Radiology & Imaging AI
R

Rad AI

Generative AI for radiology reporting and follow up. Rad AI Reporting is a cloud native reporting system with real time quality checks before sign off; Rad AI Impressions (Omni Impressions) drafts the report impression from the radiologist's dictated findings, customized to each radiologist's language from the site's de identified historical reports; Omni Unchanged carries stable findings forward from prior reports; Rad AI Continuity tracks follow up recommendations through the EHR and RIS. The company runs its own generative models trained on de identified radiology reports, and a licensed radiologist reviews, edits and signs every report.

It reports more than 200 health organizations and 11,000 radiologist users, including AdventHealth, Advocate Health, Emory and Trinity Health, and reports follow up completion rising from about 30 percent to over 75 percent with Continuity. Series C funding reached $68 million, including strategic investments from four health systems.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 27, 2026
Compare Rad AI with other vendors
Founded
2018
Headquarters
Berkeley, California
Website
www.radai.com
Categories
radiology-and-imaging-ai
Indexed Products
Rad AI Reporting, Rad AI Impressions (Omni Impressions), Omni Unchanged, Rad AI Continuity
Buyer Segments
Medical Group, Community Health System, Large IDN
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Vendor Published

Rad AI's generative models are the engine of its core module, and the portfolio carries value beyond them. Rad AI Impressions generates the report impression from the radiologist's dictated findings with the company's own generative models and would not exist without them.

Rad AI Reporting is described as AI first, cloud native reporting, a radiology reporting system with templates and real time quality checks before sign off, and Rad AI Continuity manages follow up of recommendations through the EHR and RIS; both carry workflow value a practice uses whatever the model drafts.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

The workflow puts a radiologist on every report, and the limits of the checks around it are not published. The company's FAQ states that a licensed radiologist must always review the AI generated impression, edit it as needed and sign the final report; Rad AI Reporting runs real time quality checks before sign off, and the security page describes human in the loop quality assurance since 2019.

The company also states the tool catches clinically significant errors in the radiologist's dictation in about 5 percent of reports. The oversight structure is described, and the review step is universal. What is missing is the rest of the structure: what the quality checks look for and when they flag, what the system is not used for, and what happens when a generated impression or a finding carried forward from a prior report (Omni Unchanged) proves wrong, a failure the signing radiologist can miss because the text reads like an ordinary prior finding.

Rad AI Continuity is sold as follow up management 'so every recommendation is tracked, communicated and completed'; the company's own figure, follow up completion rising from about 30 percent to over 75 percent, shows that the result is not every recommendation.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The approach is named and the data behind it is described in general terms. The company states it runs its own generative models trained for radiology rather than general purpose models; its FAQ says Rad AI Impressions is trained on a large, diverse corpus of de identified historical radiology reports, with no images, and that for each site three to five years of de identified historical reports are used to customize the model to individual radiologists' language, style and reporting patterns. No architecture, model version or update practice is published, and no benchmark or validation method accompanies the models.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

The model layer is short. Rad AI runs its own generative models trained on de identified radiology reports rather than calling an outside model provider, so no third party model vendor receives report text. The product is cloud native, and no infrastructure provider or region is named on the company's pages; the security page shows a set of standards marks under 'We Comply With These Standards' without saying which belong to Rad AI and which to its cloud host. The company says each site's de identified historical reports are used to customize the model for its radiologists, and whether those reports also enter the shared training corpus is not stated.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

The figures published are vendor reported without method. The company reports that health systems using Continuity raised follow up exam completion from about 30 percent to over 75 percent, a median of one hour saved per radiologist shift, up to 35 percent fewer dictated words, reports generated up to 50 percent faster, and clinically significant dictation errors caught in about 5 percent of reports; none names the site, period, denominator or method behind it.

The company names more than 200 health organizations as users, including AdventHealth, Advocate Health, Emory, Inland Imaging, LucidHealth and Trinity Health, and reports more than 11,000 radiologist users; that scale of use is not evidence of benefit.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

De identification and training use are stated in specific terms; retention is not. The security page describes a de identification pipeline specialized to radiology reports, and the FAQ says the models are trained on de identified historical reports, with no images, and customized for each site from three to five years of its de identified reports.

No retention period for report text or derived data is published, no standard for the de identification (safe harbor or expert determination) or independent check of it is named, and whether a site's reports are pooled into models serving other customers is not stated. A pipeline built at this volume indicates routine secondary use of customer reports, an inference the company's own statements support without quantifying. Safety engineering, meaning guardrails and how a safety event is handled, is not published beyond the real time quality checks the reporting product runs before sign off.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here. A vendor whose product does not process protected health information grades here too when it says so plainly and explains the scope, with a service privacy document behind it: stating a position a buyer can rely on is the posture this axis grades, and the band above is closed to it because there is no agreement to publish.
Vendor Published

The company claims HIPAA compliance and publishes no business associate position or instrument on its open pages. The FAQ says Rad AI is HIPAA compliant with enterprise grade security controls, and the security page describes the company as SOC 2 Type II 'HIPAA+ certified'; HIPAA has no certification scheme, so the phrase describes a compliance program rather than a credential.

A cybersecurity role advertised on the company's careers pages includes managing business associate agreements and coordinating HIPAA risk analyses. The privacy policy linked from the footer is a general website document. The company's trust center (trust.radai.com, on Vanta) builds its content in the browser and is where agreement templates and compliance documents would be listed.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

A recognized attestation is named, and the report sits behind a request. Rad AI's security page states SOC 2 Type II covering security, confidentiality and availability, continuing twelve month third party audit cycles, real time control monitoring with more than 130 tests a day, alerting, logging and anomaly detection, and formal security policies available on request. Its trust center (trust.radai.com, on Vanta) may hold the report itself.

The security page also carries two wording problems. It calls the company SOC 2 Type II 'HIPAA+ certified', when SOC 2 is an attestation and HIPAA has no certification, and it shows a set of standards marks under 'We Comply With These Standards' without separating Rad AI's own attestation from its cloud host's program.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

Rad AI states no regulatory position, and none of its products holds an FDA clearance or authorization. The products are reporting and follow up tools: the impression is drafted from the radiologist's own dictated findings, which the radiologist reviews, edits and signs, so the basis of the output is in front of the clinician. Two features sit closer to the device line and are worth the company addressing.

The impression is the diagnostic conclusion of the report, and the company markets catching clinically significant errors in the radiologist's dictation in about 5 percent of reports, a function stronger than reformatting language. Whether both stay outside the device definition turns on the clinical decision support criteria, including whether the clinician can independently review the basis of the output, and the company does not discuss them. The FDA cleared NinesAI and NinesMeasure algorithms were acquired by Sirona Medical in 2022 and have no connection to this company.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No subgroup analysis, bias assessment, fairness testing or model card is published. Two features of the product make the gap matter. The model is customized to each radiologist's historical reports, and a model fitted to an individual's habits reproduces that individual's systematic tendencies, including habitual omissions and hedges, in the report's conclusion.

And the measurement published runs one way: the company reports catching clinically significant errors in about 5 percent of dictations, with no rate for generated impressions that omit a finding present in the dictation, or for stable findings carried forward from a prior report after they have changed.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Mechanisms exist that let a radiologist catch an output, and nothing stands behind it. A licensed radiologist must review, edit and sign every report, and the reporting product runs real time quality checks before sign off. The company's figure, clinically significant errors caught in about 5 percent of reports, has no definition of clinically significant, no denominator and no independent check, and it measures errors in the radiologist's dictation rather than errors the model makes, so it is not an error rate for the product. No warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment is published.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Named reporting systems and standard interfaces are published. The FAQ says Rad AI Impressions integrates with radiology reporting systems such as PowerScribe and Fluency through a desktop client, that Rad AI Continuity integrates with the EHR and RIS through standard HL7 results, orders and ADT messages, and that the company uses DICOM, HL7 and FHIR; more than 200 health organizations are named as users. No EHR vendor is named and no marketplace listing is cited, so bidirectional integration with a named record system is not verifiable.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

A single hosted option is described and its location is not. Rad AI Reporting is cloud native, and the impressions product runs through a lightweight desktop client with single sign on and no servers or virtual machines to set up at the site, so report text leaves the institution with each study. No cloud provider, region, residency commitment or tenant isolation is published.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price, tier or unit of charge is published. Rad AI sells through agreements with radiology practices and health systems, and inquiries go through a demo request.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Radiology reporting and follow up, scoped clearly by function and buyer, with the modality scope unstated. The products cover report generation, impression drafting and follow up of incidental findings, sold to hospital radiology departments, physician owned practices and teleradiology groups; named users include AdventHealth, Advocate Health, Emory, Inland Imaging, LucidHealth and Trinity Health, and four health systems are strategic investors.

The models learn from reports rather than images, and nothing states which modalities, subspecialties or body regions they are trained and validated on, although report language varies sharply between them.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Rad AI

Vendors in the same categories as Rad AI whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

HOPPR builds infrastructure for making medical imaging AI and, separately, a layer that delivers AI results into radiology reporting.

TeraRecon, a ConcertAI company, sells advanced visualization and AI workflow software for radiology and cardiology.

AI powered care coordination platform, Viz One, that pairs detection algorithms on imaging and ECG with automatic alerts and team messaging on clinicians' phones.

contextflow reads chest CT and shows the radiologist comparable cases alongside its findings.

Genius AI Detection is the breast imaging AI software line of Hologic, Inc. of Marlborough, Massachusetts; this record covers the software a breast imaging buyer licenses, not Hologic's…

Lithuanian radiology AI developer based in Vilnius, part of Sectra, the enterprise imaging company, since 2026.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Contact the vendor
Practice and health system agreements Not published. HIPAA compliance is stated; the business associate agreement is not public, and the trust center at trust.radai.com is the route to request compliance documents. Not published. The impressions product installs as a lightweight desktop client with single sign on and no site servers; integration with reporting systems and the EHR is not priced publicly. Vendor Published

No rate card is published. Rad AI sells through agreements with radiology practices and health systems, and enquiries go through a demo request; the unit of charge for each product (Reporting, Impressions, Continuity) is not stated.