Radiology & Imaging AI
R

RapidAI

RapidAI (iSchemaView, Inc.) analyzes brain, vascular and body imaging to support urgent treatment decisions, principally in stroke. Founded in 2012 by stroke neurologist Greg Albers and based in San Mateo, California, it reports use in more than 2,500 hospitals worldwide. Its perfusion software was the patient selection tool in the DEFUSE 3 and DAWN trials that extended the stroke treatment window to 24 hours in US guidelines, and the company states it holds the only FDA indication for perfusion software in selecting patients for thrombectomy.

Cleared modules include Rapid LVO, ICH, ASPECTS, NCCT Stroke and aneurysm triage, with five more (DeltaFuse, LMVO, midline shift, obstructive hydrocephalus and aortic) announced in November 2025, plus pulmonary embolism and Lumina 3D reconstruction. They run on the Rapid Enterprise Platform: Rapid EdgeIQ orchestration, Rapid Edge Cloud with an on-premise server and fallback, Navigator Pro for radiologists (worklist prioritization, AI review, in-PACS communication and automated reporting), the Rapid mobile app for care teams, analytics, and partner algorithms. The company states SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, ISO 42001, ISO 13485 and CSA STAR certification. Pricing is not published.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 25, 2026
Compare RapidAI with other vendors
Founded
2012
Headquarters
San Mateo, California
Website
www.rapidai.com
Categories
radiology-and-imaging-ai, clinical-decision-support
Indexed Products
Rapid Enterprise Platform, Rapid LVO, Rapid Perfusion, Rapid ICH, Navigator Pro, Rapid EdgeIQ, Rapid Aortic, Lumina 3D, Rapid PE
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Vendor Published

The core modules are built on the models, and the platform sold around them carries value of its own. RapidAI's cleared modules for stroke, neurocritical care, aneurysm, aortic and pulmonary embolism imaging are models that do not exist without the algorithms.

What a health system buys, though, is the Rapid Enterprise Platform: Rapid EdgeIQ orchestration that routes studies to the right AI and results to the right care teams, Navigator Pro for worklist prioritization, in-PACS communication and automated reporting, the Rapid mobile app for care team collaboration, data and analytics on utilization and impact, and a channel for partner and hospital developed algorithms. Remove RapidAI's own models and the platform would still carry partner AI and workflow.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

The structure is described in useful detail, and two points of it are left to the site. The cleared triage modules run in parallel with the standard read, with compressed previews for notification only (Rapid LVO, K221248). The FAQ publishes the perfusion thresholds (a relative CBF below 30 percent defines core; only lesions over 3 ml are marked), shows warnings when the contrast bolus or patient motion makes results unreliable, and lets users change thresholds, move the arterial input and reprocess a case.

Navigator Pro lets radiologists review and confirm AI results before they are committed to PACS, but that review is described as optional, and it can send structured AI outputs and measurements straight into the reporting system; EdgeIQ routes positive and negative findings to care teams. Perfusion output is indicated to inform selection for thrombectomy, an invasive decision in a short window. Nothing published covers what happens after the system is wrong, or how a site decides whether AI results may reach PACS or the report without review.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The methods are explained and the models are not. Each cleared module is named with its clinical purpose and its own clearance, and the FAQ explains the perfusion method in close detail: core defined by relative cerebral blood flow below 30 percent, Tmax and MTT distinguished, recommended scan duration, how bolus truncation degrades accuracy and how motion is corrected. The 510(k) summaries describe the detection modules only as AI or neural network software.

No architecture, training data description or model card is published. Upgrades are scheduled with each site's IT team by RapidAI's implementation staff, which is an update practice, but nothing says how a site learns what changed in a model or whether validation carries over.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

A short chain for RapidAI's own modules, with the partner and hosting layers not named. The cleared stroke, neurocritical, aneurysm and aortic modules are RapidAI's own, cleared in the name of iSchemaView, Inc., so no outside model provider sits between a scan and those results.

The platform also runs vetted third party algorithms and hospital developed models, and Navigator Pro sells partner algorithms under Rapid names (vertebral compression fracture, cervical spine fracture, incidental pulmonary embolism) without naming who built them. The cloud host behind Rapid Edge Cloud and any subprocessors are not named. An in house, cleared core with the rest of the chain undisclosed.

AA on Clinical and Operational EvidencePeer reviewed or independently evaluated performance, prospective and multi site where the claim requires it, with the method available to read. The grade describes the strength of the evidence, not its direction: a rigorous study that found no benefit grades by its design, and the note leads with what it found.
Peer Reviewed Publication

The headline claim, that the software supports urgent treatment decisions in stroke, rests on prospective, multicenter randomized trials. RAPID perfusion imaging was the patient selection tool in trials that changed stroke guidelines: DEFUSE 3 (stopped early for efficacy of thrombectomy 6 to 16 hours after onset in selected patients) and DAWN (thrombectomy plus medical management superior to medical management alone at 6 to 24 hours), both in The New England Journal of Medicine in 2018, alongside SWIFT PRIME and EXTEND-IA in the earlier window.

Those results extended the treatment window in American Heart Association guidelines to 24 hours. The company's founder led research behind the platform, which is context for independence rather than a bar. The company counts more than 25 trials and 750 publications. Real world figures on its site (a 92 percent reduction in unnecessary transfers, 33 to 52 minutes saved on door to decision or door to needle) come from single hospital case studies with no denominators.

The Rapid LVO 510(k) summary reports standalone sensitivity of 0.96 and specificity of 0.98. The newer modules (aortic, pulmonary embolism, aneurysm tracking) rest on thinner published work than stroke.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

Data minimization is described; retention, de-identification and training use are not stated specifically. The Rapid server runs inside the hospital firewall and automatically purges data on a schedule that varies by site. Rapid EdgeIQ processes pixel data and metadata on premises and sends only what each algorithm needs to the cloud, and the 510(k) summaries describe studies being de-identified 'if required' before analysis.

The privacy policy, built around the EU, UK and Swiss Data Privacy Framework, covers personal data generally and mentions sharing with study partners, without saying whether customer imaging is used to develop models. RapidAI configures servers through remote VPN access. General assurances that leave open what is kept, for how long, and whether it reaches model development. Safety engineering, meaning how a missed or wrong result is handled as a safety event, is not published.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

HIPAA compliance is claimed and business associate status is not stated. The Enterprise infrastructure page says the Rapid platform is HIPAA and GDPR compliant, and the company is audited for SOC 2 Type 2 and certified to ISO 27701 for privacy information management. Its privacy policy is built around the EU, UK and Swiss Data Privacy Framework and does not address protected health information in the product or the company's role toward US covered entities.

No business associate agreement, tier or subcontractor term is published. The architecture keeps a Rapid server inside the hospital firewall and sends only the data each algorithm needs to the cloud, which narrows exposure but is not stated as a position that the service receives no PHI. Compliance claimed without the status or agreement behind it.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001 and ISO 27701 are claimed as the company's own; the reports are not public. RapidAI's Enterprise infrastructure page states the platform was developed using the NIST Cybersecurity Framework and is SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, ISO 42001, ISO 13485 and CSA STAR certified, and HIPAA and GDPR compliant. Servers are configured over site to site or client VPN, and an on-premise fallback keeps AI running if cloud connectivity fails. No trust portal offers the reports or certificates. Recognized attestations named in the company's own material without the artifacts.

AA on FDA and Regulatory StatusThe regulatory position is unambiguous and verifiable: a clearance or authorization identifiable in the public databases, with the version and indication it actually covers.
Regulatory Filing

The position is stated module by module and each lead clearance can be found. The applicant is iSchemaView, Inc., which trades as RapidAI. Rapid LVO (K221248, 2022; 21 CFR 892.2080, product code QAS) is cleared for triage and notification of suspected ICA or MCA-M1 large vessel occlusion on head CTA, in parallel with the standard read, with previews for notification only.

Other clearances in the company's name include Rapid ICH (K193087), Rapid ASPECTS (K200760), Rapid NCCT Stroke (K222884) and Rapid aneurysm triage (K230074), on top of the original RAPID perfusion software (K121447). The company states its perfusion software holds the only FDA indication for selecting patients for mechanical thrombectomy, a claim about an indication rather than a flag, and in November 2025 announced five further clearances (DeltaFuse, LMVO, midline shift, obstructive hydrocephalus and aortic measurement).

Navigator Pro also offers validated partner algorithms under Rapid names (vertebral compression fracture, cervical spine fracture, incidental pulmonary embolism), whose clearances belong to their developers. Match each module in a quote to its clearance number and indication.

AA on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA bias or fairness evaluation with a stated method, subgroup performance, or an independent audit of model behavior. Subgroup performance means published results compared across the groups the product serves, clinical and physiological as well as demographic, so a buyer can see where it underperforms.
Regulatory Filing

Results compared across patient groups are published for the lead model, and an AI management system is certified. RapidAI's own 510(k) summary for Rapid LVO (K221248) reports sensitivity and specificity with confidence intervals by geography (US and outside the US), by sex, by age group (20 to 39, 40 to 59, 60 and over), by scanner manufacturer (GE, Siemens, Toshiba) and by slice thickness; sensitivity ranged from 0.93 to 1.00 across those groups, with wide intervals in the smaller ones.

The company also holds ISO 42001 certification for its AI management system. The comparison covers the groups the product serves, clinical and technical as well as demographic. It stops short in three places: there are no results by race or ethnicity, the groups are small, and results by group for the other modules are not published. Perfusion analysis is sensitive to acquisition protocol and equipment, and the platform runs in more than 100 countries, yet no module's results are broken down by site type.

BB on AI Liability and RecourseA published falsifiable commitment, or a real correction route the affected person can exercise against the vendor. A published error rate with its method and denominator grades here. A statutory right that runs to the covered entity rather than to the vendor does not reach this band on its own: every other route here asks something of the vendor, and being located in a particular jurisdiction is not conduct.
Regulatory Filing

An error rate with its method and denominator is published for one module of the neurovascular suite, and nothing else stands behind the output. RapidAI's own 510(k) summary for Rapid Aneurysm Triage and Notification (K230074, cleared July 2023; 21 CFR 892.2080, product code QFM) reports a standalone validation on 266 head CTA cases, 151 positive and 115 negative, against a reference standard set by three experts, in patients aged 21 to 99: sensitivity 0.933 and specificity 0.868, meeting the primary endpoint of an area under the curve of at least 0.95, with results by scanner maker.

That is a test set result for aneurysm triage only. For Rapid LVO (K221248) the summary gives sensitivity of 0.96 and specificity of 0.98 with confidence intervals and subgroup results, but not how many cases were tested. The software shows warnings when bolus or motion problems make results unreliable and lets users change thresholds and reprocess. The company publishes no warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Integration runs through imaging standards into existing systems, with named deployments behind it. The Rapid server is added as a DICOM node between scanners and PACS, results go to PACS, email and the Rapid mobile app, and Navigator Pro connects scanners, PACS, worklists and reporting systems, sending structured AI outputs into the report. The company describes standards based interoperability with PACS, RIS and electronic record systems without naming the record systems or interfaces.

Deployments are named across US health systems including Mayo Clinic, Stanford Health Care, HCA Healthcare, Providence, Intermountain and OSF HealthCare. Standards support with named deployments behind it.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

Hybrid on-premise and cloud deployment is documented; hosting regions are not. A Rapid server, physical or virtual, sits inside the hospital firewall as a DICOM node, and Rapid Edge Cloud adds cloud processing with an on-premise fallback if connectivity fails. Rapid EdgeIQ processes pixel data and metadata on premises and sends only what each algorithm requires to the cloud.

The server purges data automatically on a site specific schedule, and RapidAI configures it through remote VPN access. The company names no cloud provider or regions, does not say whether processing crosses a border for the platform's customers in more than 100 countries, and says nothing about tenant isolation.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price is published, and how the product is bought is discoverable. RapidAI sells the Rapid Enterprise Platform with separately cleared modules across stroke, neurocritical care, aneurysm, aortic and pulmonary embolism imaging, partner algorithms available through the same platform, and services: implementation that typically takes a site live within two weeks, a server inside the firewall, 24/7 support, and education through RapidU. The route in is a demo.

What is not published is the unit of charge: whether a customer pays for the platform, for modules one by one, per site or per study, and how the price changes as new modules are cleared. No price, and the shape of the offer is discoverable.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Deep in stroke and neurocritical imaging and widening from there, with validation behind the core. The platform covers ischemic stroke from non-contrast CT through CTA, CT and MR perfusion and intervention; hemorrhage, subdural hematoma, midline shift and hydrocephalus; aneurysm detection and tracking; aortic measurement and pulmonary embolism; and, through partners, spine and other fractures, lung nodules, mammography and more.

It reaches radiologists, stroke and neurointerventional teams and care coordinators in more than 2,500 hospitals and supports clinical trials. Stroke selection is validated in randomized trials; the newer and partner modules are named with less published validation by setting. Named coverage with validation behind part of it.

Alternatives

Alternatives to RapidAI

Vendors in the same categories as RapidAI whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Oxford spinout that sells AI imaging software for stroke and lung disease.

Clinical AI for imaging triage and follow-up, delivered through aiOS, an enterprise platform that runs Aidoc's own FDA cleared algorithms alongside vetted partner algorithms and carries…

Cleerly applies AI to coronary CT angiography to quantify and characterize atherosclerotic plaque and estimate ischemia without an invasive test.

Cancer focused medical AI company founded in 2013, headquartered in Seoul and listed on KOSDAQ.

Genius AI Detection is the breast imaging AI software line of Hologic, Inc. of Marlborough, Massachusetts; this record covers the software a breast imaging buyer licenses, not Hologic's…

Dental AI for radiographic pathology detection.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
—
Not published. Modular platform, with capabilities cleared and released individually. Not published. The platform is described as HIPAA compliant; business associate status is not stated. Ask whether RapidAI signs an agreement and whether it binds cloud and partner algorithm subcontractors. Not published. Deployment integrates with image archiving and record systems and, in acute stroke, with the on call pathway, so implementation touches radiology, neurology and information technology. Vendor Published

No price, mechanism or unit of sale is published; the route in is a demo. RapidAI sells the Rapid Enterprise Platform with separately cleared modules, partner algorithms through the same platform, implementation (typically live within two weeks), an on-premise server, 24/7 support and education. Ask for the platform price and each module's price separately, what happens to the price when new modules are cleared during the term, and whether any analysis is separately billable.