Omnicell
Omnicell sells the physical infrastructure of hospital medication management and has spent the past six years attaching an intelligence layer to it. The hardware came first and still carries the business: XT automated dispensing cabinets at the point of care, XR2 robotics in the central pharmacy, IV compounding systems, and supply cabinets, sold into acute hospitals, health systems, retail and specialty pharmacies, long term care and residential settings, in the United States and internationally.
The software sits on top of that installed base. OmniCenter is the established on premise platform. OmniSphere, introduced at the end of 2024, is the cloud native workflow engine and data platform intended to succeed it, running on Amazon Web Services and sold on enterprise wide visibility and interoperability with the electronic health record. Omnicell One, generally available since August 2020, is the predictive layer over pharmacy inventory. Titan XT, launched in December 2025, is the next generation cabinet built on OmniSphere, which the company reported in April 2026 was entering health system capital planning cycles.
Omnicell's drug diversion product is Diversion Management, formerly ANiGENT's MAAP Analytics. Omnicell acquired ANiGENT, LLC, established in 2019, in October 2025. The ANiGENT site now forwards to Omnicell's product page and the product is sold under Omnicell's name. It is cloud based software that consolidates dispensing, administration, waste and override data, gives individual users machine learning risk scores so an investigation team can decide whom to look at first, and runs each case through shared case management with audit trails, alongside waste assay and reconciliation tracking. Omnicell's HITRUST certification scopes were set before the acquisition and do not name it.
The company frames all of this as the Autonomous Pharmacy, and its own securities filing describes the business as empowering autonomous medication management. Read closely, the same passage commits to equipping pharmacists and nurses to focus on patient care rather than administrative tasks, which is a narrower claim than the brand implies and a more accurate one. The autonomy on offer is the removal of counting, stocking and reconciling, not of clinical judgment.
Omnicell is a public company, founded in 1992, headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas and listed on Nasdaq as OMCL, with an engineering innovation lab opened in Austin in 2025. Its scale is documented in filings rather than asserted in marketing, which is unusual in this index and matters for how the grades below should be read. The AI centrality grade describes what the models built inside this business do. It is not a judgment on the size, maturity or quality of the business itself.
Capability Axes
An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read
Artificial intelligence is a feature layer on a business whose value stands without it. The core business is medication automation: cabinets, robotics and compounding systems that dispense whether or not a model is running. The models sit on top: predictive inventory analytics, AI enabled insights in OmniSphere and Titan XT, and Diversion Management, the machine learning risk scoring Omnicell acquired with ANiGENT in October 2025 and now sells under its own name.
Diversion Management is the one product where the model is the engine of the module, but it is a single module inside a large automation portfolio. The Autonomous Pharmacy framing is a strategic vision for the category rather than a description of model driven decisions in the shipping product. The automation itself is substantial in both scale and quality.
The company has named its entire strategy after a claim it does not actually make. Autonomous Pharmacy is the brand and autonomous medication management is the phrase in its own filing, while the passage that follows commits to equipping pharmacists and nurses to focus on patient care rather than administrative tasks. That is a bounded and defensible position: the automation removes counting, stocking and reconciliation, and a licensed professional still owns the clinical decision. The boundary is inferable from the filings rather than stated as an oversight model, so what a nurse or pharmacist remains accountable for at each automated step is left to the customer to work out.
Omnicell describes its intelligence products in general terms: OmniSphere as a platform plus analytics layer drawing on cloud based data and predictive insights, Titan XT as carrying AI enabled predictive analytics, and Diversion Management as using machine learning to produce Individual Risk Identification Scores, which the acquisition announcement describes as human intelligence enabled by machine learning. The architecture is described, but nothing in it is identified.
No model family, feature set, training population, version or performance measure is named for any of these products, and nothing says when a model changed. A buyer evaluating the diversion scores in particular has no published basis for asking how a score is produced or how often it is wrong.
Omnicell names Amazon Web Services as the host of OmniSphere in its own certification scope, and its annual report on Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 tells shareholders that it may incorporate artificial intelligence into its products and that its vendors may incorporate AI tools into their offerings. No model provider is named anywhere a buyer can see it, no subprocessor list is published, and no line is drawn between models Omnicell built and models it licenses.
Diversion Management is described as a proprietary platform from the ANiGENT acquisition, with no host or provider named for it. The host matters for residency and breach scope; the model layer itself is not disclosed.
Adoption is verifiable through Omnicell's annual reports on Form 10-K and an installed base spanning acute, retail and post acute settings. What is absent is measurement attributable to the intelligence layer. Inventory optimization, diversion detection and waste reduction are described as outcomes the products drive, without published figures naming a customer, a baseline and a result. So a buyer can confirm that thousands of institutions run the cabinets, and cannot confirm what the analytics changed at any one of them.
Omnicell's HIPAA Statement commits to using and disclosing customer health information only as customer agreements permit, to appropriate safeguards and to reporting unauthorized disclosures. The commitments stay general. They do not say whether customer dispensing and medication data trains models, whether the predictive services are fitted per customer or across the installed base, or what retention applies to the data feeding them.
The privacy notice reserves a right to use anonymized data for any purpose unless a contract says otherwise, but it covers website and marketing data and sends health information to the HIPAA Statement, so it is not the product position in either direction. HITRUST certification attests to controls over data, not to commitments about its use. Diversion Management adds risk scores for identified staff, and nothing says how those are kept or deleted. No safety engineering is published: nothing describes guardrails on the predictive or diversion models or how a safety event is handled.
A HIPAA Statement is published, linked from every page footer and named in the company's privacy notice as governing all information subject to HIPAA. It states that Omnicell acts as a business associate to its customers, will use or disclose health information only as its customer agreements permit, will report any use or disclosure those agreements do not provide for, and will ensure that subcontractors and agents receiving health information agree to the same restrictions and conditions that apply to Omnicell.
That is business associate status stated and supported by a substantive document. The agreement itself is not published and nothing states at what level of purchase one is offered. The statement is undated and its security section reads as though the security rule had not yet taken effect, so its wording may not reflect the current agreement.
Two HITRUST CSF i1 certifications are named. The first covers Omnicell's OmniCenter based medication management automation, including XT cabinets, controlled substance and central pharmacy systems and the vSuite support processes. Omnicell's own question and answer document on it sets out the scope, explains why a single location appears on the certificate, offers the certificate to customers on request through a dedicated address, and states validity to September 2024.
The second was announced in June 2025 for OmniSphere, the cloud platform on Amazon Web Services, scoped to that platform and the solutions that use it, naming Inventory Optimization Service, Essentials and telemetry services; the same announcement describes the first certification as still held. The i1 renews annually and no renewal after those dates is published.
Diversion Management, acquired with ANiGENT in October 2025, is named in neither scope, and nothing says whether it has been audited since the acquisition. No self serve trust center is published, and the i1 is HITRUST's moderate assurance tier rather than its most rigorous, which the company's material does not say.
The company's annual report on Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 states its regulatory position. Most of its medication management solutions are not directly regulated by the FDA or the DEA, because the regulated activity is the pharmacy, dispensing and compounding work its customers do with them. It also manufactures products classified as Class I and Class II medical devices under the Quality System Regulation, including a sterile disposable product that required 510(k) clearance.
That states the pathway and names a clearance without the product identity and date needed to match it. The analytics products, Diversion Management and the predictive inventory services, are marketed on operational and compliance outcomes rather than clinical determination and carry no device claim, which is consistent with the filing. Nothing public names which products are the Class I and II devices.
What Omnicell publishes about artificial intelligence is investor facing. Its annual report on Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 names the incorporation of artificial intelligence, including generative and agentic technologies, as a business risk, surveys emerging AI law in the United States, the European Union and the United Kingdom, and says the company maintains governance, risk and compliance systems covering areas that include AI regulation.
That is monitoring of law rather than governance of model behavior: nothing describes how the inventory predictions or the diversion risk scores are validated, tested for bias or reviewed. The gap matters most for the diversion scores, which attach to identified clinicians and decide who is investigated. Scores built from historical access and waste patterns can fall unevenly across shifts, units and staff types, and nothing published says whether that distribution has been examined.
For Diversion Management, Omnicell describes investigation machinery around every flag: shared case management holding notes, communications and evidence, investigation status and outcome tracking, and audit trails documenting review activity and decisions. Those are mechanisms that let a hospital examine and contest an output before acting on it.
Nothing stands behind any output: no accuracy commitment for the inventory predictions or the diversion scores, no remediation obligation when one is wrong, and no route for the people on the receiving end, a patient facing an unavailable medication or a clinician flagged for investigation, to see or challenge it. The annual report tells shareholders that errors in its software as a service offerings could bring customer claims, which is a risk disclosure rather than a commitment to customers.
Interoperability is a real engineering asset here rather than a marketing claim. The cabinets have integrated with hospital information systems for decades, OmniSphere is sold specifically on interoperability with the electronic health record and on unifying data across the automation estate, and the international product line describes a central intelligence layer giving a single view across an entire deployed fleet.
Omnicell names Epic, Cerner and Siemens as record systems its XT cabinets interoperate with, but the direction and depth of each integration, and evidence of each running in production, are not documented.
A buyer can tell which platform generation runs where, which is rarer than it should be. OmniCenter is the on premise platform, OmniSphere is cloud native, and the company names Amazon Web Services as the host in its own certification scope rather than referring vaguely to the cloud. Both generations are in the field at once and the company is open about the transition between them.
Diversion Management, acquired with ANiGENT in October 2025, is described only as cloud based, with no host or region stated and nothing saying whether it runs on OmniSphere. Residency below the level of the provider, meaning region, and any option for a customer to constrain it, is not addressed.
No price is published for any product line. The sales posture is discoverable from Omnicell's own annual report on Form 10-K for fiscal 2025. Members of group purchasing organizations, naming Vizient, Premier and HealthTrust, contract directly with Omnicell under pre negotiated terms and pricing. Hardware is bought outright or on multi year, non cancellable lease terms Omnicell offers.
Its software as a service and expert services offerings run on generally multi year, non cancellable subscriptions, and the company is moving more products onto subscription. A buyer can therefore establish before any conversation which contract route applies and that cost is built from hardware, software subscription, service contract and implementation. What is missing is any figure or unit of charge for any of those components.
Coverage is broad and named rather than implied: acute hospitals and health systems, central pharmacy, perioperative and anesthesia workstations, retail and specialty pharmacy, long term care, and intellectual and developmental disability residential settings, with separate product surfaces for international markets including the United Kingdom and the Middle East. The breadth is documented as product availability by setting rather than as evidence of performance within any particular specialty.
Alternatives to Omnicell
Vendors in the same categories as Omnicell whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
This record covers BD's medication dispensing estate as sold to hospital pharmacy: the BD Pyxis family of automated dispensing systems and the BD HealthSight analytics layer that runs on top of it.
FDB, formerly First Databank, supplies the drug knowledge that sits underneath most medication decisions made in the United States.
Synapse Medicine builds what it calls a medication intelligence platform, and the distinctive thing about it is where the machine learning sits.
UpToDate Lexidrug, formerly Lexicomp, is the drug reference Wolters Kluwer Health sells to pharmacists and prescribers.
TheraDoc is a hospital clinical surveillance platform that monitors live feeds of laboratory, microbiology, pharmacy and admission data to raise alerts for infection prevention…
VigiLanz is a hospital clinical surveillance platform, founded in Minneapolis in 2001 by David Goldsteen and acquired by Inovalon in February 2024.
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Pricing
Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.
| Entry Price | Pricing Basis | BAA Tier | Implementation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Not published
|
Quotation. Capital purchase or lease of hardware, plus software subscription and service contracts, contracted directly or under group purchasing terms, per the company's Form 10-K. | Not published. Omnicell's HIPAA Statement states business associate status and that subcontractors must accept the same restrictions, but the agreement itself and any tiering are settled in contract. | Not published. Implementation is a separate line whose size is not stated anywhere public. | Vendor Published |
Omnicell publishes no figure for any product line, so no numeric entry price is recorded here. What it does publish, in its annual report on Form 10-K for fiscal 2025, is how the purchase is structured. Members of group purchasing organizations including Vizient, Premier and HealthTrust contract directly with Omnicell under pre negotiated terms and pricing.
Hardware can be bought outright or on multi year, non cancellable lease terms that Omnicell offers and may sell on to finance companies. Software as a service and expert services offerings run on generally multi year, non cancellable subscriptions, and the company is moving more products onto subscription.
A total cost estimate therefore needs the hardware, the software subscription, the service contract and the implementation, and only the existence and contract shape of those components is public. Diversion Management, the former ANiGENT product, is sold within this portfolio, and nothing states whether a hospital without Omnicell cabinets can buy it on its own.