managing it downstream.

Three things count against it.

Nothing is independently verified and no attestation covers any of it.

The number that matters most is absent. There is no published de-identification error rate, and a de-identification failure on operating room video discloses information of an unusually intimate kind. Surgical video can carry faces, tattoos, distinguishing anatomy and the voices and images of operating room staff, and nothing published states what the anonymization removes or how it was validated.

And the training-use question is not addressed at all. Nothing published states whether customer content, anonymized or otherwise, is used to train or improve the vendor's models. That question is sharp here: procedural step segmentation with named instruments implies a labeled corpus of real operations, the company's own investors describe it as building a valuable dataset for surgical artificial intelligence, and whether a customer's own cases become part of it is left open.

Retention on the customer's terms implies configurability rather than a stated window, so there is no fixed retention period to weigh either way.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

No statement of compliance with the United States health privacy rule, no business associate agreement availability or terms, no European data protection position, and no stated lawful basis or data protection contact is published. The privacy policy that exists covers the uncovr.ai website and the information collected from visitors to it, not the service that processes operating room video.

Health privacy law reaches this vendor unusually directly. Operating room video is among the most identifiable clinical material that exists. It records the patient's anatomy, and depending on camera placement can capture faces, wristbands, monitor displays, paperwork and staff. The operative report and procedure codes derived from it are unambiguously protected health information in a United States setting. This is not a vendor where the question can be scoped away.

Both regimes plausibly apply and neither is addressed. The company operates from Paris and New York, has a named deployment at a French hospital, and cites a United States hospital series in its materials.

One distinction is doing a great deal of work. The company states that anonymization runs on the capture device before any processing, so raw video is not uploaded. That is an architectural claim and a good one. It separately and prominently claims a zero protected health information architecture. Those are not the same claim. Anonymization describes what the software does; zero protected health information is a legal conclusion about what the resulting data is, and that conclusion depends on meeting a defined standard, either expert determination or removal of the enumerated identifiers under the United States rule, and true anonymization rather than pseudonymization under European rules. The company asserts both the architecture and the legal conclusion, and nothing published shows the anonymization has been tested against either standard.

Four questions remain open. Nothing published says what specifically the on device step removes, or whether anyone outside the company has assessed that against a recognized deidentification standard. It is not stated whether the company will execute a business associate agreement or which entity would sign it. No lawful basis or retention is stated for European processing. And for any French deployment, nothing says whether hosting sits with a certified health data host, which is a country specific requirement rather than a general European one and is frequently missed by companies entering that market from outside it.

CC on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are described with an outside check behind them, such as independent penetration testing on a stated cadence, but no attestation against a recognized framework. A certification that tests the software security features rather than the vendor operations, such as federal health IT certification, is an outside check of this kind.
Vendor Published

The security section is headed enterprise-grade security and controls. The phrase is a marketing adjective rather than an assessment anyone performed, a heading rather than the substance.

What sits under it is better than the heading. Five specific commitments are listed: a zero protected health information architecture, on-device anonymization before any processing, end-to-end encryption, clinician review before every submission, and retention on the customer's terms. Those are concrete enough to be asked about and, in principle, to be contradicted.

What is entirely absent is any third-party assurance. No SOC 2 report of either type, no HITRUST certification, no ISO 27001, no penetration test summary, no trust center and no documented route to request any of it appears anywhere on the vendor's site. The published legal material is a website privacy policy, terms and a cookie notice.

The result is controls described with nothing independent behind them. A health system security review will ask for an attestation and there is none to point at, which for a company founded in 2025 is expected rather than damning, but it is what a counterparty can verify today.

What the product handles makes the gap sharper. Operating room video carries direct identifiers that audio and text do not: anatomy, faces, wristbands, monitor displays and paperwork can all sit in frame. The central claim about it, that anonymization removes identifiers before anything leaves the room, is exactly the kind of claim an independent assessment exists to test, and it is the one claim the whole architecture rests on.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No device authorization and none apparently required, since generating documentation and proposing codes are not clinical determinations about a patient. The live regulatory surface is different and unaddressed. In the United States, procedural coding sits under False Claims Act exposure, and a product whose headline value is recovering revenue from previously unbilled steps places that exposure squarely on the customer.

The video linked evidence is a strong answer to that risk, but no compliance position, coding audit methodology or documented regulatory analysis is published. For the French entity, any drift from documentation into clinical claims would raise EU medical device questions; nothing indicates such a claim is being made.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

The vendor publishes no fairness, subgroup or performance variation disclosure, and no account of how the vision models are evaluated or monitored.

The larger issue here is the revenue gradient, and this product sits in an unusual position on it that cuts both ways.

Most documentation and coding products infer what was done from what was written, which is why upcoding risk is intrinsic to the category: the evidence for a code is a sentence someone can be encouraged to write. This product inverts that. It proposes a code and attaches the timestamp in the footage where the act occurs. An evidentially grounded justification for an additional code is a real defense rather than a marketing line, and it is the strongest structural answer to coding-intensity risk a documentation product can offer.

Against it: the product is marketed heavily on recovery, with revenue-lost framing, a revenue cycle audience, and revenue recovery among its named uses. A model optimized to surface billable steps carries an incentive gradient regardless of how good its evidence is, and video does not settle whether footage supports a given code, which remains a coding and clinical judgment.

A second governance question follows from what the system produces as a by-product. Timestamped, step-level data attached to named surgeons is precisely the substrate for comparative performance analysis, and nothing published states whether it will be used that way, by whom, or with what risk adjustment. Unadjusted surgeon comparison penalizes whoever operates on the hardest cases, and the people it would measure are not the people buying it.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Two mechanisms for challenging an output are published and demonstrated rather than asserted.

Every proposed code is presented with linked evidence: the passage of the operative report supporting it and the timestamp in the video it was derived from. The product interface shows this working, with a code, a modifier, the supporting sentence and a timestamp to the second. A disputed code can therefore be taken back to the footage of the act it claims to describe. The vendor also states that output is clinician reviewed before every submission, so nothing files autonomously.

Nothing stands behind the output. No accuracy figure or error rate for the vision models is published, no limitations are stated, and no warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment exists.

The absent number is a specific one and it carries more weight here than a general accuracy figure would. The product rests on a zero protected health information architecture with anonymization performed on device before any processing, and no de-identification error rate is published. That is the number the whole claim depends on, because anonymization is a model making judgments and models make mistakes. Zero protected health information is a design intent until a failure rate is attached to it.

The consequences of that failure are unusually severe in this setting. Operating room video can carry faces, tattoos, distinguishing anatomy and the surgical site itself, and a de-identification miss discloses information of an intimate kind that cannot be retracted once seen.

It also creates a category of affected person who is usually left out entirely. Operating room staff are recorded continuously, by image and potentially by voice, throughout every procedure. They are not patients, they hold no privacy right in the clinical sense, they may have had no say in the system's adoption, and they have no relationship with the vendor and no route to raise anything.

What the anonymization covers, how it was validated and at what error rate, what happens to staff voices and images, and what the vendor commits to when a deidentification fails all go unstated.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

Strong on the side that captures data, undocumented on the side that has to receive it.

The capture side is real and demonstrated. The vendor states it connects to any operating room video source across laparoscopic, robotic and other devices, and it has a named platform integration: in June 2026 it became the first third-party application running on a surgical robotics platform in clinical practice, generating operative reports across an initial series at a named French hospital. That is device layer interoperability, and it is harder to achieve than a documentation integration because it requires a regulated platform vendor to open its architecture.

The output side is where the gap sits. This product's deliverables are an operative report and a set of procedure codes, and both have to reach the electronic health record and the billing system to be worth anything. No record system is named, no interface standard or write back path is described, no reference integration is cited, and the site's own question about integrating with existing hospital systems carries no visible answer.

That asymmetry has a practical consequence. A report generated before the surgeon leaves the room saves nothing if it then waits to be copied into the chart by hand, and the coding benefit depends on codes reaching the claim. The capture integration is the impressive half and the transfer half is the half that determines whether the time saving survives.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

The architecture forces a statement here: anonymization runs on device before any processing, so the first stage of the pipeline is edge compute inside the operating room rather than a cloud upload of raw video. The company also states that customer data is retained on the customer's terms, which implies configurable retention rather than a fixed vendor policy.

What is not published: where post anonymization processing occurs, which cloud or region, tenancy model, and whether European and United States customers are served from separate infrastructure, which matters for a company operating from Paris and New York with customers in both markets.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price, tier or pricing unit is published, and every route into the product ends at a booked demo.

The unit question is unusually consequential here because the product's stated value is expressed in recovered revenue. Pricing per operating room, per procedure, per surgeon, or as a share of recovered reimbursement produce very different incentive structures, and the last of those would tie the vendor's compensation directly to coding intensity. A system that proposes billable steps, sold on a percentage of what those steps recover, aligns the vendor's revenue with the aggressiveness of its own suggestions.

That is not an accusation. It is the single term that most changes what the product is, and it is invisible from outside.

Whether any fee component varies with codes captured, claims value or revenue recovered is not published. Nor is anything said about what would govern the coding judgment independently of the vendor in that case, or who would audit it.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Scoped to procedures that generate video, which is the natural boundary: laparoscopic, robotic and endoscopic surgery. Within that the reach is real, with a stated deployment pipeline above 400 operating rooms across the United States and Europe and thousands of hours of surgical video analyzed.

Breadth across every surgical specialty is claimed but the evidence concentrates in one area: the published study is foregut surgery, and the named surgeon advocates are foregut, hepatopancreatobiliary, minimally invasive and robotic specialists. That is a coherent beachhead rather than a weakness, but nothing published shows what has been validated in orthopedics, gynecology or cardiothoracic surgery. Open surgery, which generates no scope video, is outside the model entirely.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Uncovr

Vendors in the same categories as Uncovr whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

QiiQ Healthcare, pronounced quick, is a Vancouver company whose scribe is built specifically for the emergency department rather than adapted to it.

Suki pairs ambient documentation with a voice command layer over the EHR.

Aesthetics360 builds a multi agent AI platform for elective care, covering aesthetics, plastics and venous medicine, in which A360 Scribe is described as the sensory layer feeding A360…

Matic, Inc., formerly branded Scribematic, positions itself as an AI native clinical intelligence platform rather than a scribe, with the ambient documentation product Scribematic as its…

Ambient scribe for home health clinicians, built around the OASIS assessment and the routine visit note, with much of the work happening before and during the visit rather than after it.

Onpoint Healthcare Partners sells the Iris Medical Agent AI platform, which pairs AI agents with a human review workforce to take over charting, coding and follow up work for medical groups…

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published
Not disclosed. No price, tier or unit is published. All commercial inquiry routes through a booked demo. Not published. No HIPAA or business associate agreement position is stated, and no GDPR posture is published either, despite the company operating from both Paris and New York with customers in both markets. Not published. The product requires connection to operating room video sources and on device processing hardware in theater, neither of which is costed publicly. No integration, hardware, installation or training fee is disclosed, and no typical deployment timeline is given. Vendor Published

Nothing quantitative is published and the pricing unit matters more here than in most of this index. The product's stated value is expressed as recovered reimbursement, roughly 16 percent of revenue in the published foregut analysis, which makes a share of recovery model commercially natural and governance problematic: it would tie the vendor's compensation directly to coding intensity on a product whose function is proposing additional codes.

Establish in writing whether the fee is per operating room, per procedure, per surgeon or contingent on codes captured or claims value, per this index's standing contingent pricing check. Two further questions specific to this product. Whether clinician review before submission is performed by the customer's own surgeons or by reviewers Uncovr employs, because if the latter, expert surgeon and coder review is a service cost embedded in the price and should be priced and scoped as such. And whether the Moon Surgical Maestro deployment route carries separate terms from a direct hospital agreement.