Digital Pathology AI
P

Proscia

Digital pathology software company whose Concentriq platform manages, displays and analyzes whole slide pathology images for clinical laboratories and life sciences organizations. Its diagnostic edition, Concentriq AP-Dx, is FDA 510(k) cleared (K230839 in 2024 and K261380 in August 2026, which added cloud deployment and a change control plan), Health Canada licensed and CE marked under the EU IVDR for primary diagnosis on FFPE surgical pathology slides; the research editions are labeled Research Use Only, a distinction the company draws explicitly.

Proscia's own AI applications, which recommend stain panels and ancillary tests and score biomarkers including PD-L1, HER2 and Ki-67, are research use only, and more than 230 AI applications from Proscia and other manufacturers run on the platform under their makers' labeling. The platform runs on AWS with a 99.95 percent uptime commitment, supports more than 45 scanners, and the company names ISO 27001, ISO 13485 and SOC 2 Type II certifications.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 27, 2026
Compare Proscia with other vendors
Founded
2014
Headquarters
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Website
proscia.com
Categories
pathology-ai, diagnostics-and-genomics, clinical-trials-ai
Indexed Products
Concentriq AP-Dx, Concentriq AP, Concentriq LS
Buyer Segments
Clinical diagnostic laboratories, Health systems, Life sciences and pharmaceutical R&D
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
CC on AI CentralityArtificial intelligence is a feature layer on a product whose value stands without it. A learned component is a model whose parameters are estimated from data: machine learning, or a statistical model fitted to population data, including one then updated on the patient measurements. A fixed formula, a rule set, or a feedback controller that adjusts a dosing factor from the patient own readings is not one, however patient specific its output and whatever the vendor calls the adjustment.
Vendor Published

A digital pathology platform with AI offered on it, and the company is careful about which parts are which. Concentriq is first an image management, viewing and workflow system for whole slide pathology, which is what high volume laboratories buy, and the cleared clinical edition (Concentriq AP-Dx) is an aid for viewing, managing and interpreting slide images for primary diagnosis. The home page says Proscia's native AI features in Concentriq AP-Dx "do not meet the definition of Artificial Intelligence as defined by Regulation (EU) 2024/1689", that Proscia's AI applications are for research use only, and that more than 230 AI applications, most from other manufacturers, run on the platform under their own makers' labeling. The company describes its own models as domain specific vision, language and multimodal models that recommend stain panels and score PD-L1, HER2 and Ki-67 in the research editions.

The platform's value stands without the models, and the AI is a layer offered on it, much of it by third parties.

AI as a feature layer on a platform that stands without it.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

Built around expert verification, with the failure side unpublished. Outputs are described as backed by spatial, contextual and quantitative evidence and built for expert verification; in practice the pathologist reviews AI recommended stain panels and adjusts them inline, and can modify regions of interest on biomarker scoring with results updating in real time. The cleared clinical edition is an aid to the pathologist for viewing and interpreting images, and the company's AI applications are for research use only, so no model output reaches a diagnosis without a pathologist. The company's chief executive has publicly argued that the opportunity is removing administrative burden rather than diagnostic expertise, consistent with how the product is scoped.

The part missing is what happens when a model is wrong: no published error behavior, known failure conditions (scanner, stain, tissue type) or route for reporting a wrong output.

Review structure described with the failure handling missing.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The architecture is described specifically as domain specific vision, language, and multimodal models reasoning across images and data, with images, metadata, and clinical context unified in one layer. Early validation practice was strong and disclosed: its dermatopathology classifier was validated in a multi site study across named academic and commercial laboratories using more than 20,000 patient biopsy slides. Falls short of an A because current model performance figures and validation methodology for the shipping AI features are not published at that same level of detail.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

The chain is short for Proscia's own models and open for the platform's other parties. The platform page names Amazon Web Services as the host, and Proscia's own models are its own; customers can run their own models as containerized workloads alongside their data. The platform also hosts more than 230 AI applications, most from other manufacturers, each with its own labeling that Proscia says it does not warrant, so an image sent to a third party application reaches that maker's model under terms the buyer must obtain separately. The platform page commits that customer data is never used to train the models Concentriq runs and that de-identified sharing for research happens only with the customer's express permission.

No subprocessor list is published, and nothing states which third party applications process data inside the customer's environment and which send it elsewhere.

A short chain for the company's own models with the host named, and the third party layer not enumerated.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Vendor Published

Named deployments with dated outcome figures, and a multi site validation of an earlier model. The company reports a 68 percent improvement in one day case turnaround at a named laboratory group, 60 percent faster workflow cycles at a contract research organization, a 40 percent reduction in time spent searching for data, and more than $1 million of new revenue at a named pathology group, with no method or baseline published; it cites a Best in KLAS 2026 award and states that all customers interviewed by KLAS would buy Concentriq again, which is satisfaction rather than outcome evidence. Clearance of the clinical edition for primary diagnosis rests on FDA review of the viewer (K230839, K261380). The earlier dermatopathology classifier was validated across two university hospitals and two commercial dermatopathology laboratories on more than 20,000 biopsy slides. Scale is stated: more than 4,000 hospitals and clinics, 12 million cases a year, and 16 of the top 20 pharmaceutical companies.

No published validation covers the current AI applications, which are research use only.

Named deployments with figures and published research short of independent validation.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

A categorical commitment on training use and sharing, without a retention schedule. The platform page states that "everything in Concentriq stays within your organization, unless you give express permission to de-identify and share it to advance research", and that "your data is never used to train the models Concentriq runs". That is the categorical form of the commitment rather than one excluding only identified data, and the research sharing exception is published beside it as opt in. Customer data is described as portable through open APIs, customer built models run as containerized workloads alongside the data with intellectual property retained by the customer, and the platform runs on AWS under ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II programs.

What is not published is the rest of the lifecycle: no retention period, no deletion position at contract end, no de-identification method for the opt in research sharing, and no subprocessor list. Safety engineering, meaning how a wrong model output is handled as a safety event, is not published.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

HIPAA is claimed as alignment, and no business associate position or service privacy document is published. The platform page lists HIPAA alignment and GDPR compliance beside ISO 27001, ISO 13485 and SOC 2 Type II, and states that customer data stays within the customer's organization unless the customer permits de-identified sharing and is never used to train the models Concentriq runs. The privacy policy linked in the footer is the company's website privacy policy. No business associate agreement is named, offered or described, and nothing sets out which obligations Proscia accepts when it hosts diagnostic images for clinical laboratories, which include major United States health systems, a national reference laboratory network and a federal pathology center.

Alignment is not a stated business associate position, and the ISO 27001 and SOC 2 programs speak to security rather than to business associate terms.

Compliance claimed without a business associate position or a service privacy document.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

Recognized certifications are named on the company's own pages, without the artifacts. The platform page states that Proscia's security and quality programs are certified under ISO 27001, ISO 13485 and SOC 2 Type II, beside HIPAA alignment and GDPR compliance, and adds two operational commitments: a 99.95 percent uptime service level agreement with regional redundancy, and change control in which every change is classified and validated by risk with a record of how each result was produced. The scale protected is substantial, with more than 8 petabytes of research data and more than 6,000 cases an hour.

No certificate, report, scope statement, expiry date or trust center is published, so the claims cannot be verified without contacting the company; no penetration testing statement or subprocessor list appears. The home page does not repeat the certifications.

AA on FDA and Regulatory StatusThe regulatory position is unambiguous and verifiable: a clearance or authorization identifiable in the public databases, with the version and indication it actually covers.
Regulatory Filing

The regulatory position is identifiable and matches what is sold. FDA's database lists two 510(k) clearances for Proscia, Inc.: Concentriq Dx (K230839, 8 February 2024, product code PSY) and Concentriq AP-Dx (K261380, 5 August 2026, QKQ), both under 21 CFR 864.3700, whole slide imaging systems. The home page states the intended use: an aid to the pathologist for viewing, managing, reviewing and interpreting digital images of scanned surgical pathology slides prepared from FFPE tissue, for primary diagnosis, and not for frozen sections, cytology or non-FFPE hematopathology specimens; the edition is also Health Canada licensed and CE marked under the EU IVDR. The August 2026 clearance adds a Predetermined Change Control Plan, cloud deployment and the Leica Aperio GT 450 DX scanner.

The AI is positioned consistently with that scope. The research editions (Concentriq AP and LS) are labeled research use only; Proscia's AI applications are research use only; third party applications carry their makers' labeling, which Proscia says it does not warrant; and the company states its native features in AP-Dx do not meet the EU AI Act's definition of artificial intelligence. No AI function is called cleared.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Evaluation practice is described without a governance framework or results by group. The company states that outputs are interpretable and evidence backed, with overlay tools letting pathologists confirm results visually, and that every change is classified and validated by risk with a record of how each result was produced. Its earlier dermatopathology classifier was validated across four laboratories (two university hospitals and two commercial dermatopathology laboratories) on more than 20,000 biopsy slides. No analysis is published of performance across scanner platforms, staining protocols or patient demographics, which are the known sources of drift in computational pathology, although the platform supports more than 45 scanners. The cleared edition's change control concerns the viewer, not a model, and third party AI applications carry their own makers' governance.

Evaluation practice described with no results by scanner, stain or patient group.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Mechanisms let a pathologist check every output, and nothing stands behind it. The pathologist reviews AI recommended stain panels and adjusts them inline, and can modify regions of interest on biomarker scoring with results updating in real time; overlays show the evidence behind each result; and the platform page states that every change is classified and validated by risk with a clear record of how each result was produced, which is an audit trail a laboratory can use to reconstruct how a case was analyzed. The company's AI applications are for research use only, and for third party applications the home page says their regulatory status and intended use are set by their own manufacturers and "not warranted by Proscia".

No warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment attaches to a model's output, and no error rate is published for the shipping models; the multi site dermatopathology validation described an earlier classifier. The 99.95 percent uptime commitment concerns availability, not output.

Review before sign out and result level provenance, with nothing attached to the output.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Integration is with the laboratory information system rather than the chart, which is the correct surface. The company states that AI recommended ancillary test requests flow back into the LIS rather than a separate ticket queue, which is a real workflow closure rather than a display feature. The platform also serves as a host environment for third party algorithms, with at least one external spatial biology vendor embedding its predictive biomarker technology into Concentriq. No named LIS integrations or standards were enumerated.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

Operationally specific, with the host named and no location committed. The platform page states that Concentriq is built on Amazon Web Services with a 99.95 percent uptime service level agreement and regional redundancy, and gives scale: more than 6,000 cases an hour and more than 8 petabytes of research data. The August 2026 clearance of Concentriq AP-Dx (K261380) added cloud deployment. Implementation is described as a service covering deployment architecture, migration of images and data, scanner and systems integration and workflow redesign.

No region, residency commitment or tenant isolation model is published, and nothing states where images from a European or Canadian customer rest, although the clinical edition is sold under EU IVDR and a Health Canada license. Whether an on premises option remains is not stated.

One hosted service on AWS with location implied rather than committed.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No pricing is published, and the return side is. No license fee, per case or per slide rate, tier structure or worked example is published for any Concentriq edition, and commercial engagement runs through a demo request or contact form; a digital pathology buyer's guide sits behind a form. What is published is the upside: a 68 percent improvement in one day case turnaround at a named laboratory group, 60 percent faster workflow cycles at a contract research organization, a 40 percent reduction in time spent searching for data, and more than $1 million of new revenue at a named pathology group, plus a Best in KLAS 2026 award. A buyer sees a quantified return on an investment whose cost is undisclosed. How the platform is sold can be established in outline: a clinical edition for diagnostic laboratories and research editions for life sciences, with more than 230 AI applications on the platform whose pricing sits with their makers.

The sales posture is discoverable and no price is published.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Two customer bases, named, with the cleared scope stated precisely. The clinical edition serves high volume diagnostic laboratories for primary diagnosis on scanned surgical pathology slides from FFPE tissue, and excludes frozen sections, cytology and non-FFPE hematopathology specimens; the research editions serve life sciences organizations for biomarker research, clinical trials and companion diagnostics. The platform supports more than 45 scanners and formats including DICOM, SVS, TIFF, NDPI and iSyntax, and the August 2026 clearance added the Leica Aperio GT 450 DX. Dermatopathology is the evident depth of Proscia's own models, given the multi site classifier validation and dermatopathology workflow features, with biomarker scoring extending into oncology research.

Validation sits behind the cleared viewing scope and the earlier dermatopathology classifier; the current AI applications are research use only, and which scanners the cleared edition is validated with beyond those named in its clearances is not listed.

Tracked Since Listing

Product updates

Material product, regulatory, evidence and commercial changes at Proscia, each verified against a live source and tagged to the capability axis it bears on. Funding rounds and awards are not product changes and are not logged.

Aug 6, 2026Regulatory / FDA

Proscia received a new FDA 510(k) clearance for its Concentriq AP-Dx digital pathology platform. The clearance introduces a Predetermined Change Control Plan (PCCP), adds cloud deployment capabilities, and expands interoperability to include the Leica Aperio GT 450 DX slide scanner.

Bears on: FDA and Regulatory StatusSource
Our read on this update →Tracked since Aug 2026
Alternatives

Alternatives to Proscia

Vendors in the same categories as Proscia whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

AI digital pathology company serving human, veterinary and environmental laboratories since 2013.

Finnish deep learning pathology company, listed in Helsinki, selling cloud based image analysis for clinical diagnostics and preclinical research.

Computational pathology company that produced the first FDA authorized AI based digital pathology product: Paige Prostate received De Novo authorization (DEN200080) in September 2021 as an…

Gestalt makes PathFlow, a vendor-neutral digital pathology platform and image management system that brings slides, case and patient information and AI outputs into one workspace, in cloud…

Albuquerque based digital pathology company whose HALO AP Dx platform is FDA 510(k) cleared for primary diagnosis with named scanners (K232833 with the Hamamatsu NanoZoomer S360MD; K252762…

Deep Bio builds deep learning algorithms for cancer pathology, led by prostate.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Contact the vendor
Undisclosed. Two editions serve two customer bases, clinical diagnostic laboratories and life sciences R&D organizations, almost certainly on different commercial structures. Not published. The platform page states HIPAA alignment; no business associate agreement, tier or subcontractor terms are published for a vendor hosting diagnostic images for clinical laboratories on AWS. Not disclosed. Whole slide imaging deployment involves substantial storage and scanner integration considerations that are not addressed publicly. Vendor Published

No price is published. The edition distinction matters and the company states it plainly: Concentriq AP-Dx is FDA cleared (K230839, K261380), Health Canada licensed and CE marked under the EU IVDR for primary diagnosis, while Concentriq AP and LS are research use only and not for clinical diagnosis, as are Proscia's AI applications; third party applications carry their makers' labeling. A laboratory must confirm it is contracting for the cleared edition if slides will inform diagnoses.

The research editions are described as GxP ready for life sciences, a quality framework rather than a security or clinical credential. Ask for the charging basis, how third party applications are billed, and implementation cost.