Value Based Care Intelligence
P

Persivia

Persivia sells health systems, accountable care organizations, physician groups and health plans a single platform for running value based contracts, and it is open about building that platform on a long rules and content lineage. CareSpace aggregates clinical records, claims, health information exchange feeds, admission and discharge messages, patient reported data, device readings and social determinants information into a longitudinal patient record, then layers risk stratification, care management, quality reporting, care gap identification and patient engagement on top. Around it sit a data cloud for aggregation, CareTrak at the point of care, SmartLab for laboratory results exchange, a marketplace, and Soliton, which the company calls its AI engine: predictive, prescriptive and generative AI for cohort prediction, diagnosis code extraction from notes, and generated worklists, notes and patient communications.

The distinguishing asset is a library of more than 200 evidence based programs covering chronic disease, care transitions, preventive care, behavioral health and social determinants, which customers deploy as shipped or adapt. The company describes CareSpace as resting on more than a decade of clinical rules engine and analytics work, and says customers go live in as little as nine weeks.

The certifications page lists NCQA Data Aggregator Validation and HEDIS measure certification, CMS public health reporting certification, HITRUST certification and a SOC 2 Type 2 report. Named customers include McLaren Health Care, HCA Florida Oak Hill Hospital, Prime Healthcare and Harmony Cares. The company presents itself as a Niche Player in a Gartner Magic Quadrant for healthcare provider cloud platforms, is headquartered in Marlborough, Massachusetts, and was recapitalised in April 2025 with Aldrich Capital Partners alongside Petrichor Healthcare Capital Management.

What a buyer should weigh: the customer results on the home page carry no period, denominator or method, the case studies behind them are gated, and no price or unit of charge is published.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 21, 2026
Compare Persivia with other vendors
Founded
—
Headquarters
Marlborough, Massachusetts, United States
Website
persivia.com
Categories
vbc-intelligence, health-system-ai-platforms
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
CC on AI CentralityArtificial intelligence is a feature layer on a product whose value stands without it. A learned component is a model whose parameters are estimated from data: machine learning, or a statistical model fitted to population data, including one then updated on the patient measurements. A fixed formula, a rule set, or a feedback controller that adjusts a dosing factor from the patient own readings is not one, however patient specific its output and whatever the vendor calls the adjustment.
Vendor Published

Real inference sits on top of a rules and content foundation the company describes openly. Soliton, which the company calls its AI engine, is described as bringing predictive, prescriptive and generative AI to population health: machine learning models predicting high cost cohorts, natural language processing extracting diagnosis codes from physician notes, speech interfaces for analytics, and generated tasks, notes and patient communications. Those are learned components doing real work.

The foundation is something else. The company describes CareSpace as built on more than a decade of clinical rules engine and analytics work, and the Soliton page says program design rests on algorithm development and semantic sets. The library of more than 200 programs, the data aggregation and the quality reporting would still function with the models removed, which makes AI a capable layer rather than the product.

CC on Autonomy and Oversight ModelAutonomy is claimed and oversight is asserted without a mechanism. Human in the loop appears as a phrase rather than a described control.
Vendor Published

Autonomy is described plainly and the scope is sensibly bounded, and the escalation path is missing.

The candor counts in its favor. The company states that software agents conduct outreach without requiring additional staff capacity, which is an accurate description of what autonomous patient contact is for. It does not dress the same function up as augmenting a care team while quietly selling the headcount saving.

The scope is bounded in a way that reduces risk. Named uses are follow ups, appointment reminders, medication adherence prompts and chronic care education, which are low acuity, high volume tasks where the cost of an imperfect interaction is small and the cost of not doing it at all is a missed care gap. Confining autonomous contact to that range of tasks is a defensible design choice rather than a lapse in oversight.

The analytics layer sits on the other side of the line, with risk stratification, alerts and care gap lists surfacing to care teams who decide what to do.

What is absent is what happens when a bounded conversation stops being bounded. A patient answering a medication adherence prompt may report chest pain, describe a fall, or say something indicating crisis. Nothing published describes how an agent recognizes that it has left its competence, who is notified, within what time, or whether a human reviews conversation transcripts at all. An automated channel that patients treat as a route to their care team creates an expectation of a listener, and no published material establishes that there is one.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

The engine is named and described by function; nothing inside it is identified. Soliton is presented as the AI engine behind CareSpace, combining predictive, prescriptive and generative AI: machine learning for predicting high cost cohorts, natural language processing for extracting diagnosis codes from physician notes, speech interfaces for analytics, and generated worklists, notes, assessments and patient communications. The company describes the platform as resting on more than a decade of clinical rules engine work, so the boundary between authored rules and learned models is the useful thing to know, and it is not drawn.

The Soliton page states up to 90 percent accuracy in predicting high cost cohorts and 98 percent accuracy in extracting diagnosis codes from notes, with no method, metric definition, dataset or period behind either. No model, version, training data, language or speech model provider, or update practice is named.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

The architecture is described and no model provider is named. CareSpace combines a data cloud described as a lakehouse for aggregation and management, the Soliton AI engine, a point of care tool (CareTrak), a laboratory results interface (SmartLab) and a marketplace. No subprocessor list, hosting provider, model or speech provider, data licensor or content source is named on the home, certifications, Soliton or privacy pages, and the privacy policy says only that information is shared with vendors and service providers to support or improve the platforms.

The generative layer is where the missing names matter most. Soliton generates patient communications and supports speech interfaces, and which language or speech model reads or hears patient content, under what retention terms, is not stated. The library of more than 200 programs encodes clinical guidance whose sources and update process are also unpublished.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

Named customers with vendor reported results, and no method behind them. The home page attaches figures to named organizations: McLaren Health Care, $34 million in savings, which its case study page says made it the sixth best performing MSSP ACO in the country; HCA Florida Oak Hill Hospital, a 65 percent reduction in readmissions and 1,282 readmissions avoided; Prime Healthcare, $17 million in incentive payments; Harmony Cares, 85 to 100 percent HCC pass rates. The Soliton page adds up to 90 percent accuracy in predicting high cost cohorts and 98 percent accuracy extracting diagnosis codes from notes. No period, denominator, comparison or method accompanies any figure, and the case studies sit behind a download form.

One figure can be checked independently. CMS publishes MSSP results by ACO, so the McLaren ranking can be confirmed for the year it refers to, which the page does not state.

The NCQA Data Aggregator Validation designation is outside validation of the data the platform produces, which is a different question from whether its programs improve outcomes. The company cites no peer reviewed publication.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

General assurances that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises. The platform privacy policy says Persivia may aggregate or de identify data collected through its platforms and use it for any purpose, keeps information for as long as an account is active or as needed to provide the service, and shares information with vendors and service providers only to support or improve the platforms. It does not say whether patient data trains the Soliton models, what is kept from generated patient communications or speech interfaces, or whether an external model provider processes that content.

The generative layer sharpens the question. Soliton is described as generating notes, assessments and patient communications, so unstructured protected health information passes through models whose retention and training terms are not published. The home page also describes continuous feedback loops that improve over time without saying whether that learning stays inside one customer's data.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

A credible compliance posture at the certification level, with the contractual layer entirely private.

The supporting evidence is real. HITRUST certification of the platform maps healthcare regulatory requirements onto an audited control set rather than leaving compliance as an assertion, and the aggregation validation credential involves an external body examining data handling. Business associate status is the correct posture for a processor holding identified clinical, claims and social data on behalf of providers and plans.

What is absent is every negotiable term. No template business associate agreement, breach notification window, liability cap position, audit rights statement, subcontractor flow down provision or data return and destruction clause is published.

One feature of this product raises a specific obligation. Automated outreach contacts patients directly by text message and voice, which means protected health information leaves the platform through conversational channels into consumer devices. The compliance questions attached to that are specific: what is transmitted in an unencrypted text message, how patient consent to that channel is captured and recorded, and how a patient revokes it. The site addresses none of the three.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

Two recognized attestations are named as the company's own, without the artifacts. The certifications page states HITRUST certification and a SOC 2 Type 2 report with HITRUST mapping. The company's March 2024 announcement identified the HITRUST certification as the implemented, one year (i1) level for CareSpace; the certifications page does not state the current level or date, and an i1 certification lasts one year. The same page lists NCQA Data Aggregator Validation, NCQA HEDIS measure certification and CMS public health reporting certification, which validate data and measures rather than how security is operated.

No report period, scope statement or trust portal is published, so nothing can be opened without asking.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

Outside device regulation by function, with the patient facing layer sitting closer to the line than the analytics.

Risk stratification for program targeting, quality measurement, care gap identification and contract performance reporting are administrative and financial activities rather than diagnosis or treatment, so no clearance is required and none is claimed.

The regulatory weight the company carries sits in the payment domain and is substantial. Data validated under the aggregation program feeds quality submissions that determine payment under federal risk contracts, and the platform is explicitly built around Medicare shared savings participation, accountable care organization risk models and Medicare Advantage star ratings. Accuracy failures there are federally consequential even though they are not device matters.

The boundary case is patient facing education delivered by software. An agent conducting chronic care education by voice or text is communicating health information to a patient without a clinician composing the message, and where such software stays clear of device classification depends on whether it delivers authored educational content or generates individualized guidance. A language model conversing about medication adherence can drift from the first into the second without anyone deciding that it should. The company does not say which description applies or what constrains the agent's output.

The result is a product correctly outside device regulation, consequential in payment, and unaddressed at the boundary its newest capability approaches.

DD on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureNothing published on how model behavior is governed or tested. Multilingual operation with no subgroup performance sits here when the vendor markets recognition quality as a strength, because a caller the system failed to understand leaves no complaint and no record.
Vendor Published

Nothing published on how model behavior is governed or tested. The home, certifications, Soliton and privacy pages carry no bias testing, subgroup results, fairness review, statement of target variables or model documentation.

The first mechanism at risk is one the company presents as a selling point. Soliton advertises up to 90 percent accuracy in predicting high cost cohorts, and predicting cost is the target Obermeyer and colleagues showed in Science in 2019 to understate the illness of Black patients, because less had been spent on their care at the same level of need. A cohort model built on cost directs care management away from the patients that failure affects unless it is corrected, and nothing says whether it is.

The second is social determinants targeting. Deprivation and demographic flags steer outreach toward groups least likely to meet outcome thresholds, which can improve equity and also places proxies for protected characteristics in a decision about who receives attention; which objective the targeting optimizes is not stated.

The third arrives with speech interfaces and generated patient communication, where recognition and language performance differ across accent, dialect and age, often for the patients a program exists to reach.

DD on AI Liability and RecourseNothing published on what happens when the system is wrong.
Vendor Published

Nothing published on what happens when the system is wrong. The home, certifications, Soliton and privacy pages carry no warranty on analytic or generated output, no accuracy commitment, no indemnity, no service credit tied to data quality or availability, and no route to dispute an output.

The financial failure modes are substantial. Quality measures computed on incompletely ingested data move a reported score and the shared savings or star rating attached to it. A risk stratification that misses patients sends care management to the wrong people and a contract underperforms. For an independent accountable care organization, a single performance year can decide continued participation.

The patient facing exposure is distinct. Soliton generates patient communications, and automated outreach reaches patients about medication and chronic disease without a clinician composing the message. If generated content misstates an instruction, fails to escalate a patient describing a serious symptom, or reaches the wrong patient, the harm lands on a person. The provider whose name the message carries is the party the patient will hold responsible, and nothing published allocates that responsibility between the provider and the vendor whose software spoke.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Intake is broad and externally validated, with no record system named. Seven source types are named: clinical records from electronic health record systems, claims, health information exchange feeds, admission and discharge messages, patient reported data, home device readings and social determinants information. The NCQA Data Aggregator Validation designation on the certifications page is an outside assessment of this exact capability, and the platform produces validated clinical documents in a standard format. Named deployments stand behind it: McLaren Health Care unified more than 30 data sources, and Prime Healthcare unified data across 51 hospitals on several record systems.

Admission and discharge feeds are what make care transition programs work at all, since a program that learns of a discharge from a claim arrives weeks late.

What holds it below the top is mechanics. No record system is named, identity resolution across sources is not described, and nothing says whether insights write back into the record; the point of care tool, CareTrak, is listed without integration detail.

DD on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyNothing published about where the system runs or where the data rests.
Vendor Published

Nothing published about where the system runs or where data rests. The home, certifications, Soliton and privacy pages name no hosting provider, region, tenancy model, residency commitment, recovery objective or availability commitment; the data product is described as a lakehouse without saying where it sits.

The gap matters for a platform that assembles identified longitudinal records from clinical, claims, social, device and exchange feeds across whole attributed populations and runs care management and quality reporting on them daily. The site also presents a Saudi Arabia offering alongside the United States business, which makes residency a live question rather than a formality.

Commercial
DD on Commercial TransparencyNothing a buyer can establish before a sales conversation. A published pricing claim contradicted by evidence also grades here.
Vendor Published

Pricing stays inside the sales conversation. No price, unit of charge, tier, implementation fee or minimum commitment appears on the site, and nothing states whether the products listed (CareSpace, the data cloud, CareTrak, Soliton, SmartLab and the marketplace) are sold together or separately.

Speed is the lead commercial argument, with go live in as little as nine weeks and five or six point solutions replaced, and that is an argument about cost published without the cost. The library of more than 200 programs raises the same question: included, bundled or licensed individually.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Broad on both clinical and buyer coverage, and the breadth is built rather than claimed.

Clinical coverage runs through a library of more than 200 evidence based programs spanning chronic disease management, care transitions, preventive care, behavioral health and social determinants. That is coverage a customer can inspect item by item rather than an assertion. Including behavioral health matters because it is the category most often left out of population health programs and the one whose omission most distorts a risk picture.

Buyer and contract coverage is similarly wide. Payers, providers and hospital systems are all addressed, and supported programs include Medicare shared savings participation, accountable care organization risk models, Medicare Advantage star rating improvement, commercial payment transformation and newer federal models, with performance monitored across multiple contracts at once, which is the operational reality for most organizations in this market.

Data source coverage supports the clinical claim. Clinical records, claims, health information exchange feeds, admission and discharge messages, patient reported data, home device readings and social determinants information all feed the record.

What is missing is evidence of depth. Program count establishes breadth of content and not the quality of any individual pathway, no customer count or installed base figure is published, and nothing establishes how the platform performs in a setting outside ambulatory and accountable care.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Persivia

Vendors in the same categories as Persivia whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Lightbeam Health Solutions assembles a value based care operating system largely by acquisition, and the pieces it bought explain what it is.

Inovalon is a data business that sells analytics and software on top of its data.

Cedar Gate Technologies runs value based care arrangements end to end on one platform, from data management and analytics through to adjudicating the payment.

Pearl Health is a New York value based care enablement company for Medicare primary care.

mPulse reaches health plan members at very large scale and uses models to decide which members to reach.

Clarify Health now describes itself as a healthcare outcomes company that partners with health systems, a change from how it sold until recently.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published
Undisclosed Not published Not published Vendor Published

No price, unit of charge, tier, implementation fee or minimum commitment is published on the home, certifications, Soliton or case study pages, and nothing states whether CareSpace, the data cloud, CareTrak, Soliton, SmartLab and the marketplace are sold together or separately. The lead commercial argument, go live in as little as nine weeks with five or six point solutions replaced, is a cost argument published without the cost. Ask for the unit of charge, how the products and the program library are packaged, the implementation fee and the contract term.