Radiology & Imaging AI
R

Rayscape

Romanian imaging AI company based in Timisoara whose Rayscape CXR analyzes chest X-rays, detecting and localizing 148 findings across 17 clinical classes, including tuberculosis, with bone suppressed views, an automatic cardiothoracic ratio and a normal or abnormal flag for worklist prioritization, and whose lung CT product detects nodules and compares them against a patient's prior scans. Its tuberculosis detection was evaluated independently in a South African tuberculosis prevalence survey published in The Lancet Digital Health in 2024. The products are CE marked under the EU Medical Device Regulation and have no FDA clearance.

Rayscape CXR integrates with on premises or cloud archives and returns annotated images inside the radiology viewer, with a reporting engine that drafts report text for radiologist validation; it is also listed on AWS Marketplace and in the Blackford Analysis portfolio. The company reports clinical use at more than 300 sites in 18 countries.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 27, 2026
Compare Rayscape with other vendors
Founded
2019
Headquarters
Timisoara, Romania
Website
rayscape.ai
Categories
radiology-and-imaging-ai, clinical-decision-support
Indexed Products
Rayscape CXR, Rayscape Lung CT
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

The models are the product. Rayscape CXR detects and localizes 148 findings across 17 clinical classes on chest X-rays, including pneumothorax, pleural effusion, consolidation, lung lesions, tuberculosis, cardiomegaly and atelectasis, with bounding boxes and probability scores, generates bone suppressed and bone subtracted views, calculates the cardiothoracic ratio, and flags studies as normal or abnormal for prioritization, according to the company's AWS Marketplace listing. The company also sells lung nodule detection on CT. There is no hardware, archive or services layer underneath; remove the models and nothing is left to sell.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

Assistive detection with the radiologist deciding. Rayscape CXR marks findings with bounding boxes and probability scores, flags each study as normal or abnormal, and prioritizes abnormal studies, and its reporting engine converts detections into draft report text for the radiologist to review and validate. The company has also coauthored research on how textual and visual explanations of an AI result change reader decisions, which bears directly on how much a reader defers to the output.

The structure is described and one part is missing: the thresholds behind the normal and abnormal flag are configurable by site and not published, and nothing states how a study flagged normal is handled in a busy worklist or what happens after a missed finding. For a product that flags normal studies, that routing is the part a buyer needs in writing.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The approach is described, as deep learning detection that localizes findings with probability scores, and what the model produces is listed in detail: 148 findings across 17 clinical classes, bone suppressed and bone subtracted views, and an automatic cardiothoracic ratio.

The company has also published research, including a survey of the capabilities and evidence coverage of CE marked lung nodule products and a study of how explanation format affects clinical decisions, and it states openly that tuberculosis detection depends on thresholds tailored to the setting. What is not published is the model architecture, the training data (size, sources, countries, equipment makers), per finding accuracy across the 148 findings, or versioning and update practice.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

The chain is short by the company's own account. The models are Rayscape's own, and the company has stated that patient data is never transmitted outside the customer's institution and is not shared with any external party, which, where it holds, is a deployment in which the transfer to the vendor does not occur. Two things keep it from being settled.

The company's AWS Marketplace listing describes the product as software as a service, deployed on premises or in the cloud, and a service run by the vendor is hard to square with data never leaving the institution; which applies to which deployment is not stated. And for any cloud path, no hosting provider, region or subprocessor is named; the listing states the product is not deployed on AWS.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Peer Reviewed Publication

The strongest evidence point is independent: tuberculosis detection was assessed in a study of commercially available computer aided detection software within a South African tuberculosis prevalence survey, published in The Lancet Digital Health in 2024, a population screening setting rather than a curated retrospective cohort. The paper carries the product's figures and how they compared with other software at the thresholds the survey used.

Beyond tuberculosis, the product is sold on 148 findings, and per finding performance is not published; the company reports clinical use at more than 300 sites in 18 countries, which is scale of use rather than evidence of benefit, and figures such as reduced reading time come from customer stories without method. A conference poster on pneumothorax detection (ECR 2023) is the one other published evaluation.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

The company has made a categorical commitment: patient data is never transmitted outside the customer's institution and is not shared with any external party, with adherence to European data protection law stated alongside it. Where that holds it removes the vendor from holding patient data, and with it the question of whether customer images train the models. No retention schedule sits behind it, and three points remain open.

The company's AWS Marketplace listing describes the product as software as a service, which sits uneasily with data never leaving the institution, and nothing says which deployments the commitment covers. Support, diagnostic and incident access usually carries exceptions. And where a site uses a cloud hosted archive, the institution's boundary is no longer physical. Safety engineering, meaning guardrails and how a safety event is handled, is not published.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here. A vendor whose product does not process protected health information grades here too when it says so plainly and explains the scope, with a service privacy document behind it: stating a position a buyer can rely on is the posture this axis grades, and the band above is closed to it because there is no agreement to publish.
Vendor Published

Rayscape is a Romanian company with CE marking and no FDA clearance, so its data protection position is European, and it has stated one: adherence to European data protection law and a commitment that patient data never leaves the customer's institution.

The service privacy document or data processing agreement behind that position would sit on the company's own site, which builds its pages in the browser; none is named in the company's AWS Marketplace listing, which describes the product as software as a service and makes no data handling statement.

A software as a service product and a commitment that patient data never leaves the institution do not obviously fit together, and the documents are where a buyer would see which deployments the commitment covers. If a US hospital were to use the product, business associate terms would attach.

CC on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are described with an outside check behind them, such as independent penetration testing on a stated cadence, but no attestation against a recognized framework. A certification that tests the software security features rather than the vendor operations, such as federal health IT certification, is an outside check of this kind.
Vendor Published

The company states that it operates under ISO 13485 quality management and is certified under the EU Medical Device Regulation, with conformity audits by an outside body. Those certify the quality system and the device, not how the company operates information security, and a notified body's review of a device's technical documentation, including its cybersecurity risk analysis, reviews the manufacturer's own submission.

Neither its AWS Marketplace listing nor its other published material names a SOC 2 report, ISO 27001 certificate, penetration test or trust center. The privacy page, the footer and any security page on its own site may settle the question either way. The cybersecurity section of the technical documentation can be requested.

BB on FDA and Regulatory StatusThe pathway is stated and in progress, or a clearance is named without the vintage and scope a buyer needs to match it to the product on offer.
Vendor Published

The regulatory position is European. The company states that its products are CE marked under the EU Medical Device Regulation, with a quality system under ISO 13485, and its AWS Marketplace listing describes Rayscape CXR as CE marked. No FDA clearance is listed for the company or its products, so none of them is cleared for clinical use in the United States; the marketplace listing, open to buyers anywhere, does not claim one.

The site gives no device class, notified body, certificate number or certified intended use. The largest tuberculosis screening programs are in high burden countries, where CE marking and World Health Organization aligned evidence often matter more than FDA clearance.

BB on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA governance framework with named process behind it, such as certification to an artificial intelligence management standard, or material written for a customer own review committee to evaluate the product with. A framework covering the vendor whole portfolio counts when its scope reaches this product; what it cannot supply is the product specific evaluation the band above asks for. Published results within the one group where the performance of this product is most at risk also sit here: evaluation on the question this axis asks, short of the comparison across groups the band above requires. A medical device clearance or certification, and the quality system behind it, does not reach this band on its own; it is graded under regulatory status. A regulator reviewed plan governing how the model may change does reach it.
Vendor Published

An independent tuberculosis study in a South African prevalence survey (The Lancet Digital Health, 2024) tests the product in a population and disease burden very different from typical training data. The full paper may include results by group, and it is unclear whether the company cites it. The company states openly that tuberculosis thresholds need tailoring to the setting, which acknowledges that performance varies by context without publishing by how much.

It publishes no results by sex, age, HIV status, prior tuberculosis, equipment maker or disease prevalence, and names no governance framework. Chest X-ray classifiers trained on public datasets have underdiagnosed female, Black, Hispanic, younger and Medicaid insured patients (Seyyed-Kalantari and colleagues, Nature Medicine, 2021).

BB on AI Liability and RecourseA published falsifiable commitment, or a real correction route the affected person can exercise against the vendor. A published error rate with its method and denominator grades here. A statutory right that runs to the covered entity rather than to the vendor does not reach this band on its own: every other route here asks something of the vendor, and being located in a particular jurisdiction is not conduct.
Vendor Published

Rayscape CXR shows each finding with a bounding box and a probability score, and its draft report text is reviewed and validated by the radiologist before sign off, so a reader can see what the model marked and why. No warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment is named, and the company's material on record gives no error rate with its method and denominator for its 148 findings.

The independent tuberculosis study in The Lancet Digital Health (2024) reports how the product performed in a South African prevalence survey; its full text sits behind a browser check on the publisher's host, and the company's own site, which builds its pages in the browser, is where a citation of it would appear. If the company cites it and it gives sensitivity and specificity with denominators, that puts an error rate on the record.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Rayscape CXR integrates with the archive over DICOM, on premises or with a cloud archive, returning annotated images and structured outputs inside the native radiology viewer without a separate workspace, and sites can configure outputs, thresholds and visualization to their own reporting standards.

It is listed in the Blackford Analysis imaging AI portfolio, a named orchestration platform, and the company reports clinical use at more than 300 sites in 18 countries, with customer stories on its site describing emergency and outpatient deployments. That is standards support with a named platform behind it. No integration with a named record system, RIS vendor or API is documented, and no HL7 or FHIR path for results is described.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

Two options are stated. The company's AWS Marketplace listing describes Rayscape CXR as software as a service deployed on premises or in the cloud, and states that it is not deployed on AWS, and the company has stated that patient data never leaves the customer's institution, which describes the on premises path.

For the cloud or service path the listing names no hosting provider, region, residency commitment or tenant isolation, and the company's own site, which builds its pages in the browser, is where those would be stated. An on premises option matters for institutions and screening programs that cannot export imaging, and for them residency is their own.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Clinical use carries no published price that could size a purchase. The company's site has a pricing and plans page, and its AWS Marketplace listing for Rayscape CXR shows a free subscription with no end date alongside a 30 day money back guarantee on the current annual term, which suggests a paid annual contract behind the listing without stating its price or unit. The product can be procured through the marketplace and directly. The company is early stage, having reported a seed round in March 2024.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Thoracic coverage across two modalities, with validation behind part of it. On chest X-ray the product claims 148 findings across 17 classes for PA and AP studies, plus tuberculosis detection; on CT it detects lung nodules with comparison against a patient's prior scans to track change over time.

The tuberculosis use has independent validation in a South African prevalence survey (The Lancet Digital Health, 2024), a population screening setting; the broader findings set and the CT product have no published per finding validation. The company reports clinical use at more than 300 sites in 18 countries, and its customer stories describe emergency and outpatient deployments. Because no FDA clearance is listed, the products are not offered for clinical use in the United States.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Rayscape

Vendors in the same categories as Rayscape whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Seoul based MRI AI company with US operations.

Deep learning software that enhances and accelerates image acquisition on existing scanners rather than detecting disease.

Clinical AI for imaging triage and follow-up, delivered through aiOS, an enterprise platform that runs Aidoc's own FDA cleared algorithms alongside vetted partner algorithms and carries…

Paris based imaging AI company whose Rayvolve suite reads plain radiographs: AZtrauma detects fractures, dislocations and joint effusions, AZchest covers chest findings including…

Gleamer SAS is a radiology AI company based in Saint-Mandé, on the edge of Paris, and since 2 March 2026 part of DeepHealth, the digital health subsidiary of the US imaging services…

Oxford spinout that sells AI imaging software for stroke and lung disease.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Contact the vendor (free AWS Marketplace subscription listed)
Undisclosed. The AWS Marketplace listing shows a free subscription with a 30 day money back guarantee on the current annual term; no annual price or unit of charge is stated. No business associate status or data processing agreement is published. The products are CE marked, not FDA cleared. Not disclosed. Described as a plug-and-scan model integrating into on-premise or cloud PACS, returning outputs inside the native radiology viewer with configurable thresholds and visualization. Vendor Published

No price for clinical use is published. The AWS Marketplace listing for Rayscape CXR shows a free subscription alongside a refund policy on an annual term, so a buyer should ask what the paid contract costs and what the free subscription includes.

Two things weigh alongside price: continuity, since the company is early stage and reported a seed round in March 2024, and fit, since the product is CE marked but not FDA cleared and its strongest evidence is in tuberculosis screening, which makes European radiology and high tuberculosis burden programs its natural buyers.