Remote Monitoring & Chronic Care
S

Samay

Respiratory diagnostics company developing Sylvee, a chest worn wearable that projects low frequency sound into the lungs and analyzes the returning resonance with machine learning to measure lung volumes, trapped air, respiratory rate and breathing sounds, positioned for early COPD detection, continuous home monitoring of COPD and small airway disease, and endpoint capture in pharmaceutical trials. A company led 2025 study reported a COPD classifier (using the device signal with age, sex and race) validated on 66 subjects at 81 percent sensitivity and 83 percent specificity against pulmonary function tests. The device is in development and not FDA cleared, so current use is research and trial endpoint capture; the company has NIH small business funding.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 27, 2026
Compare Samay with other vendors
Founded
2018
Headquarters
Mountain View, California, United States
Categories
remote-monitoring, diagnostics-and-genomics, clinical-trials-ai
Indexed Products
Sylvee
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

The measurement does not exist without the model. Sylvee, which the company describes as an AI wearable that monitors lung function at home (pulmonary volumes, trapped air, respiratory rate and breathing sounds) for early COPD detection, projects low frequency sound into the chest and reads the returning resonance, and a machine learning model turns that acoustic signal into lung structure and function measures and, in the company's 2025 published classifier, into a COPD diagnosis.

Unlike spirometry, which yields a directly interpretable measurement, the resonance signal means nothing clinically until the model interprets it, so the algorithm is the instrument and removing it leaves nothing to sell.

CC on Autonomy and Oversight ModelAutonomy is claimed and oversight is asserted without a mechanism. Human in the loop appears as a phrase rather than a described control.
Vendor Published

Clinician review is asserted and no mechanism is described. Results are surfaced through a companion app and a research portal for pulmonologists and primary care physicians to review, and the stated intent is to let clinicians intervene early rather than to automate a decision. Because the device is in development and not cleared, its output today sits in a research or monitoring context.

Nothing published describes alert thresholds for detected deterioration, who receives an abnormal reading and how quickly, or what happens when a reading is missed, which is the core question for a device positioned for continuous home monitoring.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

The physical method is described in detail and the model in general terms. The company describes active acoustic resonance, a patented approach of projecting low frequency sound into the chest and reading the returning signal, combined with connected sensors, digital signal processing and machine learning.

Its 2025 abstract describes a classifier taking Sylvee data with age, sex and race, trained on 152 subjects and validated on 66, without naming the model type, the features extracted from the signal or the device version. No versioning or update practice is published, so a study sponsor cannot tell whether the model changed between visits.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

Samay names no outside party in the architecture it describes. Data moves from the chest worn device to a companion app on the participant's own phone or tablet, then to a research portal and backend that share metrics with care teams, and the classifier described in the company's 2025 abstract was built by Samay's own staff, so no third party model provider appears in the published material. No hosting provider, subprocessor list or app infrastructure provider is named elsewhere either. Privacy terms on the site might name recipients. The acoustic data makes the chain matter, since it is not stated whether raw audio leaves the device or which parties receive it if so.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Vendor Published

The evidence is published research short of independent validation. The company's 2025 abstract in the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine reports a COPD classifier on 218 subjects (107 COPD, 111 healthy, mean age 62), validated on 66 held out subjects: area under the curve 0.93, sensitivity 81 percent, specificity 83 percent against conventional pulmonary function tests.

An earlier study of 110 patients with a Florida pulmonary institute across COPD, asthma and healthy controls, also presented as an abstract, reported air trapping detection at 83 percent accuracy and COPD diagnosis at 90 percent against hospital pulmonary function tests, and the company has NIH small business support. Both are company led, conference abstracts rather than full papers, modest in size and on prototype or development devices, with no external validation cohort. The headline claim, early COPD detection that could replace effort dependent spirometry, needs larger, independent and prospective work to stand on.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

The company's published abstracts and announcements carry no retention, training use or deidentification statement, though the privacy terms on its website may address them. The question specific to this device is audio. Sylvee projects sound into the chest and reads the returning resonance with speakers and microphones, is worn taped to the chest for continuous home use, and the company lists breathing sounds among its metrics.

A body worn microphone at home sits inches from the wearer's larynx and in the same room as the rest of the household. Whether that matters turns on where the signal is processed and what is kept: resonance features extracted on the device with the waveform discarded raise little, while raw audio streamed or stored for later analysis raises a great deal, including for people in the room who consented to nothing. No safety engineering is published.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here. A vendor whose product does not process protected health information grades here too when it says so plainly and explains the scope, with a service privacy document behind it: stating a position a buyer can rely on is the posture this axis grades, and the band above is closed to it because there is no agreement to publish.
Vendor Published

The company publishes no HIPAA or business associate statement, and a privacy policy on the website is where one would most likely appear. The engagements described are research studies and endpoint capture for pharmaceutical trials, where the study protocol, institutional review board approval and the participant's informed consent govern and the sponsor or site holds the relationship with the participant; on that reading a vendor business associate agreement would not be the operative document, but that is an inference from the stage, and the company has not stated a scope position.

The boundary matters because the company's stated aim, continuous home monitoring for COPD, is care rather than research, and at that point the vendor would be handling identifiable health information on a provider's behalf.

CC on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are described with an outside check behind them, such as independent penetration testing on a stated cadence, but no attestation against a recognized framework. A certification that tests the software security features rather than the vendor operations, such as federal health IT certification, is an outside check of this kind.
Vendor Published

There is no SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001 or other attestation in the published material, unless the website carries a security page with one. The attack surface is broader than a software product's: a wireless body worn sensor paired with a consumer phone or tablet, a companion app on a device the company does not control, and a backend holding continuous physiological data for a clinically vulnerable population.

The company has appeared in at least one consortium listing under a different corporate name with the same founder and device, so an attestation could sit under either name. A pharmaceutical sponsor placing the device in a decentralized trial will require most of this contractually.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No FDA clearance is held: FDA's 510(k) database lists no clearance with Samay as applicant, and the company's own abstracts describe it as developing the wearable to facilitate COPD diagnosis. A device that measures lung function and diagnoses COPD sits within device regulation, so until it is cleared its use is confined to research, clinical trial endpoint capture and investigational monitoring, and every published accuracy figure is investigational.

The company's site describes Sylvee as an AI wearable that monitors lung function at home for early COPD detection; whether the investigational status appears beside that description is not clear. NIH small business funding is research support, not regulatory standing.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

The company has published an aggregate evaluation and nothing by group, for a model that takes race as an input. Its 2025 abstract in the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine ("Diagnosing COPD With Sylvee", led by Samay staff with academic coauthors) describes a classifier built on Sylvee data and demographic information, specifically age, sex and race, trained on 70 percent of 218 subjects (107 with COPD, 111 healthy) and validated on the remaining 66, with no results by race, sex, age or body habitus.

Pulmonary function interpretation has moved away from race specific reference equations after finding they normalized worse measured lung function in some populations and delayed diagnosis, so a device positioned to replace spirometry that uses race as a model input needs its reason stated and its performance shown by group; neither is published. The split is described by subject counts, and the abstract does not say whether it was made by participant or by recording. No external validation cohort and no governance or model update policy is published.

BB on AI Liability and RecourseA published falsifiable commitment, or a real correction route the affected person can exercise against the vendor. A published error rate with its method and denominator grades here. A statutory right that runs to the covered entity rather than to the vendor does not reach this band on its own: every other route here asks something of the vendor, and being located in a particular jurisdiction is not conduct.
Vendor Published

The company has published an error rate for the product's diagnostic output with its method and denominator. Its 2025 abstract in the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine, whose corresponding author is at Samay, reports a machine learning classifier using Sylvee data with age, sex and race, trained on 152 of 218 subjects and validated on 66: area under the curve 0.93, sensitivity 81 percent and specificity 83 percent, with 25 of 31 COPD patients and 29 of 35 healthy individuals correctly classified (6 false negatives, 6 false positives) against conventional pulmonary function tests.

That is a result on a small internal validation set of a device the company describes in development terms, not performance in use, and it covers COPD versus healthy classification only, not the lung volume, trapped air or exacerbation monitoring outputs. No warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment is published, and nothing says how the device behaves on a poor signal.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

What is described is a study architecture: the chest worn device, a paired mobile app and a research portal that moves signal from a participant to a research team. The company's abstracts and announcements describe no record system integration, standard or named deployment; an integration statement could still appear on its website.

For research use a portal is the relevant data path; for the continuous home monitoring the company intends, readings a clinician acts on belong in the record with provenance, timing and device identification, and the alerting question applies: who receives an abnormal reading, how fast, and what happens if nobody does.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

The deployment surface is described and the hosting is not. Sylvee pairs wirelessly with the participant's own phone or tablet, a companion app handles signal analysis, and a research portal and backend carry respiratory metrics to care teams; the first two parts sit on hardware the company does not own.

Nothing published states where the backend runs, in which region, whether study data is kept separate per sponsor or site, or whether analysis happens on the phone, in the cloud or across both, which decides what leaves the participant's home. The website itself may say where the service is hosted. For decentralized trials, residency, sponsor separation and the chain of custody from sensor to case report form are regulated concerns.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price is published, and the intended routes to market are discoverable: the company names three commercial contexts, early detection in primary care, continuous home monitoring, and high frequency endpoint capture in pharmaceutical clinical trials. Because the device is in development and not cleared, research studies and trial endpoint capture are the uses open to it now, and reimbursed clinical monitoring is not. No rate, study pricing or device cost is published.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Coverage is named and part of it is validated. The scope is respiratory, specifically COPD and small airway disease, across three intended settings: early detection in primary care, continuous home monitoring, and endpoint capture in pharmaceutical trials.

Validation stands behind the diagnostic use in a clinical setting: company led studies classified COPD against pulmonary function tests in 218 subjects (COPD and healthy controls) and in 110 patients at a Florida pulmonary institute (COPD, asthma and controls). Nothing published validates continuous home monitoring or trial endpoint use, and asthma and small airway disease have no separate results.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Samay

Vendors in the same categories as Samay whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Octagos makes a cardiac remote monitoring platform for device clinics that pairs an AI first read of incoming transmissions with review by certified specialists, which the company brands…

Current Health gives health systems, community oncology practices and drug makers the monitoring and nursing infrastructure to deliver CAR T cell therapy, bispecific antibodies and other…

Sage provides software and connected devices for senior living and skilled nursing teams.

Sword Health, which now presents itself as Sword at sword.com (swordhealth.com forwards there), sells an AI care platform to self insured employers, health plans and unions, and is indexed…

Delfina combines maternal health software with remote monitoring and support for pregnant and postpartum patients.

Clinician led transitional care for the high risk period after hospital discharge, offered to health systems and payors as a clinical service line and billed as a medical practice through…

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Contact the vendor
Undisclosed. Three intended commercial contexts are named: primary care early detection, home monitoring, and pharmaceutical trial endpoint capture. Not disclosed. Not disclosed. Vendor Published

Regulatory status constrains commercial availability more than price does. The device is in development and not FDA cleared, so the open routes are research studies and pharmaceutical clinical trial endpoint capture rather than reimbursed clinical use. No device, study or monitoring price is published.