Clinical Trials AI
O

Octozi

New York company applying AI agents to clinical trial data operations: data cleaning, medical data review, safety review and reconciliation, medical monitoring and clinical operations, across five modules on one workspace for the study team. It harmonizes EDC, safety, laboratory, CTMS, eCOA and IRT data with source traceability and pairs proprietary language models fine-tuned from Llama 4 with heuristic algorithms, flagging discrepancies and drafting queries that reviewers accept, edit or reject. The company says customer data never trains its models and is held in per-customer environments, and lists SOC 2 Type II.

Its August 2025 preprint, a study of 10 medical reviewers on synthetic trial data, reported six-fold faster review and errors falling from about 55 to 8.5 percent. Debiopharm's innovation fund is an investor; sales are to sponsors and contract research organizations.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 29, 2026
Compare Octozi with other vendors
Founded
2024
Headquarters
New York, New York, United States
Website
octozi.com
Categories
clinical-trials-ai
Indexed Products
Octozi Clinical Intelligence Platform, AI Medical Data Review, AI Safety Review and Reconciliation
Buyer Segments
Pharma / Life Sciences, CRO
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Vendor Published

Models drive the core work, on a data workspace that carries some value without them. The company sells AI agents across five modules (data management, clinical science, safety, medical monitoring and clinical operations) that detect discrepancies, draft queries and explain flagged items, using fine-tuned language models with heuristic algorithms.

Underneath is a unified data model that harmonizes EDC, safety, laboratory, CTMS, eCOA and IRT data into one review workspace with source traceability, which a study team could use without the agents. The discrepancy detection and drafted queries do not exist without the models.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

Reviewers decide every query; what the agents may do on their own is not set out. The company describes a human-in-the-loop design in which the platform flags discrepancies with a narrative rationale and drafts queries, and reviewers can modify or reject each suggestion before anything reaches a site; deterministic algorithms handle the parts that must be reproducible.

The five modules extend agents into safety review, medical monitoring and clinical operations, where the limits of what an agent does unattended, the confidence at which a flag goes to a person, and how an agent's action is marked in the audit trail are not published.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The base model and the approach are named; versions and update practice are not. The company's preprint says its discrepancy detection uses proprietary language models derived from Llama 4 and fine-tuned for clinical trial data cleaning, combined with heuristic algorithms built with expert medical reviewers, over a unified data model with source traceability and a narrative view explaining each flag. It reports recall and precision for the detector. What data fine-tuned the models, how versions are managed, and how a sponsor learns of an update inside a validated study are not published.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

The model layer is the company's own, fine-tuned from a named open-weight base, with a training exclusion. The preprint names Llama 4 as the base of its proprietary fine-tuned models, and the home page says customer data is never used to train or update them and is stored in per-customer siloed environments. That makes the model chain short. The cloud host, any other sub-processors, and retention terms are not published.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Vendor Published

Published company research with its method, short of an independent or live-study evaluation. The preprint (arXiv 2508.05519, August 2025, Octozi authors) ran 10 experienced medical reviewers on synthetic patients built from a phase 3 oncology database (51 case report form datasets, more than 150 patients) with seeded discrepancies: assisted review was 6.03 times faster, errors fell from 54.7 to 8.5 percent and false positive queries fell 15.5-fold, with an economic model of a representative phase 3 trial estimating $5.1 million saved, mostly from earlier database lock. The home page cites these as an 85 percent reduction in data errors and six-fold median throughput. No named customer deployment with figures is published; Debiopharm's venture fund is an investor.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

Categorical commitments are published; retention is not. The company states that it never uses customers' private data to train or update its models, stores each customer's data in siloed environments isolated from others, encrypts data in storage and transit, gives customers control and visibility over access and usage, and uses zero-trust, least-privilege access with strong authentication.

The training exclusion matters for sponsors who will not expose unblinded trial data to a vendor that might learn from it. No retention period, end-of-study handling or privacy policy is published, and nothing is published on safety engineering for the language models beyond the heuristic checks paired with them.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

Service commitments are published; no status and no privacy policy. The home page commits that customer data is never used to train models, is isolated per customer, encrypted and access-controlled, and lists GDPR compliance, but no privacy policy, data processing agreement or statement on HIPAA or business associate status is published.

Most trial data reaches the company from sponsors under subject identifiers rather than from provider records, where data protection law and sponsor agreements usually govern; the company does not say so itself.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

A recognized attestation is named without the report. The home page's security and compliance section lists SOC 2 Type II and says the company undergoes regular audits and third-party vulnerability testing, with zero-trust, least-privilege access, strong authentication and encryption in storage and transit. No report, period, scope or trust portal is published. The company handles pre-submission trial data for sponsors.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No device claim is made, and the platform is scoped to trial data operations. Its output feeds datasets behind regulatory submissions, so electronic records and data integrity rules apply. The home page now lists 21 CFR Part 11 and "GxP Validated" among its compliance marks, and the preprint says the platform preserves source traceability; no validation summary, audit trail description or statement of how a model-drafted query is attributed is published.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Evaluation is published on a synthetic dataset, with nothing on where the detector flags. The company's preprint (Purri, Patel and Deurell, arXiv, August 2025; all Octozi authors) reports its discrepancy detector at 97.5 percent recall and 77.2 percent precision on an annotated synthetic dataset derived from a phase 3 oncology trial, and a reviewer study on the same kind of data.

Testing against discrepancies its authors seeded measures the detector against the company's own model of what goes wrong, not against the errors nobody anticipated. The risk that matters for automated data review is where the flags fall: a detector can be accurate overall while over-querying some sites, forms, source systems or therapeutic areas, and that pattern shapes the dataset a regulator sees. No flag rates by site or source and no governance framework are published.

BB on AI Liability and RecourseA published falsifiable commitment, or a real correction route the affected person can exercise against the vendor. A published error rate with its method and denominator grades here. A statutory right that runs to the covered entity rather than to the vendor does not reach this band on its own: every other route here asks something of the vendor, and being located in a particular jurisdiction is not conduct.
Vendor Published

The company publishes its detector's error rates with method, and the human baseline. Its preprint (arXiv 2508.05519, August 2025, Octozi authors) reports recall of 97.5 percent and precision of 77.2 percent (83.6 percent accuracy) for discrepancy detection on an annotated synthetic dataset built from a phase 3 oncology trial, with 10 percent of data points seeded with discrepancies.

In a study of 10 medical reviewers on that data, assisted reviewers' errors fell from 54.7 to 8.5 percent, precision rose from 44.6 to 93.2 percent and recall held (85.2 against 88.9 percent). These are company-run results on synthetic data, not performance on live trials, and the preprint is not peer reviewed. Reviewers can modify or reject every suggested query. No warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment is published.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

No clinical record integration, and the trial systems it connects to are described only by type. For trial software, those are the systems that count. The platform harmonizes EDC, safety, laboratory, CTMS, eCOA and IRT data into one model with source traceability, and the company's positioning is to work with the systems study teams already use. No data capture or safety product is named, and no connector list or interface documentation is published.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

Tenant isolation is stated; hosting and residency are not. The company says each customer's data sits in a siloed environment isolated from other customers' data, which matters when competing sponsors use the same vendor. Where the platform is hosted, in which regions, and whether a sponsor can keep data in a jurisdiction for a multinational trial are not published, nor is where the fine-tuned models run.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price is published, and the value case is framed against a cost sponsors know. The company's economic model of a representative phase 3 oncology trial estimates $5.1 million saved per study, mostly from a five-day-earlier database lock, which a sponsor can compare with its own delay costs; it models a representative trial rather than measuring one. Sales are to sponsors and contract research organizations by demo request.

CC on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is claimed broadly without specifics, or stated clearly with nothing validating it yet.
Vendor Published

Coverage is stated clearly, with nothing validating it on live studies yet. The platform covers the clinical trial data layer (data management, clinical science review, safety review and reconciliation, medical monitoring and clinical operations) for pharmaceutical, biotech and medtech sponsors and contract research organizations. The only published evaluation used synthetic data built from one phase 3 oncology trial.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Octozi

Vendors in the same categories as Octozi whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Research Triangle Park, North Carolina provider of clinical research services, health data and technology to life sciences companies.

Oncology clinical trial matching and enrollment company based in Boca Raton, Florida.

Washington, DC company whose AI and data platform serves the medical side of life sciences: medical affairs, scientific communications and pharmacovigilance.

Truveta is owned by 30 US health systems that contribute de-identified health records every day to a shared research dataset.

CluePoints provides clinical trial data quality and oversight software for pharmaceutical sponsors and contract research organizations.

Real world data company built on records patients choose to contribute.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Contact the vendor
Undisclosed. Sold to pharmaceutical sponsors, biotech, medtech, and contract research organizations; no rates published. Not disclosed. Customers are pharmaceutical sponsors and CROs rather than providers, so contracting runs through sponsor data agreements rather than HIPAA business associate terms. Not disclosed. Designed to integrate with existing clinical systems rather than requiring migration, with seed funding earmarked to deepen those integrations. Vendor Published

No pricing is published, but the value case is quantified against a baseline sponsors can cost themselves: an economic analysis of a representative Phase III oncology trial estimated savings exceeding $5 million per study, driven primarily by earlier database lock and compressed timelines. Delayed database lock has a known cost to any sponsor, so that comparison can be modeled rather than left as an abstract efficiency claim. Two caveats.

The figure is vendor generated and models a representative rather than an actual trial, and the supporting controlled study covered 10 medical reviewers. Vendor durability is the other consideration: this is a seed stage company that raised $3 million in July 2026, competing in a function currently served by established contract research organizations, and sponsors will likely require a SOC 2 or equivalent attestation that was not located.