Autonomous Medical Coding
R

RapidClaims

Autonomous medical coding inside a wider mid revenue cycle platform spanning clinical documentation improvement, coding, pre bill scrubbing, claim submission, accounts receivable follow up and denial appeals. Founded 2023 and headquartered in New York by Dushyant Mishra, chief executive, Jot Sarup Singh, chief technology and product officer, and Abhinay Vyas, chief data officer. Some databases list a Wilmington, Delaware address, which is incorporation rather than operations.

The coding engine is RapidCode. RapidAssist is the assisted mode for augmenting existing coders, and RapidRules is a policy engine the company states continuously ingests payer policy updates, denial patterns and regulatory changes. Built on large language models, generating audit ready traceable documentation for the coding team, which is the compliance posture this category has converged on.

The differentiating claim is calibration cost. RapidClaims states it customizes pre trained models with roughly 500 sample charts where competitors require 10,000 or more, with models trained across more than 25 specialties. If accurate that materially shortens time to value and lowers the barrier for mid sized organizations, and it is the claim most worth validating against a reference customer.

Vendor published figures are 96 to 98 percent accuracy, more than 1,000 charts processed per minute, up to 70 percent reduction in coding cost, 1.7 times coder productivity, denial reduction of up to 27 to 40 percent depending on the source, and measurable improvement within 30 days. The spread across the company's own materials is wide enough that these should be treated as marketing ranges rather than performance disclosure.

Independent signal: CB Insights named RapidClaims an Outperformer in its automated and assisted coding ESP matrix, assessed against fifteen other companies including Oracle, Ambience and Suki.

Funding is approximately 11.1 million dollars: an 8 million dollar Series A led by Accel with Together Fund participating, plus roughly 3 million dollars of previously unannounced seed led by Together Fund, with angel investors including Oscar Benavidez of Massachusetts General Hospital and Matthew Zubiller. Reported headcount is between 89 and 96 in mid 2026.

Screened against the services filter and retained. The company markets coding outsourcing prominently, but independent profiling across PitchBook, Crunchbase, Tracxn and CB Insights describes a platform, the product line is software, and the outsourcing pages are demand generation rather than the business model. This is the opposite finding from MediCodio, which was rejected in the same sweep.

AI Health Index verifiedAugust 24, 2026
Compare RapidClaims with other vendors
Founded
2023
Headquarters
New York, New York, United States
Categories
autonomous-medical-coding, rcm-and-prior-auth, healthcare-admin-automation
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

The models do the work people previously did, across four named products. RapidCode assigns the codes, RapidVBC handles risk adjustment and documentation, RapidRecovery works denials and appeals, and the rules engine governs all of it. Remove the models and no workflow layer, network or platform remains that a customer would pay for.

The company's own framing is autonomous agents that code charts, improve documentation, prevent denials and recover revenue. Human escalation exists for low confidence work, which is the correct design in this category rather than a dilution of it. Note for the record that this vendor also markets coding outsourcing prominently in its content, and the screening pass established the platform as the business rather than the delivery model, with independent profiling across four databases describing software. That ruling is what admitted this record and it bears on this axis directly.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

The oversight half of this axis is well answered and the autonomy half is not.

On oversight, governed autonomy is an explicit product principle rather than a caveat: the company states it is autonomous where it scales and human where it matters, pairs that with named human escalation for low confidence charts, rule based validation, an explainable audit trail, and a configurable rules engine through which the customer sets the workflows and payer logic the models operate under. A buyer therefore controls the operating envelope.

On autonomy the number is missing. Accuracy is published at 98 percent, throughput at over a thousand charts per minute, and clean claim rate as a percentage, but no direct to bill or automation rate appears anywhere, so a buyer cannot tell what share of charts reaches billing untouched. That is the inverse of Arintra, which publishes the automation share and no accuracy figure, and both gaps leave the same question open from opposite directions.

The validation mechanism is the strongest in this lane. The company offers a fourteen day proof of concept run side by side against the customer's own last six months, with no production cutover and an explicit walk away if it fails to beat the existing baseline. That is a performance conditional entry rather than a free trial, and it lets a buyer establish the missing automation figure on their own data before committing.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them.
Vendor Published

The mechanism is described at the level of approach and the calibration claim is specific enough to test. Pre trained models are customised per customer, trained across more than 25 specialties and, per the company, millions of encounters. Alongside them sits a named rules engine maintaining current payer policy, denial patterns and regulatory changes, and rule based validation is listed as a distinct capability from the learned components. Explainable output is a stated design principle across coding, appeals and denial logic.

The differentiating disclosure is calibration cost: 500 sample charts to customise the models against a stated industry norm of 10,000 or more, six weeks to production. That is a falsifiable operational claim rather than an adjective, and the proof of concept gives a buyer a way to check it.

What is absent is everything under the word proprietary. No foundation model, model class or version is named despite large language models being cited in the company's own material, no training data provenance beyond the encounter count, and no accuracy breakdown by coding element. The single 98 percent figure covers evaluation and management levels and procedure codes together, and those are not equivalent judgements.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no provider is named.
Vendor Published

Pre trained models are acknowledged as the starting point, which concedes that something upstream exists, and nothing about it is named. No foundation model provider, model class or version, no hosting arrangement, no cloud platform, and no sub processor list was located.

The training position is the specific gap here, and it is more consequential for this vendor than for most. The product is customised on the customer's own charts, which the company presents as its central advantage, so customer documentation demonstrably enters model preparation. Nothing published states whether that customisation stays isolated to the customer's instance or contributes to the shared pre trained base, whether data is de identified first, or whether permission is sought. CombineHealth answers all three questions plainly; this vendor answers none of them while running a workflow that raises them more directly.

A rules engine ingesting current payer policy implies external policy data feeds that are also unnamed. Ask for the base model, the sub processor list, whether customer charts used for calibration are isolated from the shared model, and where the payer policy data originates.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Third Party Estimated

The broadest third party recognition in this lane, though of the ranking and award type rather than the measurement type. Three independent bodies are cited: a 2026 first place ranking in artificial intelligence powered claims automation with a published score of 9.70 out of 10 from a buyer survey organisation, a 2025 technology innovation leadership recognition from a research firm, and an outperformer placement in an analyst matrix for automated and assisted coding assessed against fifteen companies including much larger vendors.

Customer logos include a major academic health system alongside a urology group, a regional hospital, a neighbourhood health centre and others. Quantified references cover a 30 percent reduction in accounts receivable days unlocking 2.5 million dollars in accelerated cash flow, a 5 percent revenue increase with coding costs down 40 percent, and risk adjustment factor scores improved 15 percent.

Two limits hold this at B. Every quantified reference is anonymised by role and organisation type rather than attributed to a named person at a named institution, which is weaker than XpertDox's attributed quotes. And no measurement study exists: no peer reviewed publication, no independently audited accuracy assessment, and no parallel coding study of the kind CombineHealth published. Buyer surveys and innovation awards reflect satisfaction and analyst judgement, not verified performance.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

Two protection facts are published and the stewardship questions are untouched. Encryption is stated at 256 bit covering data at rest and in transit, and an independently audited controls report covers the security programme in general. Both are real.

Nothing addresses how this product handles the data it ingests. There is no retention schedule, no statement on whether customer documentation contributes to model development, no de identification position, no data ownership or deletion statement, no access control detail, no data minimisation commitment, and no incident or breach disclosure.

The omission matters more here than for a batch coding vendor because customisation on customer charts is the company's headline differentiator. A model customised on 500 of a customer's own charts has ingested that customer's documentation into model preparation by design, and the absence of any statement about isolation, consent or de identification leaves the most basic question about the product's central feature unanswered.

Held at C rather than lower because encryption and an audited controls report are genuine, and rather than higher because every question specific to stewardship is open. The contrast within this lane is instructive: CombineHealth answers all of them on a dedicated page.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureCompliance is claimed without the underlying document, or the published privacy notice covers the website rather than the service that handles patients.
Vendor Published

Health privacy appears as an assertion with no substance behind it. The security block states full adherence to the framework and stops there. No control enumeration, no de identification position, no access control description, and nothing comparable to the itemised programme CombineHealth publishes.

The health specific credential problem is more serious and is treated in full on the security certifications axis. In short, a recognised healthcare security framework is displayed as a badge with the caption stating alignment rather than certification. Alignment is not certification, that framework awards certification at three named tiers, and no tier, assessor or date accompanies the badge.

What is real underneath is a general independently audited controls report and stated encryption at rest and in transit, both of which overlap substantially with the health security rule. So the controls are externally assessed and not against a health specific framework.

No business associate agreement posture, template, negotiation stance or execution requirement was located, despite the company contracting with health systems and an academic medical centre. Graded C because real assessed controls sit underneath an unevidenced health specific claim.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognised certification is named in the vendor own material without the artefact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade.
Vendor Published

One credential is properly disclosed and one badge overstates what is held, and a buyer scanning the security block will not distinguish them.

The real one is a controls report specified at the second type, the one covering operating effectiveness over a period rather than design at a point in time, described as independently audited. Type plus an assurance statement passes the credential test. Encryption at 256 bit at rest and in transit sits alongside it.

The problem is the healthcare security framework badge. It is displayed in the same row, at the same size, in the same style as the audited credential, and its caption states alignment with the framework rather than certification against it. That framework issues certification at three named tiers through authorised assessors, and two competitors in this lane hold it and state their tier. Alignment is a self description that requires no assessor and confers no assurance. Presented as a badge it reads as a credential, and it is not one. This is recorded as a disclosure quality finding rather than an accusation: the underlying controls may well merit certification and none has been evidenced.

No trust center exists as a standing page, and no report availability process, audit period, auditor, certification date, penetration testing disclosure or vulnerability disclosure policy was located. Graded B on the strength of the audited report, held below A by the missing trust center and the overstated badge.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalised for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No device pathway applies and none is claimed. Assigning billing codes from documentation is an administrative determination rather than a clinical one, so the absence of a clearance is correct and is not a gap in the record.

The exposure sits in claims submission, where codes are representations to a payer and error is governed by federal false claims enforcement, landing on the billing provider rather than the software vendor. The company's rules engine tracking current payer policy and regulatory changes is aimed at that risk and is the right posture.

One product line carries regulatory weight the company does not address. Risk adjustment coding that improves risk adjustment factor scores and closes hierarchical condition category gaps operates in the area of federal programme integrity that has drawn the most sustained enforcement attention in recent years, where the question is whether captured conditions are supported by documentation or generated by suspecting logic. The company advertises a percentage improvement in capture as an outcome. Nothing published describes the documentation standard, provider attestation or audit controls governing suspected conditions. Graded C because the regulatory position is otherwise correctly represented.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

The case level instruments are real. An explainable audit trail runs under every coding decision and appeal, the company claims fully audit ready output, rule based validation is a distinct layer, and dashboards surface denial trends, productivity and payer behaviour in real time. A reviewer can therefore interrogate any individual assignment.

What is missing is the population view, and this vendor needs it more than most because of what it advertises. Two headline outcome metrics run in exactly the direction the governance question concerns: a stated percentage lift in evaluation and management levels, and a stated percentage improvement in hierarchical condition category capture with risk adjustment scores up 15 percent at a named customer type. Both are the intended commercial effect. Both are also indistinguishable from drift when viewed from outside.

No instrument is published that would separate them. There is no distribution of assigned billing levels against an expected benchmark, no breakdown by specialty, payer or physician, no external audit of coded output, and no bias, fairness or validation methodology. Arintra and XpertDox both publish the distribution reporting that makes this checkable; this vendor publishes the lift figure without the monitoring. Graded C rather than B for that gap, and rather than D because the audit trail and rules governance are genuine. Ask what evaluation and management distribution looks like before and after, and who audits it.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

A stated performance level exists and the pre purchase risk transfer is the best in this lane, and neither becomes recourse once the contract starts.

Accuracy is published at 98 percent with a clean claim rate and throughput alongside it, so there is a figure to hold the vendor to. The fourteen day proof of concept is genuinely unusual: it runs against the customer's own last six months with no production cutover, and the company states that if it does not beat the existing baseline the buyer walks. That places evaluation risk on the vendor and lets a buyer establish real performance on their own data rather than accepting a published number, which is stronger than XpertDox's free first month because it carries an explicit performance condition.

After go live nothing carries over. No service level agreement, warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment was located. No confidence threshold governing autonomous handling is disclosed, no accuracy breakdown by coding element exists, and no denial or reversal rate for assigned codes is published as a vendor figure.

The allocation question is sharpest on the risk adjustment product, where captured conditions later found unsupported create programme integrity exposure that lands on the provider. Ask what contractual commitment attaches to the 98 percent figure after the proof of concept ends, and how liability is apportioned on a suspected condition that fails audit.

Integration and Deployment
AA on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed bidirectional integrations with major record systems, verifiable in marketplace listings or integration documentation, with evidence the connection runs in production.
Vendor Published

The strongest standards position in this lane. The company states the platform is natively built on the modern healthcare interoperability standard, with bidirectional synchronisation, support for the older messaging standard, and an interface first architecture. No other vendor in this category claims native support for that standard, and the distinction matters: it is an architectural statement about how the product connects, not a description of bespoke work done per customer.

Ten record and practice management systems are named, covering both dominant enterprise vendors and a substantial ambulatory tail. One of them serves community and rural hospitals and is named by no other vendor in this lane, which matters given the company's stated focus on federally qualified health centers, community health centers and critical access facilities.

Bidirectional synchronisation with writeback into the record system is stated explicitly for the risk adjustment product, so the round trip is addressed rather than assumed.

Graded A on the strength of the native standard claim, four named mechanisms, ten named systems and stated bidirectionality. What would make it unimpeachable is what Arintra and XpertDox have and this vendor lacks: a listing in a record system vendor's own programme or marketplace, which converts an integration claim into an externally verifiable credential. Ask which integrations are certified by the record vendor and which are direct.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

The hosting position is undescribed. No cloud provider, region, residency commitment, tenancy model or customer controlled deployment option was located across a dedicated pass of the published material.

The one adjacent fact is encryption at 256 bit covering data at rest and in transit, which establishes that data is stored somewhere under the vendor's control and says nothing about where. The company operates from New York, with engineering presence reported in India by third party profiling, and nothing published addresses whether documentation or support access crosses a border.

The volume claim sharpens the question. Processing over a thousand charts per minute means substantial quantities of clinical documentation move for processing continuously, and the customer segments the company targets most explicitly, federally qualified health centers and critical access facilities, are among the most constrained on data handling obligations relative to their technical capacity to evaluate them.

Ask for the processing and storage regions, the tenancy model, and whether personnel outside the United States hold access to production data.

Commercial
BB on Commercial TransparencyA price or a pricing basis is published without full tiers, so a buyer can size the cost before making contact.
Vendor Published

No price is published and a buyer can nonetheless model the economics further here than anywhere else in this lane, because the company provides the instrument rather than the number.

A public return on investment calculator specific to the coding product lets a prospective customer enter their own volume and derive an estimate without contacting sales. Alongside it sit a stated 70 percent lower cost than manual coding, a customer reported 40 percent reduction in coding costs, return on investment inside 30 days, six weeks to production and a 500 chart calibration requirement. Each of those is a cost driver a buyer can check against their own operation.

The entry terms are the strongest part. The fourteen day proof of concept runs on the customer's last six months with no production cutover and an explicit walk away if the existing baseline is not beaten, which places the performance risk of evaluation on the vendor.

Held at B rather than A because the unit of charge is never stated. Whether the fee is per chart, per claim, per provider or a volume band is unknown, and that determines how cost behaves as volume grows, which is precisely what a calculator is supposed to resolve. Ask for the pricing mechanism, the minimum commitment, and how the four products are priced relative to one another.

AA on Setting and Specialty CoverageWhere the product is validated to operate is named and supported, settings and specialties both, whether the coverage is broad or deliberately narrow.
Vendor Published

The most complete coverage disclosure in the autonomous coding lane, and it is differentiated in the opposite direction from its competitors.

Most vendors in this category concentrate where charts are high volume and documentation is repetitive. This company states the reverse explicitly and names the hard cases: multi modality oncology with infusion, radiation and drug administration coding; neurosurgery covering spine, cranial and neuromodulation with complex modifier application; interventional cardiology including catheterisation, device coding, bundling rule navigation and structural heart; and complex orthopedics across joint replacement, trauma, fusion and sports medicine. Naming the specific coding difficulties within each specialty is a substantive claim rather than a list.

Buyer segments are documented individually with dedicated material for physician groups, hospitals and health systems, accountable care organisations, federally qualified health centers, ambulatory surgery centers, community health centers and management services organisations. Value based coverage is a distinct product spanning concurrent, prospective and retrospective review, hierarchical condition category suspecting, risk adjustment gap closure, and quality measure capture.

Graded A partly for the boundary the company draws on itself: facility and inpatient coding is stated to be in a design partner programme rather than generally available. Disclosing what is not ready is what makes the rest of the claim usable. The claims outrun evidence in the complex specialties, where no reference is attributed to a named institution, and nothing addresses coding regimes outside the United States.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published; public return on investment calculator offered instead
Not disclosed. No unit of charge is stated anywhere despite a public return on investment calculator, so whether the fee is per chart, per claim, per provider or a volume band is unknown. Relative pricing across the coding, risk adjustment, denial management and platform products is also unstated. Not disclosed. No business associate agreement posture, template, negotiation stance or execution requirement was located, despite customers including an academic health system. Note that the health specific security framework is displayed as a badge captioned as alignment rather than certification, and no tier, assessor or date accompanies it; the genuine credential is a controls report at the second type, described as independently audited. Not disclosed as a fee, but the entry path is unusually well specified: a fourteen day side by side proof of concept on the customer's last six months with no production cutover and a stated walk away if the baseline is not beaten, six weeks to production, and 500 sample charts required for model calibration against a stated industry norm of 10,000 or more. No statement addresses whether integration or onboarding carries separate charge. Vendor Published

No price is published, and this vendor goes further than any other in the lane toward letting a buyer model the economics without one. A public return on investment calculator specific to the coding product accepts the buyer's own volume and produces an estimate without contacting sales, which is an instrument rather than a percentage.

Around it sit a stated 70 percent lower cost than manual coding, a customer reported 40 percent reduction in coding costs, return on investment inside 30 days, six weeks to production, and a 500 chart calibration requirement against a stated industry norm of 10,000 or more. Each is a cost driver a buyer can check against their own operation.

The entry terms are the strongest in the category: a fourteen day proof of concept run side by side against the customer's last six months with no production cutover and an explicit walk away if the existing baseline is not beaten, which places the performance risk of evaluation on the vendor rather than the buyer. What is never stated is the unit of charge.

Whether the fee is per chart, per claim, per provider or a volume band is unknown, which is the one thing a return on investment calculator ought to resolve and does not. Pricing across the four products is also unaddressed, and the risk adjustment and denial management lines may carry separate commercial terms from coding.

Ask for the pricing mechanism, the minimum commitment, how the four products price relative to one another, and what contractual commitment attaches to the published accuracy figure once the proof of concept ends.