Clinical Trials AI
S

Sorcero

Washington, DC company whose AI and data platform serves the medical side of life sciences: medical affairs, scientific communications and pharmacovigilance. The Sorcero Intelligence Platform draws on a pool of more than 265 million publications, trials and congress abstracts alongside a customer's CRM records, medical inquiries and safety cases, using retrieval-grounded agents with a hallucination grading step and citations to source.

Sorcero Medical covers field medical insights, congress and publication intelligence and, from the Fall 2026 release, a Medical Strategy solution and the Wizard conversational assistant in beta; Sorcero SciComms generates manuscripts, posters and plain language summaries; Sorcero Safety, built with Springer Nature, monitors literature for adverse events. Medical device vigilance came with the 2025 acquisition of Axiom Health. The platform is hosted on Google Cloud and sold as software with high-touch services.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 29, 2026
Compare Sorcero with other vendors
Founded
—
Headquarters
Washington, District of Columbia
Website
www.sorcero.com
Categories
clinical-trials-ai
Indexed Products
Sorcero Intelligence Platform, Sorcero Medical, Sorcero SciComms, Sorcero Safety, Sorcero Wizard (beta)
Buyer Segments
Pharma / Life Sciences
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Vendor Published

The models are the engine of the core modules, inside a platform and services offering that carries some value without them. Literature monitoring for safety, insight synthesis across publications and congress material, and scientific content generation run on the company's retrieval and agent framework and do not exist without it.

Around them the company sells insight capture (including an iPad app for field medical teams), CRM and medical inquiry ingestion and harmonization, Kanban review and escalation workflows, dashboards, and high-touch services from Insights Leads and Deployment Strategists; the capture and workflow tools would still work without the models.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

A human checkpoint is described for insights; what catches a miss is not. Teams review, refine and approve generated insights on shared boards before escalating them to medical directors, with an audit trail, and every insight cites its source so a reviewer can check the basis. Within the pipeline, agents are described as orchestrating workflows autonomously and checking their own work through a grading agent, which is an internal control rather than independent review.

The Wizard assistant, entering beta, adds prohibited-intent guardrails. In safety surveillance the error that matters is the article never surfaced, and reviewing a worklist cannot reveal an absence; no sampling, back-testing or independent review of misses is described.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The approach is named in detail; the models are not. The company describes retrieval-augmented generation over a pool of more than 265 million publications, trials and congress abstracts used as a semantic layer, grounding in biomedical ontologies, and a proprietary agent framework with named agents (Scientific Data Retrieval Agent, Summary Generator, Hallucination Grading Agent) using ReAct-style reasoning.

The Wizard assistant is described as a conversational layer over leading third-party models, which are not named. Which models run which step, whether any are fine-tuned, and how versions are managed in a platform the company calls GxP compliant are not published.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

The host and the content partner are named; the model layer is not. The platform is hosted on Google Cloud Platform, and the safety product's literature comes from Springer Nature, developed with that publisher. The Wizard assistant runs over third party models the company does not name, and there is no subprocessor list on the open site, though the trust center at trust.sorcero.com may hold one.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Peer Reviewed Publication

One peer reviewed study with a named customer, and vendor figures for the rest. McMinn and colleagues (JAMIA Open, 2025; Sorcero first author with UCB and Lumanity) ran three studies of the company's plain language summary process: AI drafts read more easily across standard metrics (48 abstracts), cut medical writers' drafting time by more than 40 percent (10 writers), were rated higher in quality by subject matter experts, and were preferred by physicians for patient use.

The other products rest on company figures without method: more than 96 percent accuracy, more than 72 percent less analysis time, and use at a third or more of the top 30 pharmaceutical companies. Analyst and partner recognition (CB Insights, Google Cloud Partner of the Year) is not outcome evidence.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

A training commitment is published; retention is open-ended. The privacy policy says the company does not use customer content to train AI models made available to other customers, except as agreed in a data processing agreement or needed to provide the service; that personal data is held on servers in the United States under the Data Privacy Framework; and that information is kept as long as needed to provide the service.

Role-based access controls by team and region and prohibited-intent guardrails limit what users can ask and see. The data is sensitive in a different way from patient records: safety cases, medical inquiries, CRM interactions and profiles of identifiable clinicians built from publications and congress activity. Nothing is published on how a safety event in the AI itself is handled beyond the grading and guardrails.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

A substantive privacy policy reaches the service; no HIPAA position is taken. The privacy policy covers personal data processed through the service, the Data Privacy Framework certification, onward transfer terms and an AI training commitment, and says nothing about business associate status or whether the service handles protected health information.

The material is mostly literature, congress content, CRM and medical inquiry records and safety cases received by pharmaceutical companies, where pharmacovigilance and data protection law usually govern rather than HIPAA; but safety cases and inquiries can carry patient details, and a statement from the company would settle it. Clinicians profiled from publications and interactions are identifiable people under European and UK law.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

A recognized attestation is named in the company's own material, and its report is offered through a trust center. The procurement information page says a trust center at trust.sorcero.com gives procurement and security teams on-demand access to the SOC 2 Type II report, penetration test results and GxP and GDPR information, and the Fall 2026 release says SOC 2 Type II, GxP, GPP, Part 11 and GDPR compliance are independently audited. The platform page says its security architecture is certified under USDM Cloud Assurance.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No device claim is made, and the products are scoped to medical affairs and pharmacovigilance work, with the governing rules named. The company says the platform is SOC 2 Type II audited and compliant with GxP, good pharmacovigilance and good publication practice, 21 CFR Part 11 and GDPR, and describes audit trails for every insight; the safety product is positioned for literature monitoring that feeds individual case safety reports under FDA and European requirements.

These are the company's statements: no validation summary or qualification package is published, and whether the validated state covers the medical affairs modules and the agents added later is not stated.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

The controls are described and none is measured. The company describes retrieval grounded in its literature pool and biomedical ontologies, a Hallucination Grading Agent that checks every output against source text, citations to the original sentence, compliance guardrails and prohibited-intent detection in the Wizard assistant, and regular expert-led health checks. It claims near-zero hallucinations and more than 96 percent accuracy without a denominator, reference set or method.

For the safety product the omission that matters is recall: the company speaks of precision in finding literature likely to trigger an individual case safety report, but an article that should have triggered a report and was missed becomes a missed reporting obligation, and a miss leaves no trace for a reviewer. Nothing is published on performance across languages, sources or therapeutic areas.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Every output can be checked against its source; nothing stands behind it. Each insight links to the original sentence in the source document, all outputs are graded against source text, teams review and approve insights on shared boards before escalation, and the company describes full audit trails. The accuracy figures (more than 96 percent; near-zero hallucinations) have no published method.

A peer reviewed study the company led with UCB (JAMIA Open, 2025) found its plain language summary drafts saved medical writers more than 40 percent of drafting time and were rated higher by subject matter experts, which is a quality comparison rather than an error rate. A customer quote the company publishes describes the working pattern: an answer in two minutes, then thirty minutes checking references. No warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment is published.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

No clinical record integration; the safety systems it reads are named. The systems that matter are the ones its buyers run. Sorcero Safety lists internal sources including safety databases (Oracle Argus, ArisGlobal ArisG and Veeva Safety), clinical reports, lab results and patient registries, alongside Springer Nature literature and more than 50 global and local sources. The medical products ingest CRM records and medical inquiry logs, with no CRM system named. No interface documentation or production reference for a named connection is published.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

Hosting and residency are stated; isolation and the model path are open. The procurement page says the platform is hosted on Google Cloud Platform, and the privacy policy says data submitted through the service is stored and processed on servers in the United States where the central database is operated, with EU and Swiss transfers under the Data Privacy Framework. The platform page describes a multi-tenant cloud environment with role-based access by team and region. Where the Wizard assistant's third-party models run, and whether the retrieval index and inference stay within the same boundary as stored data, are not stated.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price is published, and how to buy is discoverable. The procurement information page lists purchase through Google Cloud Marketplace, standard procurement networks (Ariba, Coupa, Jaggaer) and, for public sector and academic buyers, the NIH STRIDES program via Carahsoft.

The company pairs the platform with high-touch services from Insights Leads and Deployment Strategists, so an engagement is software plus services; Medical, SciComms and Safety are separate product suites on one platform.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Coverage is named and validated for part of it. The platform serves the medical side of life sciences: field medical, medical strategy and impact, medical information, publications and scientific communications, pharmacovigilance literature monitoring and safety insights, and medical device vigilance through the Axiom Health acquisition. None of it runs clinical trials; trials appear only as a data source and as plain language trial summaries. Peer reviewed support covers the plain language summary process; the other products rest on company figures.

Tracked Since Listing

Product updates

Material product, regulatory, evidence and commercial changes at Sorcero, each verified against a live source and tagged to the capability axis it bears on. Funding rounds and awards are not product changes and are not logged.

Sep 15, 2026Product / capability

Sorcero's Fall 2026 release adds purpose built AI solutions for field medical, medical communications, and therapeutic leadership and launch teams, plus a Medical Strategy solution for tracking scientific resonance. It also introduces Sorcero Wizard, a conversational layer for working with the data, and analytics views that show data ingestion and intelligence generation in real time.

Bears on: AI CentralitySource
Our read on this update →Tracked since Sep 2026
Alternatives

Alternatives to Sorcero

Vendors in the same categories as Sorcero whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Clinical trial platform that embeds patient identification, eSource and data capture inside provider organizations so trials can run in routine care, paired with its own recruitment…

New York clinical trial software company, a Dassault Systemes brand, whose platform is anchored by Rave data capture and used across tens of thousands of trials.

Truveta is owned by 30 US health systems that contribute de-identified health records every day to a shared research dataset.

Pleasanton, California provider of Vault, the cloud platform life sciences companies use across clinical, regulatory, safety, quality, medical and commercial work, with more than 1,500 customers.

CluePoints provides clinical trial data quality and oversight software for pharmaceutical sponsors and contract research organizations.

Palo Alto company whose clinical trial platform runs electronic outcome assessment, electronic consent, televisit and participant apps for decentralized, hybrid and site based studies, now…

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Contact the vendor
Enterprise life sciences agreements; platform plus high-touch services — — Vendor Published

No rate card published. Enterprise agreements with pharmaceutical, biotech, and medical device organizations. The company is explicit that the platform is paired with high touch services including Insights Leads and Deployment Strategists, describing the model as SaaS enabled strategic transformation, so this is not a pure license purchase.

Establish the platform and services split, since services typically drive adoption in medical affairs deployments but also carry the variable cost, and scope by team as well: Medical, Safety, Publications, and MedTech are separate solution lines on one platform.