Ambient Scribes
R

RevMaxx

RevMaxx is an ambient scribe aimed at practices that want documentation and coding handled together, generating structured SOAP notes with ICD-10, CPT and HCC codes and surfacing RAF score calculations from the conditions captured. Its workflow is described with an explicit gate: the note is generated, the clinician reviews, edits and signs, and only then does it update the chart.

Integration runs through a mix of API, robotic process automation and a lightweight Chrome extension across sixteen named systems each carrying its own published integration page, including Epic, Cerner, Meditech, eClinicalWorks, athenahealth, NextGen, Veradigm, Tebra, AdvancedMD and, unusually, PointClickCare, which puts it in skilled nursing and long term care where almost no ambient scribe operates.

Pricing is published as a full ladder rather than a single figure: a free trial with five notes, then $39, $79 and $199 per provider per month, each tier carrying a note count or conversation-minute allowance, so the effective cost tracks volume rather than headcount alone. The company operates a documentation platform alongside revenue cycle, front desk, contact center and behavioral health chart audit products, which is worth knowing because encounter content potentially reaches coding models as well as transcription ones.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 14, 2026
Compare RevMaxx with other vendors
Founded
—
Headquarters
Tampa, Florida, United States
Website
www.revmaxx.co/
Categories
ambient-scribes
Indexed Products
AI Medical Scribe, AI RCM Automation, AI Front Desk, AI Contact Center, Behavioral Health Chart Audit
Buyer Segments
Independent Practice, Medical Group, Skilled Nursing Facility
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

Ambient capture, structured note generation and code assignment are the whole product, with no services layer or adjacent business underneath.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

The review gate is described explicitly and in the right order: the system generates a structured note with codes, the clinician reviews and edits it, the clinician signs off, and only after approval does the note update the correct patient record in the EHR. Making approval the precondition for the write rather than filing pending review is the safer ordering. No acceptance rate, edit burden figure or confidence threshold is published, and codes are generated alongside the note rather than being separately confirmed.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

No accuracy figure, model card, named models or evaluation methodology is published. The headline performance claim, automating up to 95 percent of clinical documentation, uses the up to construction that is satisfied by any result at all and cannot be falsified. The pipeline is described mechanically enough, machine learning and natural language processing identifying clinical context and placing content into note sections, but nothing is measured.

DD on Model Supply Chain DisclosureNothing establishes who else sits between a patient record and an answer.
Vendor Published

Nothing identifies any party in the chain: no model or model family, no foundation model provider, no hosting arrangement and no subprocessor list is published. The business associate agreement names none of them either, though it does require any subcontractor touching protected health information to be bound in writing to the same terms. So subcontractors are contemplated and contractually controlled, and who they are is not disclosed.

The agreement discloses a use rather than a party, and it is the most concrete thing published here. The vendor may de identify protected health information under 45 CFR 164.514 and use or disclose the de identified result for analytics, research or service improvement. Whether service improvement includes training a model is not stated.

Two marketing statements stand in for disclosure and both carry qualifiers that return the judgment to the vendor. Clinical information is said never to be stored or shared without permission, which describes a permission gate rather than a boundary. Identities are said to be protected when artificial intelligence is used, with no mechanism, scope or pipeline position given.

The product range widens what the question covers. The company operates a documentation platform and a revenue cycle platform alongside contact center and chart audit products, so encounter content potentially feeds coding models as well as transcription ones. Those are different chains, with different parties and different consequences when wrong, and nothing addresses either.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

Published evidence is absent: no study, controlled evaluation, accuracy benchmark, third party rating or named health system outcome data. Nearly all discoverable material about this vendor, including its comparisons against named competitors, is published on the vendor's own site. It amounts to product claims rather than market assessment.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

The core disclosures on patient data are absent, and two of the statements standing in for them contain qualifiers that shift the judgment to the vendor.

There is no retention schedule, no deletion commitment with a stated period, and no statement on whether customer audio or transcripts are used to train or improve models. Encrypted processing under the health privacy rule is asserted throughout.

The first qualifier is in a retention claim. The vendor states that clinical information is never stored or shared without your permission. That is not a statement that information is not stored. It is a statement that storage and sharing happen with permission, which leaves entirely open what permission was granted, where it was granted, and whether a clinician clicking through terms at signup has already given it. Nothing published shows what the terms actually permit, so the marketing sentence is not a commitment.

The second is in a de identification claim. The vendor states that when AI is used, patient identities are protected so personal details are never exposed. No mechanism is described, no scope is given, and it is not stated at what point in the pipeline this happens or what is removed. De identification applied before a model call is a meaningful control; a general assurance that identities are protected is not the same thing and cannot be relied on as one.

The training question matters more here than for a narrower product, because this vendor operates both a documentation platform and a revenue cycle platform. Encounter content used to improve coding models is a different proposition from encounter content used to improve transcription, and neither is addressed.

Regulatory and Compliance
AA on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated, the agreement is available to read before contracting, the tier it applies at is clear, and the agreement discloses that it binds subcontractors who handle protected health information. Which parties those subcontractors are is graded on Model Supply Chain Disclosure and is not counted again here. Where any of the four cannot be verified from published material, the grade is the band below.
Vendor Published

The full business associate agreement is published on the vendor's own site and can be read without an account, a request or a sales conversation.

Status, availability, tier and subcontractors are all addressed in the document. Business associate status is stated outright, with Revmaxx LLC named as Business Associate. The agreement is available in full. The tier is as broad as it can be: it takes effect on acceptance of a checkbox during account registration, so every account holder is covered automatically, with no enterprise gate and nothing to negotiate. And subcontractors are expressly bound, with any subcontractor accessing protected health information required to agree in writing to the same restrictions and conditions.

Three substantive terms stand out.

The agreement grants a secondary use right. The vendor may de identify protected health information under 45 CFR 164.514 and then use or disclose that de identified data for analytics, research or service improvement, granted by the same checkbox. That answers a question the marketing leaves open: the assurance that information is never stored or shared without permission is accurate, and the permission was supplied at registration.

Breach notification is stated twice and the two statements differ. One clause sets ten business days from discovery, another sets ten days. Nothing says which governs, and a covered entity's own notification clock runs from the same discovery.

The agreement confers no rights on third parties, which is ordinary drafting and means the patient is not a party to it.

CC on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are described with an outside check behind them, such as independent penetration testing on a stated cadence, but no attestation against a recognized framework. A certification that tests the software security features rather than the vendor operations, such as federal health IT certification, is an outside check of this kind.
Vendor Published

The vendor shows no SOC 2 report of either type, no HITRUST certification, no ISO 27001, no penetration testing statement and no trust center.

What stands in their place is an unusually dense cluster of phrases that sound like standards and are not. Across the vendor's material the security posture is described as enterprise grade, as running on healthcare grade servers, and as following the highest health privacy and record system data protection standards. None of those is a standard. Enterprise grade and healthcare grade are marketing constructions with no defined content, and highest standards names nothing a buyer could ask to see. Three such phrases in one vendor's material form a pattern rather than isolated overstatements.

The underlying controls that are described, encryption, audit trail logging and monitored access, are the right controls to have, and they are the basic ones. They are statements about design, not examinations of it.

The absence carries more weight than a scribe alone would warrant because of what this organization handles. It operates a revenue cycle automation platform alongside the documentation product, so the same customer relationship involves clinical records, coding output and claims data. That is a broader concentration of sensitive material than a documentation vendor holds, and a correspondingly larger surface for an examination to cover.

None of this means the controls are absent, only that a counterparty cannot verify them before contracting.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No clearance claimed and none required for ambient documentation. No United States device pathway attaches. What governs is payment integrity, and here that is stated rather than implied, beginning with the company's name.

The organization runs two platforms, one for documentation and one for revenue cycle automation, and describes them as solving the same problem. The scribe adds diagnostic, procedural, hierarchical condition category and evaluation and management codes, and the vendor states that it calculates risk adjustment factor scores so physicians can capture the full complexity of their patient population. Marketing language throughout is explicit: revenue optimized coding, capturing every billable opportunity, preventing revenue leakage, maximizing reimbursements.

Risk adjustment scoring is where this product goes past coding suggestions. A risk adjustment factor score determines payment for a patient population under risk bearing arrangements, so a documentation product calculating it is operating directly on the mechanism a published policy analysis identified as the one taxpayers ultimately fund. That analysis recorded ambient scribes producing measurable increases in documented risk adjusted diagnoses per encounter and treated whether that reflects better documentation or more intensive coding as unresolved. Here it is not incidental to the product; it is the product's stated purpose.

Two specific points stand out. The vendor describes codes being generated and uploaded into the record system with minimal human intervention, which sits in tension with the clinician review that the entire regulatory position for ambient documentation rests on. And the framing is one directional: undercoding is named as the risk to be reduced, overcoding is not mentioned. A system that only moves one way across a defensible range is not correcting error.

The product also serves dentistry, which runs on different coding and payer rules.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

For a coding adjacent product, incentive structure matters more than the absent fairness statement. RevMaxx generates HCC codes and produces instant RAF score calculations from captured conditions, which places it on the risk adjustment gradient. It sits at the milder end: RAF is presented as clinical risk and expected cost insight rather than as a marketed revenue uplift, and no percentage revenue claim is attached.

Even so, a system that assigns HCC codes from conversation and computes risk scores carries audit exposure the buyer holds, and no governance framework, audit trail description, fairness statement or subgroup analysis is published.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

A binding correction obligation is published, and it does not run to the patient.

The business associate agreement commits the vendor to make records available for access and amendment under 45 CFR 164.524 and 164.526. That is the mechanism by which an inaccurate clinical record gets corrected, and it reaches the right subject matter: the designated record set, not merely account or billing data. It is a real obligation rather than a statement of intent.

What it is not is a route the affected person can use. The obligation runs to the practice, which requests the amendment; the same agreement states that it confers no rights on any third party. A patient who finds an error goes to their clinician, and the clinician goes to the vendor. Where that chain works, it works; where a practice has left or will not act, the patient has nowhere to go.

Nothing stands behind the output. No accuracy or error figure with a method, no published limitation, and no warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment is published.

Two separate 95 percent claims appear and neither is a measurement. The headline, automating up to 95 percent of clinical documentation, uses an up to construction that any result at all satisfies. A second figure, more than 95 percent accuracy on transcription and note generation, is attributed to user reviews. An accuracy figure sourced to reviews has no definition, no denominator and no method behind it.

Two further statements read as commitments and are not. Clinical information is said never to be stored or shared without your permission, which describes a permission gate rather than a boundary; the vendor's own agreement shows what the permission covers, since accepting it at registration grants the right to de identify protected health information and use the result for analytics, research or service improvement. And patient identities are said to be protected when artificial intelligence is used, with no mechanism, scope or pipeline position given. De identification before a model call is a meaningful control; a general assurance is not the same thing.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

A broad named list reached by mixed and mostly shallow means, and the mechanism matters more than the list. Supported systems include Epic, eClinicalWorks, athenahealth, NextGen, Cerner, Tebra, AdvancedMD and PointClickCare, with connectivity described as API, robotic process automation or a lightweight Chrome extension depending on the system.

RPA and browser extension paths reach systems that would otherwise require a build, but they operate through the interface rather than a sanctioned data channel, so naming Epic alongside a Chrome extension describes reach rather than depth. PointClickCare support is the distinctive entry, since it opens skilled nursing and long term care.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

No hosting region, residency option or subprocessor list is published, and the vendor's own material contradicts itself on where processing happens.

The product is described in most places as cloud based, running on secure cloud infrastructure with data stored on the vendor's servers. On one integration page the same vendor states that all clinical information is encrypted, processed locally, and never stored or shared without permission. Cloud processing and local processing are architectural opposites, not two ways of saying the same thing, and both statements are published by the vendor about the same product.

There may be an innocent explanation. A browser extension performs some work on the client, and a vendor writing marketing copy for one integration may have described that loosely. But the published material does not say whether encounter audio leaves the practice, which is the central residency question.

The integration mechanism compounds it. The vendor states that record system integration is achieved through secure interfaces or through robotic process automation, and separately that a browser extension is what a practice installs. That means some integrations reach the chart by driving the user interface rather than through a purpose built connection. Nothing says whose credentials the automation runs under, how its writes appear in the audit log, or whether the permission model that constrains a human user constrains it equally.

Commercial
AA on Commercial TransparencyPublished tiers with figures, a stated unit of charge, and a route to start without a sales conversation.
Vendor Published

A full pricing ladder is published with figures on the product page. A free trial at no cost with five notes; Basic at $39 per provider per month for 200 notes or 3,000 minutes of recorded conversation, whichever comes first; Standard at $79 for 400 notes or 7,500 minutes; Premier at $199 for unlimited notes and unlimited minutes. Each tier lists its included features, and the unit of charge is stated throughout as per provider per month with a usage allowance attached.

Tiers carry figures, the unit of charge is stated, and there is a route to start without a sales conversation, since the free trial and the Basic plan both register directly. The two upper tiers route to a booking link to buy, which is a sales step above the entry point rather than a disclosure gap, and their prices are published either way.

The allowance model means effective cost tracks volume, so a clinician near the Basic ceiling can end up paying Standard rates.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Ambulatory and hospital coverage with specialty specific templates, extended by PointClickCare support into senior living, long term care and skilled nursing. That last setting is a segment with high documentation burden and thin technology budgets. No specialty count, specialty tuning detail or language coverage is published.

Alternatives

Alternatives to RevMaxx

Vendors in the same categories as RevMaxx whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

River Records is a small clinician-founded Boston company whose product Stream argues with a premise much of this category shares.

OneChart is an ambient AI scribe from a small Canadian seed stage team in Hamilton, Ontario.

Ambient scribe and coding platform launched October 2024 by Visionet Ventures out of Cranbury, New Jersey, after roughly two years of development and backed by $2 million in seed funding.

Wavo Health describes itself as an AI clinical workspace rather than a scribe alone, turning conversations into notes, visit preparation, patient context, coding cues and follow up content…

LucasAI, from Lucas Health Corporation in Miami, is an ambient clinical platform built by physicians.

Ambient IQ is the ambient documentation tool RXNT built in house and launched to its EHR customers in August 2025, then released standalone nationwide.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Free trial at $0 for five notes, then $39 per provider per month. Published ladder runs $39, $79 and $199 per provider per month by usage allowance.
$39 baseline
Published tiers with figures. Per provider per month, with a note count or conversation-minute allowance attached to each tier, whichever is reached first. Free trial, then three paid tiers. Business associate agreement published in full and accepted by checkbox at account registration, so every account holder is covered automatically with no enterprise gate and nothing to negotiate. Revmaxx LLC is named as Business Associate; subcontractors are expressly bound in writing to the same terms. None published. Self-serve registration on the free trial and Basic plan. EHR integration by Chrome extension on Standard, and by API or robotic process automation on Premier. Vendor Published

A full ladder is published with figures, which is uncommon in this category. Free trial at no cost for five notes; Basic at $39 per provider per month for 200 notes or 3,000 minutes of recorded conversation, whichever comes first; Standard at $79 for 400 notes or 7,500 minutes; Premier at $199 for unlimited notes and unlimited minutes. Free trial and Basic register directly; Standard and Premier route to a booking link to purchase.

Correction notice. This index previously recorded $199 per provider per month as a starting price with the plans above it unpublished, which inverted the ladder. $199 is the top tier.

The allowance model is what a buyer should actually price. Cost tracks volume rather than headcount alone, so a clinician near the Basic ceiling of 200 notes is effectively on Standard economics, and a high-volume practice reaches Premier quickly. Establish where the note and minute counters reset, what happens on overage, and whether the published figures are list or promotional.

One term worth reading before signing. The published business associate agreement, accepted by the same registration checkbox, grants the vendor the right to de-identify protected health information and to use or disclose the de-identified result for analytics, research or service improvement. Whether service improvement includes model training is not stated.